6 years Swisscom FinTech Start-up Map

FinTech Start-up Map

‘Swiss fintech start-ups are world class’

Johs Höhener has been publishing the Swisscom Fintech Start-up Map for the past six years. He is an expert on trends and developments in the fintech industry, which, in his view, will undergo a complete transformation in the next ten years.

Text: Tessa Meier, 9 august 2019

The Swiss banking industry will change more significantly in the next ten years than it has done in the past 100 years – accelerated by the emergence of disruptive business models in fintech start-ups. That’s the prediction of Johs Höhener, who published the first Swiss Fintech Start-up Map around six years ago.

 

His reason for creating the map? When the hype around the fintech industry first began, he felt there was a lack of transparency about how it was developing and who was active within it. The industry has evolved significantly since then and the newly categorised and digitised Swiss Fintech Start-up Map charts 334 start-ups this August. Here, expert Johs Höhener examines the most exciting features of the Swiss market.

The winners

‘I anticipate a massive increase in the number of fintech start-ups in the area of digital assets, based on new technologies like blockchain or distributed ledger.’

 

‘In the future, fintech start-ups will focus more on using artificial intelligence in combination with blockchain technology.’

The losers

‘In the payment sector, it will all be about the big players. It’s not easy to survive in the jungle of the finance industry. The number of fintech start-ups will certainly not increase in this area; a few might even disappear. The payment sector has just been hyped up too much.’

 

‘The monetisation of data from banks and insurance companies has grown more slowly than I anticipated a few years ago. On our map, we show 20 to 30 start-ups that are actually working on data insights. That is a very small number when you consider the quantity of data that is available in the finance industry.’

Stability of the players

‘If you measure the Swiss fintech market based purely on new arrivals and exits, then it is actually very static. It is astonishing that such a high number of start-ups have managed to survive in the past two years. This can be explained by the fact that seed financing – the initial round of financing for the first one or two years – works exceptionally well in Switzerland.’

Founders’ start-up capital

‘In Switzerland, many fintechs are founded by people who have worked in the finance industry. So they have earned accordingly and usually have a good financial nest egg. This equity allows them to sustain self-financing for a long time in the initial phase.’

Image gallery: The Swiss Fintech Start-up Map from 2013 to today

1/6 The first FinTech Start-up Map in 2013

2/6 November 2015

3/6 October 2016

4/6 February 2019

5/6 June 2019

6/6 The most recent Map – August 2019

1/6 The first FinTech Start-up Map in 2013

Growth of fintech start-ups

‘The Swiss fintech start-up scene is in good shape; along with Singapore, we are among the top players in this sector. This is also a true reflection of the finance industry.’

 

‘The problem in the Swiss market is supplementary funding and the size of the market. When it comes to raising capital to fund growth (series A/B) for things like international expansion, then things get considerably tougher. This is also the reason why there are still no unicorn companies – like the European fintechs N26, Revolut or Transferwise – on the Swiss Fintech Map.’

 

‘The fintech scene is slowly maturing, but is still heavily influenced by a large number of start-ups that focus on the Swiss market. The Swiss market is very small, production costs are high and unless there is a proactive international strategy, we are unlikely to see Swiss fintech unicorns.’

Relationship with banks

‘Five years ago, it was still the case that fintech start-ups were disrupting the banks. Now, everything is going to change. For the past three years, we have been in a phase of cooperation between start-ups and banks. In the future, it will probably return to being more about competition and disruption.’

 

‘The Swiss Fintech Map also shows that the banking industry will change more significantly in the next 10 years than it has in the past 100 years. This development will be driven by technology and customer requirements or changes in social values. The need for ownership is diminishing. In the future, who will still want a savings account so they can save up to own their first car?’

About the Swiss Fintech Start-up Map

The map’s design has been updated with the help of Norwegian start-up Fintechdb. Since June, it has been newly divided into four business areas (primary) and three technologies (secondary).

 

Who is shown on the map?

All Swiss fintech start-ups.

 

I am a fintech start-up and want to be included on the map. What do I do?

Send an email to Trend.Marketing@swisscom.com, preferably with a logo and short description.

 

What are the selection criteria?

Swisscom Fintech and the Institute of Financial Services Zug IFZ at the Lucerne University of Applied Sciences and Arts assess each start-up according to the following criteria: the start-up was founded less than 10 years ago, is located in Switzerland, focusses on business model innovations and new technologies in the finance sector and still hasn’t reached its targeted level of maturity.

 

How is the map kept up to date?

As soon as one of the aforementioned criteria changes (too old, no focus on fintech or no longer a start-up), the start-up is removed from the list.


“Cooperation with fintech companies is shaping the banking of tomorrow.”



Johannes Hoehener

Head of Fintech



Newsletter

Would you like to regularly receive interesting articles and whitepapers on current ICT topics?


More on the topic

Newsletter Partner Login Kontakt
Newsletter Partner Login Kontakt

6 Jahre Swisscom FinTech Start-up Map

FinTech Start-up Map

«Schweizer FinTech-Start-ups sind Weltklasse» 

Seit sechs Jahren gibt Johs Höhener die Swisscom FinTech Start-up Map heraus. Der FinTech-Experte über Trends und Entwicklungen der Branche, die sich nach seiner Einschätzung in den nächsten zehn Jahren komplett verändern wird.

Text: Tessa Meier, 9. August 2019

Die Schweizer Bankenindustrie wird sich in den kommenden zehn Jahren stärker verändern, als sie es in den vergangenen 100 Jahren getan hat – forciert durch das Aufkommen disruptiver Geschäftsmodelle von FinTech-Start-ups. Das prognostiziert Johs Höhener, der vor gut sechs Jahren die erste Swiss Fintech Start-up Map herausgegeben hat.

 

Der Grund für die Karte: Am Anfang des ersten Hypes der FinTech-Industrie hatte ihm die Transparenz gefehlt, wie sich die Industrie entwickelt und wer aktiv ist. Seither hat sich die Branche stark weiterentwickelt: 334 Startups verzeichnet die frisch kategorisierte und digitalisierte Swiss FinTech Start-up Map diesen August. Experte Johs Höhener über die spannendsten Eigenheiten des Schweizer Marktes.

Die Aufsteiger

«Ich erwarte eine extreme Zunahme von FinTech-Start-ups im Bereich Digitalisierung des Eigentums (Digital Assets), basierend auf den neuen Technologien wie Blockchain oder Distributed Ledger.»

 

«In Zukunft werden sich FinTech Start-ups mehr mit Artificial Intelligence in Kombination mit der Blockchain-Technologie befassen.»

Die Absteiger

«Im Payment-Bereich wird’s ein Spiel der Grossen werden. Es ist nicht einfach, im Dschungel der Finanzindustrie zu überleben. In diesem Bereich wird die Anzahl der FinTech-Start-ups sicher nicht steigen, ein paar werden noch verschwinden. Der Payment-Bereich wurde einfach zu fest gehypt.»

 

«Das Monetarisieren der Daten von Banken und Versicherungen ist langsamer gewachsen, als ich noch vor ein paar Jahren angenommen habe. Wir verzeichnen auf unserer Map 20 bis 30 Start-ups, die wirklich an Data Insights arbeiten. Das sind sehr wenige Firmen, wenn man die Menge der Daten bedenkt, die in der Finanzindustrie vorhanden sind.»

Beständigkeit der Player

«Wenn man den Schweizer FinTech-Markt rein an den Zu- und Abgängen misst, dann ist er recht statisch. Dass sich ein solch hoher Bestand an Start-ups in den vergangenen zwei Jahren halten konnte, ist schon erstaunlich. Das lässt sich damit erklären, dass die Seed-Finanzierung – die erste Finanzierungsrunde für eins bis zwei Jahre – in der Schweiz hervorragend funktioniert.»

Startkapital der Gründer

«In der Schweiz werden viele FinTechs von Personen gegründet, die in der Finanzbranche gearbeitet haben. Sie haben entsprechend verdient und meist ein gutes finanzielles Polster. Dank dieses Eigenkapitals können sie sich in der Startphase sehr lange selbst finanzieren.»

Bildergalerie: Die Swiss FinTech Start-up Map von 2013 bis heute

1/6 Die erste FinTech Start-up Map von 2013

2/6 November 2015

3/6 Oktober 2016

4/6 Februar 2019

5/6 Juni 2019

6/6 Die aktuellste Map – August 2019

1/6 Die erste FinTech Start-up Map von 2013

Wachstum der FinTech-Start-ups

«Die Schweizer FinTech-Start-up-Szene steht sehr gut da: Wir gehören zusammen mit Singapur zu den Top Playern in diesem Sektor. Das widerspiegelt auch genau die Finanzindustrie.»

 

«Das Problem liegt im Schweizer Markt bei der Nachfinanzierung und der Grösse des Marktes. Wenn es darum geht, Kapital für das Wachstum (Series A/B), wie zum Beispiel für eine Auslandsexpansion, zu beschaffen, dann wird die die Luft deutlich dünner. Das ist auch der Grund, warum wir noch keine Unicorns – wie die europäischen FinTechs N26, Revolut oder Transferwise – auf der Swiss FinTech Map haben.»

 

«Die FinTech-Szene wird langsam erwachsen, ist aber immer noch stark geprägt von vielen Start-ups, die sich auf den Schweizer Markt konzentrieren. Der Schweizer Markt ist sehr klein, die Produktionskosten sind hoch, und ohne aktive Auslandsstrategie wird es kaum ein Schweizer FinTech-Unicorn geben.»

Das Verhältnis zu den Banken

«Vor fünf Jahren hiess es noch: FinTech-Start-ups disruptieren die Banken, jetzt wird sich alles verändern. Inzwischen stecken wir seit drei Jahren in einer Phase der Kooperation zwischen Start-ups und Banken. In Zukunft dürfte es wieder stärker um Konkurrenz und Disruption gehen.»

 

«Die Swiss FinTech Map zeigt auch, dass sich die Bankenindustrie in den nächsten 10 Jahren stärker verändern wird, als sie es in den vergangenen 100 Jahren getan hat. Getrieben wird diese Entwicklung durch die Technologie und die Anforderungen der Kunden respektive die veränderten sozialen Werte. Das Bedürfnis nach Eigentum nimmt ab: Wer will in Zukunft noch ein Sparkonto, um auf das erste eigene Auto zu sparen?»

Über die Swiss FinTech Startup Map

Das Layout der Map wurde mit Hilfe des norwegischen Startups Fintechdb aufgefrischt: Seit Juni ist sie neu in 4 Business Areas (primär) und 3 Technologien (sekundär) aufgeteilt.

 

Wer wird auf der Map abgebildet?

Alle Schweizer FinTech-Start-ups.

 

Ich bin ein Fintech-Start-up und möchte auf die Map. Was tun?

E-Mail schreiben an Trend.Marketing@swisscom.com am besten mit Logo und kurzem Beschrieb.

 

Nach welchen Kriterien wird ausgewählt?

Swisscom FinTech und das Institut für Finanzdienstleistungen Zug IFZ der Hochschule Luzern prüfen das Start-up hinsichtlich folgender Kriterien: Das FinTech Start-up ist vor weniger als 10 Jahren gegründet worden, in der Schweiz ansässig, fokussiert sich auf Geschäftsmodellinnovationen und neue Technologien im Finanzsektor und hat noch nicht den Zielreifegrad erreicht.

 

Wie bleibt die Map aktuell?

Sobald sich eines der oben genannten Kriterien ändert (zu alt, kein FinTech-Fokus oder kein Start-up mehr), wird das Start-up von der Liste entfernt.


«Kooperationen mit FinTech-Unternehmen gestalten das Banking von morgen.»



Johannes Höhener

Head of Fintech



Newsletter

Möchten Sie regelmässig spannende Artikel und Whitepaper zu aktuellen ICT-Themen erhalten?


Mehr zum Thema

Infografik

Swiss FinTech

Swisscom erhebt monatlich eine Marktübersicht inklusive Kategorisierung FinTech Startups in der Schweiz.