Joint Low Power Network from Swiss Post and Swisscom

LPN

The Low Power Network as the basis for the Internet of Postal Things


The digital networking of things offers countless opportunities for new services, especially in the areas Swiss Post is active in. Swiss Post and Swisscom have been working on a joint Low Power Network (LPN) since the spring of 2017.


Text and images: Swiss Post, 08 november 2017




Swiss Post provides Swisscom with suitable locations for positioning additional gateways. In return, Swiss Post can use the network for its own services and focus on developing new applications.

In the meantime, Swiss Post has already implemented different applications on the Low Power Network, and has tested them for feasibility and cost-effectiveness in a Proof of Concept.


Smart ordering in warehouse logistics

A hospital in Zurich has fitted out a whole range of medical equipment cabinets with smart buttons. All the nurse on duty needs to do is press the right button every time a certain medical supply threatens to run out. The supplier then receives a message over the Internet and replenishes the supply, thus making ordering a quick and simple affair.



Service on Demand – On-call facility management at the push of a button

Service on Demand is a solution for efficient facility management from Post Real Estate. The Facility Management department has installed smart buttons at the Swiss Post headquarters, which are connected to the Internet over the LoRaWAN wireless technology. So, if something needs to be cleaned, or a coffee machine is broken, for example, the service staff can be summoned with a simple push of a button. This make unnecessary scheduled tours to already full crockery cupboards and empty document disposal containers, or fully functioning coffee machines and printers now a thing of the past. Service on Demand only summons Facility Management when they are needed. To implement this service, LPN connectivity was supplemented with local indoor gateways to guarantee wall-to-wall internal LPN coverage.



Service on Demand only summons Facility Management when they are needed.



Smart postbox

Swiss Post has created a prototype of a smart postbox. It is equipped with sensors and connected to the Internet over the LoRaWAN wireless technology. The technology allows indicators to be measured and periodically transmitted using a minimum of energy. This includes noise or air pollution indicators which the public authorities may find useful. The postbox also measures the number of movements the flap makes. Offset against the average number of items posted, this indicator can be used to calculate the level to which the postbox is full.

The postbox is also fitted with a display unit that uses the same e-ink technology we are familiar with from e-books. When the image display is static, the electronic paper consumes no power. Electricity only flows when the image changes. These units can display different types of information, such as postbox emptying times, the next recycling paper and garden waste collection dates and other community information.

In a joint project with the Swiss Federal Office for Civil Protection (FOCP), Swiss Post is also testing the smart postbox as a channel for publishing information in the event of a crisis. Since the unit does not depend on the supply of electricity from the grid, it could be used as a channel for broadcasting information to the population, particularly in the event of a prolonged nationwide blackout. The smart postbox would continue to work for weeks on batteries alone, and could be used to transmit reports on current events by the FOCP or the civil protection authorities in charge of operations.




Smart parcels as a further application

The Internet of Things also opens up new potential for Swiss Post in terms of monitoring and tracking items of mail. A mobile sensor, for instance, which is enclosed in a parcel, can continuously measure and transmit indicators, such as temperature, during transportation. This can show, for example, that the cold chain for perishable goods was not interrupted at any point during transportation. If it is, the sensor triggers a message. And with sensitive shipments in transit, it sends a warning if a parcel is opened without permission.



Pathways to the smart city

With applications like these, the LPN network also helps make a smart city truly smart. Postal services and logistics providers can make a highly significant contribution to this. Every day, they travel across the whole of Switzerland in a whole range of vehicles and, in some cases, operate a large network of access points. Networking this dense physical presence even more effectively offers great potential. For example, in the future, postboxes and post-bus stops could collect air quality or noise data as a basis for developing smart solutions to the problems and needs of cities.



About the joint cooperation with Swisscom

“With Swisscom, we have a competent partner in the field of LoRaWAN technology at our side. The quality of teamwork with the technical contact people at Swisscom and Swisscom Broadcast is excellent and they provide us with close support in implementing the LoRa devices. Swisscom receives our change requests in the LPN portal (management software) and, if feasible, implements them as a function of their network server provider activity. We highly appreciate having a direct point of contact for selective expansions in the reception range for the Low Power Network and that our needs are then incorporated into the roll out planning at Swisscom. We can also draw on Swisscom’s technical knowledge at any time when planning and positioning our indoor gateways and they also supply us with test devices for performing installations. So far, we can certainly look back on very successful cooperative work overall, and really appreciate the very agreeable collaboration with the teams at Swisscom.” - Dominic Bögli, Project Manager IoT, Swiss Post.





LPN Experience Center

The top floor of the Swisscom Shop at Badenerstrasse 18 in Zurich Stauffacher is entirely dedicated to the Low Power Network. SME and enterprise business customers can sign up for a tour. Interesting live demos and insights into numerous interesting applications await your visit. If you are interested, please contact Roger Kaspar.





Newsletter

Subscribe to the newsletter now and stay informed about trends, industry news and benchmarks.





More on the topic

Gemeinsames Low Power Network von Post und Swisscom

LPN

Das Low Power Network als Grundlage für das Internet der postalischen Dinge


Die digitale Vernetzung von Dingen bietet unzählige Möglichkeiten für neue Dienstleistungen – gerade auch in den Tätigkeitsfeldern der Post. Seit Frühjahr 2017 arbeiten die Post und Swisscom für ein gemeinsames Low Power Network (LPN).


Text und Bilder : Die Schweizerische Post, 08. November 2017




Die Post stellt Swisscom geeignete Standorte für die Platzierung von weiteren Empfangsstationen (Gateways) zur Verfügung. Im Gegenzug kann die Post das Netz für ihre eigenen Dienstleistungen nutzen und sich auf die Entwicklung neuer Anwendungen konzentrieren.

In der Zwischenzeit hat die Post unterschiedliche Anwendungsfälle auf dem Low Power Network umgesetzt und in einem Proof of Concept auf deren Machbarkeit und Wirtschaftlichkeit getestet.


«Smart Ordering» in der Lagerlogistik

Ein Zürcher Spital hat zahlreiche Medizinalgüterschränke mit Smart Buttons ausgestattet. Die Pflegekräfte betätigen jeweils den entsprechenden Knopf, wenn medizinisches Verbrauchsmaterial zur Neige geht. Der Lieferant erhält via Internet eine Meldung und schickt Nachschub. Die Bestellung wird zu einer raschen und unkomplizierten Angelegenheit.



«Service on Demand» – ein Knopfdruck und das Facility Management ist zur Stelle

Mit «Service on Demand» bietet Post Immobilien die Lösung für effizientes Facility Management. Am Hauptsitz der Post hat das Facility Management im Gebäude an Geräten Smart Buttons platziert, die über die Funktechnologie LoRaWAN mit dem Internet verbunden sind. Muss beispielsweise etwas gereinigt werden oder ist eine Kaffeemaschine defekt, wird mit einem simplen Knopfdruck das Servicepersonal aufgeboten. Geplante Rundgänge zu aufgefüllten Geschirrtheken und leeren Aktencontainern, intakten Kaffeemaschinen oder funktionierenden Druckern gehören der Vergangenheit an. «Service on Demand» ruft das Facility Management nur nach Bedarf zum Einsatz. Für diesen Service wurde die LPN-Konnektivität mittels lokalen internen Empfangsstationen (Indoor Gateways) ergänzt, um eine vollumfängliche interne LPN-Abdeckung zu gewährleisten.



«Service on Demand» ruft das Facility Management nur nach Bedarf zum Einsatz.



Intelligenter Briefeinwurf

Die Post hat einen Prototypen eines intelligenten Briefeinwurfs erstellt. Der Prototyp ist mit Sensoren ausgestattet und über die Funktechnologie LoRaWAN mit dem Internet verbunden. Damit können mit minimalem Energieverbrauch Werte gemessen und periodisch übermittelt werden. Dazu gehören z.B. Lärm- oder Luftwerte, die für Behörden von Nutzen sein können. Weiter misst der Briefeinwurf die Klappenbewegungen. Aufgerechnet mit einer durchschnittlichen Einwurfmenge, kann von diesem Wert der Füllstand abgeleitet werden.

Eine Anzeigeeinheit basierend auf der von E-Books bekannten E-Ink-Technologie ist ebenfalls integriert. Bei stehender Bildanzeige verbraucht dieses elektronische Papier keine Energie. Einzig bei einem Bildwechsel ist ein Stromfluss nötig. Auf diesen Anzeigen können verschiedene Arten von Informationen dargestellt werden – z.B. Leerungszeiten, die nächsten Daten der Altpapiersammlung und Grünabfuhr oder weitere Gemeindeinformationen.

In einem gemeinsamen Projekt mit dem Bundesamt für Bevölkerungsschutz (BABS) erprobt die Post ausserdem den Briefeinwurf als Publikationskanal im Krisenfall. Aufgrund der völlig unabhängigen Stromversorgung könnte dieser Kanal insbesondere im Falle eines länger andauernden nationalen Stromausfalls zweckmässig sein, um die Bevölkerung zu informieren. Der Briefeinwurf würde noch Wochen im Batteriebetrieb funktionieren und aktuelle Ereignismeldungen des BABS bzw. der zuständigen Führungs- und Einsatzorganisationen im Bevölkerungsschutz könnten übertragen werden.




Smarte Pakete als weiteres Anwendungsfeld

Auch in der Sendungsüberwachung und -verfolgung eröffnet das Internet der Dinge für die Post neue Perspektiven. So kann ein mobiler Sensor, welcher einem Paket beigelegt wird, während des Transports laufend Werte wie etwa die Temperatur messen und übermitteln. Dadurch kann beispielsweise ausgewiesen werden, dass die Kühlkette verderblicher Waren nie unterbrochen wurde. Falls doch, löst der Sensor eine Benachrichtigung aus. Und im Falle sensibler Sendungen verschickt er eine Warnung, falls ein Paket unerlaubterweise geöffnet wird.



Wege zur Smart City

Durch solche Anwendungen trägt das LPN-Netzwerk auch dazu bei, eine Smart City tatsächlich smart zu machen. Postdienstleister und Logistikanbieter können hierfür einen ganz zentralen Beitrag leisten. Sie fahren täglich mit den unterschiedlichsten Fahrzeugen durch die ganze Schweiz und betreiben teilweise ein grosses Netz an Zugangspunkten. Wird diese dichte physische Präsenz noch besser vernetzt, hat dies grosses Potenzial. So könnten in Zukunft z.B. Briefeinwürfe oder PostAuto-Haltestellen Daten zur Luftqualität oder Lärmbelastung erheben, um davon ausgehend smarte Lösungen für die Probleme und Bedürfnisse von Städten zu entwickeln.



Über die Zusammenarbeit mit Swisscom

«Mit Swisscom haben wir einen kompetenten Partner im Bereich der LoRaWAN-Technologie. Die Zusammenarbeit mit den technischen Ansprechpartnern von Swisscom und Swisscom Broadcast ist ausgesprochen gut und wir erhalten bei der Implementierung der LoRa-Geräte jeweils enge Unterstützung. Allfällige Änderungswünsche innerhalb des LPN-Portals (Management Software) werden bei Swisscom entgegengenommen und in Abhängigkeit mit deren Network Server Provider Actility nach Möglichkeit umgesetzt. Besonders schätzen wir, dass wir für punktuelle Erweiterungen des Empfangsbereiches des Low Power Networks eine direkte Ansprechstelle haben und unsere Bedürfnisse dann auch in die Rolloutplanung von Swisscom einfliessen. Darüber hinaus können wir bei der Planung und Positionierung von Indoor Gateways jederzeit auf das technische Know-how von Swisscom zurückgreifen und werden im Hinblick auf die Installation dann auch mit Test-Devices bedient. Insgesamt blicken wir auf eine bislang sehr gelungene Kooperation zurück und schätzen die angenehme Zusammenarbeit mit Swisscom.» - Dominic Bögli, Projektleiter IoT, die Schweizerische Post.





LPN Experience Center

Die obere Etage des Swisscom Shops am Zürcher Stauffacher (Badenerstrasse 18) ist ganz dem Low Power Network gewidmet. KMU- und Enterprise-Geschäftskunden können sich für eine Führung anmelden. Interessante Live-Demos und Einblicke in zahlreiche interessante Anwendungsmöglichkeiten warten auf Sie. Interessiert? Kontaktieren Sie Roger Kaspar.





Newsletter

Jetzt Newsletter abonnieren und über Trends, Branchen-News und Benchmarks informiert bleiben.





Mehr zum Thema