The user interface of the future

The user interface of the future

Artificial intelligence reacts to emotions


Devices and software are using artificial intelligence to learn to react to user emotions. This will dramatically change the user interface of the future.


Text: Hansjörg Honegger, images: © Raphael Zubler,



E-readers are really practical: Lightweight, a memory full of books, and some are even constantly online. All you have to do for yourself is read and understand the texts – at least, until now. By utilising artificial intelligence and methods to analyse human emotions, e-readers will be able to do a lot more in future:

  • The letters automatically become a little larger when signs of fatigue become apparent. 
  • A quizzical way of looking at a word makes a definition – or translation – appear. 
  • If the reader’s concentration is starting to wane, then the entire text that follows is formulated in a more easily comprehensible way. All this is done to ensure the reader keeps reading for as long as possible.
  • This is – in part – still a long way in the future. However, as specialists in UX (“user experience”) have realised: Simply presenting users with an intuitive user interface based on familiar standards is no longer enough. Anyone who uses a device today has emotional expectations that keep changing over time. In future, the user interface will need to be able to keep up with these expectations. These expectations notwithstanding, wearables, for example, will require a completely new type of user interface. And language is nowhere near the last word on the subject. Please observe the reference to a study appearing in the “further information” box.


Avoiding disappointments

In its study, “The Experience Revolution: Digital Disappointment – Why Some Consumers Aren’t Fans”, IBM established that 70 percent of customers are not satisfied with digital products. Their disappointment in virtual reality or in automatic voice control are stopping them from wanting to enter into a relationship with the brand a second time. Convenience, fast results and straightforward processes are decisive for turning a user into a fan of the brand. As well as an attractive price, of course.

Disappointment means: expectations were unable to be satisfied. But how is a device supposed to recognise expectations that ultimately depend on the emotional sensitivities of the customer? Professor Per Bergamin, Head of the Institute for Correspondence Courses and e-Learning Research (IFeL) in Brig, has spent years working on this question. His research unit, “Personalised and Adaptive Learning” aims to make it possible for students to benefit from individually adapted, screen-based learning experiences. “Our solution allows the level of difficulty of the study material to be adapted automatically to the progress that the student is making”, Bergamin explains. The system is constantly adding to its knowledge base in the background, and is capable of interpreting the level of a student’s knowledge by means of their answers. This is used as a basis for presenting the next round of material.

Bergamin provides a simple example: “The software can ask how the evaporation of ice functions. Or it can split this question up into ten individual questions which steadily guide the student towards the right solution.” In the past, Bergamin says, the progress made when learning has been determined using the corresponding questions. A painstaking business which demanded a lot of handiwork from the developers. However, now that they are in phase 2, the research team in Brig is working on an approach that also factors human emotions into the equation. “There are people who don't like answering questions, and these students should not be disadvantaged”, Bergamin underlines. Facial expressions are a potential way to obtain information about the level of the students’ knowledge. Is anyone looking confused, quizzical, or particularly zealous? The software interprets these feelings and then presents the corresponding material. Of course, this does require the student to have the corresponding hardware at their disposal.


Sonar: More efficient that classic reports

But do people from different cultures actually express their feelings in a way that allows a machine to recognise them? When, for example, facial expressions are limited to the seven basic emotions described by Paul Ekmann, then this shouldn't be a problem. The expression corresponding to joy, anger, fear, disgust, sadness, surprise, contempt and shame is innate to every person, and can be identified worldwide. Whether the machine interprets the expression correctly in the corresponding context is another matter altogether. Is the student despairing because of having to answer the same stupid question for the third time running, or is it because he has not understood the question for the third time in a row?



1/7 Joy

2/7 Sadness

3/7 Disgust

4/7 Anger

5/7 Fear

6/7 Contempt

7/7 Surprise

1/7 Joy


Recognising human feelings not only has increasing importance for user interfaces – its significance is also increasing for product development and marketing. “Sonar”, a solution developed by Swisscom, can recognise which feelings the customer is harbouring towards the company, or its products and services, in real time – and whether there are any storms gathering somewhere in Switzerland. “In a pilot trial, we are analysing different public Internet channels”, Marc Steffen, Head of Product Design, Artificial Intelligence & Machine Learning Group at Swisscom, explains. In itself, this is nothing new. Previously, however, the insights gained would have been combined, sometimes manually, into lengthy reports and be sent on to a number of interested parties – in the best case, as a dashboard; in the worst case, as a text document.

Today, Sonar analyses the reactions of customers in real time, showing what is being written and at the same time, evaluates whether the trends are positive, negative or neutral. “A product manager can now search for his product in Sonar and only needs to glance at it quickly to determine whether the corresponding customer mood in social media and comments columns tends to be positive or negative, and why”, Marc Steffen says. However, it first took an analysis of around 10,000 statements for the system, and allocation of the formulations to a state of mind, before the function had progressed this far. “This allows Sonar to learn what positive formulations are in different contexts, and what negative ones are.”


The emotion determines the content

The user interface of tomorrow won't have much in common with the way we use and manage programs and information today. The expectations of the user will increasingly determine what he sees and is presented. Artificial intelligence will make this possible, as it learns to interpret the emotions experienced by the user – or the customer – from their tone of voice, facial expression and the written word. This will result in some debate: Will the user even want to allow the service provider to see inside his mind, so to speak?

Per Bergamin accentuates that there are already devices available on the market for relatively little money which can, among other things, interpret brain activity. However, leaving others the freedom to decide this for themselves is a principle he adheres to: “Even today, the influence of our learning software automatically decreases as the learner’s level of knowledge increases, and instead of being instructional, tends to lend support, for example by providing additional information that can be used when needed.” Exactly where the line needs to be drawn still remains to be seen. However, Marc Steffen from Swisscom considers this to be clear-cut: “This area needs absolute transparency, and ultimately the user’s free choice as well. The user must be kept informed about what the service provider is doing, and must be able to decide against it at any time.”





Additional Information


Beware emotional robots: Giving feelings to artificial beings could backfire, study suggests: When chatbots are used in particular, the type of conversation is decisive. Strong emotions on the part of the machine have an unsettling effect.

Amazon Working on Making Alexa Recognize Your Emotions: Alexa aims to know when the user is irritated, and to apologise accordingly. This would be highly innovative for a computer.

The 2017 Voice Report by VoiceLabs: Using voice control to operate devices is a major trend. And yet this option hasn't really been embraced by users. One reason: A lack of visual reminders means they quickly forget that the option is even available. Just 3% of users still use a voice application in the second week following installation.


Sonar recognises customer moods



Sonar, a system developed by Swisscom, gathers customers' opinions via different channels, for example Twitter, the comments on newspaper websites, RSS feeds or the service desk. Positive, negative or neutral content – Sonar analyses the mood automatically. In addition, the system recognises trends or themes or summarises customer feedback into a few sentences. Sonar makes it possible to recognise how a brand is perceived by customers. And as an easy-to-use web application it helps employees to understand their customers better and make informed decisions based on data.




More on the topic

L’interface utilisateur de demain

L’interface utilisateur de demain

L’intelligence artificielle réagit aux émotions


Grâce à l’intelligence artificielle, les appareils et les logiciels apprennent à réagir aux émotions des utilisateurs. Cela va révolutionner les interfaces utilisateur de demain.


Texte: Hansjörg Honegger, Images: © Raphael Zubler,



Les liseuses électroniques sont très pratiques: légères, elles permettent d’enregistrer un grand nombre d’ouvrages dont certains sont en ligne de manière permanente. La seule chose que l’utilisateur doit encore faire lui-même, pour le moment, c’est de lire et de comprendre. Mais grâce à l’intelligence artificielle et aux méthodes d’analyse des émotions humaines, les liseuses électroniques auront sans doute bientôt d’autres compétences:

  • la taille des caractères qui s’agrandit dès les premiers signes de fatigue du lecteur;
  • l’affichage d’une explication, ou d’une traduction dès qu’un regard interrogateur est détecté;
  • la reformulation automatique du texte dans un langage plus simple si le niveau de concentration diminue. Tout cela pour permettre à l’utilisateur de s’adonner plus longtemps à sa lecture.

C’est encore, du moins partiellement, de l’ordre de la science-fiction. Les spécialistes de l’UX («User Experience», l’expérience utilisateur) l’ont cependant bien compris: il ne suffit plus aujourd’hui de proposer aux utilisateurs une interface intuitive reposant sur des standards déjà bien connus. Les utilisateurs ont aujourd’hui des attentes émotionnelles en perpétuelle évolution vis-à-vis de leurs appareils. Les interfaces utilisateur devront à l’avenir être en mesure de répondre à ces attentes. Sans compter les wearables qui nécessitent souvent un type entièrement nouveau d’interface utilisateur. Et cela ne se limite certainement pas seulement au langage. Veuillez noter à ce sujet la référence à une étude dans la fenêtre «Informations complémentaires».


Ne pas décevoir

Dans l’étude «The Experience Revolution: Digital Disappointment – Why Some Consumers Aren’t Fans», IBM a constaté que 70% des utilisateurs de prestations numériques ne sont pas satisfaits. C’est la déception vis-à-vis de la réalité virtuelle ou de la commande vocale automatique qui les retient de s’adresser à nouveau à la marque. Le confort, la rapidité des résultats et des processus simples sont décisifs pour devenir fan d’une marque, sans oublier l’importance des prix intéressants, bien entendu.

Si l’utilisateur est déçu, c’est que ses attentes n’ont pas été remplies. Mais comment un appareil peut-il reconnaître les attentes d’un utilisateur, sachant que celles-ci dépendent aussi de son état émotionnel? Le Professeur Per Bergamin, directeur de l’Institut für Fernstudien und e-Learning-Forschung (IFeL) à Brigue, se penche depuis plusieurs années sur cette question. Son unité de recherche «Personalisiertes und adaptives Lernen» (Apprentissage personnalisé et adaptatif) s’est fixé pour objectif de permettre aux étudiants de profiter d’un apprentissage sur écran personnalisé. «Le niveau de difficulté des contenus d’apprentissage est automatiquement adapté en fonction des progrès réalisés par l’étudiant», explique Per Bergamin. En arrière-plan, le système apprend continuellement et est en mesure d’interpréter le niveau de connaissance en fonction des réponses données. Sur cette base, il adapte alors la suite des contenus d’apprentissage proposés.

Per Bergamin donne un exemple simple: «Le logiciel peut demander comment fonctionne l’évaporation de la glace. Ou il peut découper cette question en 10 questions séparées qui amèneront l’étudiant à trouver petit à petit la bonne solution.» Jusqu’à présent, explique-t-il, les progrès réalisés devaient être évalués à l’aide de questions correspondantes. Cela demandait au développeur beaucoup de travail manuel. Maintenant, en phase 2, l’équipe de chercheurs de Brigue travaille au développement d’une approche qui intègre les émotions humaines. «Certains étudiants n’aiment pas répondre à des questions. Il convient de ne pas les défavoriser», insiste Per Bergamin. On espère obtenir des informations à partir des expressions du visage de l’étudiant. A-t-il un air interrogatif, découragé ou enthousiaste? Le logiciel interprète ces sentiments et affiche des contenus adaptés. À condition, bien entendu, que l’étudiant dispose d’un matériel approprié.



Sonar: plus efficace que le reporting classique

La question se pose cependant de savoir si les personnes issues de cultures différentes expriment leurs sentiments de telle sorte qu’une machine puisse les reconnaître. Tant que la reconnaissance faciale se limite, par exemple, aux sept émotions de base selon Paul Ekmann, cela ne devrait pas poser de problème. Les expressions du visage qui correspondent à la joie, à la colère, à la peur, au dégoût, à la tristesse, à la surprise, au mépris et à la honte sont innées et identifiables dans le monde entier. Rien ne permet cependant de garantir que la machine est capable d’interpréter ces expressions faciales en fonction du contexte. L’étudiant est-il découragé parce qu’il doit répondre pour la troisième fois à la même question idiote ou parce qu’il ne la comprend pas pour la troisième fois?



1/7 Joie

2/7 Tristesse

3/7 Dégoût

4/7 Colère

5/7 Peur

6/7 Mépris

7/7 Surprise

1/7 Joie


Reconnaître les sentiments est de plus en plus important, non seulement pour l’interface utilisateur, mais également pour le développement des produits et pour le marketing. «Sonar», une solution développée par Swisscom, détecte en temps réel les sentiments qu’éveillent chez les clients l’entreprise ou ses produits et prestations de service, et où, en Suisse, de nouvelles tendances sont en train de naître. «Dans le cadre d’un essai pilote, nous analysons différents canaux internet publics», explique Marc Steffen, Head of Product Design, Artificial Intelligence & Machine Learning Group chez Swisscom. Ce n’est pas nouveau en soi. Pourtant, jusqu’à présent, ces informations étaient compilées en partie manuellement au sein de reporting sophistiqués, et transmises à certaines personnes intéressées au mieux via un Dashboard, au pire via un document texte.

Dorénavant, Sonar analyse en temps réel l’état émotionnel des clients, affiche ce qui est écrit et analyse simultanément si les tendances sont positives, négatives ou neutres. «Un gestionnaire de produit peut à présent rechercher son produit au sein de Sonar et voir en un seul coup d’œil si l’appréciation de la clientèle dans les média sociaux et les commentaires est plutôt positive ou négative, et pourquoi il en est ainsi», selon Marc Steffen. Pour arriver à ce résultat, il a toutefois fallu analyser pour le système environ 10 000 enregistrements et affecter chaque formulation à un état d’esprit. «Sonar apprend ainsi si une formulation est positive ou négative en fonction des différents contextes.»



Les émotions déterminent le contenu

Les interfaces utilisateur de demain n’auront plus grand chose en commun avec la façon dont nous utilisons et commandons actuellement les programmes et les informations. Les attentes des utilisateurs auront de plus en plus d’influence sur les contenus et leurs modes de présentation. Et ce, grâce à l’intelligence artificielle qui apprend à reconnaître les émotions des utilisateurs en fonction de leur voix, de leur visage et des textes qu’ils écrivent. La question suivante va bien sûr se poser: l’utilisateur souhaite-t-il vraiment que l’opérateur analyse tout ce qui lui passe par la tête?

Per Bergamin explique que des appareils capables d’interpréter l’activité cérébrale sont d’ores et déjà disponibles sur le marché pour un prix relativement modeste. Cependant, il insiste sur le fait que la priorité absolue doit être accordée à l’autodétermination: «l’impact de nos logiciels d’apprentissage diminue déjà aujourd’hui proportionnellement au niveau de connaissances des apprenants. D’instructif, leur rôle vise alors de plus en plus à soutenir l’apprenant, p. ex. avec des informations supplémentaires qu’il peut utiliser si besoin est.» Reste à définir où la limite doit être fixée. Pour Marc Steffen de Swisscom, c’est pourtant très clair: «une transparence absolue est indispensable, au même titre que la liberté de choix de l’utilisateur. Il doit savoir à tout moment ce que l’opérateur fait et toujours avoir la possibilité de refuser.»





Informations complémentaires


Beware emotional robots: Giving feelings to artificial beings could backfire, study suggests: dans le cas de l’utilisation de Chatbots notamment, le type de conversation est décisif. Les émotions profondes du côté de la machine ont un effet dérangeant.

Amazon Working on Making Alexa Recognize Your Emotions: Alexa est censée reconnaître quand l’utilisateur est contrarié et s’excuser auprès de lui. Ce qui serait une véritable nouveauté pour un ordinateur!

The 2017 Voice Report by VoiceLabs: la commande des appareils à l’aide de la voix est très à la mode. Pourtant, les utilisateurs ne font pas souvent appel à cette possibilité. En effet, ils oublient très vite la présence de cette fonction, dans la mesure où aucun rappel visuel ne la leur remet en mémoire. À peine 3% des utilisateurs continuent à faire appel à l’application vocale au cours de la deuxième semaine suivant son installation.


Sonar détecte les humeurs des clients



Sonar, un système développé par Swisscom, collecte les données des clients par le biais de différents canaux comme Twitter, les commentaires laissés sur les sites internet des journaux, les flux RSS, ou le Service Desk. Que les contenus soient positifs, négatifs ou neutres – Sonar analyse automatiquement l’humeur du rédacteur. Le système reconnaît en outre les différents thèmes et tendances ou résume les feedbacks des clients en quelques phrases. Sonar permet de détecter la manière dont le client expérimente la marque. Cette application web très claire aide les collaborateurs à mieux comprendre la clientèle et à prendre des décisions en s’appuyant sur les données.




En savoir plus sur ce thème