New services for B2B and B2C

 ‘autoSense is real IoT’

autoSense was founded in May 2018. Today, the car connectivity business is running smoothly. CEO Jaap Vossen explains why his Swiss ecosystem for cars is growing so fast and the role IoT is playing.

Text: Tanja Kammermann, Image: Nadja Etter,

Jaap Vossen, your autoSense solution is not the only connectivity product available for cars. What makes your business model unique?

Two things: we are bringing the worlds of B2B and B2C closer together, because we offer products both for businesses and for private customers. Secondly, and most importantly, we are completely focused on Switzerland, where we are building a national ecosystem dedicated to cars. I don’t know anyone else who is putting end users’ data in an open ecosystem with their consent.

AMAG, Migrol, driving schools and now Zurich Insurance Group. The autoSense ecosystem is growing rapidly. How have you persuaded companies to work with you?

In a lot of different ways. It depends greatly on the particular partner or company. We always ask the question: where are the partner’s pain points? Do they know their customers? Do they want to improve efficiency? Do they want to increase customer loyalty or bring new business models to market? With these questions in mind, we talked with people and showed them what added value and benefits autoSense has to offer.

Your original background is in fact in IoT. What role does the Internet of Things play for autoSense?

To be completely honest, I don’t think in terms of AI, IoT, or Big Data. For me, we are IoT. We connect cars and things – which is, basically, what IoT is. So for us, IoT is a means to an end, but the connectivity is crucial to us, because we can’t do anything without connectivity, and we even have two connections running simultaneously. Firstly, we have to constantly transmit all of the data from the vehicle. Secondly, we provide the customer a hotspot in their vehicle. And for the connections to be stable while both are working simultaneously and independently of each other is a really big technical challenge.

Tell us, what’s your favourite autoSense feature?

Well, we’re standing here at a Migrol petrol station, so it would have to be the autoSense Fuel app, our new refuelling assistant. Let me show you.

brightcoveVideo_skipAdTitle
brightcoveVideo_skipAdCountdown
brightcoveVideo_skipAdRest
brightcoveVideo_skipAdForReal

Jaap Vossen, CEO of autoSense says, ‘We are IoT’ and shows us how easy it is to use the new refuelling app.  

You recently launched a new car insurance model. Tell us all about it.

We partnered up with the insurance company Dextra to market an insurance model for occasional drivers. It only bills the effective number of kilometres driven and is called Flexdrive. The idea is simple: less driving, less risk, lower premiums.


About autoSense 

Founded in 2018, autoSense has quickly gained a foothold in the Swiss market as a major player in connectivity for smart vehicles. autoSense is a Zurich-based joint start-up owned by Swisscom (Switzerland) Ltd and AMAG Group AG. It focuses on developing innovative automobile services for private individuals and companies. The company uses an open ecosystem platform with plug-and-play functionality. It offers advanced fleet management solutions and driver-centric data intelligence together with partner services that are constantly being further developed.

 

> More about autoSense



Data-driven business models

What applies to cars is conceivable for every other type of device and object. Once connected to the Internet of Things, it is possible to tap into previously unused data. With the right combination of other technologies, such as cloud, analytics, security and new ecosystem partners, this data can be used for entirely new, lucrative service models and to provide a greater customer focus as a recipe for success.

 

Enterprise IoT from Swisscom combines various access technologies, platforms and a large ecosystem. Thanks to a modular approach that is not tied to specific technologies, customers can easily connect and manage IoT objects, process IoT data in useful ways and grow their businesses as a result. Swisscom also offers access to a well-established IoT ecosystem and other elements, such as cloud, security and data analytics solutions to integrate IoT projects at every level. Swisscom has 15 years of experience as an IoT pioneer.

 

> Swisscom Enterprise IoT


Newsletter

Would you like to regularly receive interesting articles and whitepapers on current ICT topics?


More on the topic

Ecosystème IoT pour la voiture

Nouveaux services pour B2B et B2C

«autoSense est de facto IoT» 

autoSense a été fondé en mai 2018. Depuis, les affaires liées à la voiture connectée vont bon train. Dans une interview, le directeur Jaap Vossen révèle pourquoi son écosystème autour de la voiture connectée évolue si vite et le rôle joué par l’IoT.

Texte: Tanja Kammermann, Image: Nadja Etter,

Jaap Vossen, avec autoSense, vous n’êtes pas les seuls à connecter les voitures. Qu’est-ce qui fait la particularité de votre modèle commercial?

Deux choses: La première est que nous unissons les univers du B2B (Business to Business) et du B2C (Business to Consumer), car nous avons des offres à la fois pour les entreprises et pour les clients privés. La seconde, et la plus importante, est que nous nous concentrons exclusivement sur la Suisse et que nous élaborons sur place un écosystème national autour de la voiture. Je ne connais personne d’autre qui mette à disposition les données du client final – avec son autorisation – dans un écosystème ouvert.

Amag, Migrol, les autos-écoles et maintenant Zurich Assurance. L’écosystème autour d’autoSense augmente rapidement. Comment avez-vous convaincu les entreprises de travailler avec vous?

Cela dépend fortement du partenaire ou de l’entreprise. Nous avons toujours cherché à identifier les faiblesses du partenaire. Ne connait-il pas sa clientèle? Souhaite-t-il accroître son efficacité? Veut-il fidéliser sa clientèle ou préfère-t-il introduire de nouveaux modèles commerciaux sur le marché? Nous avons ensuite cherché la discussion sur la base des réponses et présenté la plus-value et les avantages d’autoSense.

Tu viens au départ du domaine IoT. Quel est le rôle joué par l’Internet des objets chez autoSense?

Je dois avouer que je ne crois pas aux concepts d’IA, d’ioT ou de Big Data. Pour moi, nous sommes IoT. Nous connectons les véhicules et les objets – cela est de facto IoT. Pour nous, l’Internet des objets est un moyen pour une fin, mais la connectivité est capitale. En effet, nous ne pouvons rien faire sans connectivité et nous disposons même de deux connexions qui fonctionnent en parallèle. La première nous permet de trier constamment toutes les données issues des véhicules. La seconde sert à fournir un hotspot au client dans le véhicule. Faire fonctionner les deux connexions simultanément et indépendamment représente un défi technique majeur.

Quelle est ta fonction préférée chez autoSense?

Nous nous tenons ici dans une station-service Migrol et il s’agit donc de l’application autoSense Fuel, notre nouvelle fonction pour faire le plein. Laisse-moi te montrer.

brightcoveVideo_skipAdTitle
brightcoveVideo_skipAdCountdown
brightcoveVideo_skipAdRest
brightcoveVideo_skipAdForReal

Jaap Vossen, directeur d’autoSense, affirme que «nous sommes IoT» et nous montre avec quelle facilité la nouvelle application pour faire le plein fonctionne.  

Vous avez récemment lancé un nouveau modèle d’assurance automobile. Quel en est l’intérêt?

Nous avons, en collaboration avec l’assureur Dextra, mis sur le marché un modèle d’assurance pour les conducteurs occasionnels. Ce dernière calcule uniquement les kilomètres vraiment parcourus et a été baptisé Flexdrive. L’idée est simple: moins de route, moins de risque, une prime plus basse.


À propos d’autoSense

Fondée en 2018, l’entreprise autoSense s’est rapidement imposée sur le marché suisse comme l’un des principaux acteurs pour la mise en réseau des véhicules intelligents. autoSense est une start-up commune de Swisscom (Suisse) SA et d’AMAG Group SA. Sise à Zurich, elle se concentre sur le développement de services automobiles novateurs pour les personnes privées et les entreprises. L’entreprise utilise une plateforme d’écosystème ouvert et une fonctionnalité Plug & Play. Elle propose des solutions élargies de gestion de flottes, des informations de données centrées sur le conducteur et des services partenaires qui sont constamment développés.  

 

> En savoir plus sur autoSense



Modèles d’affaires basés sur les données

Ce qui s’applique aux voitures est concevable pour tous les types d’appareils et d’objets. Une fois la connexion établie à l’Internet des objets, un accès est créé avec des données jusque là inutilisées. En le combinant habilement avec d’autres composants technologiques comme Cloud, Analytics ou Security ainsi qu’à de nouveaux partenaires d’écosystème, l’utilisation de ces données devient une recette du succès pour des modèles de service inédits et lucratifs et une forte focalisation clients.

 

L’IoT d’entreprise de Swisscom unit différentes techniques d’accès, plateformes et un grand écosystème. Grâce à l’approche modulaire et neutre du point de vue technologique, les clients peuvent facilement mettre des objets IoT en réseau, traiter efficacement des données basées sur l’IoT et faire ainsi avancer leur commerce. Swisscom propose en outre un accès à un écosystème IoT établi et d’autres composants comme des solutions Cloud, Security ou Data Analytics, afin de mener à bien le projet IoT. En tant que pionnière de l’Internet des objets, Swisscom bénéficie de 15 ans d’expérience déjà.

 

> Swisscom Enterprise IoT


Newsletter

Vous souhaitez recevoir régulièrement des articles et Whitepapers passionnants sur des activités TIC actuelles?


En savoir plus sur ce thème