Login Partner Network status Newsletter Contact
Login Partner Network status Newsletter Contact

Swisscom as security services leader

Study: ISG Provider Lens 2020

Cyber security services are in high demand – Swisscom is leading the way

Increasingly complex cyber attacks are just one of the reasons why companies are looking to cyber security services. The study by ISG Provider Lens analysed current trends and Swiss security service providers, and positioned Swisscom as the leading provider of managed security services in Switzerland.

Text: Andreas Heer, image: Adobe Stock

A total of 20,000 security breaches were reported to the FBI in the first half of 2020. This is as many breaches as were reported in all of 2019. The COVID-19 pandemic has resulted in a noticeable increase in cyber attacks. This has also translated to more reports being made to the Swiss National Cyber Security Centre (NCSC, formerly MELANI). The NCSC registered just under 400 incidents at the high point of the pandemic, three times as many as at the beginning of the year.

 

And as if more proof were needed that IT security will continue to be an important topic for companies, the notorious Emotet Trojan became active again in mid-July. These are developments that could cause serious headaches for IT security officers. After all, not only is the number of attacks on the rise, but the attacks themselves are growing increasingly sophisticated. CIOs and CISOs are faced with the task of endlessly adapting their companies’ IT security measures in an attempt to counteract the continually evolving attack patterns. A process that according to the authors of the study ‘ISG Provider Lens: Cyber Security Solutions & Services’ is made more difficult by the fight for a share of tight investment budgets.

Boom in managed security services

The current situation favours the outsourcing of IT security work to cyber security service providers. After all, managed security services (MSS) are calculable and do not require costly investment in IT security equipment or a search for qualified specialists, who are few and far between.

 

In the latest Provider Lens study ‘Cyber Security Solutions & Services’, the international technology research and consulting firm Information Services Group (ISG) compared providers in Switzerland. The criteria included market relevance, portfolio attractiveness, strategy, vision and innovative strength. As was the case in the last study of this kind four years ago, the authors ranked Swisscom as the leading provider of MSS in Switzerland. In addition to a comprehensive range of services, the study also emphasised Swisscom’s proximity to its customers; for example, through its Security Operation Centre (SOC) in Switzerland. According to the authors: ‘Together with its subsidiary United Security Providers, Swisscom has created the largest cyber security competence cluster in Switzerland.’

ISG Quadrant MSS

In addition to the comprehensive MSS, the study also analysed technical services, such as integration and maintenance, and strategic consulting offers. The study considered providers that do not focus solely on their own products and which offer ‘best-of-breed’ solutions. The authors confirmed that Swisscom offers a comprehensive range of products and services and an in-depth understanding of Swiss companies. These factors contributed to the study positioning Swisscom as the leader on the Swiss market in both ‘Strategic Security Services’ and ‘Technical Security Services’.

SOCs in Switzerland offer an advantage

As data protection requirements become stricter as the result of the GDPR, the location of a SOC becomes more important. After all, a company must be able to ensure that the relevant legal requirements are met. Companies subject to the current regulations are not the only ones that benefit from a location in Switzerland. International companies can also benefit from this factor; for example, when they are active in both Switzerland and the EU. This is also true for larger SMEs for which, according to the study, MSS are becoming increasingly attractive.

 

However, the study also says that MSS providers need to stay innovative in order to master the growing complexity of the attacks. And with a helping hand from a ‘digital friend’: in future, artificial intelligence at the cyber defence centre will make it easier to identify cyber attacks – come what may.

Newsletter

Would you like to regularly receive interesting articles and whitepapers on current ICT topics?



More on the topic:

Login Partenaire Etat du réseau Newsletter Contact
Login Partenaire Etat du réseau Newsletter Contact

Swisscom leader des Security Services

Etude: ISG Provider Lens 2020

Les Cyber Security Services fortement demandés – Swisscom en est le leader

Des cyberattaques de plus en plus complexes poussent les entreprises à s’intéresser davantage aux Cyber Security Services. L’étude «ISG Provider Lens» a analysé les dernières tendances et les fournisseurs de sécurité suisses. Elle place Swisscom en première place pour les Managed Security Services.

Texte: Andreas Heer, Image: Adobe Stock

20 000 incidents de sécurité ont été rapportés au FBI durant les six premiers mois de l’année 2020. C’est autant que pour l’ensemble de l’année 2019. La pandémie de coronavirus a entraîné une hausse significative des cyberattaques. Cela se reflète également dans les notifications qui parviennent au Centre national pour la cybersécurité (NCSC, anciennement MELANI). Près de 400 incidents ont été enregistrés par la centrale de sécurité au plus fort de la pandémie, soit trois fois plus qu’au début de l’année.

 

Le retour en force du tristement célèbre cheval de Troie «Emotet» mi-juillet est une preuve supplémentaire que la sécurité informatique est plus que jamais un sujet important pour les entreprises. Une évolution qui risque de causer des maux de tête à bon nombre de responsables de la sécurité informatique. Car les attaques sont non seulement plus nombreuses, mais elles sont aussi toujours plus sophistiquées. Les CIO et les CISO se doivent d’aligner en permanence les mesures de sécurité informatique dans leurs entreprises sur les modèles d’attaque en constante évolution. Selon les auteurs de l’étude «ISG Provider Lens: Cyber Security – Solutions & Services», ce processus est compliqué par la lutte autour de budgets d’investissement serrés.

Les Managed Security Services ont le vent en poupe

La situation actuelle favorise l’externalisation des tâches de sécurité informatique à des fournisseurs de Cyber Security Services. En effet, les Managed Security Services (MSS) sont calculables et ne nécessitent pas d’investissements élevés en matériel de sécurité informatique ni de partir à la recherche de rares spécialistes.

 

Dans sa dernière étude Provider Lens sur le thème «Cyber Security – Solutions & Services», la société internationale de conseil et de recherche en technologie Information Services Group (ISG) a comparé différents fournisseurs suisses. Les critères comprenaient la pertinence par rapport au marché, l’étendue et la profondeur du portefeuille, la stratégie et la vision, ainsi que le degré d’innovation. Et comme c’était le cas dans la dernière étude de ce type il y a quatre ans, ses auteurs ont classé Swisscom à la place de meilleur fournisseur de Managed Security Services en Suisse. Outre la proposition d’une offre complète de services, l’étude met également l’accent sur la proximité avec les clients, par exemple avec les Security Operations Centers en Suisse. Et voici ce que disent les auteurs: «Avec sa filiale United Security Providers, Swisscom forme le plus grand pôle de compétences en matière de cybersécurité de Suisse.»

ISG Quadrant MSS

En plus de l’étendue des Managed Security Services, l’étude s’est également penchée sur les services techniques tels que l’intégration, la maintenance et les offres de conseil stratégique. Les fournisseurs qui ne se concentrent pas uniquement sur leurs propres produits et qui proposent des solutions «best of breed» ont été pris en compte. A ce sujet, les auteurs ont attesté que Swisscom propose une gamme complète de services et dispose d’une compréhension approfondie des besoins des entreprises suisses. Ces facteurs ont contribué au fait que l’étude positionne Swisscom à la place de leader sur le marché suisse tant au niveau des «Strategic Security Services» que des «Technical Security Services».

L’avantage d’un SOC situé en Suisse

Compte tenu des réglementations accrues en matière de protection des données telles que le RGPD, l’importance de la localisation d’un SOC prend de l’ampleur. Le respect des exigences légales doit en effet être garanti. Les entreprises soumises aux réglementations locales ne sont donc pas les seules à profiter de leur implantation sur le territoire suisse. C’est aussi le cas des entreprises internationales, qui en bénéficient par exemple si elles sont actives en Suisse et dans l’UE. Il en va de même pour les grandes PME, pour lesquelles les MSS deviennent de plus en plus intéressantes, selon l’étude.

 

Toujours selon cette dernière, les fournisseurs de MSS doivent toutefois rester innovants afin de répondre à la complexité croissante des attaques. De quoi avoir besoin de l’aide d’un «ami numérique»: l’intelligence artificielle du futur Cyber Defense Center permettra de mieux détecter les cyberattaques, quoi qu’il arrive.

Newsletter

Vous souhaitez recevoir régulièrement des articles et Whitepapers passionnants sur des activités TIC actuelles?



En savoir plus sur ce thème: