Success Story





Successful cloud transformation

«Business always wants an immediate solution»


Business has little patience left for IT. This is something Niklaus Wirz, head of IT of Jelmoli, is also aware of. His cloud solution allows him to be efficient, while also able to react promptly to business requirements at any time.


Urs Binder,





The Jelmoli department store, which boasts a long tradition, has been part of the real estate company Swiss Prime Site since 2009, and as «The House of Brands» with a premium range of products, represents its retail area of business. The move to the Swiss Prime Site group brought many changes for the IT: The workforce in the IT department was reduced dramatically. Existing systems were to be superseded by new infrastructure.

 

The IT restructure was pursued within the scope of the comprehensive reorganisation project called «Smart». The decision to transfer the majority of the infrastructure to the cloud proved to be the most successful measure of all from the perspective of IT, as Niklaus Wirz, Head of IT at Jelmoli, notes: «This allowed us to switch from the old AS/400 systems, involving a mix of in-house and hosted services, to a state-of-the-art, uniform environment. The cloud allows us to seize the opportunity to remain agile in a constantly changing market environment.» Jelmoli placed its trust in Swisscom as a partner for the cloud transformation.


Flexible, scalable IT infrastructure

The cloud transformation is now reality at Jelmoli. The company currently operates 34 production servers and 31 test servers in the Swisscom cloud, and uses around 21 terabytes of storage capacity. Wirz values the flexibility and scalability: «We pay for what we need, while not having to create a reserve infrastructure, which would involve considerable investment. We're also set for up-and-coming requirements. For instance, we're able to connect an additional server without any fuss – this with immediate effect and for exactly as long as we need it.»




Almost the entire IT now runs on the cloud infrastructure, including a financial solution from Soreco and the retail and merchandise management system Futura4retail. The file servers, the active directory and domain controllers are still operated in-house, as was previously the case – «which is everything we need to keep operating at a minimum,» as Wirz explains.

 

The cloud can unfold its full potential at Jelmoli in the development and test environment as well: It was also possible to build an exact copy of the production system with identical IP addresses, and without lasting problems, as the IT team at Jelmoli had wanted.


A strong partner with location-based advantages

Niklaus Wirz considers the cloud migration to be a resounding success, which also extends to Swisscom as a partner: «An important advantage is the proximity. We have a central contact partner and can rely on prompt support – even if there was initially potential for improvement in this regard.» Also decisive was Switzerland as a data location, something which is stipulated by the Management Board.

The Smart project originally envisaged outsourcing operational responsibilities to overseas partners. This was not implemented. «Off-shoring, in my opinion, is particularly suitable for development, and any maintenance tasks required for the products developed,» as Wirz states, adding that he prefers proximity and availability, where practicable, for IT partners.

Jelmoli

When Peter Jelmoli-Ciolina opened the first Jelmoli location in 1833, his idea of doing business based on fixed prices, with no more bargaining, was revolutionary. Over the last 183 years, the company has had a history characterised by a wealth of changes. Jelmoli is now part of Swiss Prime Site and – as the largest premium department store in Switzerland – now offers a product range encompassing around two million articles from almost one thousand of the most popular brands in the world in its 6-storey, 33,000 square metre premises in Zurich’s Bahnhofstrasse. More than 1,000 qualified employees ensure an unforgettable shopping experience and competent advice.


«The cloud will allow us to remain agile in a market environment characterised by change.»


Niklaus Wirz, Head of IT, Jelmoli


Cloud-based security

When Niklaus Wirz first assumed his position as the head of IT at Jelmoli in December 2015, the security provisions required further improvements, and the old, failure-prone server infrastructure needed to be replaced.

 

A new security strategy was sought. For Wirz, it was clear that the cloud can also provide benefits in this regard. Today, a managed firewall in the Swisscom cloud, supplemented by local firewalls, ensures secure mail and Internet traffic without malware infections. Additional security for clients, regardless of their location and type of device, is offered by Zscaler Web Security as a cloud service.



A look into the future

Digitalisation is also an issue for Jelmoli, despite its main focus being personal, on-site service. The company has been operating an online shop of its own on jelmoli.ch for some time now, with a product range carefully selected from the items available in-store. For Wirz, even more important than the digital sales approach is the digitalisation of conventional business processes, such as those using the planned signature solution for automatic creditor registration and scanning of invoices. «That used to be done with stamps and manual signatures. Swisscom can also provide us with support for projects like this.»


Wirz expects Jelmoli to become even more agile in future in terms of IT. «Internal customers are no longer willing to create an interminably long project application, and instead want an immediate solution. This puts a lot of expectations on the IT»





Cloud infrastructure for Jelmoli


Dynamic Computing Services:

  • All application servers in the Swisscom Cloud
  • 34 production servers
  • 31 test servers
  • 21 TB of storage

 

Managed Firewall:

Company network:

  • LAN-Interconnect Service (LAN-I) mit SecureCER Verschlüsselung

Secure Web Gateway:

  • zScaler Web Security



More on the topic

Erfolgreiche Cloud-Transformation

«Das Business will immer sofort eine Lösung»


Das Business hat wenig Geduld mit der IT. Das weiss auch Niklaus Wirz, Leiter IT von Jelmoli. Mit seiner Cloud-Lösung ist er effizient, kann aber jederzeit schnell auf Business-Anforderungen reagieren.


Urs Binder, 01




Niklaus Wirz, Leiter IT von Jelmoli

Seit 2009 gehört der traditionsreiche Department Store Jelmoli zur Immobiliengesellschaft Swiss Prime Site und bildet als «The House of Brands» mit einem Premium-Sortiment deren Geschäftsfeld Retail. Der Wechsel zur Swiss-Prime-Site-Gruppe brachte für die IT Veränderungen mit sich: Der Headcount der IT-Abteilung wurde massiv reduziert. Die bestehenden Systeme sollten durch eine neue Infrastruktur abgelöst werden.


Die Umstellung der IT wurde im Rahmen des umfassenden Reorganisationsprojekts «Smart» vorangetrieben. Als erfolgreichste Massnahme aus IT-Sicht erwies sich der Entscheid, den grössten Teil der Infrastruktur in die Cloud auszulagern, wie Niklaus Wirz, Leiter IT bei Jelmoli festhält: «Wir kamen so von den alten AS/400-Systemen und einem Mix aus Inhouse- und gehosteten Diensten zu einer modernen, einheitlichen Umgebung. Mit der Cloud nehmen wir die Chance wahr, in einem sich ständig verändernden Marktumfeld agil zu bleiben.» Für die Cloud-Transformation setzte Jelmoli auf Swisscom als Partner.


Flexible, skalierbare IT-Infrastruktur

Bei Jelmoli ist die Cloud-Transformation Realität. Das Unternehmen betreibt in der Swisscom-Cloud aktuell 34 Produktions- und 31 Testserver und nutzt rund 21 Terabyte Speicher. Wirz schätzt die Flexibilität und Skalierbarkeit: «Wir zahlen, was wir brauchen und müssen nicht mit erheblichen Investitionen eine Reserveinfrastruktur aufbauen. Und wir sind für kommende Bedürfnisse gerüstet, können zum Beispiel einen zusätzlichen Server unkompliziert dazu schalten, und zwar sofort und genau so lange, wie wir ihn benötigen.»



Niklaus Wirz im Lager von Jelmoli

Auf der Cloud-Infrastruktur läuft heute fast die gesamte IT, darunter eine Finanzlösung von Soreco und das Warenwirtschaftssystem Futura4retail. Nach wie vor inhouse betrieben werden die Fileserver, die Active-Directory- und Domänencontroller – «also alles, was wir für einen Minimalbetrieb benötigen», meint Wirz.


Ihre Vorteile kann die Cloud bei Jelmoli auch bei der Entwicklungs- und Testumgebung ausspielen: Es war ohne nachhaltige Probleme möglich, eine genaue Kopie der Produktionssysteme mit identischer IP-Adressierung zu bauen, die das IT-Team von Jelmoli wünschte.


Starker Partner mit Standortvorteil

Die Cloud-Migration sieht Niklaus Wirz als vollen Erfolg, auch was den Partner Swisscom betrifft: «Ein wichtiger Pluspunkt ist die Nähe. Wir haben zentrale Ansprechpartner und können auf zeitnahe Unterstützung zählen – auch wenn es hier zu Beginn noch Verbesserungspotential gegeben hat.» Ebenfalls entscheidend sei der Datenstandort Schweiz, der seitens der Geschäftsleitung vorgeschrieben ist.


Das Projekt Smart sah ursprünglich auch die Auslagerung von Betriebsaufgaben zu ausländischen Partnern vor. Dies wurde nicht so umgesetzt. «Offshoring eignet sich meiner Meinung nach insbesondere fürs Development und allfällige Wartungsaufgaben an den entwickelten Produkten», stellt Wirz fest und meint, er setze bei IT-Partnern wo praktikabel auf Nähe und Greifbarkeit.

Jelmoli

Als Peter Jelmoli-Ciolina 1833 den ersten Jelmoli-Standort eröffnete, war die Idee eines Geschäftes mit fixen Preisen, bei denen nicht mehr gefeilscht wird, revolutionär. In den vergangenen 183 Jahren durchlief das Unternehmen eine abwechslungsreiche Geschichte. Heute ist Jelmoli Teil von Swiss Prime Site und führt an der Zürcher Bahnhofstrasse als grösster Premium Department Store der Schweiz auf 6 Etagen und 33'000 Quadratmetern Fläche ein Sortiment mit rund zwei Millionen Artikeln von knapp tausend der angesagtesten Marken der Welt. Für ein unvergessliches Einkaufserlebnis und kompetente Beratung sorgen mehr als 1000 qualifizierte Mitarbeitende.


«Mit der Cloud bleiben wir in einem von Veränderung geprägten Marktumfeld agil.»


Niklaus Wirz, Leiter IT, Jelmoli


Sicherheit aus der Cloud

Als Niklaus Wirz im Dezember 2015 seine Stelle als Leiter IT bei Jelmoli antrat, galt es die Sicherheitsvorkehrungen weiter zu verbessern und die von Ausfällen geprägte alte Serverinfrastruktur zu ersetzen.


Gefragt war eine neue Security-Strategie. Für Wirz war klar, dass auch hier die Cloud zum Zug kommen kann. Heute sorgt eine Managed Firewall in der Swisscom-Cloud, ergänzt durch lokale Firewalls, für sicheren Mail- und Internetverkehr ohne Malware-Infektionen. Zusätzliche Sicherheit für die Clients, unabhängig von Standort und Gerätetyp, bietet Zscaler Web Security als Cloud-Service.


Niklaus Wirz, draussen

Blick in die Zukunft

Digitalisierung ist auch für Jelmoli trotz starkem Fokus auf persönliche Bedienung vor Ort ein Thema. So betreibt das Unternehmen seit einiger Zeit auf jelmoli.ch einen eigenen Online-Shop mit einem kuratierten Sortiment aus dem stationären Angebot. Noch wichtiger als die digitale Kundenansprache ist für Wirz die Digitalisierung herkömmlicher Geschäftsprozesse, wie etwa durch die geplante Signaturlösung mit automatischer Kreditorenerfassung und Scanning von Rechnungen. «Das wurde bisher mit Stempeln und manueller Unterschrift erledigt. Auch bei solchen Vorhaben kann uns Swisscom unterstützen.»


Wirz erwartet, dass Jelmoli bezüglich IT künftig noch agiler wird. «Die internen Kunden sind nicht mehr bereit, einen ellenlangen Projektantrag zu erstellen, sondern wollen sofort eine Lösung. Hier ist die IT stark gefordert.»





Cloud-Infrastruktur für Jelmoli


Dynamic Computing Services:

  • Alle Applikationsserver in der Swisscom Cloud
  • 34 Produktionsserver
  • 31 Testserver
  • 21 TB Storage

 

Managed Firewall:

Unternehmensvernetzung:

  • LAN-Interconnect Service (LAN-I) mit SecureCER Verschlüsselung

Secure Web Gateway:

  • zScaler Web Security



Mehr zum Thema