Background to cloud certificates

Background to cloud certificates

What a trustworthy cloud provider needs to offer


Cloud certificates are an indication of quality and security. But only regular audits provide reliable information about all relevant aspects, from password management to disaster recovery.


Text: Urs Binder,




Trust, but check all the same. This Russian saying is particularly appropriate when talking about the security and reliability of cloud providers and cloud services. Let us take a commercial enterprise as an example: Master data and customer-specific transactions must be treated confidentially and may not fall into the wrong hands – otherwise customers will go elsewhere. Price calculations and agreements with suppliers are only the business of the parties involved. The same applies to personnel files and salary information. And there is no way that companies can do without IT for days at a time or that data might go missing. IT systems are simply too important to the business.


The same applies, of course, when the systems are held in a company's own data centres. If you hand your IT – in whole or in part – over to the cloud, you need a guarantee that the provider has also drawn up and implemented all necessary measures with regard to IT security, data protection and system availability. 


Certification of data centres and cloud services

Certificates provide proof of the trustworthiness of cloud providers, their data centres and their individual cloud services. Here are four examples:

 

  • The “Star Audit ECSA” and the “Star Audit Swiss” with additional Switzerland-specific characteristics from eurocloud.org. However, the ECSA website currently lists only a few certified providers.
  • The “Trusted Cloud” certificate from TÜV Rheinland confirms that a comprehensive range of tests for all relevant aspects has been passed successfully. Familiar SaaS providers such as Salesforce.com or box.com have been certified.
  • The Tier IV Certificate from the Uptime Institute is considered the top quality award worldwide and guarantees the availability, efficiency and security of data centres. The Swisscom data centre in Wankdorf was the first in Switzerland to receive this certificate, in 2014.
  • For PaaS platforms such as the Swisscom Application Cloud, there is a certificate from the Cloud Foundry Foundation.

 

Certificates such as these take into account standards and provisions for various areas of the design and operation of data centres, complemented with cloud-specific features and controls with regard to confidentiality and functionality.


Certificates, however, are only ever a snapshot and do not provide ongoing monitoring of the systems and services. They also do not tell us much about individual customers who took advantage of the services, or their needs.



Tobias Langbein

Tobias Langbein, Security Architect at Swisscom


Transparency and visibility

Regular audits are, however, just what cloud customers really need, according to Tobias Langbein, Security Architect at Swisscom: “The aim is to give customers transparency and visibility across all system characteristics.” If a provider were able to offer this, he says, the customer would benefit in two ways: “Customers can satisfy themselves of the quality and adequate implementation of the services and security measures. They can also use the certifications and reports to demonstrate that they are fulfilling their own due diligence.”


Swisscom as a cloud provider has placed its trust in four pillars:

 

  • The entire company is ISO 27001-certified: This guarantees that a documented information security management system is in place and is maintained, and also describes how security risks are evaluated and treated.
  • An externally audited infrastructure report as per SOC2/ISAE3402: A control system regularly checks and documents various checkpoints such as the execution of backups and the issuing of administrator privileges. At the end of the reporting period, the customer receives a report from one of the “Big 4” auditing firms who evaluate the control system and the measurements taken independently.
  • The Business Continuity Report, which is also audited externally: This certifies the implementation of disaster recovery measures for particularly business-critical applications. This offers the customer accountability regarding the observance of the agreed performance characteristics, such as the time until service is restored in the event of a fault or the maximum duration of a loss of data.
  • Security reporting provides information about the security of managed services: Here, there is a particular focus on patch management, anti-malware measures and the increased robustness of the systems. The customer has a guarantee that the managed services are operated with the highest possible level of security.






Agiles Business und effiziente IT


Swisscom begleitet Sie mit optimalen Data Center- & Cloud-IT-Lösungen.  

 

Zum Angebot




More on the topic

Hintergrund Cloud-Zertifikate

Hintergrund Cloud-Zertifikate

Was ein vertrauenswürdiger Cloud-Provider bieten muss


Cloud-Zertifikate sind ein Indiz für Qualität und Sicherheit. Aber nur regelmässige Audits liefern eine belastbare Aussage über alle relevanten Aspekte von Passwortmanagement bis Disaster Recovery.


Text: Urs Binder,




Vertraue, aber prüfe nach. Dieses russische Sprichwort passt bestens, wenn es um die Sicherheit und Zuverlässigkeit von Cloud-Providern und Cloud-Diensten geht. Nehmen wir als Beispiel ein Handelsunternehmen: Stammdaten und kundenspezifische Transaktionen müssen vertraulich behandelt werden und dürfen keinesfalls in falsche Hände geraten – sonst springen die Kunden ab. Preiskalkulationen und Vereinbarungen mit Lieferanten gehen ausschliesslich die beteiligten Parteien etwas an. Das gleiche gilt für Personaldossiers und Lohndaten. Und dass die IT tagelang nicht funktioniert oder Daten verloren gehen, kommt überhaupt nicht in Frage. Zu wichtig sind die IT-Systeme fürs Geschäft.


Das alles gilt selbstverständlich auch, wenn die Systeme im hauseigenen Rechenzentrum stehen. Wer seine IT jedoch ganz oder teilweise der Cloud übergibt, braucht die Gewähr, dass auch der Provider bezüglich IT-Sicherheit, Datenschutz und Systemverfügbarkeit alle erforderlichen Massnahmen getroffen und umgesetzt hat.


Zertifizierung von Rechenzentren und Cloud-Services

Zertifikate liefern einen Nachweis der Vertrauenswürdigkeit von Cloud-Anbietern, deren Rechenzentren und einzelner Cloud-Services. Vier Beispiele:


  • Der «Star Audit ECSA» und der «Star Audit Swiss» mit zusätzlichen Schweiz-spezifischen Charakteristiken von eurocloud.org. Die ECSA-Website verzeichnet aktuell allerdings erst wenige zertifizierte Anbieter.
  • Das «Trusted Cloud»-Zertifikat vom TÜV Rheinland bestätigt das erfolgreiche Bestehen einer umfassenden Reihe von Prüfungen aller relevanten Aspekte. Bekannte SaaS-Anbieter wie Salesforce.com oder box.com sind zertifiziert.
  • Das Tier-IV-Zertifikat des Uptime Institute gilt als weltweit höchste Qualitätsauszeichnung und garantiert die Verfügbarkeit, Effizienz und Sicherheit von Rechenzentren. Das Swisscom-Data-Center in Wankdorf hat dieses Zertifikat 2014 als erstes Schweizer Rechenzentrum erhalten.
  • Für PaaS-Plattformen wie die Swisscom Application Cloud gibt es ein Zertifikat der Cloud Foundry Foundation.


Solche Zertifizierungen berücksichtigen Normen und Vorgaben für verschiedene Bereiche des Designs und Betriebs von Rechenzentren, ergänzt durch Cloud-spezifische Merkmale und Controls bezüglich Vertraulichkeit und Funktionalität.


Zertifikate stellen jedoch immer bloss eine Momentaufnahme dar, liefern keine fortwährende Überwachung der Systeme und Services und gehen nicht auf die einzelnen Kunden der erbrachten Services und ihre individuellen Bedürfnisse ein.



Tobias Langbein

Tobias Langbein, Security Architect bei Swisscom


Transparenz und Visibilität

Gerade regelmässige Audits seien es aber, was Cloud-Kunden wirklich weiterhelfe, hält Tobias Langbein, Security Architect bei Swisscom, fest: «Das Ziel ist es, dem Kunden Transparenz und Visibilität über alle Systemcharakteristiken zu verschaffen.» Wenn ein Provider dies bieten könne, profitiere der Kunde zweifach: «Er kann sich von der Qualität und der adäquaten Umsetzung der Services und der Sicherheitsmassnahmen überzeugen. Und er kann anhand der Zertifizierungen und Berichte nachweisen, dass er seine eigene Sorgfaltspflicht erfüllt.»


Swisscom als Cloud-Provider setzt dazu auf vier Standbeine:

 

  • Das gesamte Unternehmen ist ISO 27001-zertifiziert: Dies garantiert, dass ein dokumentiertes Information-Security-Management-System vorhanden ist und aufrechterhalten wird und beschreibt, wie Sicherheitsrisiken beurteilt und behandelt werden.
  • Ein extern auditierter Infrastruktur-Report gemäss SOC2/ISAE3402: Ein Kontrollsystem überprüft und dokumentiert regelmässig verschiedene Kontrollpunkte wie etwa die Durchführung von Backups und die Vergabe von Administratorprivilegien. Am Ende der Reporting-Periode erhält der Kunde einen Bericht von einem der «Big 4»-Wirtschaftsprüfer, der das Kontrollsystem und die erfolgten Messungen unabhängig bewertet.
  • Der Business Continuity Report, ebenfalls extern auditiert: Er weist die Umsetzung von Disaster-Recovery-Massnahmen für besonders geschäftskritische Anwendungen nach. Damit bekommt der Kunde Rechenschaft über die Einhaltung der zugesagten Leistungsmerkmale, zum Beispiel die Zeit bis zur Service-Wiederherstellung im Fehlerfall oder die maximale Zeitdauer eines Datenverlusts.
  • Das Security Reporting informiert über die Sicherheit von Managed Services: Hier stehen besonders das Patch-Management, die Anti-Malware-Massnahmen und die Härtung der Systeme im Fokus. Der Kunde hat Gewähr, dass die Managed Services mit bestmöglicher Sicherheit betrieben werden.





Agiles Business und effiziente IT


Swisscom begleitet Sie mit optimalen Data Center- & Cloud-IT-Lösungen.  

 

Zum Angebot




Mehr zum Thema