Portrait of the Security Operation Center, published in the NZZ Folio

Security Operation Center 

The bouncers


Fifty experts guard customers’ corporate networks around the clock. Finding out what connects Roger Federer to cybercrime and who protects companies in Switzerland from hacker attacks – a visit to the Swisscom Security Operations Center in Zurich.


Text: Flavian Cajacob, Images: Michele Limina, published in the NZZ supplement 9 November 2017




Three doors open in succession for Markus Kaegi, but the fourth one rejects his badge. “Not even I can get in here”, says the Security Services Product Manager at Swisscom. “That’s security level 4. Access is only for staff of the Security Operation Center.” There are fifty of them in total, all of them absolute masters of their craft. Their boss is Nemanja Mitic,

A smart young man with a beard, who opens the security entrance from inside and descends, so to speak, to security level 3. “Anyone who wants to work for my team goes through rigorous testing – on their technical skills, their personality, and of course their record of conduct.” This means that anyone who fails the federal government’s security clearance test will not get a job at Swisscom’s Security Operation Center (SOC) in Binz, near Zurich.


Too much to take on

For many Swiss companies, internet crime is already a reality. It not only affects large corporations, but more and more small and medium-sized businesses. According to a new study by KPMG, nine out of ten Swiss companies have been the victims of cyber attacks in recent months. That’s a 34 percent increase over the previous year. Another survey, this time by EY, also discovered that only two fifths of the companies asked in Switzerland were at all able to identify complex cyber attacks.

These figures are striking, but not surprising. This is because it is increasingly complex and resource-intensive for companies to monitor and protect their own networks. “Costs, capacities and expertise – it can all quickly get too much for a company to take on”, says Kaegi soberly. So is a lack of resources a reason to hold back when it comes to one’s own security? That would be  a very bad idea.


Fighting it off – and keeping quiet

There are many different cyber risks (see info box). Nemanja Mitic presses a button to remove the screen that hides staff in the SOC from the sight of those in the adjacent conference room. He says: “We work here around the clock, seven days a week. Believe me, it never gets boring!” His colleague Markus Kaegi presents some more figures. They show that every month, Swisscom security experts block on average 2250 phishing attacks and identify 1300 malware attacks.

Successful defences like this are not greatly talked about. “We Swiss prefer to keep it to ourselves if something unpleasant like a cyber attack happens. It’s in our DNA”, explains Markus Kaegi. On the one hand, this is completely understandable, but it’s also shooting yourself in the foot. “In the fight against cybercrime, of all things, a bit of transparency would help everyone.” Attacks on company networks could be warded off more quickly and comprehensively, and the analysed data could provide information on other planned attacks.

The whole thing has nothing to do with teenage hackers any more, who are still surprisingly admired by the public. “We’re dealing with professionally organised structures. Cybercrime has now taken on industrial dimensions”, emphasises Kaegi. Swisscom combats malicious network activity with a comprehensive range of Managed Security Services (MSS-i). These can be compiled in modules as required. Customers can put a package together to ensure that their IT infrastructure and digital business processes are protected.

In the Security Vendor Benchmark from the independent Experton Group, Swisscom regularly receives the accolade of “Switzerland Security Leader”. Suddenly things are stirring at the Security Operation Center in Binz. It would be exaggerating to call it hectic. A customer’s file pops up on one of the large screens which show events such as cyber attacks currently taking place. This means that the intelligent monitoring platform has registered an incident and has made an initial, unsuccessful attempt to stop it – now the automatic defence system classifies the attack as threatening. The security analysts step into action, two men and a woman put their heads together and decide what to do next. “It’s always an interaction between human and machine”, explains Nemanja Mitic. “Now we’ve got to move fast. While my colleagues are working on a solution, the customer is notified of the incident.” A dashboard shows what is happening in real time.


Federer causes false alarm

It’s not always a criminal act that triggers an alarm. Mitic gives an example from real life: “When Roger Federer plays tennis, people want to watch it from their offices.” So they watch the match online on their company computer. The head of SOC grins. “And then there are networks which interpret heavy utilisation as a deliberate attack on the IT service.”

The hacker attack the experts were working on has now been averted. The customer had been the target of a phishing attack. However, the Swisscom firewall was able to block the malware – thanks to the security agents it was possible to prevent any damage. The customer will now be sent a detailed report, and the analysts can enjoy a cup of tea. Nobody knows when the next emergency will come.

A list of tasks to do appears on the big screen on the wall of the Security Operation Center. On the next screen, the US President is speaking. And on a third screen white lines cross, indicating current cyber attacks around the world. Mitic closes the screen again – that’s the end of the show. “We’re a bit like the bouncers at a popular club”, he explains, and gets ready to leave security level 3 and go back to security level 4. “We won’t let anyone in who might cause problems. And we throw out anyone who starts trouble.”



The most common cyber threats

MELANI, the Swiss Federation’s Reporting and Analysis Centre for Information Assurance, identifies numerous cyber threats which companies are exposed to:



(Cyber) espionage

Cybercriminals exploit vulnerabilities in the digital infrastructure – unencrypted internet connections or weak passwords, for example – to steal valuable information and prepare further attacks. Not only government agencies but also private companies can have their expertise stolen and misused.


Data leakage

Confidential data is stolen. Outside attackers then blackmail the company by threatening to publish and propagate the data. It is difficult to tell whether what they claim is true or not, which means many companies pay the ransom just to be on the safe side.


DDoS

These attacks aim to restrict the availability of an IT service such as a website or an internet shop and try to crash it. This type of attack can also involve blackmail. The main targets are IT services with limited capacity or inadequate monitoring of data traffic.


Social Engineering

Users are deceived with psychological tricks and misled into performing risky IT activities. Social engineering exploits humans as a weak spot in the system. This includes pressurising victims with instructions such as “Log in immediately or your account will be blocked”.


Phishing

A phishing attack aims to glean a person’s access details by assuming a false identity, for example that of their bank. With the deceptively obtained password, cybercriminals can access the victim’s online banking system.


Malware

Many cyber attacks take place using what is known as malware. IT systems are manipulated and data is stolen, changed or even destroyed. For companies affected, this kind of attack can mean the confidentiality, integrity and availability of the data is lost.


Ransomware

Using encryption trojans known as ransomware, the victim’s data is encrypted and thus rendered unusable. The cybercriminals demand money in return for decrypting the data, which is by no means guaranteed.





Newsletter

Subscribe to the newsletter now and stay informed about trends, industry news and benchmarks.





More on the topic


   

Managed Network Security (MSS-i)

The 24/7 protection of your company network is guaranteed by the experts from the Swisscom Security Operation Center.

Go to offer

Portrait Security Operation Center, paru dans le NZZ Folio

Security Operation Center 

Les videurs


50 experts surveillent et défendent en continu les réseaux d’entreprise de clients. Quel rapport entre Roger Federer et les cyber-criminels? Qui protège les entreprises contre les attaques de pirates en Suisse? Visite du centre de sécurité de Swisscom à Zurich.


Texte: Flavian Cajacob, Images: Michele Limina, Publié dans le NZZ supplément du 9 novembre 2017




Le badge de Markus Kaegi lui permet de passer les trois premières portes, mais pas la quatrième. «Ici, moi non plus je n’entre pas», explique le Product Manager des Security Services chez Swisscom, ajoutant qu’«il s’agit d’un accès de niveau de sécurité 4 réservé uniquement aux collaborateurs du Security Operation Center.». Au total, l’on en compte 50, tous des professionnels maîtrisant parfaitement le sujet. Leur chef est Nemanja Mitic.

Il s’agit d’un jeune homme intelligent avec une barbe généreuse qui ouvre à présent le sas depuis l’intérieur et qui se retrouve au niveau de sécurité 3. «Quiconque veut travailler dans mon équipe est examiné sous toutes les coutures – en termes de compétences, humainement et, naturellement, l’on examine aussi l’irréprochabilité de sa réputation.» En d’autres termes: qui ne passe pas le contrôle de sécurité relatif aux personnes n’obtient pas de travail au Security Operation Center (SOC) de Swisscom dans le quartier de Binz de Zurich.


Trop de pression: est-ce un frein?

Pour une grande partie des entreprises suisses, la cybercriminalité est déjà une réalité. Les grandes entreprises ne sont pas les seules concernées, cela touche également toujours plus les petites et moyennes entreprises. Selon une nouvelle étude de KPMG, neuf des dix entreprises suisses interrogées ont été victimes de cyberattaques ces derniers mois. Cela représente une hausse de 34% par rapport à l’année précédente. Une autre enquête, menée cette fois par EY, a par ailleurs révélé que seuls 2/5 des entreprises interrogées dans notre pays étaient en mesure de détecter des cyberattaques complexes.

Ces chiffres sont impressionnants mais pas surprenants. En effet, la surveillance et la protection des réseaux d’entreprise sont toujours plus étendues et complexes. «Coûts, capacités, savoir-faire – une entreprise peut rapidement se sentir dépassée par tout cela», constate Markus Kaegi de manière objective. Ce sentiment d’être dépassé, est-ce une raison de freiner des quatre fers sur la sécurité? Une mauvaise raison sans doute.


Se défendre – et se taire

Les cyber-risques sont nombreux (voir encadré). Nemanja Mitic supprime d’une simple pression sur un bouton le cache qui protège les collaborateurs du SOC des regards de ceux travaillant dans la salle de conférence voisine. Il explique: «Nous travaillons ici 24h/24 et 7j/7. Croyez-moi, nous ne nous ennuyons jamais!» Son collègue M. Kaegi présente d’autres chiffres. Selon ses données, les experts en sécurité de Swisscom bloquent tous les mois en moyenne 2 250 attaques par hameçonnage et détectent 1 300 attaques avec des logiciels malveillants.

Ces actions de défense réussies sont souvent passées sous silence. «Nous, Suisses, préférons garder cela pour nous lorsque quelque chose de désagréable comme une cyberattaque se produit, cela est inscrit dans notre ADN», explique Markus Kaegi. Cela peut parfaitement se comprendre et, dans le même temps, c’est comme si nous nous tirions une balle dans le pied. «En particulier dans la lutte contre la cybercriminalité, un peu de transparence pourrait être profitable à tous.» Les attaques visant des réseaux d’entreprise pourraient être contrées plus rapidement et plus largement, et les données analysées pourraient fournir des informations sur d’autres attaques prévues.

Cela fait longtemps que les adolescents hackers qui suscitent étonnamment l’admiration du grand public ne sont plus la source du problème. «Nous avons affaire à des structures organisées de manière professionnelle; la cybercriminalité a pris entre-temps une ampleur industrielle», souligne M. Kaegi. Swisscom combat de tels agissements dans les réseaux grâce à un large portefeuille de Managed Security Services (MSS-i). Ceux-ci peuvent être associés de façon modulaire selon les besoins. Le client se constitue un paquet qui garantit la protection des infrastructures IT et des processus commerciaux numériques.

Dans le Security Vendor Benchmark de l’Experton Group indépendant, Swisscom apparaît régulièrement comme étant le «Security Leader Switzerland». Il y a de l’ambiance dans le Swisscom Security Operation Center dans le quartier de Binz de Zurich. Il serait toutefois exagéré de parler d’effervescence. Sur l’un des grands écrans affichant entre autres les cyberattaques actuelles, le dossier d’un client apparaît. Cela signifie que la plateforme de surveillance intelligente enregistre un incident et qu’elle n’a pas réussi, pour une fois, à y remédier – l’attaque est alors qualifiée de «menaçante» par le système de défense automatique. Les analystes en sécurité interviennent, deux hommes et une femme se consultent et délibèrent sur la suite de la procédure. «C’est toujours une histoire d’interaction entre l’homme et la machine», explique Nemanja Mitic. «À présent, il faut que les choses aillent vite; pendant que mes collègues travaillent à l’élaboration d’une solution, le client est informé de l’incident.» Sur un Dashboard, ce dernier peut suivre l’évolution en temps réel.


Fausse alerte à cause de Federer

Un acte criminel n’est pas toujours ce qui déclenche l’alarme. N. Mitic cite un exemple issu de la pratique: «Si Roger Federer dispute un match de tennis, les personnes dans les bureaux veulent pouvoir suivre la partie.» Ils regardent donc le jeu sur l’écran de leur ordinateur. Le responsable du SOC sourit. «Et il peut arriver que certains réseaux interprètent cette charge excessive comme une attaque ciblée du service informatique.»

L’attaque de piratage, qui a occupé les spécialistes, est entre-temps évincée. Le client a été victime d’une attaque par hameçonnage. Le firewall de Swisscom est cependant capable de bloquer le malware – grâce aux agents de sécurité, un dommage a pu être évité. Le client reçoit maintenant un rapport détaillé, et les analystes sirotent leur thé. Personne ne sait quand est-ce que le prochain cas sérieux va se présenter.


Sur les grands écrans accrochés au mur du Swisscom Security Operation Center, la liste des tâches à traiter apparaît. À côté, le président américain parle. Et sur un troisième écran, des lignes blanches se croisent, lesquelles affichent les cyberattaques actuelles dans le monde entier. Nemanja Mitic active le cache: fin de la présentation. «Nous sommes un peu comme les videurs postés à l’entrée d’un club tendance», explique-t-il, s’apprêtant à quitter le niveau de sécurité 3 pour entrer dans le niveau de sécurité 4. «Nous refusons l’accès à ceux qui pourraient générer des problèmes. Et mettons dehors tous ceux qui font du grabuge.»



Les cyber-risques les plus fréquents!

La Centrale d’enregistrement et d’analyse pour la sûreté de l’information de la Confédération (MELANI) détecte une multitude de cyber-risques auxquels sont exposées les entreprises:



(Cyber)espionnage

Les faiblesses dans l’infrastructure numérique – absence de cryptage dans une connexion Internet ou mots de passe faibles par exemple – sont exploitées par les cyber-criminels dans le but de collecter des informations confidentielles et de préparer d’autres attaques. Les entreprise publiques ne sont pas les seules concernées; cela touche également les entreprises dont le savoir-faire est dérobé et utilisé de manière abusive.


Fuites de données

Des données confidentielles sont dérobées. L’attaquant externe exerce un chantage sur l’entreprise, en menaçant de publier, de copier et de diffuser ces données. Il est difficile de savoir si l’affirmation est vraie ou non, c’est pourquoi la plupart des entreprises concernées paient la rançon dans le doute.


DDoS

Les attaques désignées visent à restreindre la disponibilité d’un service IT comme un site Web ou une boutique Web et à faire planter le service IT. Ces attaques peuvent également être associées à du chantage. Ce sont principalement les services IT avec une capacité de travail limitée ou sans surveillance du trafic de données qui sont exploités.


Ingénierie sociale

Les utilisateurs sont induits en erreur par le biais d’astuces psychologiques, les poussant à réaliser des activités informatiques dangereuses. L’ingénierie sociale utilise la «faiblesse» humaine. En fait partie la technique de mise sous pression de la victime, avec des messages du type «Connectez-vous immédiatement, sinon votre compte sera bloqué».


Hameçonnage

Une attaque par hameçonnage vise à espionner les données d’accès de la personne souhaitée, sous couvert d’une fausse identité, par exemple celle de la banque personnelle. Grâce au mot de passe acquis frauduleusement, les cyber-criminels peuvent avoir accès à la banque en ligne de la victime.


Malware

Dans de nombreuses cyberattaques, des logiciels malveillants, lesdits malwares, sont utilisés. Les systèmes informatiques sont manipulés et les données sont espionnées, modifiées, voire détruites. Pour l’entreprise concernée, une telle attaque s’accompagne d’une perte de confidentialité, d’intégrité et de disponibilité des données.


Ransomware

Par le biais de chevaux de Troie de cryptage, les «ramsomware», les données de la victime sont cryptées et rendues inutilisables. Les cyber-criminels exigent de l’argent et offrent en contrepartie de déchiffrer leurs données, sans garantie.





Newsletter

Abonnez-vous à la newsletter pour suivre les tendances, les actualités de la branche et les benchmarks.





En savoir plus sur ce thème


   

Managed Network Security (MSS-i)

Les experts du Swisscom Security Operation Center assurent la sécurité du réseau de votre entreprise 24 heures/24 et 7 jours/7.

Vers l'offre