Banking Trends

These are the digitalisation trends impacting Swiss banking in 2022

«The rapid digitalisation of the economy and society is presenting banks with a variety of challenges: Alongside defending their core areas including interest rate differential business, they must also develop user-friendly solutions for new topics relating to payment, special types of credit and sustainable and/or digital investments.»

Text: Marco Zollinger, Bilder: Swisscom, Unsplash,

Delivery services, cashless businesses, boom in e-commerce, medical information via app and business meetings via zoom – the Covid-19 pandemic has significantly accelerated the pace of digitalisation across many areas of the economy and society. Conversely, in the broader financial services sector the impact is most visible in mobile payment processes: Twint continues to gain new customers. Conversely, a look at other areas of digital banking shows an inconsistent and, in part, surprising development:

Neobanks: the framework conditions are actually very favourable for these banks, particularly as direct in-person contact has been largely restricted at certain times throughout the past two years. However, the anticipated boom has yet to materialise and even large banks are taking the time to overhaul their mobile services. There are a number of reasons for the tentative growth in neobanking: so far neobanking has simply comprised a collection of conventional services made mobile; integration into digital ecosystems has been insufficient. The breadth and depth of features fall short of those offered by existing e-banking. The price structures alone are enough to deter people from switching. And a very important function, payments, has been outsourced to the joint venture Twint. Consequently, very few users have switched their primary banking relationship to a neobank.

 

For ambitious financial service providers, this is the ideal environment for launching their own mobile bank, even if they are not the first to do so. We expect some more developments on this front over the next two years.

Cryptofinance: something which three, four years ago many banks had categorically ruled out is threatening to enter the world of Swiss banking via an unexpected route. It isn't the many retail customers with initial experience of using Bitcoin, etc. via digital wallets who have set the industry in motion, it is the wealthy private banking clients. Private banks, who were active early on in this area, have reported high margins and are likewise enjoying a considerable influx of new customer assets – and with that they have forced the hand of all the other players in this sector. In the meantime, distinct trends have begun to appear: following on from the success of the first cryptocurrencies, such as Bitcoin and Ether, in 2021 we saw the breakthrough of non-fungible tokens (NFTs), through which art and many other media have been digitalised and turned into commodities. This topic is also relevant to private banking.

 

Parallel to this, blockchain technology – the foundation of cryptocurrencies – has become increasingly important. Central banks are preparing for the introduction of monetary systems based on blockchain and, in certain areas, are set to replace paper money in the coming years. The most recent example of this is China, which has introduced the digital Yuan in connection with the upcoming Winter Olympics in Beijing and wants to establish this as a digital payment method at the games.

 

The development is so far along now that even a Bitcoin crash would not halt these new projects. The problem with cryptocurrencies from the perspective of traditional banking is on a different level: proponents are over-invested and sceptics under-invested. Both sides would benefit from a more balanced portfolio, which would offer them better diversification of risks and allow the full potential of cryptocurrencies to develop.

Marco Zollinger, Head e.foresight

Sustainability: over the past few years, the topic has become significantly more pressing. As an area with a comparatively low consumption of primary energy, the financial sector is the key to reorganising the economy in line with net zero goals by 2050. This transition will require a lot of money – money which will come largely from institutional and private investors.

 

The topic of sustainability is inextricably linked with innovation and digitalisation: this is because the broad definition of sustainability encompasses transparency in the use of invested funds, fees and in environmental performance. This transparency can only be efficiently achieved using digital means – this in turn makes sustainability a relevant factor in banking technology and digitalisation.

 

This shows that it is in no way sufficient for banks to provide a few sustainable funds and ETFs to customers who explicitly request them. "Green" loans for making buildings energy efficient, and converting conventional vehicle fleets to electric are examples of areas where banks can demonstrate and live up to their responsibility with regard to sustainability. As energy consumers they can also lead by example through the use of renewable sources to cover their energy needs.

BNPL: the abbreviation stands for "buy now, pay later" and upon closer inspection, is the digital reinvention of payment in instalments. At first glance, this special type of short-term loan is in competition with credit-card business.

 

To date, such loans have been a niche business in Switzerland. However, recent surveys show the proliferation of non-mortgage financing in Switzerland: according to a Moneyland survey from October 2021, 56% of respondents are happy to purchase home electronics, cars and furniture using credit.

 

BNPL poses a challenge to banks for various reasons: this innovation has been driven by the payment sector – the primary reason behind its usage is the user-friendly integration into the payment process. Banks are not only losing a potential source of attractive interest rate differentials here, but also the direct customer relationship, if Klarna and similar companies expand their positions here. BNPL is an important aspect of the digital ecosystem, which is challenging banks. This is the solution for banks that want to be part of BNPL: the complexity requires cross-sectoral cooperation. This is likewise the key to success for many issues surrounding digitalisation.


More on the topic:

Banking Trends

Diese Digitalisierungs-Trends werden 2022 das Schweizer Banking beschäftigen

«Die rasante Digitalisierung der Wirtschaft und der Gesellschaft fordert Banken auf unterschiedliche Weise heraus: Sie müssen nicht nur ihre Kernbereiche inklusive Zinsdifferenzgeschäft verteidigen, sondern auch für neue Themen im Payment, bei speziellen Kreditvarianten und bei nachhaltigen bzw. digitalen Geldanlagen nutzerfreundliche Lösungen entwickeln.»

Text: Marco Zollinger, Bilder: Swisscom, Unsplash,

Lieferdienste, kassenlose Geschäfte, Boom beim e-Commerce, medizinische Auskunft über App und geschäftliche Meetings über Zoom – in vielen Bereichen der Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft hat die Covid-19-Pandemie eine deutliche Beschleunigung der Digitalisierung bewirkt. Im breiteren Finanzdienstleistungsbereich dagegen waren die Auswirkungen vor allem bei mobilen Bezahlverfahren sichtbar: Twint gewinnt laufend neue Kundinnen und Kunden hinzu. Der Blick auf weitere Bereiche des digitalen Bankings zeigt hingegen eine uneinheitliche und teilweise überraschende Entwicklung:

Neobanken: Für diese sind die Rahmenbedingungen eigentlich sehr günstig, zumal direkte menschliche Kontakte in den vergangenen zwei Jahren teilweise stark eingeschränkt waren. Allerdings stellte sich hier der erhoffte Boom bisher nicht ein, und selbst grosse Banken lassen sich Zeit mit der Überarbeitung ihrer mobilen Services. Das zögerliche Wachstum im Neobanking hat eine Reihe von Gründen: Sie sind bisher lediglich eine unzureichend in digitale Ökosysteme eingebundene Sammlung von mobil gemachten konventionellen Diensten. Die Breite und Tiefe der Features reicht nicht an das bestehende e-Banking heran. Die Preisstrukturen alleine bilden kaum einen Anreiz zum Wechseln. Und eine sehr wichtige Funktion, das Bezahlen, haben Banken an das Gemeinschaftsprojekt Twint ausgelagert. Deshalb haben erst weniger User ihre Hauptbankenbeziehung auf eine Neobank umgestellt.

 

Für ambitiöse Finanzdienstleister bildet das ein ideales Umfeld für die Lancierung einer eigenen mobilen Bank, selbst wenn sie nicht die ersten sind. Wir erwarten hierzu in den kommenden zwei Jahren einige Neuigkeiten.

Crypto Finance: Was vor drei, vier Jahren viele Banken kategorisch ausgeschlossen hatten, drängt auf einem unerwarteten Weg in das schweizerische Banking: Es sind nicht die vielen Retailkunden, die über digitale Wallets bereits erste Erfahrungen mit Bitcoin & Co. gesammelt haben, welche die Branche in Bewegung gebracht haben, sondern die vermögenden Private-Banking-Klienten. Die Privatbanken, die hier früh aktiv wurden, berichteten von hohen Margen und ebenso hohen neu zufliessenden Kundengeldern – und sie brachten (und bringen) damit alle anderen unter Zugzwang. Inzwischen differenziert sich das Thema aus: Nach den ersten Kryptowährungen wie Bitcoin und Ether sah man 2021 den Durchbruch bei Non Fungible Token (NFTs), mit denen Kunst und vieles weitere Mögliche digitalisiert und handelbar gemacht wird. Auch das ist ein Privatbanken-Thema.

 

Parallel dazu wird die Blockchain-Technologie, die den Kryptowährungen zugrunde liegt, immer wichtiger. Zentralbanken bereiten die Einführung von Geldsystemen vor, die darauf basieren, und teilweise soll auch das Notengeld in den kommenden Jahren auf die neuen Systeme umgestellt werden. Jüngstes Beispiel dafür ist China, das im Hinblick auf die olympischen Spiele in Beijing den digitalen Yuan eingeführt hat und diesen an den Spielen als digitales Zahlungsmittel für alle verbreiten will.

 

Die Entwicklung ist hier soweit gediehen, dass selbst ein Crash des Bitcoins diese neuen Projekte nicht mehr aufhalten würde. Das Problem bei Kryptowährungen liegt aus Sicht des traditionellen Bankings auf einer anderen Ebene: Die Fans haben viel zu hohe Anteile davon in ihren Portfolios, die Skeptiker viel zu niedrige – und damit verfehlen beide die optimale Anteilshöhe, mit der die Diversifizierung von Risiken gut funktioniert und Kryptowährungen ihre Qualitäten voll entfalten können.

Marco Zollinger, Head e.foresight

Nachhaltigkeit: In den vergangenen Jahren hat das Thema eine rasante Beschleunigung erlebt. Der vergleichsweise wenig Primärenergie verschlingende Finanzsektor gilt als Schlüssel für die Umgestaltung der Wirtschaft in Richtung der Netto-Null-Ziele bis Mitte dieses Jahrhunderts. Denn dieser Umbau erfordert sehr viel Geld – und das soll ganz massgeblich von institutionellen und privaten Investoren kommen.

 

Das Thema Nachhaltigkeit ist von Innovationen und der Digitalisierung nicht zu trennen: Denn zur breiten Definition der Nachhaltigkeit zählen Transparenz bei der Verwendung der angelegten Gelder, bei den Gebühren und bei der Umweltbilanz. Diese Transparenz lässt sich effizient nur mit digitalen Mitteln herstellen – und das wiederum macht das Thema Nachhaltigkeit (auch) zum Banken-Technologie- und Digitalisierungsthema.

 

Damit zeigt sich, dass es für eine Bank bei Weitem nicht genügt, lediglich ein paar nachhaltige Fonds und ETFs für die Kundschaft bereit zu halten, die explizit danach fragt. «Grüne» Kredite für die Energiesanierung von Gebäuden und für die Umstellung von Autoflotten auf e-Fahrzeuge sind Beispiele, wo Banken in ihren Kerngeschäften ihre Verantwortung beim Thema Nachhaltigkeit zeigen und leben können. Und als Energieverbraucher könnten sie selbst mit gutem Beispiel vorangehen und den Energiebedarf mit erneuerbaren Quellen decken.

BNPL: Das Kürzel steht für «Buy-now-Pay-later» und ist bei näherer Betrachtung die Wiedererfindung der Ratenzahlung, diesmal in einer digitalen Form. Diese spezielle Form des Kurzzeitkredits konkurriert auf den ersten Blick mit dem Kreditkartengeschäft.

 

Bisher bilden solche Kredite in der Schweiz ein Nischengeschäft. Allerdings zeigen Umfragen, dass und wie stark verbreitet Kredite ausserhalb des Hypothekenbereichs in der Schweiz sind: Home-Elektronik, Autos und Möbel werden gemäss «Moneyland»-Umfrage vom Oktober 2021 von 56% der Konsumierenden gerne kreditfinanziert.

 

BNPL ist für Banken aus mehreren Gründen eine Herausforderung: Es wird aus dem Payment-Bereich heraus vorangetrieben und als Feature in Bezahlprozesse integriert. Der Grund für die Nutzung ist dabei vor allem auch die Anwenderfreundlichkeit bei der Integration im Zahlprozess. Banken verlieren hier nicht nur einen potenziell attraktiven Zinsdifferenzpool, sondern auch die direkte Kundenbeziehung, wenn Klarna & Co. hier ihre Positionen ausbauen. BNPL ist auch ein wichtiges digitales Ökosystem-Thema, bei dem Banken herausgefordert sind. Hier liegt denn auch die Lösung für Banken, die bei BNPL dabei sein möchten: Die Komplexität zwingt zu branchenübergreifenden Kooperationen. Und diese sind auch bei vielen weiteren Digitalisierungsthemen der Schlüssel zum Erfolg.

Hand with smartphone

Newsletter

Möchten Sie regelmässig spannende Artikel und Whitepaper zu aktuellen ICT-Themen erhalten?


Mehr zum Thema: