Cloud Services in Switzerland

Cloud Services in Switzerland

Into the future with Hybrid Cloud


Cloud growth is racing ahead throughout Switzerland. Only those who opt for a hybrid infrastructure can remain in the race.


Text: Christoph Widmer, 1




Swiss IT decision-makers go for security. This is reiterated by the "Swiss IT 2017" study, which was conducted by the IT trade journal Computerworld with the market research institute IDC. 594 managers and IT decision-makers in Swiss companies took part in the online survey between November 2016 and January 2017. The IT and expert decision-makers questioned by Computerworld and IDC placed most importance on data protection for Cloud Services – and this was independent of sector. Security was followed by the desire for high availability and data storage in Switzerland.

Swissness and security are particularly apparent in the areas of development and infrastructure: Managed Cloud models have a greater market share among IaaS and PaaS than Public Cloud solutions, as Computerworld ascertains – referring here to the "Swiss Cloud Vendor Benchmark 2016" from the IT analyst Experton.


The Cloud makes things easier

Cloud Computing also concerns Swiss IT decision-makers beyond the subject of security. Among the IT decision-makers surveyed by IDC and Computerworld more than a third ascribe the most importance to Cloud Computing, followed by the trends "Customer Centricity" and "Mobile Enterprise". This is also reflected in double-digit growth each year. It should come as no surprise that Cloud Computing is so important – when you see what IT departments mostly have to deal with. The excessively high requirements placed on the technical departments and the high degree of routine tasks are the greatest "pain points" according to the IDC. Cloud services can help here: They not only take the burden off IT departments in operational terms but are also able to fulfil the requirements of the specific departments faster than conventional infrastructures.


Companies opt for Private Cloud

As the IDC has found, Public Cloud services predominate over wide sections of the IT stack. Customer Relationship Management and collaboration solutions have long been available from the Public Cloud. Solutions for Logistics, Finances and Human Resources Management also effectively cover Supply Chain Management and Enterprise Resource Planning . Besides platforms and infrastructure from the Cloud, Software as a Service offers are also continually increasing. However, these are not really in demand among Swiss customers at present: "Our survey clearly reveals that Swiss CIOs check precisely, as part of a Cloud strategy, which services remain in-house, which ones are outsourced and which ones are obtained from the Cloud", explains Stella Gatziu Grivas, Cloud expert at the Northwest Switzerland University of Applied Sciences (FNHW).

Despite the dynamic development of the Public Cloud market, 63 percent of the companies questioned utilise solutions in the Private Cloud area. Here too, the reason lies in the need to retain user security. "In certain sectors, the regulatory hurdles are an enormous challenge", explains Gatziu Grivas. "Financial or health services, for instance, more or less only allow data storage in Switzerland." Whoever opts for a local provider such as Swisscom holds all the aces in their hand when it comes to data storage in Switzerland.


Rethinking towards "Hybrid Cloud"

In its analysis, the IDC ascertained that user companies need to change their thinking in order to remain competitive. Even if companies often use Private Cloud services for fear of data misuse – they must also implement cost-effective Public Cloud services. Only with Hybrid Cloud models would companies fully meet the requirements for flexibility, efficiency and lower costs, the IDC determines.

In this respect, the Swiss IT landscape still has plenty of scope for development: Only 28 percent of the companies questioned already use Hybrid Cloud models. For more than half, there are no plans whatsoever to use Hybrid Clouds. Cloud expert Gatziu Grivas shares this view: "In my opinion, companies really do need Hybrid Cloud models to remain competitive. But Swiss companies are firmly on course because "the Private Cloud offers a good starting point for this."





The FHNW is conducting a CXO study until May on digitisation, the role of the Cloud and the transformation of corporate IT in Switzerland. To this end, CIOs and those responsible for IT in various companies are being questioned. If you would also like to learn about the Cloud and your company's IT readiness, please feel free to take part as an interviewee. Your data will of course be collected in anonymous form for the survey. After the study is completed (May 2017), you will receive access to all results.

If you are interested, please fill in this contact form.




    More on the topic

Cloud Services in der Schweiz

Cloud Services in der Schweiz

Mit Hybrid Cloud in die Zukunft


Die Cloud über der Schweiz wächst rasant. Nur, wer sich für eine hybride Infrastruktur entscheidet, bleibt im Rennen.


Text: Christoph Widmer,




Schweizer IT-Entscheider setzen auf Sicherheit. Das belegt die Studie «Swiss IT 2017», die das IT-Fachmagazin Computerworld mit dem Marktforschungsinstitut IDC durchgeführt hat. 594 Manager und IT-Entscheider in Schweizer Unternehmen nahmen zwischen November 2016 und Januar 2017 an der Online-Befragung teil. Die von Computerworld und IDC befragten IT- und Fachentscheider legten bei Cloud Services am meisten Wert auf Datenschutz – und zwar branchenunabhängig. Auf Sicherheit folgt der Wunsch nach hoher Verfügbarkeit und die Datenhaltung in der Schweiz.


Swissness und Sicherheit kommen vor allem in den Bereichen Entwicklung und Infrastruktur zum Tragen: Managed-Cloud-Modelle besitzen bei IaaS und PaaS einen grösseren Marktanteil als Public-Cloud-Lösungen, wie Computerworld festhält – und sich dabei auf den «Swiss Cloud Vendor Benchmark 2016» vom IT-Analysten Experton bezieht.


Die Cloud entlastet

Cloud Computing treibt die Schweizer IT-Entscheider auch abseits des Themas Sicherheit um. Von den von IDC und Computerworld befragten IT-Entscheidern messen mehr als ein Drittel dem Cloud Computing die grösste Bedeutung bei, gefolgt von den Trends «Kundenorientierung» und «Mobile Enterprise». Dies schlägt sich auch im Wachstum im zweistelligen Bereich jedes Jahr nieder. Dass Cloud Computing derart wichtig ist, erstaunt nicht – wenn man sieht, womit IT-Abteilungen am meisten zu kämpfen haben. Die zu hohen Anforderungen der Fachabteilungen und das hohe Mass an Routineaufgaben sind laut IDC die grössten «Pain Points». Hier können Cloud Dienste helfen: Sie entlasten nicht nur IT-Abteilungen im Betrieb, sondern sind auch in der Lage, die Anforderungen der Fachabteilungen schneller als herkömmliche Infrastrukturen zu erfüllen.



Unternehmen setzen auf Private Cloud

Wie IDC festhält, bewältigen Public-Cloud-Dienste weite Teile des IT-Stack. Customer Relationship Management und Kollaborations-Lösungen gibt es längst aus der Public Cloud. Mit Lösungen für Logistik, Finanzen und Personalmanagement sind auch Supply Chain Management und Enterprise Ressource Planning gut erschlossen. Neben Plattform und Infrastruktur aus der Wolke nehmen auch Software-as-a-Service-Angebote stetig zu. Diese jedoch werden bei Schweizer Kunden noch nicht wirklich nachgefragt: «Unsere Umfrage zeigt klar, dass Schweizer CIO im Rahmen einer Cloud-Strategie genau prüfen, welche Services inhouse bleiben, welche outgesourced werden und welche aus der Cloud bezogen werden», erklärt Stella Gatziu Grivas, Cloud-Expertin der Fachhochschule Nordwestschweiz (FNHW).


Trotz der dynamischen Entwicklung des Public-Cloud-Markts nutzen 63 Prozent der befragten Unternehmen Lösungen im Bereich Private Cloud. Auch hier ist der Grund im Sicherheitsbedürfnis der Anwender zu suchen. «In gewissen Branchen sind die regulatorischen Hürden eine enorme Herausforderung», erklärt Gatziu Grivas. «Das Finanz- oder Gesundheitswesen beispielsweise erlaubt praktisch nur Datenhaltung in der Schweiz.» Wer hier auf einen lokalen Anbieter wie Swisscom setzt, hält mit Datenhaltung in der Schweiz die Trümpfe in der Hand.


In Richtung «Hybrid Cloud» umdenken

Die Anwenderunternehmen müssten umdenken, um konkurrenzfähig zu bleiben, stellt IDC in ihrer Analyse fest. Auch wenn Unternehmen wegen der Angst vor Datenmissbrauch oft Private-Cloud-Services verwenden – sie müssten ebenso auf kostengünstige Public-Cloud-Dienste setzen. Nur mit hybriden Cloud-Modellen würden Unternehmen den Anforderungen nach Flexibilität, Effizienz und geringeren Kosten vollends gerecht, hält IDC fest.


«Meiner Meinung nach brauchen Unternehmen unbedingt hybride Cloud-Modelle, um wettbewerbsfähig zu bleiben.»


Prof. Dr. Stella Gatziu Grivas, Hochschule für Wirtschaft Institut für Wirtschaftsinformatik, FHNW


Diesbezüglich ist die Schweizer IT-Landschaft noch entwicklungsfähig: Nur 28 Prozent der befragten Unternehmen nutzen bereits hybride Cloud-Modelle. Bei über der Hälfte ist der Einsatz von hybriden Clouds auch vorläufig nicht geplant. Die Cloud-Expertin Gatziu Grivas stösst ins selbe Horn: «Meiner Meinung nach brauchen Unternehmen unbedingt hybride Cloud-Modelle, um wettbewerbsfähig zu bleiben.» Doch die Schweizer Unternehmen seien auf gutem Weg, denn «die Private Cloud bietet dafür eine gute Ausgangslage.» 



Die FHNW führt bis Mai eine CXO-Studie zur Digitalisierung, der Rolle der Cloud und der Transformation der Unternehmens-IT in der Schweiz durch. Dazu werden CIO und IT-Verantwortliche verschiedenster Firmen befragt. Möchten auch Sie den Cloud- und IT-Reifegrad Ihrer Firma in Erfahrung bringen, dann nehmen Sie als Interviewpartner teil. Ihre Daten werden selbstverständlich für die Erhebung anonymisiert. Nach Abschluss der Studie (Mai 2017) erhalten Sie Zugang zu sämtlichen Resultaten.

> Bei Interesse melden Sie sich hier direkt an.




Newsletter

Jetzt Newsletter abonnieren und über Trends, Branchen-News und Benchmarks informiert bleiben.





Mehr zum Thema