Data protection and data security

Attack is the best defence

Data protection and data security are becoming increasingly important in the course of digitalisation. Nathanael Dänzer, Data Governance Manager at Swisscom Health, explains the difference between data protection and data security and why Swisscom Health hacks its own systems.

Text: Swisscom, Image: Swisscom, October 26, 2021

Everybody is talking about data protection and data security. But what’s the difference between them?

Nathanael Dänzer: The two terms are not entirely distinct; they are intertwined. But roughly speaking, data security relates to infrastructure. Are our entrances secure so that only authorised people have access to our offices and other premises? Are our data centres in a secure environment? Are our IT systems protected by a firewall? It involves protecting data from unauthorised access and loss. Data protection is about how data is handled. In other words, the conditions under which personal data may be collected, processed and used.

 

 

Does the human factor play a big role in data protection?

Yes. Everyone who has to deal with sensitive or secret data has to know how it may be handled.

 

 

It feels like we’re hearing more and more about successful hacker attacks. Take Comparis, for example. There have been cases in the healthcare sector as well, such as Pallas Kliniken recently. How well are our products protected against such attacks?

We cannot stop attacks on our products, but we can prevent hackers from succeeding. Our products are very secure. We put a lot of effort into ensuring that this is the case. The Comparis situation involved a ransomware attack. Such attacks usually exploit security loopholes in systems or result from careless employees opening harmful e-mail attachments, for example.

 

 

What specifically are we doing about this?

From a data protection point of view, Swisscom regularly trains its employees on this topic. We treat the data entrusted to us with the utmost care and in accordance with statutory requirements. “Privacy by design” is another important aspect.

What exactly does “privacy by design” mean?

It means that data protection principles are already adequately considered during product development and that numerous organisational and technical measures are taken to ensure data protection and data security.

 


«We cannot stop attacks on our products, but we can prevent hackers from succeeding. Our products are very secure. We put a lot of effort into ensuring that this is the case.»

Nathanael Dänzer, Data Protection Officer


And what are we doing from a data security perspective?

For example, Swisscom’s data is encrypted so that third parties cannot view it. In addition, together with numerous specialists, we monitor the global IT security situation as well as the IT risks for the healthcare sector. Security tests are an additional and efficient means of protecting against cyber attacks and verifying safety measures.

 

 

What kind of security tests are these?

These regular security tests are intentional attacks on our own infrastructure before cybercriminals strike. These attacks are not just carried out by our own security experts – we also work together with several external specialists in order to expand the available know-how and thus the variety of attack forms for such penetration tests.

 

 

Are security breaches such a regular occurrence for Swisscom Health?

Not a regular occurrence, but of course they have happened.

 

 

What do you do when you discover such a security breach?

We improve our products, take additional safety measures and thus eliminate these security issues. But Swisscom Health alone cannot guarantee data protection and data security. Although we do bear a great deal of responsibility as provider, the users of our software – our customers – also have to do their share of the work. Our contracts with our customers therefore contain clear obligations for both parties with regard to data protection and data security.

 

 

What do our customers have to do?

For example, they need to keep their operating system up to date and use strong passwords as well as multi-factor authentication.

 

 

The revised Swiss Data Protection Act will come into force in the second half of 2022. What will this change for us and our customers in the area of data protection?

Since our customers work with particularly sensitive data, and therefore we do too, we have always given the highest priority to data protection. As a result, we already fulfil many of the requirements of the revised Swiss Data Protection Act at this point in time. As already mentioned above, “privacy by design” is one such aspect. Until the revised Swiss Data Protection Act comes into force, we will still regulate commissioned data processing with our customers and support them in providing data subjects with data concerning them in a commonly used electronic format. We will comply with all requirements until the law comes into force and will also contact our customers in this regard.

 




Contact

Do you have questions about data protection, data security or the revised Swiss Data Protection Act? Then e-mail us at Datenschutz.Health@swisscom.com.

 

Would you like general information on how we deal with the data entrusted to us? You can find this in our Privacy Policy on our website.




Other readers were also interested …

Datenschutz und Datensicherheit

Angriff ist die beste Verteidigung

Datenschutz und Datensicherheit kommen im Zuge der Digitalisierung eine wachsende Bedeutung zu. Nathanael Dänzer ist zuständig für das Thema Datenschutz bei Swisscom Health und erklärt, was der Unterschied zwischen Datenschutz und Datensicherheit ist und warum Swisscom Health ihre eigenen Systeme hacken lässt.

Text: Swisscom, Bild: Swisscom, 26. Oktober 2021

Datenschutz und Datensicherheit sind in aller Munde. Doch was ist der Unterschied?

Nathanael Dänzer: Ganz trennscharf sind die beiden Begriffe nicht, sie greifen ineinander. Aber grob kann man sagen, Datensicherheit bezieht sich auf die Infrastruktur. Also sind unsere Eingänge sicher, so dass nur befugte Personen Zugang zu den Büros und anderen Räumlichkeiten haben? Sind die Rechenzentren in einer sicheren Umgebung? Sind die IT-Systeme durch eine Firewall geschützt? Es geht darum, die Daten vor unbefugtem Zugriff und Verlust zu schützen. Beim Datenschutz geht es um den Umgang mit den Daten. Sprich unter welchen Voraussetzungen dürfen personenbezogene Daten erhoben, verarbeitet und genutzt werden?

Der Faktor Mensch spielt beim Datenschutz eine grosse Rolle?

Ja. Alle Personen, die mit sensiblen oder auch geheimnisgebundenen Daten zu tun haben, müssen wissen, wie damit umgegangen werden darf.

Gefühlt hört man immer öfter von erfolgreichen Hacker-Angriffen. Ein Beispiel ist Comparis. Auch von Gesundheitseinrichtungen sind solche Fälle bekannt, wie jüngst bei den Pallas Kliniken. Wie sicher sind unsere Produkte vor solchen Angriffen?

Vor dem Angriff kann man die Produkte nicht schützen, aber wir können den Erfolg der Hacker verhindern. Unsere Produkte sind sehr sicher. Wir tun auch einiges dafür. Bei Comparis handelte es sich um einen Ransomware-Angriff. Solche Angriffe werden meist über Sicherheitslücken in den Systemen gestartet oder über unvorsichtige Mitarbeitende, die beispielsweise schädliche Mailanhänge öffnen.

Was tun wir konkret dagegen?

Aus Sicht Datenschutz ist es so, dass bei Swisscom die Mitarbeitenden regelmässig auf diesem Thema geschult werden. Wir behandeln die uns anvertrauten Daten mit grösster Sorgfalt und im Einklang mit den gesetzlichen Vorgaben. Ein zentraler Punkt ist auch «Privacy by Design».

Was bedeutet «Privacy by Design» genau?

Das bedeutet, dass die Datenschutzgrundsätze bereits bei der Entwicklung der Produkte angemessen berücksichtig werden und zahlreiche organisatorische und technische Massnahmen getroffen werden, um den Datenschutz und die Datensicherheit zu gewährleisten.


«Vor dem Angriff kann man die Produkte nicht schützen, aber wir können den Erfolg der Hacker verhindern. Unsere Produkte sind sehr sicher. Wir tun auch einiges dafür.»

Nathanael Dänzer, Datenschutzbeauftragter


Und was tun wir aus Sicht Datensicherheit?

Aus Sicht Datensicherheit werden zum Beispiel die Daten von Swisscom verschlüsselt, so dass Dritte keine Einsicht in sie haben. Zudem beobachten wir zusammen mit zahlreichen Spezialisten die globale IT-Sicherheitssituation sowie die IT-Risiken für das Gesundheitswesen. Ein zusätzliches und effizientes Mittel zum Schutz vor Cyberangriffen beziehungsweise zur Überprüfung der Schutzmassnahmen sind Sicherheitstests.

 

Trifft Swisscom Health so regelmässig auf Sicherheitslecks?

Nicht regelmässig. Aber selbstverständlich kam das schon vor.

Was macht ihr, wenn ihr ein solches Sicherheitsleck entdeckt habt?

Wir verbessern die Produkte, treffen zusätzliche Sicherheitsmassnahmen und schliessen so die Lecks. Aber Swisscom Health allein kann den Datenschutz und die Datensicherheit nicht gewährleisten. Wir tragen als Provider zwar eine grosse Verantwortung, aber auch der Anwender unserer Software, also unsere Kunden, müssen ihren Teil der Aufgaben machen. In den Verträgen mit unseren Kunden sind daher klare Pflichten für beide Parteien hinsichtlich Datenschutz und Datensicherheit geregelt.

 

Was müssen unsere Kunden tun?

Sie müssen beispielsweise ihr Betriebssystem aktuell halten, sichere Passwörter verwenden und eine Mehr-Faktor-Authentifizierung nutzen.

 

Stichwort revidiertes Datenschutzgesetz: In der zweiten Hälfte des Jahres 2022 tritt es in Kraft. Was ändert sich dadurch für uns und unsere Kunden im Bereich Datenschutz?

Da unsere Kunden und damit auch wir mit besonders sensiblen Daten arbeiten, haben wir dem Datenschutz schon immer höchste Priorität geschenkt. Deshalb erfüllen wir bereits zum jetzigen Zeitpunkt viele Anforderungen des revidierten Datenschutzgesetzes. Wie bereits oben erwähnt ist «Privacy by Design» ein solcher Punkt. Bis zum Inkrafttreten des revidierten Datenschutzgesetzes werden wir mit unseren Kunden noch die Auftragsdatenbearbeitung regeln und sie dabei unterstützen, den betroffenen Personen Daten über ihre Person in einem gängigen elektronischen Format herauszugeben. Wir erfüllen bis Inkrafttreten des Gesetzes alle Anforderungen und werden diesbezüglich auch in Kontakt mit unseren Kunden treten.

 

 




Kontakt

Haben Sie Fragen zu Datenschutz und Datensicherheit sowie zum revidierten Datenschutzgesetz? Dann schreiben Sie uns ein E-Mail an Datenschutz.Health@swisscom.com.

 

Sie wollen allgemeine Informationen, wie wir mit Daten umgehen, die uns anvertraut wurden? Dann finden Sie diese in unserer Datenschutzinformation auf unserer Website.




Andere Leser interessierte auch ...