Interview with 5G evangelist Stefan Mauron

Interview with Stefan Mauron 

«5G is the next logical step»


The coming generation of mobile technology has much more to offer than just faster data connections. Stefan Mauron, product lead for Wireless Access Innovation and Swisscom’s own 5G evangelist, knows all there is to know about it.


Text: Urs Binder/tnt-graphics AG, images: © Daniel Brühlmann, 13 september 2017




Mr Mauron, what does 5G mean for you and for Swisscom?


5G represents a paradigm shift in many areas. In contrast to previous mobile technologies such as UMTS or LTE, this is not primarily a matter of increasing bandwidth. 5G will make fundamental changes to mobile communications and make new services possible which no-one has yet dared dream of.


What sort of services would these be?


5G can, for example, benefit applications when it comes to guaranteed availabilities, and fulfilling service levels. Just think of major events, for example, where thousands of people gathered in a small space are streaming live videos from their smartphones. The capacity of the mobile network is soon exhausted. Using network slicing, a feature provided by 5G, we can still provide a guaranteed bandwidth to emergency service organisations without having to configure separate networks.


What will be the impact of 5G on industry?


We are setting up the first applications together with partners from industry and the Academy in the «5G for Switzerland» programme to research exactly this. One of the first to be involved is a manufacturer of medical products, Ypsomed. We are digitalising what were previously manual processes there, such as guiding semi-finished products through the production process. Or machine data are analysed in real time using predictive analytics techniques, which make it possible to forecast faults occurring in production. A network will be established for the machine park using the 5G mobile network.


Couldn’t that also be done using a wired network?


Of course it can, and it is also done that way today. However, just imagine a production line that is several hundred meters in length and that encompasses dozens of machines. To network them, Industrial Ethernet is required, and it’s expensive. And it lacks the flexibility required for production sites that need to be converted for product modifications or new products multiple times.



5G will allow machines in production facilities to be moved anywhere they are needed without laying new cables.


How does the machine connection actually function?


We developed a gateway for the mobile network which can transmit any wired connectivity using 5G. For example, you connect it to the Ethernet port of the machine, which you can then move around without routing new cables. This also makes industrial PCs, robots and measuring stations instantly mobile, allowing them to be used more flexibly.



Swisscom has developed the corresponding gateway for connecting the machines.


What else does 5G have to offer?


Edge computing is a new component. This will change the provisioning of cloud services radically: Edge computing relocates cloud resources such as processing power and memory directly to the mobile network’s base stations. This means that the Internet will no longer be needed as a basis for many cloud-based applications. This improves the level of security, and the response times.


What is «Massive IoT» actually good for?


The 5G network will make a drastic increase in the number of devices and mobile network-based real-time applications possible. We are expecting up to 100,000 devices per radio cell, and end-to-end latencies of just a few milliseconds.


And what specific benefits will this provide?


These properties of 5G technology are also useful in industrial applications. There are, for example, machines that deliver data on 1,000 parameters every millisecond – this produces a huge data lake. These data are analysed in real time. This allows forecasts to be made to predict when a given parameter will exceed the tolerance, and allows action to be taken early on. In the past, data like this was only evaluated after the production run.


When will 5G be launched? So far, the wireless interface hasn't even been standardised...


Standardisation is currently proceeding at full speed, and we are expecting an initial standardisation paper at the end of 2017. Swisscom is assuming that 5G will be commercially available in Switzerland from 2020 on.


Will all features of 5G become available at the same time?


No, technologies like NB-IoT or Edge Computing could be introduced earlier. 5G won’t arrive as a big bang, but rather as an evolving technology which will build up on, among other things, 4.5G.


And what will only be introduced later on?


Very high bandwidths in the upper gigabyte range will be implemented in higher spectra and a new air interface. We refer to «new radio» when it comes to cm and mm waves. This requires international harmonisation, followed by approval by the national authorities. These processes are time-consuming and are certain to take until after 2020.


The latest 5G demonstrations show «end devices» several times the size of a refrigerator. Is shrinking these dimensions down to smartphone size by 2020 realistic?


It reassures me that we’re only talking about fridges. The first UMTS device was the size of a station wagon when it was first developed. It is primarily a question of cost: Tests are being run at the moment, and only when the technology is exactly right and all standards are clear will miniaturisation begin. Miniaturisation will then proceed at a rapid pace.


Where are there still problems in relation to end devices?


The MIMO technology (multiple input, multiple output) will be decisive for 5G. In terms of 4G, we refer to 2x2 or 4x4 MIMO antennas, for example. This is also easy to implement in a smartphone. When it comes to 5G, we speak of «massive MIMO» with arrays of 64x64 antennas, for example, or more. To ensure something like this still functions efficiently in a small space, more innovation and development work is required.


We already have LoRa for Industry 4.0. Will 5G supersede this wireless technology?


No, I don’t think so. Instead, there will be different networks in future for IoT applications. On the one hand, there will be 5G technologies such as Narrowband IoT, which is based on cellular systems. On the other hand, there will be networks like LoRa in unlicensed bandwidths. I don’t really think that the competition between them will be keen, because the technologies differ too much, for example in terms of availability, security or costs. What exactly will be used depends on the respective application case – and will often be based on a case-by-case decision. Swisscom offers both.


To finish, a personal question: What does a «5G evangelist» do?


«... he evangelises» (laughing). It’s actually quite simple: My colleagues and I are passionate about the topic of 5G because it will open up fields for new and lucrative business opportunities which will work to the benefit of digitalisation. In industrial environments in particular, many Enterprise customers are venturing into new territory. As a reliable, top technology partner, we want to help them to reap the benefits for themselves. That won’t happen by producing glossy brochures. Instead, it requires that we take steps together with the customer, and we will have to get our hands dirty at times. We needed to start by developing our own hardware and software solutions for the challenges we’re facing. There are no fully-fledged products to buy. At least not yet. And this is the other aspect of it: We will use the new innovations to get the internal organisation fit for the business cases to come.



«We will use the new innovations to get the internal organisation fit for the business cases to come.»


And how did you secure yourself this position?


You can’t just apply for it, because more important than the position is your own mindset and your passion for a topic, because only then will you go the extra mile. Only someone who is brimming with enthusiasm will be able to convince the customer. Letting teams with good ideas get on with their work is part of our corporate culture. This does, however, require a lot of trust, flat hierarchies and straightforward decision-making processes. These aspects, paired with the ambition to be a technological leader, are reasons why I work at Swisscom.




«5G for Switzerland»


Together with its partners Ericsson and the Federal Institute of Technology Lausanne (EPFL), Swisscom is promoting research and development into the next-generation mobile network.

> More





More on the topic

Interview avec Stefan Mauron, «évangéliste 5G»

Interview avec Stefan Mauron 

«5G est la prochaine étape logique»


La prochaine génération de technologie de radiocommunication mobile permet bien plus que de simples communications de données plus rapides. Stefan Mauron, Productlead Wireless Access Innovation et évangéliste 5G chez Swisscom, le sait très bien. 


Texte: Urs Binder/tnt-graphics AG, images: © Daniel Brühlmann, 13 septembre 2017




M. Mauron, qu’est-ce que 5G représente pour vous et pour Swisscom? 


Dans beaucoup de domaines, 5G est un changement de paradigme. Il ne s’agit pas en premier lieu d’une augmentation de la largeur de bande, comme c’était le cas pour les anciennes technologies mobiles UMTS ou LTE. 5G va révolutionner la radiocommunication mobile et permettre de nouveaux services auxquels personne n’aurait osé songer jusqu’ici.


De quels types de services s’agit-il?


5G favorise par exemple les applications qui nécessitent des disponibilités garanties et le respect de Service Levels. Prenons l’exemple d’un grand événement au cours duquel des milliers de personnes transmettent, dans un espace réduit, des vidéos en direct depuis leur smartphone. Le réseau de radiocommunication mobile est entièrement sollicité. Grâce à la fonction Network Slicing de 5G, nous pouvons quand même garantir une largeur de bande aux services d’intervention d’urgence sans avoir à créer à cet effet des réseaux séparés.


Quels sont les effets de 5G sur l’industrie?


Pour étudier en détail cet aspect, nous sommes en train de créer de premières applications dans le cadre du programme «5G for Switzerland» et en collaboration avec l’académie et des partenaires industriels. L’un des premiers est le fabricant de produits médicaux Ypsomed. Nous y numérisons jusqu’à présent des processus manuels tels que le cheminement de produits semi-finis à travers le processus de fabrication. Ou bien les données des machines sont examinées en temps réel avec des techniques de Predictive Analytics qui permettent de prédire les erreurs de production. Le parc de machines est interconnecté au moyen du réseau de radiocommunication mobile 5G.


Ne pourrait-on pas obtenir aussi une telle interconnexion à l’aide d’un réseau câblé?


Si, bien sûr, c’est d’ailleurs la situation actuelle. Mais imaginez-vous un trajet de production de plusieurs centaines de mètres et comprenant des dizaines de machines. Pour les mettre en réseau, on a besoin d’Industrial Ethernet, ce qui est très onéreux. Et une telle solution manque de souplesse, les sites de production devant être souvent transformés pour des modifications de produits ou pour de nouveaux produits.



Grâce à 5G, il est possible de déplacer les machines au sein des sites de production sans avoir à poser de nouveaux câbles.


Comment fonctionne concrètement le raccordement des machines?


Pour l’interconnexion mobile, nous avons développé une passerelle capable de transmettre chaque connectivité filaire via 5G. On raccorde par exemple la passerelle au port Ethernet de la machine et l’on peut ensuite déplacer cette dernière à volonté sans poser de nouveaux câbles. De cette manière, les ordinateurs industriels, les robots et les stations de mesure deviennent également mobiles et peuvent être utilisés de façon beaucoup plus souple.



Pour le raccordement des machines, Swisscom a développé une passerelle appropriée.


Quels sont les autres avantages de 5G?


Une nouveauté est l’Edge Computing. Celui-ci transforme radicalement la mise à disposition de Cloud Services: l’Edge Computing transfère les ressources Cloud, telles que la puissance de calcul et la mémoire, directement vers les stations de base de téléphonie mobile. Ainsi, pour beaucoup d’applications basées sur le cloud, il n’est plus nécessaire d’avoir recours à Internet. Cela améliore la sécurité et les temps de réponse.


Qu’est-ce que signifie «Massive IoT»?


Le réseau 5G permet une augmentation importante du nombre d’appareils et d’applications en temps réel basés sur la radiocommunication mobile. Nous prévoyons jusqu’à 100 000 appareils par cellule radio et des temps de latence end-to-end de quelques millisecondes.


Et quels sont les avantages concrets?


Ces propriétés 5G sont également utiles dans les applications industrielles. Il existe par exemple des machines qui fournissent à chaque milliseconde des données concernant un millier de paramètres; il en résulte un immense Data Lake. Ces données sont analysées en temps réel. On peut ainsi prédire à quel moment un certain paramètre quitte la tolérance, ce qui permet d’intervenir à l’avance. Jusqu’à maintenant, ces données n’étaient analysées qu’après le cycle de production.


Quand est-ce que la technologie 5G sera-t-elle disponible? Pour l’instant, l’interface radio n’est même pas standardisée...


Actuellement, la standardisation tourne à fond, nous prévoyons un premier papier de standardisation pour fin 2017. D’après Swisscom, 5G sera disponible sur le marché suisse à partir de 2020.


Les fonctions de 5G seront-elles toutes disponibles en même temps?


Non, certaines fonctions telles que NB-IoT ou Edge Computing pourront être lancées avant les autres. 5G ne va pas surgir de façon soudaine: il s’agira bien plus d’une évolution et d’un perfectionnement basés entre autres sur 4.5G.


Et quelles fonctions suivront donc plus tard?


La réalisation des vitesses de transmission très rapides, dans une plage élevée de gigabits, a lieu dans des spectres élevés et une nouvelle interface air. Il est question ici de «New Radio» sur des ondes de l’ordre du cm et du mm. Cela demande des harmonisations internationales, puis une autorisation accordée par les autorités nationales. Ces processus sont très longs et s’étendront certainement au-delà de 2020.


Dans les démos actuelles de 5G, les «terminaux» font la taille de plusieurs réfrigérateurs. Est-il vraiment pensable que leurs dimensions diminueront d’ici 2020 au point d’atteindre celles d’un smartphone? 


Je suis content qu’on en soit arrivé aux réfrigérateurs. Le premier appareil UMTS avait la taille d’un break. C’est avant tout une question de coûts: à l’heure actuelle, on en est au stade des essais et ce n’est que lorsque la technique sera au point et que tous les standards seront définis que l’on passera à la phase de miniaturisation. La miniaturisation progressera alors extrêmement vite.


Où y a-t-il encore des problèmes en matière de terminaux?


Pour 5G, la technologie MIMO joue un rôle décisif (technique multi-antennes). Dans le cas de 4G, on a affaire par exemple à 2x2 ou 4x4 antennes MIMO. Cela est encore réalisable assez facilement dans un smartphone. Dans le cas de 5G, il s’agit de «Massive MIMO» avec des Arrays de 64x64 antennes et plus, par exemple. Pour que cela fonctionne efficacement dans un petit espace, on a encore besoin d’innovations et de travaux de développement.


Pour l’Industrie 4.0, il existe déjà LoRa. 5G va-t-elle remplacer cette technologie radio?


Non, je ne pense pas. À l’avenir, il y aura plutôt différents réseaux pour les applications IoT. D’une part, des technologies 5G comme Narrowband IoT, qui sont basées sur des réseaux cellulaires. D’autre part, des réseaux tels que LoRa dans des bandes non licenciées. Je ne crois pas qu’il y ait là une forte concurrence, les technologies étant trop différentes, notamment en termes de disponibilité, de sécurité ou de coûts. Les solutions utilisées dépendent du cas d’application concerné et une décision au cas par cas sera souvent nécessaire. Swisscom propose les deux.


Pour terminer, permettez-moi une question personnelle: que fait un «évangéliste 5G»?


«...il évangélise» (rit). En fait, c’est très simple: mes collègues et moi-même sommes des passionnés de la 5G; cette technologie ouvrira de nouvelles opportunités commerciales lucratives qui reposeront essentiellement sur la numérisation. Pour beaucoup d’entreprises clientes et spécialement dans le secteur industriel, ce domaine est encore terre inconnue. En tant que partenaire technologique fiable et de haut niveau, nous voulons les aider à profiter de ces avantages. Pour cela, il ne suffit pas d’imprimer de magnifiques dépliants. Il faut accompagner pas à pas le client et il est même parfois nécessaire de se «salir les mains». Face aux défis rencontrés, nous avons d’abord dû développer nous-mêmes les solutions de matériel et de logiciel requises. Il n’existe pas de produits finis disponibles sur le marché. Pas encore. Et c’est là l’autre aspect: grâce à nos nouvelles innovations, nous préparons l’organisation interne pour les Business Cases de l’avenir.



«Grâce à nos nouvelles innovations, nous préparons l’organisation interne pour les Business Cases de l’avenir.»


Et comment avez-vous accédé à cette position?


Ce n’est pas un poste pour lequel on peut poser une candidature. Ce qui compte beaucoup plus que la position, ce sont l’attitude et l’enthousiasme qui nous habitent: on est prêt seulement ainsi à aller toujours plus de l’avant. Il faut être soi-même enthousiasmé pour pouvoir convaincre le client. Laisser faire les équipes qui ont de bonnes idées fait partie de notre culture d’entreprise. Mais cela demande une grande confiance ainsi que des hiérarchies horizontales et des processus décisionnels simples. Ces facteurs, ainsi que notre ambition de leadership technologique, sont des raisons pour lesquelles je travaille chez Swisscom.




«5G for Switzerland»


En collaboration avec ses partenaires que sont Ericsson et l’École polytechnique fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL), Swisscom fait avancer la recherche et le développement de la prochaine génération de téléphonie mobile.

> En savoir plus





En savoir plus sur ce thème