Newsletter Partner Login Network status Contact
Newsletter Partner Login Network status Contact

Mobility insights data, Smartuse

Smartuse

Smart City: How mobility data, space and architecture interact

How can public space be used more efficiently? cividi provides the answer with its platform Smartuse, which is based on the combination and analysis of different, anonymized data. Swisscom supports as a partner.

Text: Martina Longo, Images: Unsplash, Smartuse,

Public space in change

Many questions concerning the optimal use of space are strongly linked to social and socio-political issues. How and why the ever-scarcer public space is being used is a reflection of broader changes, such as increasing technologisation, globalisation, and more flexible forms of work and life. Political guidelines, such as internal compaction and dense construction, are also central in Switzerland: existing building zones must be used more densely in order to minimise land consumption and the associated urban sprawl. Moreover, the design of public space is no longer exclusively in the hands of planners, authorities or politicians, but is increasingly influenced by participatory projects involving the population. Awareness of the immediate environment, its function and development is increasing and users are demanding co-determination. But what criteria should be used to design public space when so many factors play a role? Who should determine and evaluate the factors? And who then evaluates the success of projects?

“Smart” data provide insights

The design of public space and infrastructure is still mostly a matter of trial and error. In many cases, great projects are created, but also often oversized street spaces, poorly functioning town centres or unused squares are the result. Mistakes are usually not analysed. Planning is not yet evidence-based. In order to prevent negative spatial developments and to make them more efficient, Smartuse uses anonymised data sets from various sources, sometimes also from Swisscom’s “Mobility Insights” platform. Markus Schaefer, co-founder of Smartuse, explains the principle behind it: “Just like a doctor who uses an imaging procedure to see where he has to operate, we use data to gain important insights and see where optimizations are possible in order to make better use of space and make it more meaningful”.

Newsletter

Would you like to regularly receive interesting articles and whitepapers on current ICT topics?

> Subscribe

Time-dependent use using the example of public space in Frauenfeld (in German)

From pilot project to “Gemeindescan”

How do people behave between places of residence, work and leisure in the Zurich area? How often and intensively are certain streets used? Why are certain places not used at all or only used a little? Smartuse emerged from a pilot project of the Zurich Metropolitan Conference that focused on the analysis of such fundamental questions. Smartuse has further developed the resulting findings in the “Gemeindescan”. “With the “Gemeindescan”, actors receive a user-friendly tool for spatial development, new insights and concrete tips that they can take into account when planning and implementing their own measures,” explains Markus Schaefer. The “Gemeindescan” is constantly being further developed, further tools and products from cividi are planned. cividi is made possible through the commitment of Migros, the development fund of the Migros Group.

Do you have questions about Smartuse? Get in touch


More on the topic

   

Mobility Insights

Decide, don’t guess! Mobility Insights changes the way we make decisions by providing a deeper understanding of human mobility within Switzerland.

Go to offer

Etat du réseau Contact
Etat du réseau Contact

Mobility insights data, Smartuse

Smartuse

Smart City - comment les données de mobilité, les espaces et l’architecture interagissent

Comment utiliser l’espace public plus efficacement? C’est ce à quoi tente de répondre cividi avec sa plateforme Smartuse, qui est basée sur le regroupement et l’analyse de différentes données rendues anonyme. Swisscom lui apporte son soutien en tant que partenaire.

Texte: Martina Longo, Images: Unsplash, Smartuse,

L’espace public en mutation

Nombreuses sont les problématiques liées à l’utilisation optimale de l’espace qui sont indissociables des questions sociales et sociopolitiques. La manière dont l’espace public, qui se réduit comme peau de chagrin, est utilisé et à quelles fins est le reflet d’importants changements comme le bond technologique, la mondialisation et les formes de travail et de vie plus flexibles. Les orientations politiques comme la densification du milieu bâti et la construction dense jouent elles aussi un rôle clé en Suisse: les zones à bâtir existantes doivent être densifiées afin de minimiser la consommation de terrain et le mitage qui en résulte. De plus, l’aménagement de l’espace public n’est plus exclusivement du ressort des planificateurs, des autorités ou des politiciens. Il est en effet de plus en plus influencé par des projets participatifs avec le concours de la population. Il y a une plus grande prise de conscience de l’environnement immédiat, de sa fonction et de son développement, et les utilisateurs veulent être impliqués. Mais selon quels critères l’espace public doit-il être aménagé si autant de facteurs entrent en ligne de compte? Qui doit déterminer et analyser les facteurs? Et qui évalue ensuite le succès des projets?

Les données intelligentes fournissent des réponses

L’aménagement de l’espace public et de ses infrastructures suit encore aujourd’hui majoritairement une approche heuristique, par l’essai-erreur. De fabuleux projets voient le jour un peu partout, mais aussi des espaces routiers surdimensionnés, des centres-villes aux dysfonctionnements criants ou des lieux inutilisés. On ne semble pas tirer les leçons des erreurs passées. La planification n’est pas encore fondée sur des preuves. Afin d’éviter un développement territorial néfaste et de le rendre plus efficace, Smartuse utilise des données rendues anonymes de différentes sources, notamment de la plateforme «Mobility Insights» de Swisscom. Markus Schaefer, cofondateur de Smartuse, en explique le principe: «A l’instar d’un médecin qui utilise un procédé d’imagerie pour voir où il doit opérer, nous recueillons des informations importantes grâce aux données et identifions les optimisations possibles pour mieux utiliser les espaces et les aménager de manière plus judicieuse.»

Newsletter

Vous souhaitez recevoir régulièrement des articles et Whitepapers passionnants sur des activités TIC actuelles?

> Inscription

Utilisation de l’espace publique selon l’heure – l’exemple de Frauenfeld (en allemand)

Un projet pilote donne naissance au «Gemeindescan»

Comment les habitants de la région de Zurich évoluent-ils entre les lieux de vie, de travail et de loisirs? A quelle fréquence et à quelle intensité telle ou telle rue est-elle utilisée? Pourquoi certains lieux ne sont-ils pas du tout ou peu utilisés? Smartuse a vu le jour dans le cadre d’un projet pilote de la Conférence métropolitaine de Zurich qui portait sur l’analyse de problématiques essentielles comme celles-ci. Les conclusions qui en ont été tirées ont été développées par Smartuse pour créer le «Gemeindescan». «Avec le Gemeindescan, les acteurs disposent d’un outil convivial pour le développement du territoire, qui leur apporte un nouvel éclairage et des informations concrètes qu’ils peuvent utiliser pour planifier et mettre en œuvre leurs propres mesures», explique Markus Schaefer. Le «Gemeindescan» est développé en permanence, et des outils et produits complémentaires de cividi sont en cours d’élaboration. Cividi a pu voir le jour grâce à Engagement Migros, le fonds de soutien du groupe Migros.

Avez-vous des questions sur Smartuse? Contact


En savoir plus sur ce thème

   

Mobility Insights

Mobility Insights transforme les données du réseau mobile en informations précieuses pour le commerce, le tourisme, l’événementiel et la mobilité.

Vers l'offre