Login Partner Network status Newsletter Contact
Login Partner Network status Newsletter Contact

Mobility insights data, Tourism insights Crans-Montana

Tourism insights Crans-Montana

How mobile data helps creating valuable experiences for Crans-Montana visitors

This article talks about mobile network data that is originally collected for network quality purposes and can also be translated into smart insights that empower better decision-making for Swisscom clients. We take an example in the tourism sector with the famous Crans-Montana resort.

Text: Yann Steimer,

Crans-Montana is one of the major tourist destinations in Valais; it is hosting prestigious events throughout the year from world-class ski competitions to horse jumping and golf tournaments. To adapt accommodation and infrastructure needs, it is crucial for the tourist office and the authorities to know the genuine demand as well as better understand visitors’ movements and behaviors.

 

The Mobility Insights Platform is a web-based platform that provides insights on the flows of visitors as well as demographics data for a defined area and time period. The data, originally collected from the mobile network for quality reasons, is first anonymized, aggregated and then transformed into meaningful insights by using big data and machine learning algorithms.

 

You can see an example of our technical capabilities in the following video:

brightcoveVideo_skipAdTitle
brightcoveVideo_skipAdCountdown
brightcoveVideo_skipAdRest
brightcoveVideo_skipAdForReal

The tourist office of Crans-Montana chose the two weeks of Christmas 2018 and decided to analyze the following area of interest (in purple) across the municipalities of Crans-Montana (in green), Lens (in red) and Icogne (in blue).

View of the area of interest (in purple) across the municipalities of Crans-Montana (in green), Lens (in red) and Icogne (in blue)

When they looked at the origins of their incoming visitors, they were surprised to see that the top 10 locations were all based in Valais. This can be explained by the fact that those are not the home locations of the visitors but the origins of their last trip prior to arrival in the ski station.

Origins of visitors for the Crans-Montana area of interest: drilling down to the Sion municipality where 23'597 traveled from there to go to Crans-Montana during the two holiday Christmas weeks of 2018.

In fact, the Mobility Insights Platform works the following way: It detects mobile phone movements and records a trip until the phone stays fixed at a position for more than 20 minutes. When it moves again, it will start a second trip until it stops again and so on.

 

So, a first learning was that at least 15% of visitors do a stopover in Sion or Sierre (probably for grocery shopping) before driving the last part to get to Crans-Montana.

 

We also looked at the visitors’ municipality of residence and discovered that guests from Lausanne and Geneva are part of the top 10.

 

Another very interesting insight we introduced was the tourists’ country of origin. Apparently, the Italians are the first foreign visitors to the resort during Christmas and New Year.

Top subscriber number nationalities

Switzerland

Italy

Netherlands

France

United Kingdom

78.54%

6.31%

3.58%

3.44%

1.88%

The tourist office also used the platform to compute day by day the evolution of trips entering and leaving the area. They saw immediately the importance of New Year’s Eve during which a lot of visitors came to the station.

 

The Mobility Insights Platform has been originally built to suit cities, urban planning and transport optimization needs and hence shows mostly mobility-based information. Other insights related to the population density of an area as well as its evolution over time would be very valuable for new segments like tourism as well as events and retail. New developments from Mobility Insights are already in progress to suit these needs.



More on the topic

Login Partenaire Etat du réseau Newsletter Contact
Login Partenaire Etat du réseau Newsletter Contact

Données mobiles sur le tourisme à Crans-Montana

Tourism insights Crans-Montana

Comment les données mobiles améliorent l'expérience à Crans-Montana

Cet article décrit comment les données mobiles, initialement recueillies à des fins de qualité du réseau, peuvent être transformées en informations précieuses permettant aux clients Swisscom de prendre de meilleures décisions. Exemple dans le secteur du tourisme: la célèbre station de Crans-Montana.

Texte: Yann Steimer,

La station de Crans-Montana est l’une des principales destinations touristiques du Valais.

 

Elle accueille des événements prestigieux tout au long de l’année, comme des compétitions de ski de niveau mondial, des concours hippiques ainsi que des tournois de golf. Il est essentiel que l’office du tourisme et les autorités connaissent la véritable demande afin de mieux comprendre les déplacements et le comportement des visiteurs. Ceci permet de pouvoir adapter, en conséquence, les besoins en hébergement et en infrastructure.

 

La plateforme Mobility Insights est une plateforme web qui fournit des informations sur les flux de visiteurs ainsi que des données démographiques pour une zone et pendant une période définie. Les données, qui sont initialement collectées dans le réseau mobile pour des raisons de qualité, sont tout d’abord anonymisées et agrégées, puis transformées en informations intéressantes à l’aide d’algorithmes de big data et d’apprentissage automatique.

 

Vous pouvez regarder la vidéo suivante pour découvrir un exemple de nos possibilités techniques:

brightcoveVideo_skipAdTitle
brightcoveVideo_skipAdCountdown
brightcoveVideo_skipAdRest
brightcoveVideo_skipAdForReal

Durant les deux semaines de vacances de Noël 2018, l’office du tourisme de Crans-Montana a analysé la zone d’intérêt suivante (en violet), qui s’étale sur les communes de Crans-Montana (en vert), Lens (en rouge) et Icogne (en bleu).

Vue de la zone d’intérêt (en violet) qui s’étale sur les communes de Crans-Montana (en vert), Lens (en rouge) et Icogne (en bleu).

Lorsque l'office du tourisme a examiné d’où venaient les visiteurs, il a été surpris de constater que les dix principaux lieux d’origine de ceux-ci se trouvaient tous en Valais. Ceci s’explique par le fait que ces lieux ne sont pas les lieux de résidence des visiteurs, mais le lieu de départ de leur dernier trajet qui les a mené à la station de ski.

Origine des visiteurs dans la zone d’intérêt de Crans-Montana: zoom sur la commune de Sion d’où 23 597 visiteurs sont partis pour rejoindre Crans-Montana pendant les deux semaines des vacances de Noël 2018.

La plateforme Mobility Insights fonctionne de la manière suivante: elle détecte le déplacement des téléphones mobiles et enregistre un trajet jusqu’à ce qu’ils restent immobiles pendant plus de 20 minutes. S’ils se déplacent à nouveau, un deuxième trajet est enregistré jusqu’à l’arrêt suivant, etc.

 

La première information obtenue est qu’au moins 15% des visiteurs font un arrêt à Sion ou à Sierre (probablement pour faire leurs courses) avant de poursuivre leur trajet en voiture jusqu’à Crans-Montana.

 

Nous avons également examiné les communes de résidence des visiteurs et avons découvert que Lausanne et Genève faisaient partie du top 10.

 

Nous avons aussi trouvé une information très intéressante: le pays d’origine des touristes. Il semble que les Italiens représentent le plus gros contingent de touristes dans la station entre Noël et Nouvel an.

Top Visiteurs selon nationalité

Suisse

Italie

Pays-Bas

France

Royaume-Uni

78.54%

6.31%

3.58%

3.44%

1.88%

L’office du tourisme a également utilisé la plateforme pour calculer quotidiennement les arrivées dans la zone et les départs de celle-ci. Il a immédiatement remarqué l’importance de la Saint-Sylvestre en termes de flux: un grand nombre de visiteurs est alors arrivé dans la station.

 

La plateforme Mobility Insights a initialement été conçue pour répondre aux besoins des villes, de la planification urbaine et de l’optimisation des transports. Son objectif est donc de fournir principalement des informations sur la mobilité. D’autres informations relatives à la densité de population d’une région ou à son évolution au cours du temps seraient très utiles pour de nouveaux segments, comme le tourisme, l’événementiel et le commerce. De nouveaux développements sont d’ores et déjà en cours sur la plateforme Mobility Insights afin de tenir compte de ces besoins.

Newsletter

Vous souhaitez recevoir régulièrement des articles et Whitepapers passionnants sur des activités TIC actuelles?


En savoir plus sur ce thème