Newsletter Partner Login Contact
Newsletter Partner Login Contact

Monitoring modern technologies

Monitoring modern technologies

A successful cooperation between two disparate partners

Through a strategic alliance with Geneva-based product testing group SGS, Swisscom shows how the monitoring of grain can reach a new quality standard thanks to modern technology.

Text: David Schnapp , Images: Michele Limina , first published in NZZ 

Of all the new data-driven technologies, three letters have a most promising ring to them: IoT. The magic phrase «Internet of Things» conjures up visions of futuristic worlds. But the term really just means the ability to connect all kinds of different devices, such as sensors and vehicles, to the internet with wired and wireless connections.

 

Several have already become commonplace, such as timers that can be controlled with smartphones. Or toothbrushes that have an app showing us how well we have cleaned our teeth, or ovens that download recipes from the internet via our home wifi network. All these things work, but ultimately they are individual solutions that are not sufficient on their own to generate business more efficiently within a larger industrial context.

 

In 2018, Swisscom entered a strategic partnership with Geneva-based product testing group SGS. The goal is to expand the possibilities afforded by IoT to a consistently high level of quality. Fred Herren, Senior Vice President of SGS, responsible for the Digital and Innovation divisions, sees the alliance as a game-changer.

 

«IoT has inspired all kinds of fantasies, but much of what has been realised so far is technology-driven and not very solutions-oriented. Most people have no real idea of how IoT can be made useful. Our background is in the traditional, physical world of product testing. IoT offers one solution, but is not the only possibility. Our approach is to integrate IoT into the real world in a way that makes sense for our customers.»

From snapshot to motion picture sequence

Julian Dömer is Head of IoT at Swisscom and works with a large team to implement international IoT projects on a large scale. «In this context, SGS approached us with the following task: currently, product testing essentially involves taking a snapshot. We want to take these images and make a film from them. By partnering with Swisscom, SGS envisages being able to report to its customers on the state of a certain object in any place and at any time. This calls for new technologies and new approaches. In the past, an SGS employee would travel to a location, test something and fill out a form. We want to use technical solutions to help simplify processes,» says Dömer of the partnership between SGS and Swisscom.

 

Fred Herren believes this is an important advancement in the services offered by SGS: «believes this is an important advancement in the services offered by SGS: «If we can shift from a single frame approach to making a film sequence, it will enable us to react to problems at an early stage. Today, a customer might call us in the middle of the night because they have discovered a hairline crack in a car part, for instance. We dispatch someone to look into it, production comes to a standstill and the customer loses a lot of money. If we can constantly monitor the parts, we catch yellow flags in time, allowing us to notify the customer before there is a real problem. »

«We want to integrate IoT into the real world in a way that makes sense for our customers.»

Fred Herren, SGS


The first project in the strategic partnership between SGS and Swisscom sounds rather simple: in Egypt, sensors monitor huge grain silos. When temperature, humidity or CO2 reach problematic levels, the silo manager is notified. «If we carry out monthly inspections, we lose a month each time. And the humidity inside the silo, for example, can change immensely during this time, », explains Herren.

SWISSCOM BERN
Julian Dömer (left), Head of IoT, and Marcel Meyer (right), project manager, Swisscom, with Fred Herren, Senior Vice President SGS: the product testing group envisages being able to report to its customers on the state of certain objects in any place and at any time.  ((Image: Michele Limina))

Under difficult conditions

But it’s not as simple as it sounds. First, reliable information is needed. Simply taking measurements on the surface of the grain is insufficient, according to Herren. One must ensure that the measurements go deep enough. That requires a system for collecting information and communication channels to transmit this information.

 

Herren puts SGS's requirements in a nutshell: «We need reliable information – and we need it fast.» Along with the physical challenges, there are technical problems as well. «A silo is basically a poor environment for wireless communication,» says IoT specialist Dömer. «And we don’t have just one silo but many – and grain isn’t exactly the most high-margin product in the world. So you have to keep a close eye on the costs for collecting and transmitting data,» explains the Swisscom manager.

 

This also explains why a strong alliance with SGS is needed: «Together, we recognise the challenges before someone makes a mistake. But it isn’t enough to just mount a sensor somewhere if it ends up failing in a windstorm, for example.» The point of intersection between the two very different partners companies also creates an interesting foundation. Based in Geneva, SGS is a publicly listed company with around 97,000 employees and operates in more than 120 countries around the world.

 

«We have to be able to adapt to any situation our customers present to us. We are implementing our first project with Swisscom in Egypt, which is not a country where you find ultra-fast 5G mobile internet. And we’re not working in Cairo, but rather in the remote countryside,» explains SGS Vice President Herren.

 

High-quality data

Dömer, who holds a degree in business economics, explains that the challenge for Swisscom is to implement its IoT solutions in a wide variety of countries. «Of course, we are familiar with the market here in Switzerland, but working in an African country is a completely different story. There might be a mobile network, but you can’t necessarily use it just like that,» he says. «Together with SGS, we can learn how to scale and multiply our leading solutions and understand how other markets work,» he adds.

 

Both Swisscom and SGS ultimately have a shared interest in the core of the respective business segment: «It’s about high-quality data,» says Marcel Meyer, Swisscom’s project leader for the partnership. «We have to ensure that our data meets SGS standards.» Meanwhile, Herren thinks that for SGS this means «that we have strong partners». This kind of partnership also involves developing mutual trust and understanding, which enables mistakes to be handled in a reasonable way. «Mistakes are always made,» says Dömer.

 

From a technical standpoint, IoT solutions must have completely reliable connectivity with the data sources. For example, the silos in Egypt use LoRa, or «Low Range Wide Area Network», which is highly stable, inexpensive and uses very little electricity. The next component is the cloud and here Microsoft Azure is used. «The cloud sounds really simple, but when you want to work in so many different countries, you have to deal with local regulations, which is why selecting the right platform is crucial,» explains Swisscom expert Dömer. He says it is good to work with a partner such as Microsoft, which offers a very powerful technology platform in this area. And ultimately the task is to analyse the data. For the Egypt project, the current state of the grain must be measured constantly, and here also a Microsoft solution is used. Baby steps

But Dömer is already thinking about the next phase: «Thanks to our alliance, in future SGS might be able to tell the farmers when the time is right to sell the grain, because we monitor the market and can make forecasts. And to take it even further, self-learning systems can predict precisely when is a good time to buy or sell certain commodities.» The task is to take it one step at a time, but it is always good to have an idea and plan for the future. According to Herren, the strategy of taking small steps is important, because SGS often works with clients that take a conservative approach.

«Together with SGS, we can learn how to scale and multiply our solutions.»

Julian Dömer

 

There are many security concerns when it comes to collecting and analysing data. «We know data has to be transmitted and stored securely,» explains IoT specialist Dömer. He adds: «Because it’s our own technology, we have a great responsibility. The benefit of working with SGS is that it monitors very closely whether security is really guaranteed. So that’s reaffirming for us as well.» The relationship between Swisscom, SGS and Microsoft has made the grain project in Egypt a pioneering achievement in many respects. Several technical solutions are being used for the first time in this form. «Many fail with these kinds of projects because they have lofty ideas, but are barely able to take the first step,» says Swisscom project manager Meyer. Dömer’s team has successfully implemented about 600 IoT projects since 2013. The next goal is to implement the new knowledge on a larger scale.


Swisscom and SGS

Two giants with differing backgrounds and expertise have joined forces. Founded in 1998, Swisscom is the leading telecommunications provider in Switzerland and one of the country’s biggest providers of IT solutions. The company has about 20,000 employees and reported CHF 11.7 billion in revenue in 2018.

 

Founded in 1878, SGS is an international product inspection and testing group based in Geneva, with more than 1,800 branches and laboratories and 97,000 employees in more than 120 countries. In 2018, SGS reported CHF 6.7 billion in revenue from its inspection, verification, physical testing and certification business segments.

 

In 2018, Swisscom and SGS entered a strategic partnership to offer consistently high quality in product tests with telecommunications and cloud solutions in the area of system integration and operation.

Newsletter

Would you like to regularly receive interesting articles and whitepapers on current ICT topics?


Recent articles on the topic:

Newsletter Partenaire Login Contact
Newsletter Partenaire Login Contact

La surveillance avec des technologies modernes

La surveillance avec des technologies modernes

Une coopération fructueuse avec deux partenaires différents

Dans le cadre d’une alliance stratégique avec la Société Générale de Surveillance sise à Genève, Swisscom démontre que l’inspection des céréales atteint un nouveau niveau de qualité grâce aux technologies modernes.

Texte: David Schnapp , photos: Michele Limina ,  Paru dans le supplément de l’édition du 

Parmi les nouvelles technologies basées sur les données, ces trois lettres, IoT, sont particulièrement prometteuses. Elles représentent l’«Internet of Things», mot magique qui permet d’imaginer un avenir fantastique. En fin de compte, elles signifient simplement pouvoir connecter à Internet des appareils en tout genre – des capteurs aux voitures – en passant par les câbles de données et les connexions sans fil.

 

Certains exemples font déjà partie de notre quotidien, notamment les minuteries qui peuvent être activées via un smartphone. Les brosses à dents qui nous attribuent des notes via une appli en fonction de la qualité du brossage, ou les fours qui téléchargent des recettes sur Internet, uniquement en utilisant le réseau Wi-Fi à la maison. Tout cela fonctionne bien, mais ce sont des solutions ponctuelles qui ne sont pas suffisantes dans un contexte plus vaste et industriel visant à accroître l’efficacité.

 

En 2018, Swisscom a noué un partenariat stratégique avec la Société Générale de Surveillance SGS sise à Genève dans le but d’élargir les possibilités de l’IoT à un niveau de qualité élevé et stable dans le monde entier. Selon Fred Herren, Senior Vice Président de SGS, responsable des domaines Digital et Innovation, cette alliance est une démarche prometteuse.

 

«L’IoT alimente l’imagination mais ce qui est réalisé de nos jours est souvent orienté vers la technologie et très peu vers les solutions. La plupart des gens ne savent pas vraiment comment utiliser l’IoT de façon sensée. Nous venons de l’univers traditionnel et physique du contrôle des marchandises. L’IoT est une solution, mais ce n’est pas la seule. Voici notre approche: nous souhaitons intégrer l’IoT dans le monde réel de sorte à ce que cela ait un sens pour nos clients.»

De l’image unique à la séquence vidéo

Julian Dömer est Head of IoT chez Swisscom et a une grande équipe à ses côtés afin de réaliser des projets «Internet of Things» internationaux à grande échelle. «Dans ce contexte, SGS est venu vers nous avec les missions suivantes: Aujourd’hui, le contrôle des marchandises signifie essentiellement capturer une image. Nous souhaitons en faire un film. La vision de SGS avec Swisscom est de pouvoir communiquer à ses clients l’état d’un objet spécifique partout et à tout moment. Pour ce faire, des nouvelles technologies et approches sont nécessaires. Jusqu’à présent, il en était ainsi: un collaborateur SGS se déplace, vérifie quelque chose et remplit un formulaire. C’est pourquoi nous souhaitons faciliter les processus à l’aide de solutions techniques», déclare M. Dömer pour expliquer l’alliance entre SGS et Swisscom.

 

Fred Herren considère que c’est une évolution décisive des prestations SGS: «Si nous parvenons à passer de l’image unique à la séquence vidéo, alors nous pourrons agir prématurément en cas de problème. Aujourd’hui, un client nous appelle en pleine nuit car il a par exemple découvert une fissure sur une pièce de voiture. Nous envoyons des gens pour contrôler car la production est arrêtée et le client perd de l’argent. Si nous pouvons surveiller les pièces en permanence, un signal apparaît suffisamment tôt chez nous et nous informons le client avant que le problème ne survienne.»


«Nous souhaitons intégrer l’IoT dans le monde réel de sorte à ce que cela ait un sens pour nos clients.»

Fred Herren, SGS


Le premier projet du partenariat stratégique de SGS et Swisscom a l’air simple: En Égypte, des capteurs contrôlent d’énormes silos à céréales. Dès que la température, l’humidité ou le taux de CO2 change de façon douteuse, l’exploitant des silos est informé. «Si nous faisons une inspection une fois par mois, nous perdons un mois à chaque fois. Et le degré d’humidité dans un silo peut par exemple changer de façon dramatique durant cette période», explique M. Herren.


SWISSCOM BERN
Julian Dömer (à gauche) Head of IoT et Marcel Meyer (à droite), chef de projets, Swisscom avec Fred Herren, Senior Vice President de SGS: L’objectif de la Société Générale de Surveillance est de pouvoir communiquer à ses clients l’état d’un objet spécifique partout et à tout moment. 

Dans des conditions difficiles

En effet, ce qui semble facile ne l’est justement pas. D’une part, il convient d’obtenir des informations fiables. Il ne suffit pas de mesurer simplement à la surface des céréales, d’après M. Herren. Il faut s’assurer de faire des mesures avec suffisamment de profondeur. Cela nécessite un système pour récolter les informations et enfin leur transmettre des canaux de communication.

 

«Nous avons besoin d’informations fiables, et ce rapidement», explique M. Herren en mettant l’accent sur les exigences de SGS. Des problématiques techniques se présentent aux défis physiques. «A priori, un silo n’est pas l’endroit idéal pour une communication sans fil», explique Julian Dömer, spécialiste IoT . «Nous n’avons pas qu’un seul silo mais plusieurs et les céréales ne sont pas les produits offrant la marge la plus élevée au monde. Nous devons alors garder un œil sur les coûts pour la collecte et la transmission des données», explique le manager de Swisscom.

 

Voici encore d’autres preuves qu’une alliance solide avec SGS est nécessaire: «Ensemble, nous prenons conscience des défis avant que quelqu’un ne fasse une faute. Il ne suffit pas d’installer un capteur quelque part car celui-ci peut ne plus fonctionner si le vent souffle trop fort par exemple.» La base des deux entreprises partenaires Swisscom et SGS est également un champ de tensions intéressant. Ce groupe coté en bourse siégeant à Genève travaille avec environ 97 000 collaborateurs dans plus de 120 pays dans le monde.

 

«Nous devons pouvoir nous adapter au contexte de nos clients. Nous réalisons notre premier projet avec Swisscom en Égypte, pays ne disposant pas encore d’un Internet mobile ultrarapide via le standard 5G. Par ailleurs, nous n’agissons pas au Caire mais en campagne», explique Fred Herren, vice-président de SGS.

 

Avec des données de qualité élevée

D’après M. Dömer, le défi de Swisscom est de mettre en application leurs solutions IoT dans un grand nombre de pays. «Bien entendu, nous connaissons notre marché d’origine, la Suisse, mais c’est tout à fait différent d’agir dans un pays africain ne disposant peut-être pas d’un accès facile au réseau mobile» explique l’économiste d’entreprise diplômé. «Avec SGS, nous pouvons donc apprendre comment redimensionner et multiplier nos meilleures solutions afin de comprendre comment fonctionnent les autres marchés», poursuit-il.

 

En définitive, le point commun entre Swisscom et SGS est le noyau du secteur d’activité concerné: «Il s’agit de données de qualité élevée», explique Marcel Meyer, chef de projets chez Swisscom et responsable de la coopération. «Nous devons nous assurer que nos données respectent les standards de SGS.» Cela signifie à nouveau pour SGS «que nous avons un partenaire solide», d’après Fred Herren. Une telle collaboration a aussi pour but de développer un rapport de confiance et une compréhension mutuelle afin d’agir de façon adéquate en cas d’erreur. «Car on n’est jamais à l’abri d’une erreur», poursuit Julian Dömer.

 

D’un point de vue technique, les solutions IoT ont pour but d’assurer la connectivité avec les sources de données. Dans les silos égyptiens, la technologie LoRa est appliquée. Ce réseau Low- Range-Wide-Area tombe rarement en panne, est peu coûteux et consomme peu d’électricité. Le prochain élément est le Cloud, ici Azure de Microsoft est utilisé. «Le cloud paraît si facile mais lorsqu’il s’agit d’être actif dans différents pays, nous sommes confrontés aux réglementations locales, c’est pourquoi il est essentiel de choisir une plateforme appropriée», explique M. Dömer, le spécialiste de Swisscom. C’est bien de travailler avec un partenaire possédant une plateforme technologique puissante dans ce domaine. Au final, il s’agit d’analyser les données.

 

Pour revenir à l’exemple de l’Égypte, il faut déterminer en permanence l’état actuel des céréales et une solution Microsoft permet justement de faire cela. Stratégie des petits pas Mais Julian Dömer pense déjà à l’étape suivante: «Grâce à notre alliance, SGS pourrait désormais dire aux producteurs quel est le moment opportun pour vendre les céréales car nous observons le marché et pouvons faire des statistiques. Et pour approfondir, parlons des systèmes basés sur l’apprentissage automatique qui peuvent estimer précisément lorsqu’il est avantageux d’acheter ou de vendre un bien.» On souhaite avancer étape par étape mais c’est toujours bien d’avoir une idée et un plan pour l’avenir. La stratégie des petits pas est importante car SGS est souvent confronté à une clientèle conservatrice, explique Fred Herren.

« Avec SGS, nous pouvons apprendre comment faire évoluer et multiplier nos solutions.»

Julian Dömer

 

Il y a de nombreuses sources de préoccupations lorsqu’il s’agit de collecter et d’analyser des données. «Nous savons comment les données doivent être transmises et enregistrées», explique M. Dömer, spécialiste IoT avant de poursuivre: «Vu que c’est notre technologie, nous avons une lourde responsabilité. L’avantage du partenariat avec SGS est qu’ils regardent exactement si la sécurité est réellement assurée. Cela représente aussi une confirmation pour nous». Au sein de la relation triangulaire entre Swisscom, SGS et Microsoft, le projet des céréales en Égypte est une expérience pionnière à de nombreux égards. Certaines solutions techniques sont utilisées de cette façon pour la première fois. «Nombreux sont ceux qui échouent face à de tels projets car ils ont beau avoir de grandes idées, rares sont ceux qui font le premier pas», déclare Marcel Meyer, chef de projets chez Swisscom. Depuis 2013, l’équipe de Julian Dömer a réalisé avec succès environ 600 projets IoT. Il s’agit maintenant d’appliquer les connaissances acquises à grande échelle.


Swisscom et SGS

Au sein du partenariat entre Swisscom et SGS, deux mastodontes coopèrent avec différentes origines et compétences: Swisscom, fondée en 1998, est l’opérateur de télécommunication leader en Suisse et l’un des principaux fournisseurs de solutions informatiques du pays. Elle emploie près de 20 000 collaborateurs et a atteint en 2018 un chiffre d’affaires de 11,7 milliards de francs.

 

La Société Générale de Surveillance internationale SGS sise à Genève qui a été fondée en 1878 gère plus de 1800 succursales et laboratoires avec près de 97 000 collaborateurs dans plus de 120 pays. Dans les secteurs d’activité Examen, Vérification, Test physique et Certification, SGS a réalisé 6,7 milliards de chiffre d’affaires en 2018.

 

Depuis 2018, un partenariat stratégique existe entre Swisscom et SGS dans le but d’assurer un contrôle de marchandises de façon constante et de qualité grâce à des prestations Cloud et de télécommunications dans le domaine de l’intégration et de l’exploitation de système.

Newsletter

Vous souhaitez recevoir régulièrement des articles et Whitepapers passionnants sur des activités TIC actuelles?


Articles actuels sur ce sujet: