Cyber Security Report 2019: APTs still on trend

More human intervention needed in IT security

Targeted cyberattacks on businesses are becoming increasingly sophisticated. The Swisscom Cyber Security Report shows that advanced persistent threats in particular call for new defensive measures. And for more human intervention.

Text: Andreas Heer, 15 march 2019

The attack was meticulously planned. The cybercriminals had spent months researching and spying on the company’s environment. Important people, their contacts and preferences, activities and the IT infrastructure as seen from the outside. The attackers then used spear phishing – personalised phishing emails – to plant malware on the two computers of the targeted victims. The attackers bypassed the company’s security measures with the latest knowledge and sophisticated technology. With the help of a script, they infiltrated the computers through a zero-day vulnerability, without leaving any suspicious traces in the form of files.

Advanced persistent threats are hard to detect

Over the months that followed, the attackers spread unnoticed within the company’s network and its systems, until they eventually reached their target: confidential customer and project data. They then smuggled the documents out of the company via well-camouflaged channels.

 

This is just one example of how a sophisticated and targeted cyberattack might play out today. Advanced persistent threats (APT) – attacks carried out with enormous resources and outstanding technical expertise – are a continuing trend in the murky world of cybercrime, as the Swisscom Cyber Security Report 2019 shows.

 

Given this situation, such attacks are very difficult to detect. The security provider Kaspersky Lab is currently monitoring 100 APT groups that carry out targeted attacks. They have pretty names such as ‘LuckyMouse’, ‘OceanLotus’ and ‘Comment Crew’, and at least some are thought to operate with the support of governments. Among their targets are other governments, public institutions and companies active in sensitive fields. Their motivation includes espionage, data theft and sabotage, as seen with the attacks on the infrastructure of the Winter Olympics in South Korea.

Rethinking the IT security strategy 

Conventional IT security measures alone, such as perimeter protection, are not enough to protect against APT attacks. Companies must focus their IT security measures more on attackers that have already infiltrated their corporate network, says Costin Raiu in an interview in the Swisscom Cyber Security Report.

 

The head of the Kaspersky Global Research and Analysis Team (GReAT) calls for a paradigm shift. He believes that attackers spend most of their time in spreading through the corporate network and syphoning off data. Companies should therefore focus their security measures on these activities.

 

An important measure is to monitor running processes, file operations and logins, as this helps to detect suspicious activity. Threat intelligence information can also help to identify typical patterns and IP addresses of cyberattacks. The downside, however, is that such monitoring measures are more complex and resource-intensive to implement than conventional perimeter security.

The human touch 

Advanced persistent threats cannot be stopped with technical measures alone – people are just as important in the defence against them. Raiu recommends that security officers and specialists put themselves in the shoes of the attackers in order to understand how they operate. Since APTs are manually triggered attacks, the process is often controlled by humans. It can therefore be helpful to ask questions such as: ‘What might make my company the target of an APT attack?’, ‘Which information and systems might might appeal to espionage or sabotage?’, ‘What might a phishing email or social engineering attack on the CFO look like?’

 

This focus can also help to recognise patterns in log files, as anomalies can be targeted – for example, by monitoring the network traffic of the CFO’s computer or the ERP system separately.

 

In the case of human defence mechanisms, combating APTs is a task usually reserved for security operations centres (SOC), as they have specialists who can make sense of the recorded patterns and expose human attackers. They are able to put themselves in the shoes of the attackers due to their specialist knowledge and expertise. Understanding the mindset of highly professional cybercriminals think, and a familiarity with the tools they employ are important aspects in the defence against APTs.

 

Click here to find out more about the cyber security services of Swisscom.


More on the topic


   

Security

Our comprehensive, proactive cyber security solutions protect your data, infrastructure and networks – around the clock, around the globe.

Go to offer

Menaces avancées persistantes

Cyber Security Report 2019: les menaces avancées persistantes restent d’actualité 

L’humain est de nouveau l’élément clé de la sécurité informatique

Les cyberattaques visant les entreprises sont de plus en plus subtiles. Les menaces avancées persistantes ciblées exigent en particulier de nouvelles mesures de défense comme le montre le Swisscom Cyber Security Report mais aussi une intervention humaine.

Texte: Andreas Heer, 15 mars 2019

L’attaque est minutieusement préparée. Lors de recherches durant plusieurs mois, les cybercriminels espionnent l’environnement de l’entreprise: les personnes importantes, leurs contacts et leurs préférences, l’activité et l’infrastructure informatiques, tels qu’ils se présentent de l’extérieur. Ce n’est qu’ensuite que les assaillants jettent leur dévolu sur deux ordinateurs de la victime choisie avec soin en ayant recours au spearphishing, à des e-mails d’hameçonnage sur mesure et à du malware. Les assaillants contournent les mesures de sécurité de l’entreprise en utilisant des connaissances récentes et des technologies sophistiquées. A l’aide d’un script, ils accèdent à l’ordinateur au travers d’une faille Zero Day sans laisser de traces suspectes sous forme de fichiers.

Menaces avancées persistantes difficiles à détecter 

Lors des mois suivants, les assaillants investissent, sans être remarqués, le réseau et les systèmes de l’entreprise jusqu’à ce qu’ils aient atteint leur objectif et accédé aux données confidentielles des clients et aux informations sur des projets. Ils récupèrent les documents de l’entreprise via des canaux bien dissimulés.

 

C’est ainsi que pourrait se dérouler une cyberattaque subtile et ciblée. Les menaces avancées persistantes, des attaques s’appuyant sur d’énormes ressources et un savoir-faire technique exceptionnel, sont encore et toujours d’actualité dans le monde de la cybercriminalité comme le montre le Swisscom Cyber Security Report 2019.

 

Du fait de cette configuration de départ, de telles attaques sont difficiles à détecter. Le prestataire de sécurité Kaspersky Lab observe actuellement plus de 100 groupes de menaces avancées persistantes qui procèdent à de telles attaques. Ils portent des noms amusants tels que LuckyMouse, OceanLotus ou Comment Crew et agissent probablement avec l’appui de gouvernements. Les assaillants visent les organisations étatiques, les gouvernements et les entreprises qui travaillent dans des domaines sensibles. Ils sont motivés par l’espionnage, le vol de données ou le sabotage comme l’a montré l’attaque qui a frappé l’infrastructure des Jeux olympiques d’hiver de Corée du sud.

Changer de réflexion dans la stratégie de sécurité informatique 

Des mesures classiques de sécurité informatique telles que la protection du périmètre à elles seules ne suffisent pas pour se défendre contre les attaques des menaces avancées persistantes. Les entreprises doivent mieux orienter leur sécurité informatique vers des assaillants qui ont déjà pénétré le réseau de l’entreprise, affirme Costin Raiu dans une interview publiée dans le Swisscom Cyber Security Report.

 

Le responsable de l’équipe de recherche et d’analyse Kaspersky GReAT se prononce en faveur d’un changement de paradigme. Les assaillants passent en effet la majeure partie de leur temps à se déplacer dans le réseau de l’entreprise et à voler des données. Les entreprises devraient donc orienter leurs mesures de protection sur ces activités.

 

Une importante mesure consiste à surveiller continuellement les processus, les opérations de fichiers et les connexions. Une telle surveillance permettrait de détecter des actes suspects. Les informations issues de la Threat Intelligence permettent aussi d’identifier des schémas typiques et les adresses Internet de cyberassaillants. Le revers de la médaille? La mise en œuvre de telles mesures de surveillance est plus coûteuse et utilise plus de ressources qu’une sécurité de périmètre classique.

Agir comme une personne 

Des mesures purement techniques ne suffisent toutefois pas à juguler les menaces avancées persistantes. L’humain joue un rôle important dans la défense. Les responsables et les spécialistes de la sécurité devraient se mettre dans la peau d’un assaillant pour comprendre sa manière de penser, recommande Costin Raiu. Comme les menaces avancées persistantes représentent des attaques déclenchées manuellement, leur déroulement est souvent empreint de la main de l’homme. Il est donc utilise de se poser des questions telles que: «En quoi mon entreprise est-elle intéressante pour les menaces avancées persistantes?», «Quelles informations et quels systèmes sont intéressants pour l’espionnage et le sabotage?», «A quoi pourrait ressembler un e-mail de hameçonnage ou une attaque d’ingénierie sociale tournée vers le directeur financier?».

 

Une telle focalisation permet aussi de reconnaître des schémas typiques dans les fichiers log, car la recherche d’éléments inhabituels peut être organisée en fonction de l’objectif, par exemple en surveillant particulièrement bien le trafic réseau de l’ordinateur du responsable financier ou de l’ERP.

 

Dans le cas de mécanismes de défense humains, la lutte contre les menaces avancées persistantes incombe à un Security Operations Center (SOC). Un tel centre abrite des spécialistes qui peuvent donner un sens aux schémas enregistrés et exposer les assaillants humains, et qui sont capables de se mettre dans la peau d’un assaillant grâce à leurs connaissances techniques. Comprendre l’approche de réflexion de cybercriminels hautement professionnalisés et connaître leurs outils sont des éléments importants de la défense contre les menaces avancées persistantes.

 

En savoir plus sur les services de cybersécurité de Swisscom.


En savoir plus sur ce thème


   

Security

Nos solutions complètes de cybersécurité protègent activement vos données, infrastructures et réseaux. Dans le monde entier, 24 heures sur 24.

Vers l'offre