Newsletter Partner Login Contact
Newsletter Partner Login Contact

Halter benefits from software-defined networking

Highly flexible network architecture

"We knew where we wanted to go, but we didn't exactly know how to get there."

A network that adapts to current needs at the push of a button? The real estate developer Halter knew that such a thing existed. And found a strong solution together with Swisscom and Cisco.

Text: Anton Neuenschwander (BTK), Images: Michael Meier,

Halter AG has six locations in Switzerland. In addition, the company operates its temporary offices at an average of around 20 large construction sites. The development and implementation of construction and property projects involves a considerable data volume. Halter needs a high-performance network to securely transport and exchange this data.

"Always connected" – a must in a dynamic market 

Marc Funcek, Head of ICT at Halter, describes the biggest challenges he faces with regard to the network: "It's principally mobile working and the various end devices that have added complexity. Our employees are always connected: in the office, on construction sites, working from home or on the road – and often at any time of the day or night. Furthermore, our business is very dynamic: workstations on a new construction site have to function right out of the box – we don't have time to spend ages configuring them." What would be the ideal situation for users? "That they can simply switch on their device everywhere and at any time and are immediately perfectly connected. They shouldn't even notice that they're working in the cloud, or with data and applications from our data centre."

Halter AG

Halter is one of the leading companies for construction and real estate services in Switzerland. The some 280 employees are involved in the design and implementation of development projects with all kinds of uses and investment volumes of all sizes.

 

> Halter AG

"Our employees are always connected."

Marc Funcek, Head of ICT at Halter AG 

More drive in business, thanks to automation 

Marc Funcek is satisfied that Halter has very nearly reached this ideal condition. This is thanks to a "cultural shift". Halter has digitised its network with a software-defined networking (SDN) solution from Swisscom and Cisco. As a result, many processes can be automated and the network maintenance effort has noticeably decreased. Marc Funcek provides examples: "We used to have to be on site to adjust settings at a branch. Today, we conveniently do this using the dashboard – if necessary, also on Saturdays, at home on the balcony with the tablet. Or: At large construction sites, we only need an Internet connection. We dock our configured ICT box with it, and the rest is plug and play." Stefan Koch, ICT Architect at Halter, speaks of further important advantages provided by the SDN solution: "It allows for more flexible and better coverage. We can react proactively in the event of unwanted external access or outages."

Overview on the SDN dashboard: Stefan Koch (left) and Marc Funcek.

Overview on the SDN dashboard: Stefan Koch (left) and Marc Funcek.  

Network architecture, redefined

Marc Funcek explains that he had been working with SDN for some time before the project started: "Halter wants to be modern and efficient. SDN fits in very nicely in this regard. It has not been on offer for medium-sized companies for long. When we knocked on Cisco's door, they were a bit surprised by our ambitious implementation schedule. "We knew where we wanted to go, but we didn't know exactly how to get there." This is where Swisscom came in. It is the only provider in Switzerland that can design Cisco solutions itself. "We got to know the SDN solution in depth at a live session at Swisscom Lab and in workshops at Cisco." Within a very short time, the specialists from Swisscom and Halter designed and implemented the new network in close cooperation. Funcek recalls that Swisscom's willingness and ability to integrate industry-specific requirements into the solution was very gratifying.

 

Halter wants to operate the network itself, but relies on Swisscom support. "Swisscom's knowledge transfer is important," he says, "because we can get more out of the network if we have the knowledge in-house." In fact, SDN requires a radical rethinking, adds Stefan Koch, because: "You have to forget pretty much everything you know from traditional networks. SDN has a completely different logic: It's one single network, everywhere. Its flexibility is phenomenal."

"Network settings for the branches are made conveniently on the dashboard."

Marc Funcek

The journey continues

What tips does Marc Funcek have for other companies taking on SDN? "SDN makes sense for companies with a minimum size of three locations and around 80 to 100 employees. The initial setup should not be underestimated; it is a highly complex topic. But after overcoming this hurdle, SDN practically runs itself. Nevertheless, it is indispensable to have your own network team. Our solution impresses with 100 percent availability, high performance and improved security. Its high flexibility enables our customers to offer new services and products."

 

For Marc Funcek, the journey is not over yet: "In the future, the network will provide our business with even better support. With artificial intelligence, it can become self-learning and grow or contract exactly where it determines it needs to. Or it could recognise the routines of individual users and automatically prioritise what they need, such as software." Stefan Koch brings us back to the present with his conclusion: "SDN gives me back time that I can use for other things."

Today a model, tomorrow a construction site that can be integrated into the network.

Today a model, tomorrow a construction site that can be integrated into the network.

"You have to forget pretty much everything you know from traditional networks."

Stefan Koch, ICT Architect at Halter AG 


Software-defined networking (SDN) from Swisscom

Based on software-defined networking, Cisco ACI enables companies to take an important step towards automating their network infrastructure. Swisscom is your expert partner for the purchase, design, implementation, support and operation of the solutions.

 

> More information



Newsletter

Would you like to regularly receive interesting articles and whitepapers on current ICT topics?


More on the topic

Newsletter Partenaire Login Contact
Newsletter Partenaire Login Contact

Halter tire profit du Software Defined Networking

Architecture réseau très flexible 

«Nous savions où nous voulions aller, sans savoir comment y parvenir.»

Un réseau qui s’adapte aux besoins actuels d’un simple clic? Le promoteur immobilier Halter savait: cela existe déjà. Et a trouvé une solution solide en coopération avec Swisscom et Cisco.

Texte: Anton Neuenschwander (BTK), Images: Michael Meier,

Halter AG est présente en Suisse sur six sites différents. À cela viennent s’ajouter une vingtaine de chantiers de construction importants où la société exploite ses bureaux temporaires. Le développement et l’exécution de projets de construction et d’immobilier implique des quantités importantes de données. Halter a besoin d’un réseau ultraperformant pour garantir un transport et des échanges sécurisés.

«Always connected» – un must sur le marché dynamique

Marc Funcek, responsable TIC chez Halter, décrit les principaux défis auxquels il est confronté en termes de réseau: «La complexité n’a cessé d’augmenter, principalement en raison du travail mobile et des différents types de terminaux. Nos collaborateurs sont «always connected»: que ce soit au bureau, sur les chantiers, au bureau à la maison ou en déplacement, et souvent à toute heure du jour ou de la nuit. De plus, notre activité reste très dynamique: les postes de travail sur un nouveau chantier doivent être immédiatement opérationnels, nous ne disposons que de peu de temps pour les configurer.» Quelle serait la condition idéale pour les utilisateurs? «De pouvoir allumer simplement l’appareil n’importe où et n’importe quand et d’être immédiatement connecté. Ils n’ont pas besoin de savoir s’ils sont sur le cloud ou s’ils travaillent avec des données et des applications opérant à partir de notre centre de calcul.»

Halter AG

Halter compte parmi les principales sociétés de construction et d’immobilier en Suisse. Près de 280 collaborateurs sont chargés de la conception et de la réalisation de projets de développement dans de nombreux domaines et des volumes d’investissements de toutes tailles.

 

> Halter AG

«Nos collaborateurs sont `always connected`.» 

Marc Funcek, responsable TIC chez Halter AG 

Plus de dynamisme dans les affaires grâce à l’automatisation 

Aujourd’hui, Halter est très proche de cet état idéal, déclare Marc Funcek. Cela est dû à un «changement culturel». Halter a numérisé son réseau avec une solution SDN (Software Defined Networking) de Swisscom et de Cisco. Cela permet d’automatiser de nombreux processus et de considérablement diminuer les besoins de maintenance du réseau. Marc Funcek fournit des exemples: «Avant, il nous fallait être sur place pour ajuster les paramètres d’une filiale. Aujourd’hui, nous le faisons confortablement et directement dans le tableau de bord, si nécessaire également le samedi depuis la maison sur le balcon, avec la tablette. Ou alors: sur les gros chantiers, nous n’avons plus besoin que d’une connexion Internet. Nous y raccordons notre box TIC préconfigurée, et le reste se fait plug-and-play.» Stefan Koch, architecte TIC chez Halter, mentionne d’autres avantages importants de la solution SDN: «Elle nous permet une protection plus flexible et améliorée. Nous pouvons réagir de manière proactive en cas d’accès non autorisés ou de pannes.»

Aperçu sur le tableau de bord SDN: Stefan Koch (à gauche) et Marc Funcek.

Aperçu sur le tableau de bord SDN: Stefan Koch (à gauche) et Marc Funcek.

L’architecture réseau redéfinie

Il a travaillé sur SDN depuis un certain temps avant que le projet soit lancé, déclare Marc Funcek: «Halter veut être moderne et efficace. SDN cadre très bien avec cela. Mais l’offre n’était que récemment disponible pour les moyennes entreprises. Lorsque nous avons frappé chez Cisco, ils ont été un peu surpris par notre vitesse de mise en œuvre ambitieuse. «Nous savions où nous voulions aller, sans savoir comment y parvenir.» Et c’est là que Swisscom est entrée en jeu. C’est le seul fournisseur en Suisse capable de concevoir lui-même les solutions Cisco. «C’est au cours d’une Live- Session dans le Swisscom Lab et dans le cadre d’ateliers chez Cisco que nous avons appris à mieux connaître la solution SDN.» En peu de temps, les spécialistes de Swisscom et de Halter ont conçu et mis en œuvre en étroite collaboration le nouveau réseau. Funcek rappelle que la propension et la capacité de Swisscom à intégrer les besoins spécifiques du secteur au sein de la solution ont été très réjouissantes.

 

Halter veut exploiter le réseau soi-même, mais peut s’appuyer sur l’assistance de Swisscom. «Le transfert de connaissances de Swisscom est essentiel», note-t-il, «car nous pouvons tirer davantage parti du réseau si nous disposons des connaissances en interne.» En effet, SDN nécessite de repenser le tout de manière radicale, ajoute Stefan Koch, car: «Il convient d’oublier à peu près tout ce que vous savez sur l’administration des réseaux traditionnels. SDN suit une logique complètement différente: c’est un seul réseau, partout. Sa flexibilité est phénoménale.»

«Nous effectuons les paramètrages réseau pour les filiales en toute simplicité sur le tableau de bord.»

Marc Funcek

Le voyage continue 

Quels sont les conseils de Marc Funcek pour les autres entreprises qui veulent s’appuyer sur SDN? «SDN va se justifier pour les entreprises comptant au moins trois sites et entre 80 et 100 collaborateurs. La configuration initiale ne doit pas être sous-estimée, il s’agit là d’un sujet extrêmement complexe. Mais une fois cet obstacle surmonté, SDN se déploie presque comme un jeu d’enfant. Mais il convient de conserver une équipe réseau interne. La solution est très convaincante chez nous, avec une disponibilité de 100%, des performances élevées et une sécurité améliorée. Grâce à sa grande flexibilité, elle nous permet d’offrir à nos clients de nouveaux services et produits.»

 

Pour Marc Funcek, le voyage n’est pas encore terminé: «À l’avenir, le réseau va soutenir encore mieux notre activité. Avec l’intelligence artificielle, il va pouvoir apprendre par lui-même et croître ou diminuer selon les besoins. Mais on peut s’imaginer qu’il pourrait aussi reconnaître les routines de chaque utilisateur et lui fournir automatiquement les éléments dont il a besoin en priorité, par exemple un logiciel.» Stefan Koch nous ramène au présent en concluant: «SDN me libère du temps que je peux investir différemment.»

Übersicht am SDN-Dashboard: Stefan Koch (links) und Marc Funcek

Aujourd’hui encore à l’état de modèle, demain un chantier qui sera intégré au réseau.

«Il convient d’oublier à peu près tout ce que vous savez sur l’administration des réseaux traditionnels.»

Stefan Koch, architecte TIC chez Halter AG


Software Defined Networking (SDN) de Swisscom

Avec Cisco ACI, basé sur le Software Designed Networking, les entreprises font un pas important vers l’automatisation de leur infrastructure réseau. Swisscom est le partenaire compétent pour l’achat, la conception, la mise en œuvre, l’assistance et l’exploitation des solutions.

 

> En savoir plus



Newsletter

Vous souhaitez recevoir régulièrement des articles et Whitepapers passionnants sur des activités TIC actuelles?


En savoir plus sur ce thème