Data breach: the correct response to cyber attacks

Data-Breach

First aid for a hacker attack


Companies are constantly being attacked by hackers. If data is stolen, the correct actions must be carried out as quickly as possible. One scenario shows how to limit the damage.


Text: Felix Raymann in collaboration with Lorenz Inglin, Images: Luca Zanier




“The website is not available” – this is the alarm SMS received by Arno P. in the middle of the night. As he is responsible for the IT of an online retailer, Arno P. gets up and logs into the system in the usual way to see what the problem is. “This could really wait until the morning,” he thinks to himself, because hardly anyone uses the Swiss web shop during the night.


But when he sees the traffic figures he can hardly believe his eyes – there’s an inexplicably high level of data traffic on the servers. Evidently attackers are using a multitude of automated attacks in an attempt to make the website inaccessible.


However, when he examines the logs on the servers he discovers that customer data is also being stolen at the same time. The attack on the website might only be a distraction. He is unable to shut down individual servers, and he is unsure whether he should start blocking the data theft himself, or even how to do this.


An emergency plan is indispensable

The incident described can either be a catastrophe for the company, or it can get off lightly. In the optimum scenario, an emergency plan informs Arno P. what to do. He calls the support number at Swisscom, whose services and infrastructures are used by the company. Swisscom is up to speed and has already blocked a number of areas in which suspicious activities were detected.


“This is a DDoS attack,” says the responsible member of the security team. “We were able to filter out the malicious network traffic, and the service will be available again soon.” However, the hackers also managed to exploit a weakness in a database and copy customer data.

The first thing we want to do is stop these activities. Only then do the security specialists use the log files to try to find out how the attackers were able to access the sensitive data.




Emergency plan: actions following an attack


Even with the best preventive actions, hackers may still be able to steal data using a wide range of attacking methods. After an incident is detected, every second counts. Swisscom’s Computer Security Incident Response Team deploys the following actions to defend against threats:

 

  • Evaluate the available information on the incident. What is going on? Is it necessary to send a Swisscom team to the company?
  • Initiate immediate actions (stop activities and evaluate the extent of the damage and the data losses)
  • Find the cause of the problem
  • Initiate actions to contain / remove the problem
  • Improve the protection and identify comparable problems
  • Restoring, validating, monitoring
  • Preserving evidence (source of attacks, potentially for legal purposes)
  • Debriefing, documentation, implementing corrective actions


Because the company is not using all of the services at Swisscom, the goal is now to limit the damage on the company’s own servers. So Arno P. goes into work. There he pulls the ethernet plugs of the servers in accordance with the instructions in his emergency plan, but he does not shut down the computers, in order to be able to reconstruct any potential manipulation later. “The memory can tell us a lot about the nature of the interference with the system,” says Lorenz Inglin, Head of the Security Monitoring & Incident Response Team (CSIRT) at Swisscom.


The subsequent analysis of the log files will reveal that the attacker got into the system via a weakness in the application (using an “SQL injection”). Swisscom’s forensic team now has the task of preserving evidence and finding out who could be behind the attack. They have to analyse where the attack came from, what data was stolen and how significant the damage is. It is equally important to block the communication channels for the attackers and repair the weakness in the application. The employees and customers also have to be told what they need to do. An official statement should also be prepared for the media and customer services.



1/5 Swisscom’s security team provides first aid after a hacker attack.

2/5 The specialists analyse the log files in order to detect suspicious activity.

3/5 First aid on site: On the way to the customer with a forensic kit.

4/5 Creating forensic copies of hard disks, identifying causes, containing Problems: Swisscom's CSIRT Team at work.

5/5 Pulling the plug: In serious cases, every second counts.

1/5 Swisscom’s security team provides first aid after a hacker attack.


Costly aftermath of an attack

After the initial actions have been carried out, the concern is now to limit the damage as far as possible. It is very difficult to determine the extent of the actual damage. Financial damage can occur directly or indirectly. Potential factors are:

 

  • Internal workload to remove problem and restore systems
  • External forensic workload and restoring leased systems
  • New security measures
  • Reputation: damage to image, loss of customer trust, drop in share price




Current threats to companies


Hackers use a wide range of methods to access sensitive data such as customer information, credit card details, passwords etc. Lorenz Inglin: “Attacks are made on a daily basis and we are permanently on alert, trying to detect and repel such attacks.”


Between March and December 2016, there were 83,928 incidents of blocking 74,602 e-mail addresses at Swisscom alone. “We are continuously monitoring our networks, looking for unusual occurrences. For example, we detect and block around 2,500 phishing websites every month,” says Lorenz Inglin.


At present, companies are mainly exposed to the following threats:

 

  • Phishing
  • DDoS attacks (disabling of services and websites)
  • Ransomware (data encryption followed by blackmailing)
  • Social engineering (using tricks to obtain data and passwords). Example: “Fake President Fraud”: A scammer pretends to be a member of the company management and gets employees to make bank transfers.

Hacker typology:


  • Lone individuals: “Script kiddies” or digital vandals who try to break into systems or disable them.
  • Hackers: Hacktivists who are capable of making DDoS attacks, for instance.
  • Criminal organisations: Organised groups and organisations that have the manpower and resources necessary to make targeted attacks and steal money.
  • Terror activists: Ideologically motivated hackers who want to manipulate infrastructures.
  • State hackers: Politically or economically motivated? Capable of making major attacks, infiltrating companies etc.







More on the topic


Threat Detection & Response

Obtain an overview of potential security incidents and get professional support in the event of cyber security attacks.

Fuite de données: Réagir correctement aux cyberattaques

Fuite de données

Premier secours après une attaque de hackers


Les entreprises sont la cible permanente de hackers. Lors d’un vol de données, il convient de prendre sans tarder les mesures qui s’imposent. Un scénario montre comment limiter les dommages.


Texte: Felix Raymann en collaboration avec Lorenz Inglin, illustrations: Luca Zanier




«Le site Web n’est plus accessible» indique le SMS d’alarme que reçoit Arno P. en pleine nuit. Le responsable informatique de ce revendeur en ligne n’a pas d’autre choix que de se connecter sur son système. Il constate alors que quelque chose ne va pas. «Cela aurait bien pu attendre jusqu’au matin», juge-t-il, car il sait que pratiquement personne ne fait ses achats sur le Web-Shop pendant la nuit.


Mais lorsqu’il contrôle les chiffres du trafic, il n’en croit pas ses yeux. Il observe sur le serveur un intense trafic de données qu’il ne parvient pas à interpréter. Manifestement, des attaquants essaient de rendre le site Web inaccessible en multipliant les accès automatisés.


Lorsqu’il examine les journaux des serveurs, il constate autre chose: il se produit manifestement un vol de données de clients. L’accès au site Web pourrait n’être qu’une manœuvre de diversion. Il ne réussit pas à arrêter certains serveurs et il ignore si et comment il doit commencer à arrêter le vol de données.


Un plan d’urgence est indispensable

L’incident décrit peut soit se transformer en catastrophe pour l’entreprise soit se terminer sans trop de dégâts. Dans le meilleur des cas, Arno P. sait ce qu’il doit faire grâce à un plan d’urgence. Il appelle le numéro de l’Assistance Swisscom dont son entreprise utilise les services et les infrastructures. Swisscom est déjà au courant et a également rendu inaccessibles différents domaines dans lesquels des activités suspectes ont été détectées.

 

«Il s’agit d’une attaque DDoS», explique le collaborateur compétent de l’équipe Security. «Nous avons pu filtrer le trafic réseau malveillant, le service sera à nouveau accessible prochainement. Mais les hackers ont réussi, par ailleurs, à exploiter une faille dans une base de données afin de copier des données des clients.


La première chose à faire est donc d’arrêter ces opérations. Par la suite, les spécialistes Security s’efforcent de déterminer à l’aide des fichiers journaux par quel moyen les attaquants ont pu accéder aux données sensibles.




Plan d’urgence: Mesures après une attaque


Il peut arriver, malgré les meilleures mesures de prévention, que des hackers parviennent à voler des données en utilisant des méthodes d’attaque les plus diverses. Lorsque l’on a connaissance d’un incident, chaque seconde compte. L’équipe Computer Security Incident Response de Swisscom prévoit plusieurs mesures visant à contrer les menaces:

  • évaluation des informations présentes sur l’incident. De quoi s’agit-il? Une équipe sur site de Swisscom est-elle nécessaire?
  • Mise en place de mesures immédiates (bloquer les opérations, mesurer l’étendue des dégâts, évaluer les pertes de données)
  • Trouver la cause du problème
  • Prendre des mesures pour circonscrire le problème!
  • Amélioration de la protection et identifier les problèmes comparables
  • Restauration, validation, surveillance
  • Recueillir les preuves (origine des attaques, éventuellement pour les besoins judiciaires)
  • Debriefing, documentation, mise en œuvre de mesures correctrices


L’entreprise n’utilisant pas tous les services de Swisscom, il convient à présent de limiter le dommage sur ses propres serveurs. Arno P. se rend pour cela au bureau. Conformément aux instructions du plan d’urgence, il débranche la fiche Ethernet du serveur, mais il n’éteint pas l’ordinateur, ce qui permette de reconstruire après coup d’éventuelles manipulations. «La mémoire vive peut nous donner de nombreuses informations utiles sur les atteintes qui ont visé le système», explique Lorenz Inglin, Head Security Monitoring & Incident Response Team (CSIRT) au sein de Swisscom.


L’analyse ultérieure des fichiers journaux permettra de déterminer que l’attaquant s’est introduit dans le système grâce à une faille de l’application (par «SQL Injection»). La tâche de l’équipe forensique de Swisscom est à présent de sécuriser les preuves et d’établir qui pourrait être derrière tout cela. L’équipe forensique doit analyser l’origine de l’attaque, quelles données ont été volées et l’ampleur du dégât. Autre point important: bloquer les canaux de communication avec les attaquants et de combler la faille dans l’application. Les collaborateurs et les clients doivent par ailleurs être informés sur le comportement qu’ils doivent avoir. Il est nécessaire, en outre, de définir une stratégie de communication pour le service médias et clients.



1/5 L’équipe Security de Swisscom apporte les premiers secours en cas d’attaques de hackers.

2/5 Les spécialistes analysent les fichiers journaux pour y constater des mouvements suspects.

3/5 Premiers secours sur site: Avec la valise forensique chez le client.

4/5 Création de copies forensiques de disques durs, identification des causes: l’équipe CSIRT de Swisscom en cours d’intervention.

5/5 Retirer la prise: Chaque seconde compte en cas d’urgence.

1/5 L’équipe Security de Swisscom apporte les premiers secours en cas d’attaques de hackers.


Conséquences coûteuses de l’attaque

Après avoir pris les premières mesures, il importe désormais de limiter le plus possible l’ampleur des dommages. Il est difficile de déterminer le montant du dommage effectif. Les dommages financiers peuvent survenir directement ou indirectement. Différents facteurs sont possibles:

  • l’ampleur de l’effort à réaliser pour la correction et la restauration
  • le forensique externe, la restauration des systèmes loués
  • les nouvelles mesures de sécurité
  • Réputation: intacte, perte de confiance des clients, chute du cours des actions




L’état de la menace pour l’entreprise


Les hackers appliquent des méthodes très variées pour accéder aux données sensibles comme des informations sur les clients, des informations sur les cartes de crédit, des mots de passe, etc. Lorenz Inglin: «Les attaques sont quotidiennes, nous sommes en alerte permanente et nous nous efforçons de détecter et de contrer les attaques.»


De mai à décembre 2016, il y a eu rien que chez Swisscom 83 928 blocages de 74 602 adresses e-mail. «Nous surveillons nos réseaux en permanence et nous recherchons les événements inhabituels. Ainsi, nous trouvons et nous bloquons notamment près de 2 500 pages de phishing tous les mois, explique Lorenz Inglin.


Actuellement, les menaces auxquelles les entreprises sont exposées, sont principalement les suivantes:

 

  • Phishing
  • Attaques DDoS (paralysie de services, sites Web)
  • Ransomware (chiffrement des données suivi de demande de rançon)
  • Social Engineering (extorsions de données, de mots de passe à l’aide d’astuces. Exemple: «Fake President Fraud»: Les imposteurs se font passer pour un membre de la direction d’une entreprise et pousse un employé à réaliser des virements d’argent.

Typologie des hackers:


  • Individus: Ceux qu’on appelle les «script kiddies», ou vandales numériques, tentent de pénétrer un système ou de le paralyser.
  • Hackers: Hacktivistes capables de réaliser des attaques DDoS.
  • Organisations criminelles: Bandes organisées et organisations menant des attaques ciblées avec un investissement important et suffisamment de moyens afin de mettre la main sur de l’argent.
  • Activistes terroristes: Hackers aux motivations idéologiques et visant à manipuler des infrastructures.
  • Hackers étatiques: Avec une motivation politique ou économique? Ils sont en mesure de réaliser des attaques de grande ampleur, d’infiltrer des personnes, etc.







En savoir plus sur ce thème


Threat Detection & Response

Avoir une vue d’ensemble sur les incidents de sécurité potentiels et obtenir une assistance professionnelle pour les attaques de Cyber Security.