Asga increases efficiency with Enterprise Search

Company search engine

“I no longer have to think about where to look for something in our records.”


Information in companies is often like misplaced house keys: you know where they are, but you still can’t find them. The Asga Pension Fund does it better.


Text: Anton Neuenschwander, Images: Michael Meier,




Adrian Bruderer is a System Engineer at Asga. If the pension fund is to provide excellent service to the companies – and there are more than 12,500 of them – affiliated to it, the ICT must run smoothly. For that to be the case, rapid responses are often required. Right now, Adrian Bruderer needs a specific document on Cisco Jabber. “In the past, I would have had to spend ages searching through our file systems and e-mail,” he says – while typing “configure cisco jabber” into Enterprise Search. The search engine promptly produces a list of results. It clearly displays relevant documents from the file server as well as specific e-mails – all including a “photographic” preview to make it easier for him to find the right one quickly.


“Actually, we could chuck all our files in a big pot – we’d find every one of them immediately!”


Adrian Bruderer, System Engineer at Asga


Adrian Bruderer wants to narrow things down more precisely. He clicks on the summary view. Now the search engine presents him with a management summary for every single document. Bullseye! The file with the information he needs is there and can be opened, edited and saved straightaway. “There's no doubt about it: I spend far less time searching than I used to,” Adrian Bruderer comments. Then he laughs and adds: “Actually, we could chuck all our files in a big pot – we’d find every one of them immediately!”


The “Google Generation” works more intuitively

As Head of Central Services at Asga, Beat Zuberbühler plays a major part in increasing efficiency within the company. Searching for documents in vain has always annoyed him. He explains what he thinks about it: “The first difficulty is knowing where you have to look in the first place. The second issue is with the way people work: for example, the staff in our finance department file their data in extremely structured ways, and so they find it quickly. Other people in our firm, though, don’t always file their stuff away logically. This is yet another reflection of the way things are changing: new technology makes possible new ways of working that are mainly taken on board by the younger generation. They’re used to using Google to search for stuff in an intuitive way. Our systems’ limited search capabilities make that impossible.” The amount of time required for the search was correspondingly high. And because people like to ask colleagues for advice, the time taken sometimes doubled automatically.


Beat Zuberbühler explains how Asga’s in-house search engine makes work easier.

Beat Zuberbühler explains how Asga’s in-house search engine makes work easier.


Sought and found: secure search engine, Swiss Made

Although several providers are putting company-internal search machines on the market, you have to think carefully about to whom you entrust your sensitive data, says Beat Zuberbühler. That’s why, two years ago, he went in search of a Swiss solution. “Enterprise Search – which was developed in Switzerland – seemed to me to be able to meet our requirements. At the time, though, the solution didn’t yet fit with our IT strategy: We source our IT resources from the Swisscom Cloud, and the manufacturer didn’t offer a suitable model at the time.” That has since changed. The Swiss search engine now works in the Swisscom Cloud too. Beat Zuberbühler gave the green light for a Proof of Concept. He was soon convinced of the benefits in practice: “I no longer have to think about where to look for something in our records. Enterprise Search automatically scans multiple sources – the file repositories, the e-mails, the intranet, and even our website. The search results are visible at once.” The search engine achieves this high speed thanks to the systematic indexing of files: Once installed, Enterprise Search automatically indexed 1.1 million documents. Newly created files are also recorded automatically, and Asga’s staff usually find them right away.


“Because the search engine provides intuitive access, there’s no need to ‘learn’ anything.”


Beat Zuberbühler, Head of Central Services at Asga


A central search screen with useful filters

Asga’s internal search engine helps to the needles in the haystack visible quickly. And if filters are used to narrow down the search, they can even become the size of tree trunks. “We can filter by keyword, data source, file format, relevance, creation or modification date and language,” explains Beat Zuberbühler. Isn’t there the risk of employees seeing on the results list files that out of bounds to them – payrolls or e-mails with private content, for example? Beat Zuberbühler dismisses the possibility: “That’s all under proper control. The solution automatically takes over the access permissions from our Active Directory. That’s why nobody has to sign up for the search engine; it launches automatically after the ‘normal log-in’ when they start work each day.”


Frequently used search terms are shown as tiles.

Getting to the point quickly: frequently used search terms are shown as tiles.


The human factor is decisive

Nowadays at Asga, if you’re looking for something, you’ll find it faster. Beat Zuberbühler is convinced, though, that technology isn’t everything. “How staff handle it is an important success factor. We can achieve significant time savings only if as many people as possible work with the in-house search engine as often as possible. Because the search engine provides intuitive access, there’s no need to ‘learn’ anything. So, for example, frequently used search terms are represented as tiles.” He’s confident that staff will succeed in changing their thinking, and is already planning the next expansion stages: he wants the search engine to be able to access the CRM system, as well as the electronic archive with its over 14 million documents including archived e-mails, and the Asga-Brain knowledge platform. “Then we really would have a Rolls Royce,” he says with a smile.


Swisscom Enterprise Search


Swisscom is the exclusive distribution partner for the company-wide search engine Enterprise Search – in Switzerland, the EU and the USA. Setup and configuration are simple, handled on dedicated hardware or on virtual machines with the support of Swisscom experts. Swisscom now also offers Enterprise Search as a Cloud service.

More about Enterprise Search


Asga Pension Fund


Asga Pension Fund

The Asga is a cooperative with more than 12,500 small and medium-sized enterprises employing a total of 106,000 insured persons affiliated to it. Established in 1962, it has made a name for itself through individual advice, real customer proximity and an investment portfolio with clearly defined risks.




Newsletter

Subscribe to the newsletter now and stay informed about trends, industry news and benchmarks.





More on the topic

Asga steigert die Effizienz mit Enterprise Search

Unternehmensinterne Suchmaschine

«Ich muss nicht mehr überlegen, wo ich was in unseren Ablagen suchen soll.»


Mit Informationen in Unternehmen verhält es sich oft wie mit verlegten Hausschlüsseln: Zwar weiss man ungefähr, wo sie liegen, findet sie aber trotzdem nicht. Die Pensionskasse Asga macht es besser.


Text: Anton Neuenschwander, Bilder: Michael Meier,




Adrian Bruderer ist System Engineer bei der Asga. Damit die Pensionskasse ihren über 12 500 angeschlossenen Betrieben einen exzellenten Service bieten kann, muss die ICT rund laufen. Oft sind dafür schnelle Reaktionen gefragt. Gerade jetzt benötigt Bruderer ein bestimmtes Dokument zur Jabber-Lösung. «Früher hätte ich eine ganze Weile unsere Dateisysteme und die Mails durchforstet», erzählt er – und tippt nebenher den Suchbegriff «cisco jabber konfigurieren» in die Maske von Enterprise Search ein. Sofort erscheint in der Suchmaschine die Ergebnisliste. Sie zeigt übersichtlich relevante Dokumente aus dem File Server sowie spezifische Mails an – alle inklusive «fotografischer» Voransicht zur schnellen Orientierung.


«Eigentlich könnten wir alle unsere Dateien in einen grossen Topf schmeissen – wir würden jede einzelne sofort wiederfinden!»


Adrian Bruderer, System Engineer bei der Asga


Bruderer will es genauer wissen. Er klickt auf die Zusammenfassungs-Ansicht. Nun präsentiert ihm die Suchmaschine ein Management Summary für jedes einzelne Dokument. Volltreffer: Die Datei mit der benötigten Info ist dabei und kann direkt geöffnet, bearbeitet und gespeichert werden. «Keine Frage: Ich verbringe viel weniger Zeit mit suchen als früher», stellt Bruderer fest. Und ergänzt lachend: «Eigentlich könnten wir alle unsere Dateien in einen grossen Topf schmeissen – wir würden jede einzelne sofort wiederfinden!»


Die «Generation Google» arbeitet intuitiver

Als Leiter Zentrale Dienste der Asga liefert Beat Zuberbühler wesentliche Beiträge zu Effizienzsteigerungen im Unternehmen. Das unproduktive Suchen nach Dokumenten war ihm schon immer ein Dorn im Auge. Er schildert seine Überlegungen: «Die erste Schwierigkeit besteht darin zu wissen, wo man überhaupt suchen muss. Zweitens ist es eine Frage der Arbeitstechnik: Unsere Mitarbeitenden der Finanzabteilung zum Beispiel legen ihre Daten extrem strukturiert ab und finden sie entsprechend schnell. Andere Mitarbeitende hingegen speichern sie nicht immer logisch ab. Hier drückt sich auch der Wandel aus, in dem wir uns befinden: Neue Technik ermöglicht neue Arbeitsformen, die vor allem von der jüngeren Generation gelebt werden. Sie sind es gewohnt, auf intuitive Art mit Google zu recherchieren. Dies war mit den beschränkten Suchfunktionen unserer Systeme nicht möglich.» Entsprechend gross sei der Zeitbedarf bei der Suche gewesen. Und weil man dabei gerne auch die Kollegen um Rat frage, verdopple er sich bisweilen automatisch.


Beat Zuberbühler erklärt, wie die Asga-interne Suchmaschine die Arbeit erleichtert

Beat Zuberbühler erklärt, wie die Asga-interne Suchmaschine die Arbeit erleichtert.


Gesucht und gefunden: sichere Suchmaschine, Swiss Made

Zwar seien auf dem Markt verschiedene Anbieter mit firmeninternen Suchmaschinen präsent. Allerdings müsse man sich sehr gut überlegen, wem man seine sensiblen Daten anvertraut, meint Beat Zuberbühler. Schon vor zwei Jahren hat er sich deshalb nach einer Schweizer Lösung umgesehen. «Enterprise Search – in der Schweiz entwickelt – schien mir geeignet, unsere Anforderungen erfüllen zu können. Damals passte die Lösung allerdings noch nicht zu unserer IT-Strategie: Wir beziehen unsere IT-Ressourcen aus der Swisscom Cloud, und der Hersteller bot damals kein passendes Modell an.» Das hat sich inzwischen geändert. Die Schweizer Suchmaschine funktioniert nun auch in der Swisscom Cloud. Beat Zuberbühler gab grünes Licht für einen Proof of Concept. Bald einmal konnte er sich vom praktischen Nutzen überzeugen: «Ich muss nicht mehr überlegen, wo ich was in unseren Ablagen suchen soll. Enterprise Search durchsucht automatisch mehrere Quellen: die Dateiablagen, die Mails, das Intranet und sogar unsere Website. Die Suchresultate sind sofort sichtbar.» Dieses hohe Tempo erzielt die Suchmaschine dank der systematischen Indexierung der Dateien: Nach der Installation hat Enterprise Search automatisch 1,1 Millionen Dokumente indexiert. Neu erstellte Dateien werden ebenso automatisch erfasst, und die Asga-Mitarbeitenden finden sie meist auf Anhieb.


«Weil die Suchmaschine einen intuitiven Zugang bietet, muss man sie nicht 'lernen'.»


Beat Zuberbühler, Leiter Zentrale Dienste bei der Asga 


Eine zentrale Suchmaske mit nützlichen Filtern

Die interne Suchmaschine der Asga hilft also, die Nadeln im Heuhaufen schnell sichtbar zu machen. Gar auf Baumstammformat vergrössern sich diese, wenn die Suche mit Filtern präzisiert wird. «Wir können nach Stichwort, Datenquelle, Dateiformat, Relevanz, Erstellungs- oder Mutationsdatum und Sprache filtern», erklärt Beat Zuberbühler. Besteht nicht die Gefahr, dass Mitarbeitende auf der Ergebnisliste Dateien sehen, die für sie geheim sind – zum Beispiel Lohnlisten oder Mails mit privaten Inhalten? Zuberbühler winkt ab: «Das ist sauber geregelt. Die Lösung übernimmt automatisch die Zugriffsberechtigungen aus unserem Active Directory. Deshalb muss sich auch niemand für die Suchmaschine anmelden; sie startet nach dem 'normalen Log-in' bei Arbeitsbeginn automatisch.»


Häufig verwendete Suchbegriffe sind als Kacheln dargestellt.

Schnell auf dem Punkt: Häufig verwendete Suchbegriffe sind als Kacheln dargestellt.


Der menschliche Faktor entscheidet

Wer sucht, der findet bei der Asga heute schneller. Doch mit der Technik alleine sei es nicht getan, ist Beat Zuberbühler überzeugt. «Das Verhalten der Mitarbeitenden ist ein wichtiger Erfolgsfaktor. Eine bedeutende Zeitersparnis können wir nur dann erreichen, wenn möglichst viele möglichst oft mit der internen Suche arbeiten. Weil die Suchmaschine einen intuitiven Zugang bietet, muss man sie nicht 'lernen'. So sind beispielsweise oft verwendete Suchbegriffe als Kacheln dargestellt.» Zuberbühler ist zuversichtlich, dass das Umdenken bei den Mitarbeitenden gelingt. Er plant schon die nächsten Ausbauschritte: Das CRM will er der Suchmaschine auch zugänglich machen, ebenso das elektronische Archiv inklusive Mail-Archiv mit über 14 Millionen Dokumenten sowie die Wissensplattform Asga-Brain. «Dann hätten wir wirklich einen Rolls Royce», schmunzelt er.


Swisscom Enterprise Search


Swisscom ist exklusive Vertriebspartnerin für die unternehmensweite Suchmaschine Enterprise Search – in der Schweiz, der EU und den USA. Das einfache Setup und die Konfiguration erfolgen auf dedizierter Hardware oder auf virtuellen Maschinen mit Unterstützung von Swisscom Experten. Neu bietet Swisscom Enterprise Search auch als Cloud Service an.

Mehr Infos zu Enterprise Search


Asga Pensionskasse


Asga Pensionskasse

Die Asga ist eine Genossenschaft mit über 12 500 kleinen und mittelgrossen angeschlossenen Unternehmen mit insgesamt 106 000 Versicherten. Sie profiliert sich seit 1962 mit individueller Beratung, gelebter Kundennähe und einem Anlagenportfolio mit klar definierten Risiken.




Newsletter

Jetzt Newsletter abonnieren und über Trends, Branchen-News und Benchmarks informiert bleiben.


Zur Anmeldung




Mehr zum Thema