Login Partner Network status Newsletter Contact
Login Partner Network status Newsletter Contact

Threat Hunting

Active incident detection

On the hunt for hidden attackers

Why wait until attackers slip up and gives themselves away? Threat hunting is a method for early detection of security incidents. Security specialists actively trawl their own infrastructures on the hunt for traces of an attack – to prevent something an even worse outcome.

Text: Andreas Heer, Image: Plainpicture,

In June of this year, a number of media outlets reported that a large-scale cyber attack had targeted a European telecommunications service provider. “Naturally our ears pricked up,” says Andreas Hunkeler, a security specialist on the Computer Security Incident Response Team (CSIRT) at Swisscom. “And we asked ourselves if our infrastructure could be attacked in this way.”

 

This sort of public information can be a catalyst for threat hunting – the search for undetected attackers on your own network. “We use different sources as catalysts for threat hunting,” adds Andreas Hunkeler. “In addition to public information, this also includes information shared with us by groups we trust, specialist sources such as the MITRE ATT&CK Framework or talking with colleagues from other CSIRTs.” The lone hunter in cyberspace is, at most, a plot line in a movie. Cybersecurity is all about teamwork, and the same is true of threat hunting. At the end of the day, sharing information about the results with one another helps every company to better protect itself against attacks.

Threat hunting: the search for the unknown

Following the aforementioned attack on the telecommunications company, a safety specialist at Swisscom took on the role of hunter and scanned the company’s own internal infrastructure for traces of an attack. Threat hunting is a method for detecting security incidents. It involves searching for attack patterns that go undetected by automated systems because the pattern is either too complex or too subtle. Andreas Hunkeler explains: “If a user logs in to a system at an unusual time or from an unusual location, is that a cyber attack or a legitimate occurrence? If attackers abuse standard software, how does this differ from legitimate use?” Simple questions that are difficult to answer and, in the case of legitimate use, could result in false positives when detected by automatic systems.

 

These types of questions are the first step in threat hunting. “First we establish a hypothesis in terms of the kinds of patterns we want to look for,” says Andreas Hunkeler. “This fingerprinting is a complicated process in which we need to compile information from a number of different systems.” This means an innocent system command here, an attempt to log in to a server there – threat hunters need to be able to identify footprints and use them to derive patterns. It’s a task that Andreas Hunkeler enjoys. “It is a creative and extremely exciting aspect of my job. I have lots of room to experiment with various approaches to detecting these patterns.”

 

Sometimes the pattern is still unknown because the type of attack is new and has not yet been sufficiently documented. “Then we check the infrastructure for anomalies,” explains Andreas Hunkeler. “After all, we know what it looks like under normal circumstances.” This also allows them to discover unknown attacks. And sometimes the threat hunters just need a bit of luck – much like real hunters in the forest.

Increasing the degree of maturity of IT security systems

Once the cyber hunters have detected an attack, they have two tasks: On the one hand, they need to analyse the TTPs (techniques, tactics and procedures), while on the other, they need to fight off the attacker. This is the job of the Incident Handling team. “The objective of threat hunting is to make the results available later on for the automated systems,” says Andreas Hunkeler. Then, in the future, a similar attack will be detected and, ideally, stopped in its tracks by the security infrastructure. This helps Swisscom increase the degree of maturity of its own IT security.

 

And, if the threat hunters fail to find anything, the hunt is nevertheless a worthwhile endeavour, as Andreas Hunkeler emphasises: “It gives us a high level of certainty that we have avoided a certain attack pattern.” Threat hunting therefore lets you “take the temperature” of your own infrastructure.

 

And, according to Andreas Hunkeler, sometimes the cyber hunters come across surprising finds. “Once when we were threat hunting we came across a simulated attack that was being carried out by our own Red Team – we had no idea they were doing it.”

Newsletter

Would you like to regularly receive interesting articles and whitepapers on current ICT topics?


More on the topic:

Newsletter Partenaire Login Etat du réseau Contact
Newsletter Partenaire Login Etat du réseau Contact

Threat Hunting

Détection active d’incidents

La chasse aux assaillants cachés

Pourquoi attendre qu’un assaillant se révèle au grand jour? Le threat hunting est une méthode visant à détecter les incidents de sécurité le plus tôt possible. Les experts en sécurité inspectent l’infrastructure de leur entreprise, afin de repérer des traces d’attaque et d’éviter ainsi le pire.

Texte: Andreas Heer, Image: Plainpicture,

Au mois de juin de cette année, plusieurs médias ont fait état d’une cyberattaque de grande envergure contre un opérateur de télécommunications européen. Andreas Hunkeler, qui travaille en tant qu’expert en sécurité dans l’équipe CSIRT (Computer Security Incident Response Team) de Swisscom, déclare: «Cela nous a naturellement mis en alerte. Nous nous sommes demandé si une attaque de ce genre pouvait réussir sur notre infrastructure.»

 

Une information publique de ce type peut être le point de départ du threat hunting, soit la recherche d’attaquants non identifiés sur le réseau interne. A ce sujet, Andreas Hunkeler observe: «Nous prenons en compte différentes sources de déclenchement du threat hunting. Outre les avertissements publics, nous considérons aussi les informations que partagent avec nous certains groupes de confiance, des sources spécialisées comme le framework MITRE ATT&CK, ainsi que nos échanges avec des collègues d’autres équipes CSIRT.» Le chasseur solitaire dans le cyberespace n’existe guère que dans les films. La cybersécurité est un travail d’équipe et il en va de même pour le threat hunting. In fine, l’échange mutuel de connaissances permet à toutes les entreprises de mieux se préserver des attaques.

Threat hunting: traquer l’inconnu

Après l’attaque à l’encontre de l’opérateur de télécommunications, un spécialiste de la sécurité de Swisscom a donc endossé le rôle du chasseur et inspecté l’infrastructure de l’entreprise à la recherche d’éventuels signes d’attaque. Le threat hunting est une méthode de détection des incidents de sécurité. Il s’agit de rechercher des modèles d’attaque qui passent inaperçus des systèmes automatisés car trop complexes ou trop discrets. Andreas Hunkeler détaille: «Lorsqu’un utilisateur se connecte à un système à une heure inhabituelle ou depuis un lieu inhabituel, est-ce une cyberattaque ou une opération légitime? Lorsque les assaillants utilisent un logiciel standard dans un but malveillant, quelle est la différence par rapport à l’utilisation légitime?» Ces questions ont beau être simples, elles sont difficiles à trancher et peuvent donner lieu à de fausses alertes ou «faux positifs» si les systèmes automatisés confondent utilisation malveillante et légitime.

 

Ce sont ces questions qui constituent le point de départ du threat hunting. Andreas Hunkeler décrit le mode opératoire: «En hypothèse, nous commençons par définir les modèles que nous voulons rechercher exactement. Ce processus de relevé d’empreintes est particulièrement fastidieux et nécessite de recueillir des informations en provenance de différents systèmes.» Ainsi, les threat hunters ou chasseurs de menaces doivent lire toutes sortes de traces – ici une commande système inoffensive en soi, là une tentative de connexion à un serveur – et savoir en déduire des modèles. Andreas Hunkeler apprécie cette tâche: «Il s’agit d’une partie créative et vraiment passionnante de mon travail. Elle suppose en effet d’expérimenter librement différentes approches de détection.»

 

Parfois, le modèle est encore inconnu parce que l’attaque est d’un genre nouveau, qui n’est pas encore suffisamment documenté. Andreas Hunkeler explique: «Dans ce cas, nous examinons l’infrastructure à la recherche d’anomalies par rapport à la situation normale qui, elle, nous est parfaitement connue.» De cette façon, même les attaques inconnues sont décelables. Les chasseurs de menaces ont parfois aussi besoin d’un peu de chance, tout comme les chasseurs de gibier dans la nature.

Augmenter le niveau de maturité de la sécurité informatique

Après la détection d’une attaque par les cyberchasseurs, deux tâches sont à effectuer: d’une part, il importe d’analyser les TTP (techniques, tactiques et procédures). D’autre part, il s’agit de se débarrasser de l’assaillant. Cette tâche incombe à l’équipe de gestion des incidents. Andreas Hunkeler ajoute: «L’objectif du threat hunting est d’alimenter ensuite les systèmes automatisés avec les connaissances acquises.» En cas d’attaque ultérieure semblable, l’infrastructure de sécurité sera alors capable de déceler l’intrusion et idéalement de la bloquer. Swisscom fait ainsi progresser le niveau de maturité de sa propre sécurité informatique.

 

Si les chasseurs de menaces ne trouvent rien, l’opération aura tout de même été utile, comme le souligne Andreas Hunkeler: «Nous avons dans ce cas l’entière certitude d’avoir été épargnés par un modèle d’attaque particulier.» En définitive, le threat hunting fait office de baromètre de santé du réseau de l’entreprise.

 

Il arrive aussi que les cyberchasseurs fassent de surprenantes découvertes, raconte Andreas Hunkeler: «Le threat hunting nous a permis une fois de repérer une simulation d’attaque de notre propre Red Team, dont nous n’étions pas informés.»

Newsletter

Vous souhaitez recevoir régulièrement des articles et Whitepapers passionnants sur des activités TIC actuelles?


En savoir plus: