Newsletter Partner Login Network status Contact
Newsletter Partner Login Network status Contact

Software-defined networking video presentation

Enterprise Connect 

Why top managers rely on SD-WAN

Major US corporations have been relying on SD-WAN – a modern IT solution – for a number of years. It enables businesses to interconnect all their locations in a short space of time and to expand their digital footprint. This technology is also available in Switzerland. We show you how SD-WAN gives managers competitive advantages.

Text: Martina Longo, First published on 30 july 2019, updated

Worldwide customer databases, secure communication with all employees, cost-effective IT infrastructures for all branch offices, bandwidth adaptation within minutes: Software-defined networking (or SDN) is currently one of the most promising technologies for major corporations.

 

The background is remarkably simple: Data-driven business is on the rise, especially in Switzerland. The next wave of digitisation is on the horizon. This will require stable connections.

 

However, what used to involve high costs and physical labour has now become as simple as opening a LinkedIn account: All you (or your IT officer) need to do is log on, configure the infrastructure and you’re ready to go. There’s no longer any need for cable-laying or IT expansion.

 

With SDN and SD-WAN solutions such as Swisscom’s Enterprise Connect, you can connect to tomorrow’s IT today. Our video shows why it really is that simple:

brightcoveVideo_skipAdTitle
brightcoveVideo_skipAdCountdown
brightcoveVideo_skipAdRest
brightcoveVideo_skipAdForReal

Always online, constant access to your data

Major US corporations like Amazon and Microsoft have been showing for many years how work will change in the future. They have developer teams in the US, marketing think-tanks in Britain and logistics centres in continental Europe. All of these teams work together – 24/7. When it’s the end of the business day for the marketing team in Britain, the developers in the US are starting work. Using the same data. The finished product then finds its way into production and finally the logistics centre.

 

This permanent collaboration is Internet-based. Employees are constantly connected via their companies’ own networks and they have secure access to the relevant data and contacts.

 

However, not all Internet access is the same. If you take a look at today’s networks in Switzerland or those of its European neighbours, you’ll see that uniform connections are also associated with challenges. Some branch offices have worse Internet access than others. Individual telephone exchanges can break down, and in spite of various service level agreements in the business environment, stability is not usually guaranteed. Added to this, connecting new locations is still relatively labour- and cost-intensive and there are not enough opportunities for quickly scaling up your own network.

This is where SDN technology comes in. It networks businesses while maintaining stable and maximum performance and ensures that everyone involved in your company is connected securely. What's more, this is backed up by guaranteed availability and SLAs that keep their promises.

Locations and machines in a separate network

But Enterprise Connect from Swisscom also goes a step further: This solution offers everything you need for successful business digitisation.

 

Imagine you have a production division. If they are not already able to do so, within the next couple of years the sensors in your machines will be able to process data. Enterprise Connect enables you to process this data as resources within a short space of time. In this way, not only do you optimise your production, but you can also avoid expensive outages and costly reordering of spares because today’s industrial robots can detect when their parts are wearing out and automatically order replacements.

 

For this you need a secure network that efficiently transports large data volumes and yet can be adapted flexibly. Software-defined networking (SDN) is the perfect networking technology for this purpose. Hardware and software can be configured in an agile manner and adapted individually. Enterprise Connect uses SDN to prepare your network for the future – at the touch of a button.

 

With Enterprise Connect, you can manage your network independently and securely, just the way you need it. It therefore turns IT into a managerial tool.

 

Want to find out more? Then read about how Loterie Romande is already benefiting from Enterprise Connect today.


Control your network directly from the Enterprise Connect online dashboard 

A unique complete package based on software-defined networking for optimal ICT synergy. Take advantage of all the benefits of digitisation to make your network smarter, faster and more agile.

 

> Find out more



Newsletter

Would you like to regularly receive interesting articles and whitepapers on current ICT topics?


More on the topic

Newsletter Partenaire Login Etat du réseau Contact
Newsletter Partenaire Login Etat du réseau Contact

Software Defined Network expliqué en vidéo

Enterprise Connect 

Pourquoi les top managers misent sur SD-WAN

Depuis quelques années, les grands groupes américains misent sur une solution informatique moderne – SD-WAN. Les entreprises mettent ainsi en réseau tous les sites en l’espace de peu de temps et étendent leur stucture informatique. Cette technologie est aussi disponible en Suisse. Nous vous montrons comment SD-WAN crée des avantages concurrentiels pour les managers.

Texte: Martina Longo,  Publié pour la première fois le 31 juillet 2019,  mis à jour le

Bases de données mondiales, communication sécurisée avec tous les collaborateurs, infrastructure économique pour toutes les succursales, adaptations des débits dans la minute – le Software Defined Networking (abrégé SDN) fait actuellement partie des technologies les plus prometteuses pour les grandes entreprises.

 

Le contexte est éminemment simple: le «Data Driven Business» est en marche, surtout en Suisse. Le raccordement à la prochaine vague de numérisation approche. Et cela nécessite des infrastructures stables.

 

Ce qui était auparavant lié à des coûts élevés et du travail physique est aujourd’hui aussi simple que l’ouverture d’un compte LinkedIn: vous (ou votre responsable informatique) devez seulement vous connecter, configurer votre infrastructure et c’est parti. Pas de câble à tirer, pas d’extension de votre informatique.

 

Avec des solutions SD-WAN de l’environnement SDN telles qu’Entreprise Connect de Swisscom, vous êtes déjà raccordés à l’informatique de demain. Et notre vidéo vous montre la raison pour laquelle c’est vraiment si simple:

brightcoveVideo_skipAdTitle
brightcoveVideo_skipAdCountdown
brightcoveVideo_skipAdRest
brightcoveVideo_skipAdForReal

Partout en ligne et toujours avec un accès à ses données

De grands groupes américains tels qu’Amazon ou Microsoft montrent depuis des années comment on travaillera demain. Ils comptent des équipes de développement aux USA, des thinktanks marketing en Angleterre et des centres de logistique en Europe. Toutes ces équipes collaborent 24 heures sur 24, 7 jours sur 7. Lorsque l’équipe marketing termine sa journée en Angleterre, les développeurs commencent à travailler aux Etats-Unis, et ce avec les mêmes données. Le produit fini part ensuite en production avant d’être acheminé jusqu’au centre logistique.

 

Internet est la base de cette collaboration permanente. Les collaborateurs sont toujours reliés par des réseaux de l’entreprise et bénéficient d’un accès sécurisé aux données et interlocuteurs nécessaires.

 

Mais Internet a plusieurs visages: lorsque l’on observe actuellement les réseaux en Suisse ou dans les pays européens partenaires, on sait qu’une connexion homogène est souvent liée à des défis. Certaines succursales dispose d’une connexion Internet moins bonne que d’autres. Certaines installations téléphoniques tombent en panne – une stabilité garantie manque souvent, malgré divers Service Level Agreements dans l’environnement de l’entreprise. S’y ajoutent des coûts et délais demeurant relativement élevés et longs pour raccorder de nouveaux sites ainsi que des possibilités réduites pour mettre rapidement à l’échelle son réseau.

La technologie SDN est utile dans ce contexte. Elle permet une mise en réseau stable et hautement performante de votre entreprise de même qu’elle assure une connexion sécurisée à toutes les parties prenantes au sein de cette dernière. Avec une disponibilité garantie et des SLA qui tiennent leur promesse.

Sites et machines dans son réseau

Enterprise Connect de Swisscom franchit une étape supplémentaire. La solution relie tout ce qui est nécessaire au succès commercial de la numérisation.

 

Imaginez simplement que vous avez une production. Dans quelques années (voire déjà aujourd’hui), les capteurs de vos machines pourront traiter des données, que vous pourrez très rapidement utiliser, avec Enterprise Connect, comme ressources. Vous optimiserez non seulement la production mais vous éviterez, par exemple, des pannes coûteuses ou des commandes supplémentaires de pièces – les robots industriels identifient, aujourd’hui déjà, l’usure des pièces et commandent les rechanges automatiquement.

 

Un réseau sécurisé capable de transporter efficacement la grande quantité de données et de s’adapter de manière flexible est nécessaire pour cela. Software Defined Networking (SDN) est la technologie de réseau adéquate: matériel et logiciel peuvent être configurés de manière agile et adaptés individuellement. Enterprise Connect utilise SDN afin de préparer votre réseau pour le futur- sur simple pression d’un bouton.

 

Avec Enterprise Connect, vous gérez votre réseau de manière autonome et sécurisée – exactement ce qu’il vous faut. L’informatique devient ainsi un instrument du management.

 

Vous souhaitez en savoir plus? Lisez comment la Loterie Romande tire parti, aujourd’hui déjà, d’Enterprise Connect.


Gérez votre réseau directement dans le tableau de bord en ligne Enterprise Connect

Un paquet complet unique en son genre sur la base du Software Defined Networking garantissant une interaction optimale de vos TIC. Profitez de tous les avantages de la numérisation et rendez votre réseau plus intelligent, plus rapide et plus agile.

 

> Plus d’infos



Newsletter

Vous souhaitez recevoir régulièrement des articles et Whitepapers passionnants sur des activités TIC actuelles?


En savoir plus sur ce thème