Newsletter Partner Login Contact
Newsletter Partner Login Contact

Ante Juric in an interview on IT outsourcing

IT-Outsourcing 

Helping you dedicate more time to your core business

IT projects are becoming ever more complex and wide ranging, the technological innovations keep coming and IT professionals are requiring an ever-growing skill set. That is why more and more companies are deciding to outsource all or some of their IT requirements.

Text: Martina Longo, Images: Swisscom and Unsplash, 11

In this interview, Ante Juric, Head of Project Management for Infrastructure Solutions, explains when outsourcing is especially recommended for a company, what the benefits are, and which questions a company should think about before outsourcing.

Outsourcing is often associated with cost reduction and efficiency gains. What other benefits does it bring?

That’s right – outsourcing is often a topic of conversation for companies who want to optimise costs. But outsourcing your IT services offers much more than cost savings or the well-publicised benefits of scalability, risk mitigation and quality improvements. Companies that outsource also benefit from up-to-date knowledge and access to all the latest IT trends and technological innovations. It also takes pressure off a company’s internal IT structures – freeing up more resources to drive the core business and focus on the essentials.

Which services can be outsourced and when is outsourcing particularly beneficial for a company?

Different IT services can be outsourced to external partner companies to a greater or lesser extent, depending on the needs of the individual company. For companies that lack important IT knowledge, outsourcing can often be the most efficient way of remaining competitive as a business. From out-tasking, the outsourcing of individual services or processes, to the complete outsourcing of a company’s entire IT requirements, everything is possible. It makes sense to start by outsourcing areas that have no direct impact on day-to-day business, such as data archiving. This allows a company to gain initial experience with new technologies, such as the cloud, for example, while at the same time putting outsourcing to the test.

Outsourcing Yes or No

Use these questions to help you decide

  1. Scope
    Which services will we provide ourselves and which ones can be outsourced? Should all IT requirements be outsourced or only some?
  2. Objectives and benefits
    What does my company want from outsourcing in terms of objectives and benefits, and how should these be delivered?
  3. Choice of IT partner
    Which providers are out there? Which offer the services my business is looking for? Which IT partner is the best fit for my company? Do we need to invite tenders, and, if so, how do we go about this? How exactly should cooperation with the IT provider work?
  4. Division of tasks
    Which existing or new tasks will the IT staff undertake? Who has which decision-making powers?
  5. Special features
    Which regulations have to be observed? Are there industry-specific requirements (e.g. compliance, data protection)?

Complex IT projects require careful, gradual implementation, and outsourcing is no exception. What approach would you recommend for a company?

The first step is a detailed analysis of the situation. This can be done internally within the company or with external support. It is important to define precisely what you want to achieve with outsourcing and the needs it should meet. The next step is to choose the right IT partner. After choosing an IT provider, you then move to the negotiation stage and subsequent contract signing. The parties involved discuss the implementation of the services and together draw up a detailed project plan for the forthcoming IT transformation. Internal communication is key here: employees should be involved at an early stage of the outsourcing process, with full transparency at all times.

Is IT outsourcing the route to a Data-driven business?

Yes, absolutely. IT outsourcing opens up lots of new possibilities. As a company, you benefit from continuous innovation and guidance from IT professionals, enabling you to respond more swiftly to changing market conditions and customer needs. Take the example of Feldschlösschen Ltd: real-time analyses of marketing activities are helping the company better understand and respond to specific customer needs, with a new beer, for example.


Profile

Ante Juric has worked at Swisscom for many years in various different roles – system engineer, sales and consulting specialist and project portfolio manager. In his current role, as Head of Project Management for Infrastructure Solutions, he oversees a wide range of comprehensive and complex ICT projects. 



Newsletter

Would you like to regularly receive interesting articles and whitepapers on current ICT topics?


More on the topic

Newsletter Partenaire Login Contact
Newsletter Partenaire Login Contact

Ante Juric dans l'entretien: Externalisation IT

Externalisation IT

Plus de temps pour son cœur de métier

Les projets IT sont de plus en plus complexes et étendus, les innovations technologiques évoluent à grande vitesse et les exigences vis-à-vis des spécialistes IT s’accroissent. Les entreprises sont toujours plus nombreuses à externaliser leur IT.

Texte: Martina Longo, Images: Swisscom et Unsplash, 11

Ante Juric, Head of Project Management à la division Infrastructure Solutions, explique dans une interview à quel moment l’externalisation devient pertinente pour une entreprise, quels sont les avantages et les questions à se poser avant de se lancer.

L’externalisation est souvent associée à une réduction des coûts et à des gains d’efficacité. Quels sont les autres avantages?

C’est exact – dès qu’il s’agit d’optimiser les coûts, les entreprises pensent très vite à l’externalisation. Pourtant, confier des prestations IT offre bien plus que des économies et va au-delà des avantages bien connus comme l’évolutivité, la réduction des risques et l’amélioration de la qualité. Grâce à l’externalisation, une entreprise reste toujours à la pointe des connaissances et bénéficie de toutes les tendances IT et des innovations technologiques. Les structures IT propres sont également allégées, ce qui permet de libérer des ressources pour le cœur de métier et de se concentrer sur l’essentiel.

Quels services peuvent être externalisés et à quel moment est-ce pertinent pour une entreprise?

L’externalisation des services IT chez des partenaires externes peut se faire à des degrés divers, selon les besoins de chaque entreprise. Par exemple, si une entreprise ne dispose pas des connaissances IT nécessaires, l’externalisation est le moyen le plus efficace de rester compétitive. Qu’il s’agisse d’out-tasking, d’externalisation de prestations ou processus individuels ou bien d’externalisation de l’IT complète, tout est possible. Dans un premier temps, il est pertinent d’externaliser des sous-domaines qui n’ont aucun impact direct sur les affaires quotidiennes, comme l’archivage de données. Cela permet à l’entreprise d’acquérir une première expérience avec les nouvelles technologies, comme le cloud, tout en abordant le sujet de l’externalisation.

Externalisation, oui ou non 

Ces questions vous aident à faire le bon choix.  

  1. Portée
    Quels services assurons-nous nous-mêmes et quels sont ceux pouvant être externalisés? Faut-il délocaliser toute l’IT ou seulement une partie?
  2. Objectifs et avantages
    Quels sont les objectifs et les avantages de l’externalisation pour mon entreprise et comment les atteindre?
  3. Choix du partenaire IT
    Quels sont les prestataires? Qui répond à mes besoins professionnels? Quel partenaire IT convient le mieux à mon entreprise? Un appel d’offres est-il nécessaire et comment le mener? Comment assurer en détail la coopération avec le prestataire IT?
  4. Répartition des tâches
    Quelles tâches restantes ou nouvelles les collaborateurs IT vont-ils assumer? Qui a quelles compétences décisionnelles?
  5. Particularités
    Quelles sont les règles à respecter? Existe-t-il des réglementations sectorielles spécifiques (p. ex. conformité, protection des données)?

Les projets IT complexes doivent être mis en œuvre avec soin et de façon progressive, y compris l’externalisation. Comment une entreprise peut-elle aborder la question?

La première étape consiste à analyser la situation en détail. Cela peut se faire en interne au sein de l’entreprise ou par le biais d’une société de conseil externe. L’important est de définir précisément les objectifs et les exigences auxquels l’externalisation doit répondre. Dans l’étape suivante, le partenaire IT approprié est sélectionné. Une fois qu’une entreprise a choisi son prestataire IT, elle entame des négociations et conclut ensuite un contrat. Les acteurs concernés discutent de la mise en œuvre des services et élaborent ensemble un plan de projet détaillé pour la transformation IT à venir. La communication au sein de l’entreprise joue un rôle central: les collaborateurs doivent être impliqués dans le processus d’externalisation le plus tôt possible et être informés de manière transparente.

L’externalisation IT, la voie vers le Data Driven Business?

Oui, c’est une évidence. En optant pour l’externalisation IT, une entreprise élargit le spectre de ses possibilités. Elle bénéficie de l’innovation continue et des conseils de professionnels IT et peut ainsi réagir plus vite à l’évolution des besoins du marché et des clients. L’exemple de Feldschlösschen SA le montre bien: grâce à l’analyse en temps réel des activités marketing, l’entreprise peut suivre les besoins spécifiques des clients et y réagir, en lançant par exemple une nouvelle variété de bière.  


Portrait

Ante Juric travaille pour Swisscom depuis de nombreuses années à différents postes – System Engineer, Sales & Consulting et gestionnaire de portefeuille. Actuellement Head of Project Management au sein de la division Infrastructure Solutions, il gère des projets TIC vastes et complexes.



Newsletter

Vous souhaitez recevoir régulièrement des articles et Whitepapers passionnants sur des activités TIC actuelles?


En savoir plus sur ce thème