Container technologies

Rocket launch for software development


Containers make the development and deployment of software applications in the cloud more flexible and efficient. “Container as a service” (or “Caas”) gives businesses a formidable digitisation booster.


Text: Urs Binder, Image: Unsplash, 




Time to market, agility, digitalisation: A company’s business can develop quickly, often in unexpected directions. New business models have to be formulated and implemented rapidly and peaks in business managed in good time. This requires an organisation with overall agility, and, in particular, an IT that can respond directly to the needs of the business. There just is not time to develop software in month-long projects followed by testing and work-intensive installation in the productive IT infrastructure.

Many companies operate their software in a virtualised environment in the cloud. Legacy applications benefit from the scalability of the cloud infrastructure. The importance of cloud-native, web-based applications for internal use and in the client relationship is growing. They are newly developed right from the start and can thus take advantage of all the benefits the cloud has to offer.


IaaS, PaaS, Legacy and Web apps

There are different aspects to the cloud. Providers of “infrastructure as a service” (IaaS) offer infrastructure services such as processing capacity, storage capacity and network services in a virtualised, scalable environment. Everything else – from the installation of the operating system to middleware and databases and operation of the applications – is taken care of by the IaaS customer directly or is handled by managed services that the IaaS customer also purchases. IaaS is ideally suited for the migration of legacy applications into the cloud and offers a high degree of agility and scalability in the provision of IT resources. For example, resources can be added when requirements demand, or they can be decommissioned when they are no longer needed.

With “platform as a service” (PaaS), the provider makes a complete platform available on which applications are developed, tested and operated and data is maintained. PaaS users only have to take care of their own applications and data. They have no contact with the underlying infrastructure – the PaaS environment provides the resources they need automatically and immediately. PaaS is especially suited for cloud-native software and covers the full life cycle of the applications, in accordance with the principles of DevOps and continuous integration. The Cloud Foundry offers a widely accepted open source standard for PaaS. For instance, the PaaS offering Application Cloud by Swisscom is Cloud Foundry certified.  


Containers offer independence

In the modern development of applications, a gap occurred between the IaaS and PaaS infrastructures. On the one hand, the IaaS model left users wishing for higher productivity of developers and more efficiency in operation. With the PaaS model, on the other hand, users wanted fewer restrictions and less standardisation.

This is where container technology comes into play. It is a further step in virtualisation. Applications are bundled together with all their accessories to form transportable packages that are transferred to the cloud. The whole application, including all the necessary libraries, other components and persistent objects are encapsulated in a “container”. There are no longer any external dependencies; the application runs autonomously within the container. Eliminating these external dependencies gives applications mobility across different systems. This increases the degree of portability and the flexibility of the application.

The software bundled together this way as a total package can be delivered without installation – as long as there is a run-time environment for the container technology on the target platform. Technologies such as Docker, CoreOS rkt and LXC manage the containers and ensure that the individual containers are insulated one from the other. In conjunction with orchestration solutions, applications – in particular, those based on a microservice architecture and distributed across multiple, communicating containers – can be automatically packaged, delivered and managed. In addition to Kubernetes (open source), which has established itself as the industry standard for orchestration, different variants are available, such as Pivotal Container Service and Openshift. Many PaaS platforms, including the Cloud Foundry, offer container support themselves.

In container form, the applications perform as intended by developers and do not have to be adjusted any further. This is true of applications from legacy systems as well as cloud-native apps developed in PaaS environments. Containers are therefore particularly interesting for software vendors (ISV), who can therefore supply the developed applications to their customers as containers, including all the dependencies and persistence requirements.  


Beneficial for all parties

Container technology has advantages for software developers and user companies alike. Developers deliver new software and updates very quickly as containers. They achieve better time-to-market with their solutions and can rapidly respond to customers’ needs. And there is cost savings, because developers’ productivity is heightened. Moreover, the application is certain to operate as it was designed to, because the container holds all the components that are required. The scalability and interchangeability of the containers are another big advantage.

Users no longer have to install anything – the new container integrates itself into the environment practically on its own. Companies thus save time and costs, enhance their operational efficiency, increase the productivity of developers and further facilitate digitalisation.


Container Services from Swisscom


Swisscom provides corporate customers with flexible orchestration services for containerised applications and offers personalised advice for the planning and efficient use of containers.

More information




Newsletter

Subscribe to the newsletter now and stay informed about trends, industry news and benchmarks.





More on the topic

Container-as-a-Service

Technologies de conteneurs

Démarrage en flèche pour le développement de logiciels


Les conteneurs rendent le développement et le déploiement de logiciels dans le cloud encore plus agiles et plus efficaces. Avec «Container-as-a-Service» – Caas en abrégé –, les entreprises bénéficient d’un véritable accélérateur de numérisation.


Texte: Urs Binder, Image: Unsplash, 




Délais de commercialisation, agilité, numérisation: l’activité se développe rapidement et souvent dans des directions inattendues. De nouveaux modèles commerciaux doivent être conçus et mis en œuvre rapidement, les pics d’activité doivent être gérés à temps. Cela nécessite une organisation globale agile, mais surtout une infrastructure informatique qui répond directement aux besoins de l’entreprise. Il n’y a pas le temps de développer des logiciels dans des projets qui durent des mois et de les implémenter après les avoir testés dans l’infrastructure informatique productive.

De nombreuses entreprises exploitent leurs logiciels dans un environnement virtualisé dans le cloud. Dans ce contexte, les applications existantes profitent de l’évolutivité de l’infrastructure cloud. Les applications Cloud Native et basées sur le Web gagnent en importance, aussi bien pour l’usage interne que dans la relation client. Elles sont développées depuis le début et peuvent ainsi profiter de tous les avantages du cloud.


IaaS, PaaS, applications existantes et applications Web

Il y a cloud et cloud: les fournisseurs d’Infrastructure-as-a-Service (IaaS) mettent à disposition des services d’infrastructure comme la puissance de calcul, la mémoire et les services réseau dans un environnement virtualisé et évolutif. Pour le reste, le client IaaS est responsable de l’installation du système d’exploitation et de l’exploitation des applications, ainsi que du Middleware et des bases de données – ou il peut l’effectuer sous forme de Managed Services. IaaS est parfaitement adapté pour la migration d’applications existantes vers le cloud et offre une agilité et une évolutivité élevées lors de la fourniture de prestations informatiques: les ressources peuvent ainsi être mises activement à contribution en cas de besoin accru ou éteintes lorsqu’elles ne sont plus nécessaires.

Dans le cadre du service PaaS (Platform-as-a-Service), le fournisseur met à disposition une plateforme complète sur laquelle des applications peuvent être développées, testées et exploitées et des données, conservées. Les utilisateurs PaaS se préoccupent uniquement de leurs propres applications et données. Ils n’entrent pas en contact avec l’infrastructure sous-jacente: l’environnement PaaS met automatiquement et immédiatement les ressources nécessaires à disposition. PaaS est particulièrement adapté pour les logiciels Cloud Native et couvre l’ensemble du cycle de vie des applications selon les principes DevOps et de l’intégration continue. Avec Cloud Foundry, l’environnement PaaS dispose d’un standard open source largement accepté. L’offre PaaS Application Cloud de Swisscom est ainsi certifiée Cloud Foundry.


Les conteneurs sont un gage d’indépendance

Concernant le développement moderne d’applications, un écart est apparu entre les infrastructures IaaS et les infrastructures PaaS. On souhaiterait, d’une part, que le modèle IaaS profite d’une hausse de la productivité des développeurs ainsi que d’une plus grande efficacité dans l’exploitation. D’autre part, le besoin d’une baisse des restrictions et des standardisations s’est fait sentir pour le modèle PaaS.

C’est là qu’intervient la technologie de conteneurs. Elle est une étape de plus dans la virtualisation. Les applications et tous les accessoires sont regroupés dans des paquets transportables et déplacés vers le cloud. L’application complète et toutes les bibliothèques nécessaires, d’autres composants ainsi que des objets persistants sont ainsi encapsulés dans ce que l’on appelle un «conteneur». Il n’existe plus aucune dépendance extérieure; l’application fonctionne de manière autonome dans le conteneur. La suppression de ces dépendances extérieures permet aux applications de se déplacer dans différents systèmes, ce qui augmente le niveau de portabilité et la flexibilité de l’application.

Le logiciel ainsi ficelé sous forme de paquet complet peut alors être déployé sans être installé – pour autant qu’il existe un environnement d’exécution pour la technologie de conteneurs respective sur la plate-forme cible: les technologies telles que Docker, CoreOS rkt ou LXC gèrent les conteneurs et assurent l’isolation entre les différents conteneurs. Les solutions d’orchestration permettent d’automatiser le déploiement, la montée en charge et la gestion des applications – notamment aussi celles qui sont réparties sur plusieurs conteneurs communiquant entre eux selon une architecture microservice. Outre le système Kubernetes (open source), qui s’est imposé comme le standard industriel pour l’orchestration de conteneurs, il existe différentes variantes telles que Pivotal Container Service ou Openshift. De nombreuses plateformes PaaS, dont Cloud Foundry, offrent intrinsèquement un service de prise en charge de conteneurs.

Sous forme de conteneurs, les applications offrent la performance prévue par les développeurs et ne doivent pas être adaptées ultérieurement. Cela concerne aussi bien les applications de systèmes existants que les applications Cloud Native développées dans des environnements PaaS. C’est la raison pour laquelle les conteneurs sont également particulièrement intéressants pour les éditeurs de logiciels (ISV), qui peuvent ainsi fournir à leurs clients les applications développées sous forme de conteneurs, y compris toutes les dépendances et les exigences de persistance.  


Avantageux pour toutes les parties

La technologie de conteneurs apporte des avantages aux développeurs de logiciels et aux entreprises utilisatrices: les développeurs fournissent très rapidement de nouveaux logiciels ainsi que des mises à jour sous forme de conteneurs. Ils réduisent les délais de commercialisation de leurs solutions et peuvent réagir rapidement aux besoins des clients tout en réalisant des économies, puisque leur productivité augmente. Il est en outre garanti que l’application est exploitée de la manière prévue par le design, car tous les composants nécessaires sont inclus dans le conteneur. L’évolutivité et l’interchangeabilité des conteneurs constituent également un avantage indéniable.

Les utilisateurs ne doivent plus rien installer – le nouveau conteneur s’intègre presque naturellement dans l’environnement. Les entreprises réalisent ainsi des économies de temps et d’argent, augmentent l’efficacité opérationnelle, accroissent la productivité des développeurs et font avancer la numérisation.


Services de conteneurs de Swisscom


Swisscom offre aux clients commerciaux des services d’orchestration flexibles pour les applications conteneurisées et des conseils personnalisés pour la planification et l’utilisation efficace des conteneurs.

En savoir plus




Newsletter

Abonnez-vous à la newsletter pour suivre les tendances, les actualités de la branche et les benchmarks.





En savoir plus sur ce thème