Newsletter Partner Login Network status Contact
Newsletter Partner Login Network status Contact

S/4HANA & C/4HANA for maximum customer satisfaction

Expert interview with Sascha Dengler

“Complexity is out, CX and value are in”

S for simplicity, C for customer. The existing SAP R3 and SAP ECC systems are complex. The 4HANA world with its powerful duo S/4HANA and C/4HANA is standardised, cloud based and in real time. 4HANA simplifies processes and IT landscapes because everything is located in a single closed system with real-time data.

Text and Interview: Brunhilde Mauthe,

Let’s start with a simple question: What are the benefits of moving to SAP S/4HANA and C/4HANA?

Behind the new S/4HANA and C/4HANA lies a customer experience for inventory and product management that has been improved by different worlds. This is why people are already talking about “SAP CX”, CX as in customer experience.

S4/HANA and C/4HANA are standardised and are a stark contrast to the highly customised ERP with SAP R3 and SAP ECC. What’s more, this kind of migration constitutes a major project. So why should companies make the move now?

Customisation is standard with 4HANA, which is what makes the combined power of S4 and C4 so impressive. For individual customisations, companies or SAP service providers can program extensions (similar to an app), in which the required individualised features, known as User Stories, are stored. This means for example, regardless of whether or not I need our logo for the new marketing campaign or for the newsletter from media asset management, the system accesses the extension of media asset management User Story “Get image” without integration and without altering the code. With S/4HANA, the extension makes the User Story “Get image” a standard process by means of a trigger or a time-based workflow. This differs from the “old” ERPs, where the User Story “I need our logo” required two different interfaces for the campaign and the newsletter.

 

For SAP service providers such as Swisscom, this is twice as interesting: we can reuse apps (Kyma Services) once created for other customers or implement joint developments for several customers. Intellectual property usually remains with the programmer and will become one of the most important business areas of cloud IT in the future, which means it is also relevant for C/4HANA and S/4HANA service providers.

You mentioned C/4HANA – what does this involve?

In 2013, SAP decided to ramp up its entry into other business areas in addition to ERP. This is where the C4/HANA world originated from. According to well-known analysts, this new cloud world is three to four times larger in terms of market volume than the market volume of S/4HANA.

 

The “C” stands for customer. SAP C/4HANA is a smart CRM 2.0 platform consisting of five interconnected cloud-based marketing and CRM applications: Marketing Cloud, Commerce Cloud, Customer Cloud, Sales Cloud and Service Cloud. The main difference compared to conventional CRM platforms is that it focuses not only on the sales process, but also on the customer. Which brings us back to CX, the customer experience. Users have access to all systems and therefore to all data at all times and in real time, enabling them to react much faster and with greater agility on the market.

C/4HANA Customer Clouds

Customer Data Cloud: Location of the customer login (with GDPR consensus) and customer profile creation
> Factsheet (PDF)

 

Service Cloud: Ticketing system, spare parts, service engineers in the field

 

Sales Cloud: CRM with all the information that is stored about the customer

 

Commerce Cloud: Web and e-shop, commerce

 

Marketing Cloud: Customer segmentation and classification (gold or platinum customer, voucher or cashback, etc.)


Newsletter

Would you like to regularly receive interesting articles and whitepapers on current ICT topics?

> Subscribe

“Users have access to all systems and therefore to all data at all times and in real time.”

Sascha Dengler, Management Consultant SAP CX

And how do these two systems interact?

They are both standardised cloud systems: S4 with ERP and C4 with the five interconnected customer clouds: Marketing, Commerce, Customer, Sales and Service. The Cloud Integration Platform connects the systems with each other as well as with third-party systems that are already in use. This means that the standardised and integrated interfaces between S4 and C4 already exist and are simply enhanced with User Exits (SAP standard enhancements). In addition, the extension framework SAP Kyma (apps) offers simple and fast solutions for further connections between the systems and third-party systems.

When and how should a customer migrate to the 4HANA world?

1 When? Technically, before 2027 at the latest, because from then on SAP ECC and R/3 will no longer be supported. But from the customer’s point of view, it’s better to have done it yesterday.

 

How? The customer has several options. First migrate to S/4HANA and then address the C/4 issues. But the opposite way round can also be the right approach. This all depends on the strategy. For C/4, there is a Movement program which includes three scenarios.

  1. Everything that was previously active in ECC or R/3 is activated in S/4. This is the “safeguard version”.
  2. When new components from the C/4 cloud are added, we refer to this as the “hybrid version”.
  3. If the service and sales functions are transferred completely to C/4, this is known as the “digitisation version”. In this case, it makes sense to first transfer and then start the S/4HANA project.

Benefits of S/4HANA and C/4HANA

  • Cloud based
  • Automatic updates
  • Low maintenance
  • Low complexity
  • Improved customer service
  • Faster go-to-market
  • More out-of-the-box integration for the customer’s system landscape and applications
  • Focus on customer value
  • The business implements projects faster, IT is no longer a bottleneck

“The transition to the 4HANA world is individually designed.”

Sascha Dengler, Management Consultant SAP CX

Which companies in Switzerland have already moved to S/4HANA?

Ricola and the SV Group have moved to S/4 together with Swisscom. Many other customers have started the transition to the S/4 portfolio and there are now almost 50 customers in the Discover and Prepare workshops. Many customers also test the C/4 components in this context.

And Swisscom?

As part of Simplicity, we will also move to S/4HANA and take a closer look at some of the C/4HANA variants. In addition to CRM, we are also looking at the area of direct customer feedback so that we can better analyse O-data (operational data) and X-data (incremental customer feedback). We are also evaluating our approach, just like our customers.

A final word?

We are currently living in a radical world of transition. S4 and C4 help to simplify processes, system landscapes and customer orientation by placing everything in a single closed system and making data available in real time. All data have their specific and assigned location in the systems. The 4HANA environment forms a stable structure with state-of-the-art architecture, where all processes are combined in an intelligent suite.

 

And what’s more, with the 4HANA world SAP is concentrating on its strengths, specifically on end-to-end scenarios for the customer: Lead-to-Cash, Recruit-to-Retire (HR), Design-to-Operate (Supply Chain) and Source-to-Pay (Spend Management) based on S/4HANA as the digital core. At the same time, these solutions are offered in different environments, whether hosting in the Swisscom environment or on the multi-clouds (Azure, Google or AWS). This means SAP is returning to its core competencies and better integrating the ecosystems. Everybody concentrates on the things they do best; for us this is the operation and implementation of systems as well as the integration of the third-party extension and further developments.


About Sascha Dengler

SAP specialist Sascha Dengler is an engineer and certified in C/4HANA (Marketing, Commerce, Sales, Service and customer data).

An experienced Management Consultant, at Swisscom he is responsible for the analysis, design, implementation and support of SAP C/4HANA applications as well as SAP strategy and consulting. His core competencies are in the areas of customer experience, sales channels, customer and product data as well as their integration into the customer architecture. He has implemented numerous digital transformation and end-to-end integration projects.




Do you have questions?

Reto Hildbrand

Head of SAP Industries





More on the topic

   

CX Suites

Make customer centricity a reality with the SAP CX Suites from C4/HANA: CRM, CDP, Ticketing and Commerce.

Go to offer

   

SAP S/4HANA transformation

SAP S/4HANA Transformation Factory guides SAP customers securely from SAP R/3 to SAP S/4HANA in a standardised and resource-saving manner.

Go to offer

Newsletter Partenaire Login Etat du réseau Contact
Newsletter Partenaire Login Etat du réseau Contact

S/4HANA & C/4HANA: satisfaction maximale des clients

Interview avec l'expert Sascha Dengler

«Exit la complexité, bienvenue à CX et aux avantages»

S comme Simplicity, C comme Customer. Les systèmes existants SAP R3 et SAP ECC sont complexes. Le monde 4HANA et son duo performant S/4HANA et C/4HANA est standardisé, basé sur le cloud et en temps réel. 4HANA simplifie les processus et l'infrastructure IT, car tout est intégré avec les données en temps réel et compilé dans un seul système.

Texte et Interview: Brunhilde Mauthe,

Simple question d’introduction, qu’apporte le passage à SAP S/4HANA et C/4HANA?

Derrière le nouveau S/4HANA et C/4HANA se cache une expérience client mille fois améliorée en matière de commercialisation de marchandises et de produits. Raison pour laquelle on parle déjà de «SAP CX», CX comme Customer Experience.

S4/HANA et C/4HANA sont standardisés et affichent un fort contraste avec un ERP individualisé à grand frais via SAP R3 et SAP ECC. Un tel changement constitue par ailleurs un projet important. Pourquoi les entreprises devraient-elles malgré tout changer?

Des individualisations sont prévues dans le standard de 4HANA, c’est ce qui est fascinant dans le duo performant S4 et C4. Pour des adaptations individuelles, les entreprises ou les prestataires SAP peuvent programmer des extensions (similaires à une application) qui intègrent les personnalisations nécessaires c.-à-d. les «User Stories». Cela signifie par exemple que le système accède à l'extension du Media Asset Management «User Story: Rechercher une image» sans intégration ou modification du code, indépendamment du fait que j’aie besoin de notre logo pour la nouvelle campagne de marketing ou pour la newsletter. Avec S/4HANA, l’extension fait de la User Story «Rechercher une image» un processus standard via trigger ou Time Based Workflow. Cela contraste avec «les anciennes» ERP dans lesquelles la User Story «J’ai besoin de notre logo» pour la campagne et la newsletter nécessitait deux interfaces différentes.

 

Pour des prestataires SAP tels que Swisscom, c’est doublement intéressant: une fois élaborées, nous pouvons réutiliser les applications (services Kyma) pour d’autres clients ou mettre en œuvre des développements communs pour plusieurs clients. La propriété intellectuelle qui appartient en général au programmeur deviendra à l’avenir l’un des domaines d’activité les plus importants de l’informatique du cloud et prendra par conséquent aussi de l’importance pour les prestataires C/4HANA et S/4HANA.

Vous citez le mot-clé C/4HANA – de quoi s’agit-il en l’occurrence?

Mis à part l’ERP, SAP a décidé en 2013 d’entrer plus fortement dans d’autres divisions. Le monde C4/HANA est issu de cette décision. Selon des analystes connus, en termes de volume de marché, ce monde du cloud constitue un marché trois à quatre fois plus important que le volume de marché de S/4HANA!

 

Le «C» signifie en l’occurrence Customer: SAP C/4HANA est une plateforme CRM 2.0 intelligente constituée de cinq applications de marketing et CRM basées sur le cloud et interconnectées: cloud Marketing, Commerce, Customer, Sales et Service. La grande différence par rapport aux plateformes CRM conventionnelles tient au fait qu’elle ne se concentre pas uniquement sur le processus de vente mais sur les clients. On revient ainsi à nouveau à CX, soit la Customer Experience. L’utilisateur a en tout temps accès à tous les systèmes et par conséquent à toutes les données en temps réel; il peut ainsi réagir au marché beaucoup plus rapidement et de manière plus agile.

Clouds clientèle C/4HANA

Customer Data Cloud: Emplacement de connexion du client (avec consensus RGPD) et établissement du profil client
> Factsheet (PDF)

 

Service Cloud: Système de ticket, pièces de rechange, techniciens de service sur le terrain

 

Sales Cloud: CRM avec tout ce qui est enregistré concernant le client

 

Commerce Cloud: Web et e-Shop, commerce

 

Marketing Cloud: Segmentation et classification de la clientèle (or ou platine, bon ou remise, etc.)


Newsletter

Abonnez-vous aux contenus et nouvelles passionnantes de SAP.


«L’utilisateur a accès à tout instant en temps réel à tous les systèmes et donc à toutes les données.»

Sascha Dengler, Management Consultant SAP CX

Et comment ces deux systèmes interagissent-ils?

Les deux sont des systèmes clouds standardisés: S4 avec ERP et C4 avec les cinq clouds clients liés, Marketing, Commerce, Customer, Sales et Service. La plateforme d’intégration cloud interconnecte les systèmes et les relie à des systèmes tiers déjà en service. En d’autres termes, les interfaces standardisées et intégrées entre S4 et C4 existent déjà, elles sont simplement élargies par des User-Exit (extensions SAP standard). L’Extensions-Framework SAP Kyma (applications) offre par ailleurs des solutions simples et rapides pour d’autres connexions entre systèmes et systèmes tiers.

Quand et comment un client doit-il passer au monde 4HANA?

Quand? Techniquement avant 2027 au plus tard, car à partir de cette date SAP ECC et R/3 ne seront plus supportés, mais du point de vue du client hier serait bien mieux.

 

Comment? Le client dispose de différentes possibilités. Passer d’abord à S/4HANA puis aborder les thèmes C/4. Mais le contraire peut aussi s’avérer judicieux. Cela dépend de la stratégie. Pour C/4 il existe un programme Movement qui comporte trois scénarios.

  1. Tout ce qui était actif auparavant dans ECC ou R/3 est à nouveau présent dans S/4. C’est la «variante Safeguard».
  2. Si de nouveaux composants du cloud C/4 s’y ajoutent, nous parlons de la «variante hybride».
  3. Lorsque les fonctions Service et Sales sont complètement transférées sur C/4, nous parlons de la «variante de numérisation». Il est en l’occurrence judicieux de transférer d’abord pour ensuite démarrer le projet S/4HANA.

Avantages de S/4HANA et C/4HANA

  • Basée sur le cloud
  • Mises à jour automatiques
  • Moins d’entretien
  • Moins de complexité
  • Meilleur service à la clientèle
  • Commercialisation plus rapide
  • Plus d’intégration out-of-the-box pour l’environnement système et les applications de la clientèle
  • Les avantages pour le client sont au premier plan
  • L’activité met plus rapidement en œuvre les projets, l’informatique n’est plus le goulot d’étranglement

«Le passage au monde 4HANA est élaboré de manière individuelle.»

Sascha Dengler, Management Consultant SAP CX

Qui est déjà passé à S/4HANA en Suisse?

Ricola et le SV-Group sont passés à S/4 avec Swisscom. De nombreux autres clients ont débuté avec la transition vers le portefeuille S/4 et environ 50 clients participent désormais aux ateliers Discover et Prepare. De nombreux clients testent aussi les composants C/4 dans ce contexte.

Et Swisscom?

Nous passerons aussi à S/4HANA dans le cadre de Simplicity et examinerons plus en détail quelques variantes de C/4HANA. Mis à part le secteur CRM, nous examinons aussi le domaine des feedbacks directs des clients afin d’être en mesure de mieux analyser les O-Data (données opérationnelles) et les X-Data (feedback client incrémentiel). Nous évaluons en l’occurrence notre procédure comme nos clients.

Un dernier mot?

Nous vivons actuellement dans un monde en radicale transition. S4 et C4 aide à la simplification des processus, des environnements systèmes et de l'orientation client du fait que tout est rassemblé dans un seul système fermé et que les données sont disponibles en temps réel. Toutes les données ont leur emplacement spécifique attribué dans les systèmes. L’environnement 4HANA constitue un ensemble stable pourvu d’une architecture moderne où tous les processus sont réunis en une suite intelligente.

 

Et encore une remarque, avec le monde 4HANA, SAP se concentre sur ses points forts, soit les scénarios de bout en bout pour la clientèle: Lead-to-Cash, Recruit-to-Retire (RH), Design-to-Operate (Supply Chain) et Source-to-Pay (Spend Management) sur la base du cœur numérique S/4HANA. Ces solutions sont conjointement offertes sur différents environnements, que ce soit un hébergement dans l’environnement de Swisscom ou sur les multi-clouds (Azure, Google ou AWS). SAP revient ainsi à ses compétences-clés et intègre mieux les écosystèmes. Chacun se concentre sur les aspects pour lesquels il est vraiment compétent; nous le sommes dans l'exploitation, l’introduction des systèmes, l’intégration d’extensions Third Party et les perfectionnements.


Portrait

Le spécialiste SAP Sascha Dengler est ingénieur et certifié C/4HANA (marketing, commerce, vente, service et données du client).

Il est responsable pour Swisscom, en tant que consultant expérimenté, de l’analyse, de la conception, de l'implémentation et du conseil en ce qui concerne les applications SAP-C/4HANA ainsi que pour la stratégie et le conseil SAP. Ses compétences-clés proviennent des secteurs Customer Experience, canaux de distribution, données du client et des produits et de leur intégration dans l’architecture client. Il a mis en œuvre de nombreuses transformations numériques et projets d’intégration de A à Z.




Vous avez des questions? Nous sommes à votre disposition.

Reto Hildbrand

Head of SAP Industries





En savoir plus sur ce thème

   

CX Suite

Donnez vie à la «Customer Centricity» avec la suite SAP CX de C4/HANA: CRM, CDP, Ticketing et Commerce.

Vers l'offre

   

Transformation SAP S/4HANA

SAP S/4HANA Transformation Factory aide les clients SAP à passer de SAP R/3 à SAP S/4HANA, de manière sûre, standardisée et efficace en termes de ressources.

Vers l'offre