Global cloud portfolio

Amazon Web Services (AWS) and Microsoft® Azure

Swisscom extends cloud portfolio with global solutions


Swisscom is expanding its own cloud with global solutions from Amazon Web Services and Microsoft Azure. Companies can now benefit from the wealth of services of a global provider whilst at the same time gaining the expertise of a local partner.


Text: Ann-Kristin Koch, Image: ®Keystone,




Swisscom is expanding its own cloud portfolio with global cloud offerings from Amazon Web Services (AWS) and Microsoft Azure. In this set-up, Swisscom is the service provider, integrating the solutions into hybrid environments. Marcel Walker, Head of Network and Cloud at Swisscom Enterprise Customers, says: “This means that our customers benefit from all the advantages of a huge range of services whilst retaining the “Swissness”, local knowledge and transformation expertise of Swisscom.”


Amazon Web Services’ wealth of services teamed with local expertise

Many companies would like to use market-leader Amazon’s public cloud services. However, they also want a local partner to support them on their journey to the cloud ecosystem. As a local partner, Swisscom provides advice and project services to customers who want to achieve economies of scale and for whom data storage in Switzerland is not a top priority. Swisscom has extensive expertise in cloud transformation and supports companies every step of the way from design through to implementation and finally to migration to the cloud solution. To this end, Swisscom is launching a package of professional services for AWS that is being expanded on an ongoing basis. It initially comprises four modules:

1. Starter Kit
This introductory workshop provides a quick overview of the AWS universe. In proof of concept, a selected use case gives companies an overview of the way their challenges can be dealt with by the AWS platform combined with Swisscom’s expert knowledge.

2. Solution Design
Future requirements are clarified and documented with the customer. Based on these requirements, Swisscom advises on the definition of optimal design solutions, either for specific applications or for the standard integration of AWS into an existing IT landscape.

3. Migration & Integration Services
With this service module, the defined solution concepts are implemented in the AWS cloud and the migration and integration processes are planned and executed. This is based on “Journey to the Cloud” methodology which applies to all Swisscom cloud projects.

4 Expert Services
To gain maximum benefit from AWS services, Swisscom provides additional expertise for specific issues. This may include a cloud readiness assessment, AWS back-up solutions, data security and anonymization, automation or global website architecture. Swisscom also has the expertise to support its customers with value-added services for the Internet of Things (IoT), Big Data or Artificial Intelligence (AI).





“Customers benefit from all the advantages of a huge range of services whilst retaining the “Swissness”, local knowledge and transformation expertise of Swisscom.”


Marcel Walker, Head of Network & Cloud



During 2018, Swisscom will see the successive expansion of its comprehensive managed service portfolio for the operation and support of cloud solutions, including for hybrid environments. Marcel Walker says: “With these services, we are able to generate added value for cloud customers and remain true to our claim of being a trustworthy companion in the digital world.”


Secure connection to the Microsoft Azure Cloud

For companies who are at home in the Microsoft ecosystem, Swisscom is now offering Azure within Microsoft’s Cloud Solution Provider programme. Customers obtain their infrastructure and platform as a service from a Microsoft data centre and receive support and usage-based billing from Swisscom. Swisscom enables companies to access the Microsoft cloud via a direct network connection using Multiprotocol Label Switching (MPLS). These connections do not use the public Internet, are more reliable, more rapid and secure and have lower latency than typical Internet connections.

In addition, Swisscom offers professional services which support Microsoft-savvy companies as they enter the global Azure cloud ecosystem. These include the Starter Kit, Solution Design, Migration & Integration and Expert Services components. This enables companies to benefit from the expertise of over 200 certified Microsoft professionals. In addition, Swisscom is one of only ten global service providers participating in the Azure Stack Early Adopter programme. We are therefore exploring the possibility of providing Azure Stack in one of Swisscom’s own data centres. In addition, Swisscom is the first provider in Switzerland to carry out proof of concept tests with customers. Azure Stack is the on-premise version of Azure. Azure Stack has a number of advantages: data remains in Switzerland, latency is low and workloads can be shifted between the local and global cloud by virtue of having the same technological structure.



Marcel Walker, Head of Network & Cloud, Swisscom



Managed Smart Workplace on Azure Technology

Alongside infrastructure and Platform as a Service from the Azure ecosystem, Swisscom also provides a managed smart workplace using Microsoft Azure technology. This working environment is enhanced with artificial intelligence. For instance, a chatbot helps users to set up their own device quickly, orders software and trawls through databases. Swisscom handles the operation of the smart workplace including security and software management and support services.



Amazon Web Services by Swisscom

Swisscom professional services for companies seeking access to Amazon’s global cloud. The focus is on integration and migration.

Go to product


Microsoft® Azure by Swisscom

The Microsoft® Cloud – with value added by Swisscom.

Go to product

 

To Swisscom’s complete cloud offer




Newsletter

Subscribe to the newsletter now and stay informed about trends, industry news and benchmarks.





More on the topic

Globales Cloud-Portfolio

Amazon Web Services (AWS) und Microsoft® Azure

Erweiterung Cloud-Portfolio mit globalen Lösungen


Swisscom ergänzt ihre eigene Cloud mit globalen Lösungen von Amazon Web Services und Microsoft Azure. So profitieren Unternehmen gleichzeitig von der Service-Fülle eines globalen Anbieters und der Expertise durch einen Partner vor Ort.


Text: Ann-Kristin Koch, Bilder: ®Keystone,




Swisscom ergänzt ihr eigenes Cloud-Portfolio mit globalen Cloud-Angeboten von Amazon Web Services (AWS) und Microsoft Azure. Swisscom tritt dabei als Service Provider auf, der die Lösungen auch in hybride Umgebungen integriert. Marcel Walker, Head of Network and Cloud bei Swisscom Enterprise Customers sagt: «Unsere Kunden halten so alle Trümpfe in der Hand: grosser Umfang an Services gepaart mit Swissness, Nähe und Transformations-Expertise von Swisscom.»


Service-Fülle von Amazon Web Services gepaart mit lokaler Expertise

Viele Unternehmen wollen gerne auf den Marktführer Amazon bei der Public Cloud setzen. Den Weg in diese Cloud-Welt wollen sie jedoch mit einem lokalen Partner gehen. Für Kunden, die von Skaleneffekten profitieren wollen und für die Datenhaltung in der Schweiz nicht an oberster Stelle steht, bietet Swisscom als Partner vor Ort Beratung und Projekt-Services an. Swisscom verfügt über umfassende Cloud Transformation-Expertise und unterstützt Unternehmen vom Design über die Implementation bis zur Migration der Cloud-Lösung. Swisscom lanciert dazu ein Paket an Professional Services für AWS, das laufend ausgebaut wird. Es umfasst zum Start vier Module:
 

1. Starter Kit
Der Einführungs-Workshop verschafft einen schnellen Überblick über das AWS-Universum. Im Proof of Concept erhalten Unternehmen anhand eines definierten Use Cases einen Überblick, wie ihre Herausforderungen mit Hilfe der AWS-Plattform in Kombination mit Swisscom Expertenwissen zu lösen sind.

2. Solution Design

Zusammen mit dem Kunden werden die zukünftigen Anforderungen geklärt und dokumentiert. Basierend auf diesen Anforderungen berät Swisscom bei der Definition optimaler Lösungsdesigns, sei es für bestimmte Applikationen oder für die generische Einbindung von AWS in eine bestehende IT-Landschaft.

3. Migration & Integration Services

Mit diesem Service Modul werden die definierten Lösungskonzepte in der AWS Cloud umgesetzt und die Migrationen/Integrationen geplant und durchgeführt. Dies basierend auf "Journey to the Cloud",der Swisscom Methodologie bei allen Cloud-Vorhaben.

4. Expert Services

Um maximalen Nutzen aus den AWS Services ziehen zu können, ergänzt Swisscom mit Expertise in Spezialthemen. Dazu gehören etwa ein Cloud-Readiness Assessment, Backup-Lösungen mit AWS, Datensicherheit und -anonymisierung, Automation oder globale Website-Architekturen. Ebenso hat Swisscom die Expertise bei höherwertigen Services im Internet of Things (IoT), Big Data oder bei Artificial Intelligence (AI) zu unterstützen.



Download: Whitepaper

ISG Provider Lens – Switzerland 2017

ISG vergleicht in dieser Studie die Cloud Provider in der Schweiz. Dabei wird einen vertieften Einblick in die Kategorien Cloud Transformation, IaaS Enterprise und UCaaS gegeben.





«Unsere Kunden halten so alle Trümpfe in der Hand: grosser Umfang an Services gepaart mit Swissness, Nähe und Transformations-Expertise von Swisscom.»


Marcel Walker, Head of Network and Cloud



Im Verlauf vom Jahr 2018 folgt zudem der sukzessive Aufbau eines umfassenden Managed Service-Portfolios für den Betrieb und Support der Cloud-Lösungen, auch für hybride Umgebungen. Marcel Walker sagt: «Mit diesen Services schaffen wir einen Mehrwert für Cloud-Kunden und werden unserem Anspruch gerecht, der vertrauenswürdige Begleiter in der digitalen Welt zu sein.»


Sicher an die Microsoft Azure Cloud angebunden

Für Unternehmen, die im Microsoft-Ökosystem zu Hause sind, bietet Swisscom neu Azure im Cloud Solution Provider-Modell von Microsoft an. Infrastruktur und Platform-as-a-Services beziehen Kunden aus einem Microsoft Rechenzentrum und erhalten Support und eine nutzungsbasierte Abrechnung über Swisscom. Swisscom ermöglicht es Unternehmen, über eine direkte Netzwerkanbindung via Multiprotocol Label Switching (MPLS) auf die Microsoft Cloud zuzugreifen. Diese Verbindungen werden nicht über das öffentliche Internet geleitet, sind zuverlässiger, sicherer, schneller und haben eine geringere Latenz als typische Internetverbindungen.

Zudem bietet Swisscom Professional Services, um Microsoft-affine Unternehmen sicher in die globale Azure Cloud-Welt zu begleiten. Sie umfassen die Bausteine Starter Kit, Solution Design, Migration & Integration sowie Expert Services. Unternehmen profitieren dabei von der Expertise von mehr als 200 zertifizierten Microsoft Professionals. Swisscom ist zudem einer von weltweit nur zehn Providern im Azure Stack Early Adopter Programm. Geprüft wird deshalb, Azure Stack aus einem Swisscom eigenen Rechenzentrum anzubieten. Dazu führt Swisscom als erster Anbieter schweizweit Proof of Concepts mit Kunden durch. Azure Stack ist die On-Premise-Version von Azure. Azure Stack hat mehrere Vor­teile: Die Daten liegen in der Schweiz, die Laten­zen sind gering und Work­loads können aufgrund der gleichen technischen Basis zwischen der lokalen und globalen Cloud verschoben werden.



Marcel Walker, Head of Network & Cloud, Swisscom



Managed Smart Workplace auf Azure-Technologie

Nebst Infrastruktur und Platform-as-a-Service aus der Azure-Welt bietet Swisscom einen Managed Smart Workplace auf Basis von Microsoft Azure-Technologie an. Es handelt sich dabei um eine mit künstlicher Intelligenz angereicherten Arbeitsumgebung. Ein Chatbot unterstützt Nutzer etwa das eigene Arbeitsgerät schnell einzurichten, bestellt Software und durchforstet Wissensdatenbanken. Swisscom übernimmt den Betrieb des Smart Workplace inklusive Security und Software Management sowie den Support.



Amazon Web Services by Swisscom

Professional Services von Swisscom für Unternehmen, die den Weg in die globale Cloud von Amazon suchen. Im Fokus: Integration & Migration.

Zum Produkt


Microsoft® Azure by Swisscom

Die Microsoft® Cloud - mit Mehrwert durch Swisscom.

Zum Produkt

 

Zum gesamten Cloud-Angebot von Swisscom




Newsletter

Jetzt Newsletter abonnieren und über Trends, Branchen-News und Benchmarks informiert bleiben.





Mehr zum Thema