Login Partner Network status Newsletter Contact
Login Partner Network status Newsletter Contact

Software-defined Networking

Software-defined Networking

SD-WAN: Hype or a must for your company?

According to Gartner, more than half the world’s companies will have modernised their IT infrastructures by 2020. The focus of this modernisation will be on software-based systems such as SD-WAN, which promise not only greater efficiency but also pave the way towards automation. This article explains in five steps how managers and digitisation officers are strategically driving forward the modernisation of their own infrastructures.

Text: Romana Bleisch and Martina Longo, Images: Adobe Stock, First published on 6 june 2019, updated

Whereas the cloud is typically used as a virtual data storage or data centre solution, companies are increasingly relying on virtual solutions for networking. The most well-known example of this is what are known as software-based systems. These software-defined networks (SDNs) significantly increase efficiency and support automation.

brightcoveVideo_skipAdTitle
brightcoveVideo_skipAdCountdown
brightcoveVideo_skipAdRest
brightcoveVideo_skipAdForReal

SDN - The network at the push of a button

Careful planning is essential in order to capitalise on the benefits of SDNs. Issues relating to security, compatibility with other applications, transparency and project implementation are central to this switch. What's more, these issues are mostly a matter for management rather than technicians. And careful planning is required in collaboration with security, data-protection and digitisation officers.

 

But fear not: plans like this already exist. And you can easily adapt them to your business. You can do this either on the basis of the following five steps or by contacting one of our advisors directly.

Five steps to a modern infrastructure

Let us assume that your business wants to modernise its IT. One part of this is the infrastructure. To ensure that it remains powerful and secure throughout the next decade, you can use what is known as SD-WAN on the basis of the Swisscom Enterprise Connect solution. Here’s how you can modernise your IT in five steps:

1. Set your goal:

Define your application scenario and determine what specific challenge you want to overcome with the aid of an SDN. Is it about automating processes, about security or agility? Focus on just one area because you needn’t turn your entire network on its head in one go. For smooth implementation and optimal results, we recommend expanding your network in stages.

2. Get the status quo from your IT:

What hardware and software do you currently use? Check whether all the components that make up your infrastructure are compatible with the relevant SDN solution. This information can be supplied by your IT department or service provider. Use uniform, compatible hardware and software so that SDN can be implemented without a hitch.

 

You should also know relevant key performance indicators like response times and bandwidth use. These KPIs are central to ensuring optimal implementation because SDN can be employed for wide-ranging applications with very different requirements. Successful implementation relies on network and application managers knowing the precise demands of each application.

3. Set up a project team:

Switching to SDN affects different areas of a business. The necessary know-how must therefore be equally broad-based. Set up a project team that consists of both networking experts and people with interdepartmental skills. Successful implementation requires an interdisciplinary team with a wide range of knowledge and skills. Check whether the necessary knowledge is available internally. If not, call on external experts to fill the gaps. Holistic support from specialists can be a useful option. With regard to network security, for example, you need experts to define and write the security guidelines, an engineering team to build the network and IT specialists to manage the final network.

4. Set up a PoC:

Now it's time to turn your idea into reality. To ensure success, you should start with an initial proof of concept (PoC). In general, you can proceed with this just as you would with any PoC (defining the goals, planning, budgeting and execution, etc.). But bear in mind that connecting a location to an SD-WAN generally isn't very complicated because it can be undertaken in a hybrid manner and independently of classic structures. Therefore, don’t spend too much time on the PoC.

5. Analyse your achievements:

Having quickly completed implementation, you should immediately analyse your new solution. Determine the time for the network analysis, collect your data and then check your network at regular intervals after implementation. Has the new method solved your current problem? Would it make sense to introduce SDN in other network areas too? Do you have the (HR and technical) infrastructure to maintain software-based networks throughout your business?

Your next step

Software-defined networking opens up new avenues for automating and virtualising processes. Now that you know how it works in theory, it’s time to find out more about the topic. We recommend reading our in-depth white paper “With SD-WANs into the Hybrid Cloud”.


Control your network directly using the online dashboard

A unique complete package based on software-defined networking for the optimum interaction of your ICT. Use all the advantages of digitalisation, and start by making your network more intelligent, faster, and more agile.

 

> Learn more


Newsletter

Would you like to regularly receive interesting articles and whitepapers on current ICT topics?


More on the topic

Newsletter Partenaire Login Contact
Newsletter Partenaire Login Contact

Software Defined Networking (SDN)

Software Defined Networking 

Réseau du futur: une approche en quatre étapes

Si le cloud représente une solution virtuelle pour le stockage et les centres de données, les entreprises utilisent toujours plus de systèmes logiciels, ceci également dans le domaine des réseaux. Le système Software Defined Networking (SDN) augmente résolument l’efficience et soutient l’automatisation. Les quatre aspects suivants sont toutefois essentiels pour assurer une transition réussie.

Texte: Romana Bleisch et Martina Longo, Images: Adobe Stock, 6 juin 2019

L’entreprise américaine Gartner spécialisée dans l’étude de marché estime que plus de la moitié des infrastructures WAN seront basées sur des systèmes logiciels d’ici 2020. Le système Software Defined Networking (SDN) soutient les entreprises, amenées à devenir toujours plus rapides, flexibles et agiles. Il va de pair avec la numérisation et gagne donc en importance au niveau mondial.

 

Les réseaux de type Wide Area Networks (WAN) représentent des domaines d’application SDN caractéristiques. Si le réseau WAN est très rapide et fiable, il n’offre que peu de marge de manœuvre. Lorsqu’il est migré sur un système logiciel, on parle de SD-WAN. Le matériel et les logiciels sont alors séparés les uns des autres et configurés facilement via le tableau de bord. Les propriétés du réseau, qu’il s’agisse d’un cloud ou d’un centre de calcul, sont gérées de manière centralisée. Une simple pression de touche suffit à connecter les sites.

 

Une planification minutieuse est essentielle pour tirer profit du système SDN. Les questions de sécurité, de compatibilité avec d’autres applications, de transparence et de mise en œuvre de projets sont prioritaires au niveau de la transition. Il convient donc d’examiner avec précision la situation de départ pour garantir le succès d’une telle démarche.

brightcoveVideo_skipAdTitle
brightcoveVideo_skipAdCountdown
brightcoveVideo_skipAdRest
brightcoveVideo_skipAdForReal

SDN – Le réseau sur simple pression d'un bouton

Think big, start small

Dans un premier temps, vous définissez votre champ d’application et déterminez les défis concrets que vous voulez relever avec le système SDN. S’agit-il de d’automatiser des processus, d’améliorer la sécurité ou l’agilité? Limitez-vous à un domaine. Il n’est pas nécessaire de chambouler tout le réseau d’un seul coup. Nous vous conseillons de développer celui-ci progressivement pour éviter tout problème lors de l’implémentation et obtenir des résultats optimaux. Les réseaux hybrides et la migration échelonnée des domaines vers un système logiciel représentent aussi une bonne solution.

 

Il faut observer ce qui se passe dans l’ensemble de la branche. Comment l’industrie utilise-t-elle SDN? Quelles sont les applications migrées sur réseau logiciel? Notez également les exemples à suivre comme la transition réussie de la Loterie Romande vers un réseau SDN. Ces informations vous aideront à planifier votre projet.

 

Faits et chiffres

À quoi ressemblent le matériel et les logiciels d’aujourd’hui? Assurez-vous que tous les composants de votre infrastructure soient compatibles avec SD-WAN. Afin de garantir la bonne implémentation de SDN, utilisez des produits uniformes pour le matériel et les logiciels.

 

Les chiffres-clés pertinents comme le temps de réponse ou l’utilisation de la bande passante doivent également être connus. Ces données sont essentielles à une transition optimale, puisque SDN peut être utilisé pour de multiples applications aux exigences très variables. Les gestionnaires de réseau et d’applications doivent comprendre les spécificités de l’application pour garantir la réussite de l’implémentation.

 

Entourez-vous de spécialistes dès le début du projet pour obtenir leur soutien lors de l’analyse.

Votre équipe, la clé du succès

La migration vers SDN affecte plusieurs domaines de l’entreprise et requiert donc un savoir-faire particulier. Composez une équipe de projet constituée de spécialistes de réseau et d’experts dans d’autres domaines. Une migration réussie s’appuie sur une collaboration interdisciplinaire avec un large éventail de connaissances et de compétences. Vérifiez que le savoir requis soit disponible en interne et comblez les lacunes avec l’intervention de experts externes. Vous pouvez également faire appel à des spécialistes pour un accompagnement complet. Dans le domaine de la sécurité réseau, par exemple, vous avez besoin d’experts pour définir les directives de sécurité, d’une équipe d’ingénieurs pour aménager le réseau et de spécialistes en informatique pour le gérer.

 

De plus, les responsabilités organisationnelles en lien avec le réseau, le serveur et les applications ne sont pas toujours évidentes au sein d’un système SDN. Par conséquent, la collaboration avec les responsables informatiques des domaines en question mérite une coordination soigneuse.

Après l’introduction, l’analyse 

Fixez un délai pour l’analyse du réseau, rassemblez vos données et continuez de contrôler régulièrement votre réseau après l’implémentation. La nouvelle méthode a-t-elle résolu le problème existant? L’introduction de SDN est-elle pertinente pour d’autres domaines du réseau? Disposez-vous des ressources nécessaires (humaines et techniques) pour maintenir les réseaux logiciels dans l’ensemble de votre entreprise?

 

Le système Software Defined Networking offre de nouvelles possibilités pour l’automatisation et la virtualisation de processus. Tirez le meilleur parti de ces opportunités ainsi que d’une réelle plus-value en matière de Data Driven Business.


Gérez votre réseau à partir du tableau de bord en ligne

Une solution complète unique qui s’appuie sur le networking défini par logiciel pour une intégration optimale de votre TIC. Profitez de tous les avantages de la numérisation pour rendre votre réseau plus intelligent, plus rapide, plus agile.

 

> En savoir plus


Newsletter

Vous souhaitez recevoir régulièrement des articles et Whitepapers passionnants sur des activités TIC actuelles?


En savoir plus sur ce thème