OTC Swiss Blockchain

Digital business models

Full steam ahead for OTC trading thanks to blockchain


Thanks to blockchain technology, the existing complicated and error-prone securities trading outside of the stock exchange is to become simpler and quicker. Swisscom is playing an important role in this development.


Texts: Urs Binder,




Trading in non-listed securities (OTC trading) outside of the stock exchange is difficult, fraught with risks and takes time. Now, all that is set to change: The “OTC Swiss Blockchain” consortium, founded in autumn 2016, is developing a standard for electronic OTC trading based largely on blockchain technology, under the auspices of the Institute for Financial Services (IFZ) at Lucerne University of Applied Sciences.


“Swisscom SCM contributed a significant part of the concept and programming work,” remarks Matthias Niklowitz, analyst at digital banking think tank eForesight. “One sticking point was the ability to guarantee the anonymity of transactions. The blockchain is actually transparent, but the identity of customers within securities trading ought only to be known to a small group of authorised parties.”


Technology for confidentiality and compliance

Therefore, there was no way that a public blockchain could be used. Instead, the consortium is working with a private version of the Ethereum blockchain. The blockchain, however, is only part of the solution. The entire flow of transactions with all documents is stored in an encrypted manner in a distributed database based on the IPFS protocol (InterPlanetary File System). To this end, a special encryption middleware was developed.

For regulatory compliant trading, there must also be a guarantee that the transactions cannot be manipulated. This is exactly where the blockchain comes in: For every encrypted IPFS file, a hash value is retained, immutable, in the blockchain, together with an attribute that specifies the status of the transaction, from “open” to “registered”. The private nature of the blockchain, together with the encryption module, guarantees that the customer’s identity remains confidential.


Project well on the way

The aim of the research project is to create an open system standard for Switzerland as a financial centre. The standard should simplify and accelerate OTC trading with Swiss shares by means of automatic transaction matching, while also satisfying regulatory requirements (MiFID II, FinfraG / EMIR). The consortium is already imagining something like real-time trading: “Clear and settle trades in less than a minute”, the consortium announces on its website. A process that takes considerably longer today.

 

According to Matthias Niklowitz, the technical foundations have already been laid. He says that the solution is now being tested and improved in practice, step by step – something that is made easier by the fact that no existing systems need to be replaced. Swisscom generally attaches great importance to blockchain technology, as Niklowitz emphasises: “Swisscom considers blockchain technology to be extremely promising; its potential is huge. We use projects like these to gather experience in order to be able to play a leading role later.”






Blockchain research supported by the federal government


The “OTC Swiss Blockchain” consortium not only involves Swisscom, but also Zurich Cantonal Bank, banking service providers SIX Group, Inventx and Incore Bank and ti&m. Research and development is being done as part of a research project funded by the Swiss federal government’s Commission for Technology and Innovation (CTI). At the beginning of 2017, the consortium was able to announce that it had made a real breakthrough in solving the anonymity problem.




More on the topic

OTC Swiss Blockchain

Digitale Geschäftsmodelle

Blockchain macht dem OTC-Handel Dampf


Dank Blockchain-Technik soll der komplizierte, fehleranfällige ausserbörsliche Wertpapierhandel einfacher und schneller über die Bühne gehen. Swisscom spielt bei der Entwicklung eine wichtige Rolle.


Text: Urs Binder,




Der ausserbörsliche Handel mit nicht kotierten Wertpapieren (Over the Counter oder kurz OTC-Handel) ist aufwändig, mit Risiken verbunden und nimmt Zeit in Anspruch. Das soll sich ändern: Das «OTC Swiss Blockchain»-Konsortium, gegründet im Herbst 2016, entwickelt unter der Führung des Instituts für Finanzdienstleistungen der Hochschule Luzern (IFZ) einen Standard für den elektronischen OTC-Handel, der stark auf Blockchain-Technologie setzt.


«Swisscom hat einen wesentlichen Teil der Konzept- und Programmierarbeit geleistet», hält Matthias Niklowitz, Analyst beim Digital Banking Think Tank eForesight, fest. «Ein Knackpunkt war die Gewährleistung der Anonymität bei den Transaktionen. Die Blockchain ist ja eigentlich transparent, aber die Identität der Kunden soll im Wertpapierhandel nur einem sehr kleinen Kreis von Berechtigten offenstehen.»


Technik für Vertraulichkeit und Compliance

Es kam deshalb nicht infrage, eine öffentliche Blockchain zu nutzen. Stattdessen arbeitet das Konsortium mit einer privaten Variante der Ethereum-Blockchain. Die Blockchain ist aber nur ein Teil der Lösung: Der gesamte Transaktionsfluss mit allen Dokumenten wird verschlüsselt in einer verteilten Datenbank auf Grundlage des IPFS-Protokolls (InterPlanetary File System) gespeichert. Dazu wurde eine spezielle Verschlüsselungs-Middleware entwickelt.


Für den regulatorisch korrekten Handel muss darüber hinaus gewährleistet sein, dass die Transaktionen nicht manipuliert werden können. Genau dafür ist die Blockchain zuständig: Für jede verschlüsselte IPFS-Datei wird ein Hashwert unveränderbar in der Blockchain festgehalten, zusammen mit einem Attribut, das den Status der Transaktion angibt, von «offen» bis «registriert». Der private Charakter der Blockchain garantiert zusammen mit dem Verschlüsselungsmodul die Vertraulichkeit der Kundenidentität.


Projekt gut auf dem Weg

Das Ziel des Forschungsprojekts ist ein offener Systemstandard für den Schweizer Finanzplatz, der den OTC-Handel mit Schweizer Aktien durch automatischen Transaktionsabgleich vereinfacht und beschleunigt und gleichzeitig den regulatorischen Anforderungen genügt (MiFID II, FinfraG / EMIR). Die Vorstellung geht in Richtung Echtzeithandel: «Clear and settle trades in less than a minute», verkündet das Konsortium auf seiner Website. Ein Prozess, der heute bedeutend länger dauert.


Die technischen Grundlagen stehen laut Matthias Niklowitz. Die Lösung werde nun schrittweise in der Praxis erprobt und verbessert – das sei deshalb gut möglich, weil keine bisherigen Systeme abgelöst werden müssten. Swisscom misst der Blockchain-Technologie generell eine hohe Bedeutung zu, wie Niklowitz betont: «Swisscom sieht die Blockchain-Technologie als ausserordentlich vielversprechend an, das Potenzial ist sehr gross. Mit solchen Projekten bauen wir Erfahrung auf, um künftig eine führende Rolle spielen zu können.»

Handlungs-
empfehlungen für Banken

Was bedeutet die Blockchain-Technologie für die Branche? Im vorliegenden Dokument sind Konsequenzen und Handlungsempfehlungen für Banken zusammengefasst.

Jetzt downloaden






Blockchain-Forschung mit Bundesunterstützung


Im «OTC Swiss Blockchain»-Konsortium sind neben Swisscom mit im Boot die Zürcher Kantonalbank, die Banking-Dienstleister SIX Group, Inventx und Incore Bank und ti&m. Die Forschung und Entwicklung erfolgt im Rahmen eines Forschungsprojekts, das von der Kommission für Technologie und Innovation des Bundes (KTI) gefördert wird. Mit der Lösung des Anonymitätsproblems konnte das Konsortium Anfang 2017 einen eigentlichen Durchbruch vermelden.




Mehr zum Thema