Interview with Stella Gatziu Grivas

FHNW Cloud Study 2018

“The Cloud needs new roles”


Companies are still unable to correctly assess the impacts of the Cloud. This year’s Cloud study by the University of Applied Sciences of Northwestern Switzerland (FHNW) demonstrates this. Lead researcher Stella Gatziu Grivas explains how decision makers can acquire this knowledge.


Text: Christoph Widmer, Images: Thomas Egli, 3 july 2018




Prof. Gatziu Grivas, what was the motivation for the Cloud study by FHNW?


In our CIO study last year, we also asked participants about Cloud maturity in their company. We wanted to find out how well prepared companies were to use Cloud technologies. Participants’ responses suggested there could be conflicting priorities between Business and IT departments regarding the Cloud. Departments often did not agree about the actual motivation and preparation for using the Cloud. In this year’s Cloud study, we wanted to focus on these points.



Prof. Stella Gatziu Grivas, Institute for Information Systems, FHNW

Prof. Stella Gatziu Grivas, Institute for Information Systems, FHNW  



Did this impression turn out to be true?


Overwhelmingly, the main motivation for using the Cloud, as indicated by the majority of surveyed groups, was to reduce costs. Cloud providers themselves realise more than anyone that the Cloud is essential for digitally transforming their own companies. Among the other groups such as Business specialist managers, CIOs or even IT architects, this understanding is not widely shared yet.


“Only a few IT architects are aware of the impacts of the Cloud.”


Prof. Stella Gatziu Grivas, FHNW


The other study results demonstrate this: Only a few are really able to determine the impacts of the Cloud on business and IT processes. Were you surprised about this result?


Yes. I found it very surprising that only a few IT architects are aware of the impacts of the Cloud.


Why is that?


IT architects play an important role in the positioning of the Cloud. They know the data and business architecture and are familiar with the appropriate processes. They therefore have an important role in communicating the possibilities in using the Cloud. There is still little transparency in companies about this.


So, are IT architects not doing their jobs properly?


I think the entire subject of the Cloud has been regarded with blinkered vision. People have mainly only seen the risks in the Cloud. And if a potential is identified, it is overwhelmingly about cutting costs. This distorted view means that even today, the Cloud is not seen as a digital enabler across the entire company, even among IT architects. It’s easy to identify cost reductions. You compare today’s numbers with tomorrow’s. However, what is less tangible is when you are saving money, where you are reinvesting these savings and how the Cloud impacts on business. The statement “no digitisation without the Cloud” may sound like an advertising slogan. However, there is a great deal behind this. The Cloud is a complex matter.


A digitisation strategy which establishes the Cloud’s exact strategic positioning would clarify a lot here. Who should initiate this in the company?


Many CIOs said in our study from last year that they also see themselves in the role of the CDO. Consequently, many in IT management believe they are responsible for digitisation. They are right to view this as their task. The difficulty in this is appropriately communicating and implementing the digitisation strategy.


“The Journey to the Cloud brings with it an urgent need for companies to reorganise.”


Prof. Stella Gatziu Grivas, FHNW


How does this work?


The Cloud needs new roles. A company must establish exactly who is responsible for its Cloud strategy, who responds to Business requirements, or who, for example, demonstrates the potential of different Cloud-based solutions using technology scouting. The Journey to the Cloud therefore brings with it an urgent need for companies to reorganise. A consistent Cloud strategy therefore also needs a transformation roadmap, which establishes the new responsibilities. Both our studies show that this understanding does not yet exist in many companies.



Prof. Stella Gatziu Grivas, Institute for Information Systems, FHNW


What do IT have to do differently in the course of the Cloud transformation?


IT have to assume the new role of Cloud brokers. They manage the whole service catalogue and know the criteria which Cloud providers have to fulfil for their own Compliance and Governance specifications. As such, IT are responsible for implementing the digitisation and Cloud strategy and acting as a kind of link between Business and the Cloud. This way also prevents Business using Cloud Services without the involvement of IT, i.e. using shadow IT. The IT department has to integrate the new services and quickly realise whether the provider is suitable or not. This role is therefore central to Cloud transformation. Other roles, like the Sourcing Manager, the Cloud Lifecycle Manager or the Cloud Monitoring Manager are also part of this.


Is it thus already done with a restructured IT?


The approach is important. The Journey to the Cloud should not be understood to be a bottom-up approach whereby individual systems like CRM or ERP are just migrated to the Cloud. Anyone who limits themselves to individual services can miss opportunities. By contrast, anyone who follows a top-down strategy to gain a comprehensive overview of Cloud offerings will understand how they can most effectively use the Cloud in their company. As a result, they have to first obtain a comprehensive picture of the possibilities of the Cloud.


But that also applies to Business.


Absolutely. The top-down strategy must certainly be developed in collaboration with Business. But someone must take the lead.


The CIO?


It could be the CIO, but it could also be IT architects, specialist managers or people from the Management Board. Companies could also draw upon external expertise from Cloud providers as they are people who have strategically positioned themselves with the Cloud for a long time now. However, with a clear assignment.


What do you mean, exactly?


That Business and IT have also acquired the knowledge and not taken all the advice of an external consultant without thinking about it critically. Consultants have to be challenged in discussions. It’s not enough to rely solely on them. Companies have to do their homework.



Personal information


Stella Gatziu Grivas is a Professor at the Institute for Information Systems at the University of Applied Sciences of Northwestern Switzerland (FHNW) and Head of Competence Center Cloud Computing, Digitalisation & Transformation. She is on the board of EuroCloud Swiss and organises the FHNW Cloud Use Cases Days conference management.

The study report can be downloaded here (German only):
FHNW Report Cloud Study 2018








More on the topic

Interview mit Stella Gatziu Grivas

FHNW-Cloud-Studie 2018 

«Die Cloud verlangt nach neuen Rollen»


Unternehmen können die Auswirkungen der Cloud immer noch nicht richtig abschätzen. Das zeigt die diesjährige Cloud-Studie der Fachhochschule Nordwestschweiz (FHNW). Wie sich Entscheidungsträger dieses Wissen erarbeiten können, erklärt Studienleiterin Stella Gatziu Grivas.


Text: Christoph Widmer, Bilder: Thomas Egli, 2. Juli 2018




Frau Gatziu Grivas, was war die Motivation für die FHNW-Cloud-Studie?


In unserer letztjährigen CIO-Studie befragten wir die Teilnehmenden auch zur Cloud-Maturität in ihrem Unternehmen. Wir wollten herausfinden, wie gut vorbereitet Unternehmen für den Einsatz von Cloud-Technologien sind. Die Antworten der Befragten deuteten darauf hin, dass bezüglich der Cloud womöglich ein Spannungsfeld zwischen dem Business und der IT herrschte. Oft waren sich die Funktionsgruppen nicht einig über die eigentliche Motivation und die Vorbereitung eines Cloud-Einsatzes. Mit der diesjährigen Cloud-Studie wollten wir den Fokus auf diese Punkte legen.



Prof. Dr. Stella Gatziu Grivas, Institut für Wirtschaftsinformatik FHNW

Prof. Dr. Stella Gatziu Grivas, Institut für Wirtschaftsinformatik FHNW



Hat sich dieser Eindruck bewahrheitet?


Als Hauptmotivation für den Cloud-Einsatz wird überwiegend Kostenreduktion aufgeführt, und zwar vom Grossteil der befragten Funktionsgruppen. Dass die Cloud unerlässlich für die digitale Transformation des eigenen Unternehmens ist, erkennen vor allem die Cloud-Provider selber. Bei den anderen Funktionsgruppen wie etwa den Business-Fachverantwortlichen, CIOs oder auch IT-Architekten, ist dieses Verständnis noch nicht stark vorhanden.


«Nur wenige IT-Architekten der Auswirkungen der Cloud bewusst.»


Prof. Stella Gatziu Grivas, FHNW


Das deckt sich auch mit den weiteren Studienergebnissen: Die Auswirkungen der Cloud auf Business- und IT-Prozesse können nur wenige wirklich abschätzen. Waren Sie überrascht von diesem Resultat?


Ja. Vor allem, dass sich nur wenige IT-Architekten der Auswirkungen der Cloud bewusst sind, hat mich sehr überrascht.


Warum?


IT-Architekten spielen eine sehr wichtige Rolle bei der Positionierung der Cloud. Sie kennen die Daten- und Business-Architektur und sind mit den entsprechenden Prozessen vertraut. Deshalb haben sie eine übergeordnete Rolle, was die Kommunikation über die Möglichkeiten der Cloud betrifft. In Unternehmen herrscht darüber noch wenig Transparenz.


Also scheitern IT-Architekten an ihren Aufgaben?


Ich denke, die ganze Cloud-Thematik wird schon länger eingeschränkt betrachtet. Man sah primär die Risiken der Cloud. Und wenn doch ein Potenzial erkannt wurde, dann vor allem das, Kosten zu sparen. Dieses verzerrte Bild führt auch heute noch dazu, dass die Cloud im gesamten Unternehmen nicht als Enabler der Digitalisierung gesehen wird – selbst von den IT-Architekten. Eingesparte Kosten sind leicht erkennbar: Man vergleicht die Zahlen von heute mit den Zahlen von morgen. Doch was es bedeutet, wenn man Kosten spart, wo man die Ersparnisse wieder einsetzt, wie sich die Cloud also aufs Business auswirkt, ist schwer greifbar. Der Spruch «keine Digitalisierung ohne Cloud» mag wie ein Werbeslogan klingen. Es steckt aber sehr viel dahinter. Die Cloud ist eine komplexe Angelegenheit.


Eine Digitalisierungsstrategie, in der die strategische Positionierung der Cloud genau festgehalten wird, könnte hier Klarheit verschaffen. Wer im Unternehmen stösst diese an?


Bei unserer letztjährigen Studie sagten viele CIOs von sich aus, dass sie sich auch in der Rolle des CDO sehen. So denken viele vom IT-Management, dass sie für die Digitalisierung verantwortlich sind. Es ist richtig, dass sie das als ihre Aufgabe sehen. Die Schwierigkeit besteht darin, die Digitalisierungsstrategie auch entsprechend zu kommunizieren und umzusetzen.


«Der Weg in die Cloud bringt zwangsläufig eine Reorganisation im Unternehmen mit sich.»


Prof. Stella Gatziu Grivas, FHNW


Wie gelingt das?


Die Cloud verlangt nach neuen Rollen. Im Unternehmen muss genau geregelt sein, wer für die Cloud-Strategie verantwortlich ist, wer die Anforderungen des Business abholt, oder wer ihm beispielsweise mit Technologie-Scoutings die Möglichkeiten verschiedener Cloud-Lösungen vermittelt. Der Weg in die Cloud bringt also zwangsläufig eine Reorganisation im Unternehmen mit sich. Deshalb verlangt eine konsequente Cloud-Strategie auch eine Transformations-Roadmap, welche die neuen Verantwortlichkeiten festhält. Unsere beiden Studien zeigten, dass dieses Verständnis in vielen Unternehmen noch nicht vorhanden ist.



 Prof. Dr. Stella Gatziu Grivas, Institut für Wirtschaftsinformatik FHNW


Was muss die IT im Zuge der Cloud-Transformation neu leisten?


Die IT nimmt die neue Rolle des Cloud-Brokers wahr. Sie verwaltet den ganzen Service-Katalog und kennt die Kriterien, die Cloud-Provider für die eigenen Compliance- und Governance-Vorgaben erfüllen müssen. So ist die IT zuständig für die Realisierung der Digitalisierungs- bzw. Cloud-Strategie und eine Art Bindeglied zwischen Business und der Cloud. Auf diese Weise wird auch verhindert, dass das Business ohne Involvierung der IT neue Cloud-Services einsetzt – also Schatten-IT nutzt. Die IT-Abteilung muss die neuen Services integrieren und erkennt schnell, ob es sich um einen geeigneten Provider handelt oder nicht. Daher ist diese Rolle bei der Cloud-Transformation zentral. Dazu kommen weitere Rollen wie der Sourcing Manager, der Cloud Lifecycle Manager oder der Cloud Monitoring Manager.


Mit einer neu aufgestellten IT ist es also bereits getan?


Wichtig ist die Herangehensweise. Der Weg in die Cloud sollte nicht als bottom-up-Vorgehen verstanden werden, bei dem man bloss einzelne Systeme wie das CRM oder das ERP in die Cloud überführt. Wer sich auf einzelne Services beschränkt, kann Chancen übersehen. Wer hingegen eine Top-Down-Strategie fährt, und versucht, sich einen gesamtheitlichen Überblick über Cloud-Angebote zu verschaffen, erkennt, wie man die Cloud am effektivsten für sein Unternehmen nutzen kann. Deshalb muss man sich zuerst ein ganzheitliches Bild über die Möglichkeiten der Cloud verschaffen.


Das gilt aber auch für das Business.


Absolut. Die Top-Down-Strategie muss unbedingt zusammen mit dem Business erarbeitet werden. Aber jemand muss den Lead haben.


Der CIO?


Es kann der CIO sein, es können aber auch IT-Architekten, die Fachverantwortlichen oder Personen aus der Geschäftsleitung sein. Unternehmen können sich auch externes Wissen von Cloud-Providern holen, da diese die Cloud bei sich schon längst strategisch positioniert haben. Allerdings mit einem klaren Auftrag.


Was heisst das?


Dass sich auch das Business und die IT Wissen angeeignet haben und nicht alle Ratschläge von externen Beratern kritiklos beherzigen. Der Consultant muss im Gespräch herausgefordert werden. Es reicht nicht, sich voll und ganz auf ihn zu verlassen. Unternehmen müssen ihre Hausaufgaben schon machen.



Zur Person


Stella Gatziu Grivas ist Professorin am Institut für Wirtschaftsinformatik an der Fachhochschule Nordwestschweiz und Leiterin des Kompetenzschwerpunkts Cloud Computing, Digitalisation & Transformation. Sie ist im Vorstand von EuroCloud Swiss und für die Kongressleitung des FHNW Cloud Use Cases Days verantwortlich.

Hier geht’s zum Download des Studienberichts:
Studienbericht FHNW Cloud Studie 2018





Newsletter

Jetzt Newsletter abonnieren und über Trends, Branchen-News und Benchmarks informiert bleiben.





Mehr zum Thema