Cyber Security Defence with CSIRT: Red v. Blue

Cyber Security Defence, CSIRT 

Mr Red v. Mr Blue – a stress test for Swisscom


Duality contains both good and evil. And because defence presupposes attack, the telecommunications company has its IT systems targeted regularly by its own people, although within a secure framework. A look behind the scenes of the Computer Security Incident Response Team, CSIRT for short.


Text: Flavian Cajacob, pictures: Michele Limina, published in the NZZ supplement of 8 November 2018




Actually, Mr Red is Mr Blue in everyday life. But today, he’s more into cunning than sincerity. So the painfully honest Mr Blue slips into the role of the villainous Mr Red, as called for in the in-house script. In this guise, he will blanket his employer Swisscom with targeted attacks on its IT systems. What’s so unusual about this? Mr Red enjoys absolution from the top for his deeds. More precisely, there would be no Mr Red without corporate management.


Fire brigade for security

A hacker? Naturally, he wears hoodies, drinks energy drinks by the gallon and belongs to the world of loners and sociopaths. At least that’s how Hollywood blockbusters and Netflix series show him. Thomas Röthlisberger, wearing trainers and with a water bottle in his hand, nods towards an open-plan office in which a dozen men and women of different ages sit at their computers. Hoodies and energy drinks? Not at all. “As we all know, fiction and reality don’t always match up,” grins the 37-year-old.

Röthlisberger studied computer science and then spent years with a Swiss SME testing the IT security of various companies and advising them on how to eliminate weaknesses. Today, he’s Senior CSIRT Manager at Swisscom. CSIRT stands for Computer Security Incident Response Team. It sounds cryptic, but isn’t really that complicated. “We are the fire brigade, and were always on hand if Swisscom’s IT infrastructure or its customers’ is targeted,” explains Röthlisberger. If the CSIRT specialists deploy, things are really serious; with both attack and defence extremely complex.

The telco set up CSIRT in 2014. Internally, the crackers on the quick reaction force also operate under the name “Blue Team”. All those involved know their stuff, generally have a higher degree in computer science and have a spotless record. Like Claudio Pilotti (26), who joins Thomas Röthlisberger. “Training, experience and certification are all part of this job,” the experienced security analyst emphasises. In addition, she says, it’s important to be the sort of person who never lets up, is never satisfied just because something’s working, but has to know exactly how and why it works. Good or evil, hackers targeting or serving a company – “All of us here are driven by the desire to use our skills in a meaningful way, which has a lot to do with personal attitudes, loyalty and basic ethical values”, Pilotti believes.

Floor-length curtains shield the Zurich office, where the two are meeting this afternoon from curious eyes. The task is to define the roles for the next few days and weeks. Once again, employees and IT systems will be facing a stress test. While Thomas Röthlisberger and two “Red Team” colleagues slip into the role of hackers with assumed criminal intentions, Claudio Pilotti and his “Blue Team” colleagues will have to fend off the attacks of Mr Red and his crew. All this is in the context of normal daily operations; because naturally only the “Red Team” will know the secret of how the attacks will appear, and where and when they will take place.


Real, but without customer data

This has been going on for a good three years. Swisscom was the first major company in Switzerland to voluntarily and explicitly subject itself to a stress test by “ethical hackers” from its own ranks. The primary goals are to identify and eliminate weaknesses points in systems and processes – before they are discovered and exploited by criminal groups. Naturally, the goal is to continuously improve detection and defence against such attacks. The simulated attacks take place within a secure framework and are aborted before data from customers enters the picture. “In addition, our Operation Control Centre (OCC) is notified before each action so that the situation does not escalate,” explains Röthlisberger. “Customer data is never involved in the events at any time.”

In reality, IT security professionals distinguish between five different groups of hackers. On the one hand there are the script kiddies and politically motivated activists, who tend to concentrate on low level attacks, such as cracking passwords or taking down websites. One level higher there is organised crime, specialising for example in data theft and blackmail on the Internet. “The most dangerous hackers are undoubtedly those from terrorist circles and state actors such as secret service agents,” says Röthlisberger.


Humans as the weakest link

Whether the driving force is financial, idealistic or political, cybercrime in everyday life is just as varied as the motives of the groups involved. “When we subject our own system to a stress test, we always orient ourselves to the standard attacking techniques in real life,” explains Thomas Röthlisberger a.k.a. Mr Red. He’s not willing to reveal what this means for his current planned attacks in the presence of Claudio Pilotti, otherwise known as his intended victim, alias Mr Blue. In the past, for example, phishing attacks have been launched or attempts made to smuggle in malware. “It may sound a bit hackneyed, but what’s most important to us is to raise awareness among employees of the dangers lurking on the Web and to take preventive action,” explains Pilotti. “People are still the weakest link when it comes to targeted attacks on IT systems.” 


Already in the system for months

The two IT security professionals and their team members have exciting weeks ahead of them. Röthlisberger will be facing his colleagues with various challenges. The results of the simulated attacks and the proposals recommendations based on these will be sent to the Executive Committee towards the end of the year. Pilotti takes a sporting view – he’s relying on his experience and that of his colleagues. “Don’t kid yourself,” stresses the security analyst. “The villains are usually one step ahead of the good guys. But that’s why we do these exercises, putting ourselves in the position of the attacker.”

In reality, this means that hackers have often been running riot in a company’s IT system for months by the time they’re discovered. “If we on the other side can further shorten this time span thanks to exercises like this and increase the effort and costs for cyber attacks as a result, we have already achieved a great deal”, says Thomas Röthlisberger and promises his colleague Pilotti a drink in the event of a successful defence. “Just no energy drinks, right? I’d rather have a beer,” Claudio Pilotti dryly counters, grinning as he wishes “Hacker” Röthlisberger an early discovery.



As a corporate customer, you also benefit from the years of expertise of our Computer Security Incident Response Team (CSIRT). Swisscom offers you CSIRT as a service, providing support in the analysis and management of critical security incidents. Experienced Swisscom security experts take over management of security incidents. They manage the process remotely or at your site, and assist you with preserving evidence and communicating with customers and partners.  


Security glossary


APT

Advanced Persistent Threat is a complex, targeted and effective attack on the critical IT infrastructures and confidential data of companies who are potential victims due to their technological lead. Alternatively, attacks target companies who merely serve as a springboard to the actual victims.


Backdoor

Software backdoors are used to gain access to a computer by circumventing its access protection.


Botnet

A network of a large number of compromised computers centrally controlled by a botmaster.


CSIRT

Computer Security Incident Response Team: a group of security experts who act as coordinators in the event of actual IT security incidents, or focus on computer security in general, warning of security loopholes and proposing solutions, and analyse malware.


Defacement

Uploading unwanted content to a hacked website.


DOS

Denial of Service (DoS) – a system is crashed by an extremely large number of requests.


DDOS

Distributed Denial of Service (DDoS): the DoS attack is launched simultaneously on a large number of distributed systems (e.g. a botnet). It is no longer possible to simply block the attacker.


Honey Net

This is an attractive system or network deliberately designed to entice attackers and study their behaviour. The knowledge gained in this way is then used to protect the real networks.


Kill-Switch

Hidden software that can disrupt or shut down the functioning of a system when given the command from afar.


Malware

Software that executes damaging and unwanted functions.


Money Mule

Criminals persuade people to take money from “clients” and pass it on via a money transfer service after taking their cut. Money mules believe they are working for a legitimate organisation.


Phishing

Users are tricked into disclosing sensitive data (mostly by e-mails giving fake instructions).


Ransomware

A form of trojan horse that is used to encrypt certain data or the entire computer system in order to extort a ransom for release.


Spoofing

Deceitful behaviour in networks intended to conceal the actor’s identity.





Newsletter

Would you like to regularly receive interesting articles and whitepapers on current ICT topics?




More on the topic


   

Threat Detection & Response

Obtain an overview of potential security incidents and get professional support in the event of cyber security attacks.

Go to offer

Défense Cyber Security par CSIRT: Red c. Blue

Défense Cyber Security, CSIRT 

M. Red c. M. Blue – Swisscom: test de résistance


La dualité contient à la fois: le bon et le méchant. Et comme la défense suppose une attaque, Swisscom soumet régulièrement ses systèmes IT à des attaques ciblées de son propre personnel, mais dans un cadre sécurisé. Coup d’œil dans les coulisses de la Computer Security Incident Response Team, ou CSIRT.


Texte: Flavian Cajacob, image: Michele Limina, paru dans l’annexe au NZZ du 8 novembre 2018 




En fait, dans la vie de tous les jours, M. Rouge est M. Bleu. Mais aujourd’hui, il a plus envie de sournoiserie que de sincérité. Alors, le bon M. Blue assume le rôle du méchant M. Red. Voici le scénario de la firme. Il va alimenter son employeur Swisscom avec des attaques ciblées. Qu’est-ce que cela a d’extraordinaire? M. Red a carte blanche et a l’absolution de la direction. Plus précisément: sans direction du groupe, il n’y aurait pas de M. Red.


Les pompiers appelés pour la sécurité

Un pirate? Logiquement, une telle personne porte un pull à capuche, boit des boissons énergisantes en grande quantité et appartient à l’espèce des solitaires et des sociopathes. C’est ainsi que nous les présentent les blockbusters d’Hollywood et les séries Netflix. Thomas Röthlisberger, baskets aux pieds et bouteille d’eau à la main, hoche de la tête en direction d’un bureau paysager dans lequel une douzaine d’hommes et de femmes de différents âges sont assis devant leur ordinateur. Pull à capuche et boissons énergisantes? Erreur! «Il est notoire que la fiction et la réalité ne se recouvrent pas toujours», précise l’homme de 37 ans en souriant.

Thomas Röthlisberger a étudié l’informatique et a ensuite testé la sécurité informatique de diverses entreprises pendant des années pour une PME suisse, et a prodigué des conseils pour supprimer les vulnérabilités. Il est aujourd’hui Senior CSIRT Manager chez Swisscom. CSIRT signifie Computer Security Incident Response Team – ou en bon français «équipe de réaction aux incidents de sécurité informatique». De nouveau, cette formule apparemment sibylline n’est pas aussi compliquée en réalité. «Nous sommes les pompiers et nous entrons toujours en piste lorsque l’infrastructure informatique de Swisscom et celle de ses clients fait l’objet d’une attaque ciblée», explique Thomas Röthlisberger. Lorsque les spécialistes de la CSIRT interviennent, c’est qu’il y a vraiment le feu: l’attaque comme la défense paraissent alors extrêmement complexes.

L’opérateur de télécommunications a mis en place la CSIRT en 2014. En interne, les experts du groupe d’intervention rapide agissent sous le nom de «Blue Team». Celui qui en fait partie sait se servir de ses mains et de son cerveau, a en général une formation poussée en informatique et possède une réputation irréprochable. C’est le cas de Claudio Pilotti (26 ans), qui travaille actuellement avec Thomas Röthlisberger. «Formation, expérience et certificat font un tout dans ce travail», souligne l’analyste de la sécurité expérimenté. En outre, il est aussi important d’être du genre qui se pose toujours des questions et qui n’est jamais satisfait quand quelque chose fonctionne, mais qui veut savoir très exactement comment et pourquoi cela fonctionne. Bon ou méchant, pirate contre une entreprise ou à son service – «tout ce qui nous motive ici, c’est d’utiliser judicieusement nos propres compétences; c’est beaucoup une question d’état d’esprit personnel, de loyauté et de principes éthiques», Claudio Pilotti en est convaincu.

Des rideaux qui vont jusqu’au sol protègent le bureau zurichois dans lequel les deux compères se rencontrent cet après-midi, à l’écart des regards indiscrets. Car il s’agit de définir les rôles pour les jours et les semaines à venir. Les collaborateurs et les systèmes informatiques seront une fois de plus soumis à un test de résistance. Pendant que Thomas Röthlisberger avec deux collègues de la «Red Team» se glissent dans la peau du pirate que l’on suppose animé d’intentions criminelles, Claudio Pilotti et ses collègues de la «Blue Team» devront repousser les attaques de M. Red et de ses acolytes. Tout cela dans le cadre du travail quotidien normal; car il va de soi que les modalités, le lieu et le moment des attaques restent le secret de la «Red Team».


Réel mais sans données des clients

Cette procédure existe depuis plus de trois ans. Swisscom a été la première grande entreprise suisse à se soumettre volontairement et explicitement à un test de résistance effectué par des «pirates éthiques» issus de ses propres rangs. Les objectifs majeurs sont de déceler et d’éliminer les vulnérabilités des systèmes et des processus – avant qu’elles ne soient découvertes et exploitées par des cercles criminels. Il va sans dire que la reconnaissance et la défense contre de telles attaques doivent être améliorées en permanence. Les attaques fictives se déroulent dans un cadre sécurisé et cessent avant que les données de clients finaux ne soient en jeu. «En outre, notre Operation Control Center (OCC) est informé avant chaque action afin que la situation ne fasse pas l’objet d’une remontée», précise Thomas Röthlisberger. «Les données des clients ne sont donc à aucun moment impliquées dans l’opération.»

En réalité, les professionnels de la sécurité informatique distinguent cinq groupements de pirates différents. Premièrement, on a ce que l’on appelle les Script Kiddies et les activistes motivés par des considérations politiques, qui se concentrent plutôt sur les attaques faciles, comme le piratage de mots de passe ou la paralysie de sites Internet. Un degré plus haut, on trouve le crime organisé, spécialisé par exemple dans le vol de données et le chantage sur Internet. «Les pirates les plus dangereux sont certainement ceux qui appartiennent à des cercles terroristes et à des acteurs étatiques comme les membres des services secrets», déclare Thomas Röthlisberger.


L’homme: maillon le plus faible

Qu’elles soient d’ordre économique, idéaliste ou politique, les motivations des divers groupements sont différentes, tout comme la cybercriminalité au quotidien. «Lorsque nous soumettons notre propre système à un test de résistance, nous nous inspirons toujours des techniques d’attaque courantes de la réalité», explique Thomas Röthlisberger alias M. Red. En présence Claudio Pilotti, alias M. Blue, sa victime supposée, il ne révélera pas ce que cela signifie pour les attaques qu’il a actuellement planifiées. Dans le passé, on a par exemple lancé des attaques par hameçonnage ou tenté d’introduire des logiciels malveillants. «Cela peut sembler banal mais il est surtout important pour nous de faire prendre conscience aux collaborateurs des dangers liés au réseau et de promouvoir la prévention», ajoute Claudio Pilotti. «Car lorsqu’il s’agit d’attaques ciblées sur des systèmes informatiques, le maillon le plus faible reste l’homme.»


Réellement dans le système depuis des mois

Des semaines palpitantes attendent les deux professionnels de l’informatique et les membres de leur équipe. Thomas Röthlisberger expose quelques défis à son collègue. Les résultats des attaques fictives et les propositions de solution qui en découlent seront transmis à la direction du groupe à la fin de l’année. Claudio Pilotti réagit sportivement – il fait confiance à son expérience et à celle de ses collègues. «Il ne faut pas se faire d’illusions», souligne l’analyste de la sécurité. «Le méchant a généralement une longueur d’avance sur le bon. C’est précisément pour cela que nous faisons ces exercices et que nous mettons dans le rôle de l’agresseur.»

En réalité, cela signifie que lorsque les pirates sont découverts, ils ont déjà fait des dégâts dans le système informatique d’une entreprise depuis des mois. «Si, grâce à des exercices comme celui-ci, nous réussissons à réduire encore ce délai, faisant augmenter le temps et les coûts nécessaires aux cyberattaques, nous auront déjà fait beaucoup», déclare Thomas Röthlisberger, qui promet à son collègue de lui offrir un verre en cas de défense réussie. «Mais pas une boisson énergisante, d’accord? Plutôt une bière», répond Claudio Pilotti du tac au tac, et souhaite avec un sourire au «pirate» Thomas Röthlisberger de le détecter le plus vite possible. 



En tant client d’entreprise, vous profitez aussi de la longue expérience de la Computer Security Incident Response Team (CSIRT). Avec CSIRT as a Service, Swisscom vous aide à analyser et à maîtriser les incidents de sécurité critiques. Des experts de la sécurité de Swisscom prennent la main en cas d’incidents de sécurité. Ils pilotent le processus à distance ou sur place chez vous et vous aident pour la conservation des preuves ainsi que la communication avec les clients et les partenaires.


Glossaire des termes de sécurité


APT

Advanced Persistent Threat, en français «menace avancée persistante». C’est une attaque complexe, ciblée et efficace sur des infrastructures informatiques critiques et des données confidentielles d’entreprises constituant des victimes potentielles en raison de leur avancée technique. D’autres entreprises peuvent également être attaquées et servent de tremplin pour atteindre les réelles victimes visées.


Backdoor

Porte dérobée permettant d’accéder à un ordinateur en contournant la protection d’accès.


Botnet

Réseau avec un grand nombre d’ordinateurs compromis, dont le contrôle central est assuré par un botmaster.


CSIRT

Computer Security Incident Response Team désigne un groupe de spécialistes de sécurité jouant le rôle de coordinateurs en cas d’incident de sécurité informatique, ou traitant généralement de la sécurité informatique, prévenant en cas de niches de sécurité, proposant des solutions et analysant des logiciels malveillants.


Defacement

Introduction de contenus indésirables sur un site Internet piraté.


DOS

Déni de service (Denial of Service - DOS). Un système est paralysé par un grand nombre de demandes.


DDOS

Déni de service distribué (Distributed Denial of Service - DDOS). L’attaque DOS (attaque par déni de service) est lancée simultanément depuis un grand nombre de systèmes répartis (p. ex. un botnet). Il n’est plus possible de bloquer l’agresseur.


Honey Net

Système ou réseau présenté de manière attractive pour le destinataire afin d’attirer les attaquants et de pouvoir étudier leurs comportements. Les connaissances ainsi acquises sont ensuite utilisées pour protéger les réseaux réels.


Kill-Switch

Logiciel caché, qui peut également réagir à un ordre provenant de l’extérieur et qui perturbe le fonctionnement d’un système ou le rend inutilisable.


Malware

Logiciel qui exécute des fonctions dommageables et non souhaitées.


Money Mule

Des criminels incitent des personnes à percevoir de l’argent de «clients» et à le transférer, par le biais d’un service de transfert, après déduction d’une commission. La personne (money mule) croit travailler pour une organisation légitime.


Phishing

Les utilisateurs sont incités à divulguer des données sensibles par des astuces (le plus souvent par des e-mails contenant des messages trompeurs).


Ransomware

Une forme de cheval de Troie, permettant de crypter certaines données ou le système informatique tout entier, afin de demander une rançon pour les libérer.


Spoofing

Tentatives de tromperie dans les réseaux en vue de masquer son identité.





Newsletter

Vous souhaitez recevoir régulièrement des articles et Whitepapers passionnants sur des activités TIC actuelles?




En savoir plus sur ce thème


   

Threat Detection & Response

Avoir une vue d’ensemble sur les incidents de sécurité potentiels et obtenir une assistance professionnelle pour les attaques de Cyber Security.

Vers l'offre