Predictive Analytics: Data knows the future

Predictive Analytics

Data can predict the future


Learning from the past in order to master the future – for companies this means: Using Predictive Analytics to estimate the probability of future events in order to draw relevant conclusions for the future.


Text: Felix Raymann, Images: Alamy, Keystone, Strandperle, 20




Getting a crystal ball or relying on the services of a fortune teller is not really an option for most companies looking to improve their HR performance. So how can you find out which valuable employees are about to leave their jobs? How do you track down those employees in the company who will reveal themselves to be talents worth nurturing in the future? Predictive Analytics can help achieve these goals: Company data is used to calculate the probabilities of events occurring. The method enables statistical patterns of behaviour to be used to predict complex economic interrelationships.


The data collected has a great deal of potential

The lack of skilled workers in certain industries is worrying. The best employees leave before the new generation in the company is ready to take their place. To find a solution to this disadvantageous HR situation, the company has to know how to hold on to its valuable employees and how hidden talents within the company’s ranks can be unearthed.

Not an easy task, because resignations often seem to appear out of the blue. And it is not always the loudest employees, those who are good at selling themselves, whose promotion will add to the value of the company. A company’s employees are its most valuable resource. So it is worthwhile taking a closer look and making use of the available information by examining the relationships between various HR data.





“The basis is made up of the widest range of indicators, such as salary, salary development in recent years, years of service, employee review evaluations and age,” explains Martin Gutmann, Head of Analytics & Data Consulting at Swisscom. For example, the SAP Predictive Analytics analysis software investigates along its “Job termination” row how all of the characteristics in the columns match up. “The more of these characteristics one uses, the greater the chance of being able to detect significant matches and thus make predictions,” says Gutmann. “This is also a way of finding those indicators that are not obvious at first glance, but that still influence a job termination. For example, the evaluation of the employee’s superior and even the evaluation of this superior’s boss,” says Gutmann.


Isolated data tells us nothing

In order to be able to generate meaningful data, the information and raw data must be aggregated. “The cleaning, enriching and preparation of the data accounts for around 80-90 % of the work,” says Martin Gutmann, illustrating this with a simple example: “If you want to make predictions for sandwich sales figures in front of Bern train station, the sales figures from the past give you only very limited information for future sales. However, when you enrich this data with other indicators such as the weather conditions, the day of the week or events taking place nearby at the same time, useful predictions can be made.” The system uses algorithms to find out which combination of indicators is most probable for a specific event to occur.


Predicting customer requirements

Knowing in advance how customers are going to behave, when the ideal time is for maintenance, or when fraud is going to be perpetrated, gives a significant competitive advantage and protects against unpleasant surprises. The uses of Predictive Analytics are wide-ranging and encompass all industries. A few examples: In marketing it can be used to determine the target group and the right communication channel. In industry – and especially in machine engineering and IoT projects – accumulated data volumes can be analysed. The focus here is on detecting anomalies in order to make maintenance more straightforward. The process is also applied to invoicing in order to predict customers’ payment practices. If you know that a customer will pay a bill late, but in all probability is going to pay it, you do not send a reminder and the customer experience remains positive as a result.





Optimisations in the finance sector

In the finance sector, Predictive Analytics enables you to optimise your cash flow and make better predictions about it. Banks can improve their credit risk management, optimise their client portfolio or foresee money laundering activities more reliably. “The better a bank understands its customers, the better the consulting it can offer. Instead of making standard offers to customers, a targeted evaluation of the customer data enables you to prepare for specific, relevant offers,” says Gutmann. For example, a large bank in Zurich would conduct an appropriate analysis to find out which customers are very likely not to renew their mortgage. Churn Prediction is used to find the customers most likely to terminate their contracts and then approach them individually. “Along with the characteristics age, gender, type of property etc., other indicators such as ownership of securities, bank balance fluctuations or the use of e-banking are also taken into account,” Gutmann explains.


More than just gathering data

Evaluating historical data is nothing new as such, and has been used for a long time already in the insurance and retail industries in particular. However, what has changed fundamentally is the data volume and especially the ease of access to powerful algorithms with which predictions can be made. In contrast to Business Intelligence (BI), Predictive Analytics does not merely transform unstructured data into usable information, but also describes meaningful correlations that shed light on future events.

To use Predictive Analytics, however, certain prerequisites must be fulfilled: In particular, there must be data of sufficient quantity and quality. And data protection is an important factor here. It is not merely that the data protection laws must be observed at all times, but also that questions relating to ethics and security need to be asked.


Self-learning tools

Predictive models are now able to automatically supply themselves with new data at regular intervals, and to incorporate previous results autonomously. This enables a prediction to be continuously reassessed and refined. The recommendation from the algorithms adjusted in this way is analysed and discussed with business experts and then implemented step by step. The tendency is toward end-to-end automation, from the data collection and processing to the preparation and selection of the best models and their automatic implementation in IT systems based on specified criteria.




Predictive Analytics in Human Capital Management

Risks and trends can be detected early using data analysis. HR data in particular can be used to create detailed reports that enable companies to be proactive in, for example, nurturing valuable employees and also holding on to them. Specifically, Swisscom offers an Ideation Workshop in which companies can work on their own HR application cases.

> More on the Smart Data Lab



“Analytics and data are the key to measurably better solutions.”



Martin Gutmann

Head of Analytics & Data Consulting







   

Business Intelligence

Central data storage, multi-dimensional data analysis, reporting at the push of a button thanks to modern Business Intelligence tools.

Go to offer


Newsletter

Subscribe to the newsletter now and stay informed about trends, industry news and benchmarks.





More on the topic

Predictive Analytics: les données connaissent l’avenir

Predictive Analytics

Predictive Analytics: les données connaissent l’avenir


Tirer les leçons du passé pour gérer l’avenir. Pour les entreprises, cela signifie: évaluer la probabilité d’événements futurs au moyen de Predictive Analytics pour en tirer des conclusions pertinentes.


Texte: Felix Raymann, Images: Alamy, Keystone, Strandperle, 20




Acheter une boule de cristal ou faire confiance à une voyante ne comptent sûrement pas parmi les solutions envisagées par la plupart des entreprises pour améliorer leurs performances en matière de RH. Alors que faire pour savoir quels précieux collaborateurs vont bientôt démissionner? Comment détecter en interne les collaborateurs qui mériteront dans le futur une promotion? Predictive Analytics devrait permettre de répondre à ces questions: les probabilités d’événements ultérieurs sont calculées à l’aide des données de l’entreprise. Cette méthode permet de prédire des phénomènes économiques complexes au moyen de modèles comportementaux statistiques.


Les données collectées renferment un potentiel considérable

Dans certaines branches, le manque de main d’œuvre qualifiée est alarmant: les meilleurs collaborateurs démissionnent tandis que leur succession interne n’est pas encore assurée. Pour trouver une issue à cette situation difficile, l’entreprise a besoin de savoir comment retenir les meilleurs collaborateurs et comment identifier les talents cachés du personnel existant.

Une tâche malaisée, étant donné que les démissions semblent souvent tomber du ciel. Et les collaborateurs dont la promotion apporterait une plus-value à l’entreprise ne sont pas toujours ceux qui font le plus de bruit et qui savent le mieux se vendre. Les collaborateurs sont les ressources les plus précieuses d’une entreprise. Cela vaut la peine d’y regarder de plus près et d’utiliser les données disponibles.





Pour cela, les données concernant le personnel sont mises en relation les unes avec les autres. «Le plus grand nombre possible d’indicateurs tels que le salaire, l’évolution du salaire des dernières années, l’ancienneté, l’évaluation dans l’entretien avec le collaborateur ou l’âge servent de base», explique Martin Gutmann, Directeur Analytics & Data Consulting chez Swisscom. On peut se représenter la chose ainsi: le logiciel d’analyse SAP Predictive Analytics vérifie sur la ligne «Démission» la concordance avec tous les critères dans les colonnes. «Plus le nombre de critères pris en compte est élevé, plus la probabilité de concordances significatives augmente, ce qui permet alors d’émettre des prédictions», précise M. Gutmann. «De cette manière, vous détectez également des indicateurs qui ne sont pas évidents au premier abord, mais qui influencent quand même la démission. Par exemple l’évaluation du supérieur hiérarchique et même l’évaluation du patron de celui-ci», ajoute M. Gutmann.


Les données isolées ne révèlent rien

Pour pouvoir générer des données révélatrices, les informations et les données brutes doivent être agrégées en conséquence. «La correction, l’enrichissement et la préparation des données représentent 80 à 90% du travail», explique Martin Gutmann et illustre cela à l’aide d’un simple exemple: «Si l’on veut établir un pronostic pour les chiffres de ventes de sandwichs devant la gare de Berne, les chiffres des ventes passées en disent peu sur les ventes futures. Mais si on y ajoute d’autres indicateurs comme les conditions météo, le jour de la semaine ou les manifestations qui ont lieu à proximité, il est possible de faire des prévisions utilisables.» Au moyen d’algorithmes, le système calcule quelle combinaison d’indicateurs est la plus probable pour qu’un événement survienne.


Anticiper les besoins de la clientèle

Savoir à l’avance la manière dont les clients vont se comporter, la date idéale pour effectuer des opérations de maintenance ou la date à laquelle une fraude va avoir lieu, tout cela apporte un avantage concurrentiel important et évite les mauvaises surprises. Predictive Analytics a des usages très variés et convient à toutes les branches. Quelques exemples: dans le secteur du marketing, il permet de déterminer le groupe cible et le canal de communication approprié. Dans l’industrie, en particulier dans le secteur de la construction de machines et de projets d’IdO, les volumes de données générées peuvent être analysés. L’important, dans ce cas, est de détecter les anomalies afin de faciliter la maintenance. Le procédé est également utilisé dans la facturation pour pronostiquer la moralité de paiement des clients: quand on sait qu’un client va payer la facture en retard, mais qu’il va très probablement la payer, on renonce à envoyer un rappel et l’expérience du client reste positive.





Optimisations dans le secteur financier

Dans le secteur financier, Predictive Analytics permet d’optimiser et de mieux prévoir le cashflow. Les banques peuvent améliorer leur gestion du risque de crédit, optimiser leur portefeuille de clients ou mieux prévoir les opérations de blanchiment d’argent. «Plus une banque comprend ses clients, plus ses services de conseil sont bons. Au lieu de leur soumettre des solutions standard, on peut préparer des offres sur mesure grâce à une évaluation ciblée des données du client», décrit M. Gutmann. Dans une grande banque de Zurich, on essaie ainsi, dit-il, de déceler, à l’aide d’une analyse appropriée, les clients qui ne vont très probablement pas renouveler leur hypothèque. Churn Prediction (pronostics de pertes de clients) permet de trouver les clients susceptibles de résilier leur contrat et de s’adresser à eux de façon ciblée. «Pour cela, on tient compte de critères tels que l’âge, le sexe et le type de bien immobilier, mais aussi d’indicateurs tels que la détention de titres, les fluctuations du compte en banque ou l’utilisation du E-banking», explique M. Gutmann.


Predictive Analytics ne se contente pas de collecter les données

L’évaluation de données historiques n’est en soi rien de nouveau: elle est pratiquée depuis longtemps, surtout dans le commerce et dans le secteur des assurances. Mais ce qui a radicalement changé, c’est la quantité de données et surtout la facilité d’accès à des algorithmes performants qui permettent d’établir des pronostics. Contrairement à Business Intelligence (BI), Predictive Analytics ne transforme pas seulement des données non structurées en informations utiles mais décrit aussi des corrélations révélant des événements à venir.

Pour utiliser Predictive Analytics, certaines conditions préalables doivent cependant être respectées: les données, notamment, doivent être de bonne qualité et être disponibles en quantité suffisante. Dans ce contexte, la protection des données est un facteur important. Il ne s’agit pas seulement de respecter entièrement et en permanence les lois sur la protection des données: il faut également s’interroger sur les questions de morale et de sécurité.


Tools autoadaptatifs

De nos jours, les modèles prédictifs sont capables de se procurer régulièrement et automatiquement de nouvelles données et de mettre eux-mêmes à jour les résultats antérieurs. Cela entraîne une réévaluation et un perfectionnement continuels du pronostic. La recommandation des algorithmes ainsi révisée est analysée et discutée avec les experts en matière d’affaires, puis introduite étape par étape. La tendance va à l’automatisation de bout en bout: de la collecte et du traitement des données jusqu’à la mise en œuvre automatique des meilleurs modèles dans les systèmes informatiques en passant par leur élaboration et leur sélection sur la base de critères définis.




Predictive Analytics dans la gestion du capital humain

Les risques et tendances peuvent être identifiés très tôt par une analyse des données. Les données de RH entraînent notamment la création de rapports détaillés qui permettent d’agir de manière proactive pour promouvoir par exemple les collaborateurs précieux et les garder dans l’entreprise. Concrètement parlant, Swisscom propose un workshop d’idéation dans lequel les entreprises peuvent traiter leurs propres cas d’application de RH.

> En savoir plus sur le Smart Data Lab



«L’analytique et les données sont déterminantes pour la création de solutions optimisées de manière mesurable.»



Martin Gutmann

Head of Analytics & Data Consulting







   

Business Intelligence

Conservation centralisée des données, analyse pluridimensionnelle des données, reporting d'une pression de bouton grâce à des outils modernes de Business Intelligence.

Vers l'offre


Newsletter

Abonnez-vous à la newsletter pour suivre les tendances, les actualités de la branche et les benchmarks.





En savoir plus sur ce thème