Data loss prevention measures

Protection of business data

How companies prevent unwanted data loss

Data loss prevention (i.e. outflow of confidential data) is not just a technical matter – it is important to involve employees, as measures will not work without them. These approaches are promising.

Text: Andreas Heer, 18 june 2019

It happens fast: the email sender is in a hurry, selects the wrong recipient and, before they know it, a confidential product presentation has been revealed to the outside world. Or a USB stick (unprotected, of course) is lost somewhere on a business trip. Or, worse still, an employee discloses confidential information intentionally.

Fines and reputational damage

As these examples show, protecting confidential company data is both a complex and important matter. As the name suggests, data loss prevention (DLP) – also referred to as data leakage prevention – describes all measures intended to prevent unwanted loss, leakage or exfiltration of company information. Compliance requirements imposed by data protection legislation and regulations play an important role here, as breaches can lead to heavy fines. But the company’s reputation is equally important, since it helps to generate trust among customers. ‘Customers rightly expect companies to treat the data entrusted to them in a confidential manner,’ says Raffael Peluso, who is responsible for security solutions at Swisscom. A data breach can thus also result in the business losing customers.

 

At the same time, data is becoming increasingly important for companies as a result of digitalisation. Intellectual property stored digitally must be kept hidden from outsiders, as must a product roadmap that could give a rival a competitive advantage. Again, DLP measures are required.

Data loss prevention as a combination of measures

The example described above, with the wrong email recipient, shows that DLP must include a combination of technical measures, processes and employee awareness. Although in this case, it may have been technically possible to prevent dispatch of the product presentation, an employee trained in handling confidential data wouldn’t have even considered sharing the file by email. The study ‘Cost of a data breach’ shows the importance of raising awareness alongside technical measures: about a quarter of all data theft carried out in the US in 2018 is said to have been made possible by human error. When employees apply this knowledge in their daily work, the error rate is minimised. In other words: awareness equals protection.

 

There are various ways to train employees, some easier than others. ‘I have found e-learning, such as in the form of instructional videos with test questions at the end, to be a good method,’ says Peluso. ‘The training should be accompanied by other information campaigns; for example, on the intranet.’

 

Preventive awareness activities such as these help to generate an understanding of how to handle confidential data – and also of the necessary guidelines, processes and technical protective measures. But it is not possible to guarantee complete security. If an employee has criminal tendencies, they will find a way to get around the protective measures, believes Peluso: ‘Like any security measure, data loss prevention is a trade-off between effort and risk.’ He believes that the success of data loss prevention depends on how it is implemented: ‘The measures must not interfere with day-to-day operations. Otherwise, employees will be reluctant to accept DLP and will find creative ways to bypass it.’

Newsletter

Would you like to regularly receive interesting articles and whitepapers on current ICT topics?


More on the topic

Mesures de Data Loss Prevention

Protection des données commerciales

Comment les entreprises évitent les fuites de données inopportunes

La Data Loss Prevention n’est pas seulement une affaire de technique. Elle nécessite aussi l’implication du personnel. Ces approches peuvent être fructueuses.

Texte: Andreas Heer, 18 Juin 2019

C’est si vite arrivé: pressé, on choisit un mauvais destinataire pour un e-mail et le document de présentation confidentiel est divulgué. Ou alors, une clé USB (qui n’était bien entendu pas protégée) est perdue pendant un déplacement professionnel. Sans parler de tous les cas où des collaborateurs transmettent sciemment des informations confidentielles.

Des amendes et une réputation ternie comme conséquences

Comme le montrent ces deux exemples, la protection des données confidentielles de l’entreprise est une tâche tout aussi importante que complexe. Le terme Data Loss Prevention (DLP) ou Data Leakage Prevention désigne toutes les mesures qui doivent empêcher les fuites d’informations inopportunes. Les exigences de conformité par rapport à la réglementation et à la législation sur la protection des données jouent ici un rôle prépondérant. En effet, en cas de violation de ces règles, les amendes peuvent être lourdes. Cependant, la réputation, en tant que base de la confiance des clients, est tout aussi importante. «A juste titre, les clients attendent des entreprises qu’elles gèrent les données qui leur sont confiées avec fiabilité», déclare Raffael Peluso, responsable des solutions de sécurité chez Swisscom. C’est pourquoi une fuite de données peut avoir une fuite de clients comme conséquence.

 

En même temps, dans le sillage de la numérisation, l’importance des données augmente pour l’entreprise. La propriété intellectuelle enregistrée sous forme numérique doit rester cachée aux yeux des tiers, tout comme une feuille de route pour les produits qui apporterait un avantage concurrentiel à un rival. Ici aussi, il est nécessaire de prendre des mesures de DLP.

La Data Loss Prevention comme combinaison de mesures

L’exemple initial de l’erreur dans le destinataire d’un e-mail montre que la DLP doit être constituée d’une combinaison de mesures techniques, de processus et d’actions de sensibilisation des collaborateurs. Peut-être que dans ce cas, il aurait été possible d’empêcher techniquement l’envoi du document de présentation des produits. Toutefois, un collaborateur ayant reçu une formation sur la manipulation des données confidentielles n’aurait jamais eu l’idée de transmettre ce document par e-mail. L’étude «Cost of a Data Breach» montre que la sensibilisation est nécessaire en complément des mesures techniques: en 2018, près du quart des vols de données aux Etats-Unis ont eu lieu du fait d’une erreur humaine. Lorsque les collaborateurs mettent en pratique ces connaissances dans leur quotidien, le taux d’erreur est limité. En d’autres termes: la sensibilisation offre une protection.

 

Il existe des approches plus ou moins complexes pour la formation du personnel. «J’ai fait l’expérience que l’e-learning est particulièrement bien approprié, par exemple sous la forme de vidéos éducatives clôturées par un test», explique Raffael Peluso. «La formation devrait être accompagnée par d’autres campagnes d’information, par exemple sur l’Intranet.»

 

De telles activités de sensibilisation préventives contribuent à une meilleure compréhension de la manière de traiter les données confidentielles; et aussi des directives, des processus et des mesures de protection technique nécessaires. Cependant, il n’est pas possible d’atteindre une sécurité absolue. Raffael Peluso est convaincu que si un collaborateur possède un niveau d’énergie criminelle suffisamment élevé, il trouvera des moyens de contourner les mesures de protection: «Comme toutes les mesures de sécurité, la Data Loss Prevention consiste à trouver un équilibre entre efforts et risque résiduel.» Il voit la clé de la réussite de la prévention des fuites de données dans la façon de la mettre en œuvre: «Les mesures ne doivent pas entraver les activités commerciales. Sinon, elles ne sont pas acceptées et les collaborateurs trouveront des moyens créatifs de contourner la DLP.»

Newsletter

Vous souhaitez recevoir régulièrement des articles et Whitepapers passionnants sur des activités TIC actuelles?


En savoir plus sur ce thème