Swisscom’s data scientists

A portrait of five data scientists 

“Companies need to learn how to use data science sensibly”


Talented linguists, gold miners, business experts, researchers of the future – Swisscom’s data scientists are real all-rounders. Their personal qualities make their work unique.


Text: Christoph Widmer, Images: Philipp Zinniker,  December 2017




They are called Andreea, Mohamed, Gaël, Sergio and Florian. They are from five different countries and have quite different professional backgrounds. What they share is a passion for data and the analysis of it, and they call themselves data scientists. We will introduce you to five personalities from different units within Swisscom and show you how their character traits and interests influence their work.


“My communication skills helped me move forward”

Andreea Hossmann has a real gift for language. In addition to her mother tongue, the Romanian native can also speak French, English, Spanish, Italian – and fluent German. “Communication skills are often not a very strong trait of developers,” she says. “But it is one of my strengths. After two years and a period of maternity leave, I now manage a team of ten working in the area of Artificial Intelligence – not least thanks to my encouraging and flexible supervisor as well as to the full support of my family.”



As she did her PhD at ETH Zurich, Andreea Hossmann was able to add German to her list of foreign languages.



Hossmann’s team developed, among other things, a system for the Customer Support department that analyses customer queries and automatically assigns them to the appropriate specialist as well as a tool that allows contracts between Swisscom and its customers to be categorised. In the future, they intend to make the interaction with these systems more natural by using speech recognition. Hossmann doesn’t just bring her knowledge of foreign languages into the mix. She earned her degree in telecommunications engineering in France – and added on a Master of Research and a year abroad at the UIUC in Illinois. She received her doctorate from ETH Zurich – this was due to her interest in languages: “The options I was considering were Cambridge, Oxford or ETH Zurich”, she says. “I chose ETH Zurich because I also wanted to learn German.” Hossmann now lives with her husband and two children in Bern.

Her research background is very often a great asset also at Swisscom – either through her work on data analysis or in the collaboration with the EPFL in Lausanne, where her team is developing new AI topics together with EPFL professors and students. Her programming does, however, tend to fall by the wayside. But Hossmann knows how to handle that: “I work from home one day a week. I make sure that there are no upcoming meetings, so that I can concentrate on programming.” In this way, she also manages to keep good command of her programming languages.


“As a data scientist, you need to be prepared to get your hands dirty with data”

For Mohamed Kafsi, human mobility wasn’t just the topic of his PhD; he has also been investigating it for the last two years at Swisscom: Kafsi works as a data scientist at Swisscom Big Data and Mobility. He is currently using mobile phone connectivity data to reconstruct and predict the flows of people’s movement. “We help cities to better understand mobility,” he says. “With our City Insights solution, we can continuously provide informative movement data to urban planners, for instance.”



Thanks to his internships at Deutsche Telekom and Nokia, Mohamed Kafsi was able to gain telecommunications knowledge during his degree.



The main thing Kafsi needs to do for his work is to dig. “From my point of view, data scientists cannot shy away from a hands-on approach, including rummaging through the data,” he says. “Around 80 percent of my work is in data preparation. Only when the data has been modelled can I start to analyse it and find insights.” To this end, Kafsi also acquired telecommunication-specific knowledge: When he was 19, he left his homeland of Tunisia to study Communication Systems at the EPFL in Lausanne – and completed internships at Deutsche Telekom and Nokia.

He also deems it essential to have a good dollop of curiosity. It is what motivates Kafsi to try out new sports, for example, to browse through books or to peer through his camera viewfinder when taking photos – and he is happy to get a break from data when at home. “Luckily my wife isn’t a data scientist, but rather a lawyer,” laughs the new father. 


“Thanks to big data, we are closer to the user experience”

As a data scientist on the Big Data Network Intelligence Squad, Gaël Grosch helps the network engineers to gain an overview of all incidents that occur in the Swisscom network. “We collect network data and try to detect failures,” he explains. “Thanks to the various types of data, we can trace the events that occur during an entire phone call and thus better reveal why calls are sometimes dropped.” Grosch and his team developed the analysis platform Nicer for this purpose: it gives users an overview of network events such as calls, text messages and data usage – in near real-time.



Gaël Grosch considers Switzerland to be very advanced technologically, but he says that companies still need to learn how to use data science effectively.



At the heart of Grosch’s work lies a single principle: the benefit to Swisscom. To do his work, he needs a deep understanding of the business. That is the only way, he says, to really be able to implement business-optimising solutions – instead of just generating some pretty statistics. According to him, that is one area where Switzerland needs to catch up: “Business-oriented US companies such as Palantir are able to convey an ideal of data science,” he explains. “But an understanding of how Big Data can really be put to use for a business is in fact still quite rare in this country. Many Swiss companies need to first learn how to use data science sensibly and effectively.”

From a technological point of view, however, he says that Switzerland is already very advanced. Grosch particularly noticed this during his Communication Systems degree at EPFL in Lausanne, when he completed a semester abroad in Colombia. “Their entire infrastructure was slower than ours, the Internet didn’t always work and it took a long time to find someone who could help you. In Switzerland, on the other hand, you can always work efficiently, anywhere and at any time.”


“I have to be as versatile as a Swiss Army knife”

A knowledge of computer science, mathematics, statistics, abstract thinking, analytical abilities, business know-how and an adeptness in new technologies: for Sergio Jimenez, those are the basic skills of a data scientist. Physicists are one group of people who can demonstrate these abilities. “That is why physicists are in such demand as data scientists,” he says. “Many of my former PhD colleagues now work in data science.”



For Sergio Jimenez Otero, data scientists and physicists share certain core skills.



The native Spaniard himself studied general, experimental and theoretical physics at the University of Glasgow. After he obtained his PhD in experimental physics at the EPFL in Lausanne (on the topic: “Why is there more matter than antimatter?”) and also did research on this topic at CERN, Jimenez then became a consultant at Swisscom. He helps internal and external customers to optimise their business processes – by drawing up business cases, creating proofs of concept and developing tailor-made solutions for the customer. The solutions include predictive analytics and the classification of documents: “One of our tasks is to help companies gain an overview of their text data,” he explains. “That allows them to find, for instance, legal documents faster and to examine them in a more structured manner.

In his free time, Jimenez doesn’t just enjoy watching TV series; biking and swimming are also among his hobbies – and for a good reason: “I find sport particularly important as it also promotes dynamism and creativity at work.”


“I can use data to predict the future”

As a data scientist within the area of the Industrial Internet of Things, Florian Pitschi develops solutions for predictive maintenance, among others for the air-conditioning company Walter Meier. “Thanks to sensor data, service usage data and machine data, we can detect which heat pumps have a high probability of failing soon,” he explains. “With our solution, the service technicians at Walter Meier can detect and remedy problems ahead of time.”



As a data scientist, Florian Pitschi can use data to create real added value.



As a “machine oracle”, Pitschi extracts real benefits out of data. And that’s what he always wanted to be able to do. After his degree in computer science and physics in Ulm and his doctorate in China, however, he first worked as a business intelligence consultant – but he found that it didn’t satisfy him: “It was never enough for me,” he says. “You display the data, perhaps you calculate a few trends, but you don’t learn very much from it. I wanted – and still want – to use data to create real added value, to optimise processes and to predict the future.”

Pitschi also trains these skills by taking part in events such as machine learning competitions: “I once even had to teach a skeleton how to learn to walk by itself, and I’ve used passenger data to predict which Titanic passengers would survive the disaster and which wouldn’t.” Pitschi is also an enthusiastic beach volleyball player – and that’s without knowing the final result. “That’s the exciting thing about it: in sport, sometimes the underdog wins.”



Newsletter

Subscribe to the newsletter now and stay informed about trends, industry news and benchmarks.





More on the topic

Die Data Scientists von Swisscom

5 Datenwissenschaftler im Portrait

«Unternehmen müssen erst lernen, wie man Data Science sinnvoll einsetzt»


Sprachtalent, Goldgräber, Businessversteher, Zukunftsforscher – die Data Scientists von Swisscom sind unterschiedliche Multitalente. Ihre persönlichen Eigenschaften machen ihre Arbeit einzigartig.


Text: Christoph Widmer, Bilder: Philipp Zinniker, . Dezember 2017




Sie heissen Andreea, Mohamed, Gael, Sergio oder Florian. Sie kommen aus fünf verschiedenen Ländern und haben völlig unterschiedliche Werdegänge. Gemeinsam ist ihnen ihre Leidenschaft für Daten und deren Analyse und sie nennen sich Data Scientist. Wir stellen fünf Persönlichkeiten aus verschiedenen Bereichen der Swisscom vor und zeigen, wie ihre Wesenszüge und Interessen die Arbeit beeinflussen.


«Meine Kommunikationsfähigkeit hat mich weitergebracht»

Andreea Hossmann ist ein wahres Sprachtalent: Neben ihrer Muttersprache beherrscht die gebürtige Rumänin Französisch, Englisch, Spanisch, Italienisch – und spricht auch fliessend Deutsch. «Kommunikationsfähigkeit ist bei Entwicklern traditionell nicht so stark ausgeprägt», sagt sie. «Bei mir ist es aber eine Stärke. Nach zwei Jahren und einem Mutterschaftsurlaub leite ich heute ein 10-köpfiges Team im Bereich Artificial Intelligence – was ich natürlich auch meinem fördernden, flexiblen Vorgesetzten und der vollen Unterstützung meiner Familie verdanke.»



Da sie ihren PhD an der ETH erlangte, lernte Andreea Hossmann auch Deutsch als Fremdsprache.



Hossmanns Team entwickelte etwa ein System für den Customer Support, das Kundenanfragen analysiert und automatisch dem entsprechenden Spezialisten zuweist. Oder ein Tool, mit dem sich die Verträge zwischen Swisscom und ihren Kunden kategorisieren lassen. In Zukunft soll das auch mittels Spracherkennung geschehen. Dafür bringt Hossmann nicht nur Fremdsprachenkenntnisse mit: Sie absolvierte in Frankreich ein Studium als Telekommunikationsingenieurin – mit einem zusätzlichen Master of Research und einem Austauschjahr an der UIUC in Illinois. Den Doktortitel erlangte sie an der ETH – wegen ihres Sprachinteresses: «Für mich kamen Cambridge, Oxford oder die ETH in Frage», sagt sie. «Die Wahl fiel auf die ETH, weil ich auch noch Deutsch lernen wollte.» Heute lebt Hossmann mit ihrem Mann und zwei Kindern in Bern.


Ihr Forschungshintergrund kommt auch bei Swisscom immer wieder zum Einsatz – sei es bei der Datenanalyse oder der Zusammenarbeit mit der EPFL, wo ihr Team zusammen mit Professoren und Studenten neue AI-Themen entwickeln. Selber zu programmieren bleibt da oft auf der Strecke. Hossmann weiss sich aber zu helfen: «Ich bin einen Tag in der Woche im Home Office. Dann schaue ich wirklich, dass keine Meetings anstehen, so dass ich mich voll aufs Programmieren konzentrieren kann.» So kommen auch die Programmiersprachen nicht zu kurz.


«Als Data Scientist muss man bereit sein, sich die Hände an Daten schmutzig zu machen»

Mohamed Kafsi beschäftigte sich nicht nur während seines PhD mit der Mobilität von Menschen, sondern untersucht sie seit zwei Jahren auch bei Swisscom: Kafsi arbeitet als Data Scientist bei Swisscom Big Data and Mobility. Und nutzt nun Mobilfunkdaten, um die Bewegungsströme von Menschen zu rekonstruieren und vorauszusagen. «Wir helfen Städten dabei, Mobilität besser zu verstehen», sagt er. «Mit unserer Lösung City Insights erhalten etwa Städteplaner kontinuierlich aussagekräftige Bewegungsdaten.»



Dank seinen Praktika bei Deutsche Telekom und Nokia konnte Mohamed Kafsi bereits während dem Studium Telko-Wissen sammeln.



Für seine Arbeit muss Kafsi vor allem eines: Graben. «Aus meiner Sicht dürfen sich Data Scientists nicht davor scheuen, zuzupacken und in Daten zu wühlen», sagt er. «Rund 80 Prozent meiner Arbeit besteht aus Datenaufbereitung. Erst nach dem Modellieren der Daten kann ich anfangen, sie zu analysieren und Insights zu finden.» Dazu erlangte Kafsi auch Telko-spezifisches Wissen: Er verliess mit 19 Jahren sein Heimatland Tunesien, um an der EPFL Communication Systems zu studieren – und absolvierte Praktika bei der Deutschen Telekom und Nokia.


Wichtig sei aber auch die nötige Portion Neugier. So probiert Kafsi gerne neue Sportarten aus, stöbert in Büchern oder späht beim Fotografieren durch den Sucher seiner Kamera – und freut sich, dass sich zuhause nicht alles um Daten dreht: «Zum Glück ist meine Frau kein Data Scientist, sondern Anwältin», lacht der frischgebackene Vater. 


«Dank Big Data sind wir näher an der User Experience»

Als Data Scientist bei der Big Data Network Intelligence Squad hilft Gael Grosch den Netzwerk-Ingenieuren dabei, einen Überblick über alle Vorfälle im Swisscom-Netz zu gewinnen. «Wir sammeln Netzwerkdaten und versuchen, Ausfälle aufzuspüren», erklärt er. «Dank der unterschiedlichen Daten können wir etwa die Ereignisse während eines ganzen Anrufs nachverfolgen und so besser zeigen, wieso dieser unterbrochen wurde.» Dafür entwickelten Grosch und sein Team die Analyse-Plattform Nicer: Sie liefert Anwendern eine Übersicht von Netzwerk-Events wie Anrufe, SMS und Datennutzung – nahezu in Echtzeit.



Gaël Grosch sieht die Schweiz zwar als technologisch weit fortgeschritten – doch Unternehmen müssten noch lernen, wie man Data Science effektiv nutzt.



Im Kern von Groschs Arbeit steht immer eines: der Nutzen für Swisscom. Ein tiefgreifendes Business-Verständnis ist dazu zwingend nötig. Nur so könne man wirklich geschäftsoptimierende Lösungen lancieren – und nicht nur hübsche Statistiken erzeugen. Gerade da habe die Schweiz Nachholbedarf: «Business-orientierte US-Unternehmen wie Palantir vermitteln ein Ideal von Data Science», erklärt er. «Doch das Verständnis dafür, wie man sich Big Data fürs Business wirklich zu Nutze machen kann, ist in unseren Kreisen in Wahrheit nur selten vorhanden. Viele Schweizer Unternehmen müssen erst noch lernen, wie man Data Science sinnvoll und effektiv einsetzt.»


Aus technologischer Sicht sei die Schweiz aber sehr weit fortgeschritten. Das merkte Grosch vor allem während seines EPFL-Studiums in Communication Systems, als er ein Austauschsemester in Kolumbien absolvierte: «Die ganze Infrastruktur war dort langsamer als bei uns, das Internet funktionierte nicht immer, und es dauerte lange, jemanden zu finden, der einem weiterhelfen konnte. In der Schweiz hingegen kann man immer und überall effizient arbeiten.»


«Ich muss so vielfältig sein wie ein Schweizer Taschenmesser»

Kenntnisse in Computerwissenschaft, Mathematik, Statistik, abstraktes Denken, analytische Fähigkeiten, Business-Wissen und Versiertheit in neuen Technologien: Für Sergio Jimenez sind das die grundlegenden Skills eines Data Scientist. Unter anderem weisen auch Physiker diese Kompetenzen vor. «Gerade deshalb sind Physiker als Data Scientists so gefragt», sagt er. «Viele meiner damaligen PhD-Kollegen arbeiten heute im Bereich Data Science.»



Für Sergio Jimenez Otero teilen sich Data Scientists und Physiker einige Kernkompetenzen.



Denn der gebürtige Spanier studierte an der University of Glasgow selbst generelle, experimentelle und theoretische Physik. Nachdem er seinen PhD in experimenteller Physik an der EPFL erlangte (Thema: «Warum gibt es mehr Materie als Antimaterie?») und in diesem Rahmen auch am CERN forschte, ist Jimenez heute als Consultant bei Swisscom tätig: Er hilft internen und externen Kunden dabei, Business-Prozesse zu optimieren – indem er Business Cases erarbeitet, Proof of Concepts erstellt und für den Kunden massgeschneiderte Lösungen entwickelt. Etwa für Predictive Analytics. Oder zur Klassifikation von Dokumenten: «Unter anderem verschaffen wir Unternehmen eine Übersicht über ihre Textdaten», erklärt er. «So können sie etwa rechtliche Dokumente schneller finden und strukturierter überprüfen.»


In seiner Freizeit schaut Jimenez nicht nur gerne TV-Serien; auch Biking und Schwimmen gehören zu seinen Hobbys – aus gutem Grund: «Für mich ist Sport besonders wichtig, da er auch die Dynamik und Kreativität bei der Arbeit fördert.»


«Mit Daten sage ich die Zukunft voraus»

Als Data Scientist im Bereich Industrial Internet Of Things entwickelt Florian Pitschi Lösungen zur Predictive Maintenance. Etwa für das Klimatechnik-Unternehmen Walter Meier: «Aufgrund von Sensor-, Serviceeinsatz- und Maschinendaten können wir erkennen, welche Wärmepumpen mit hoher Wahrscheinlichkeit bald ausfallen werden», erklärt er. «Mit unserer Lösung können die Servicetechniker von Walter Meier Probleme frühzeitig erkennen und beheben.»



Als Data Scientist kann Florian Pitschi richtigen Mehrwert aus Daten schaffen.



Als "Maschinen-Orakel" kann Pitschi wirklichen Nutzen aus Daten erzeugen. Das wollte er schon immer. Doch nach seinem Studium in Informatik und Physik in Ulm und dem Doktorat in China arbeitete er zuerst als Berater im Bereich Business Intelligence - was ihn noch nicht zufriedenstellte: «Mir war das immer zu wenig», sagt er. «Man zeigt die Daten an, errechnet vielleicht noch ein paar Trends; aber man gewinnt keine grossen Erkenntnisse daraus. Ich dagegen wollte und will mit Daten einen richtigen Mehrwert schaffen, Prozesse optimieren und die Zukunft voraussagen.»


Dafür trainiert Pitschi auch, indem er an Machine-Learning-Wettbewerben teilnimmt: «Ich musste schon einem Skelett beibringen, selbstständig das Laufen zu lernen. Oder aufgrund von Passagierdaten vorhersagen, welche Gäste auf der Titanic das Unglück überleben und welche nicht.» Pitschi ist aber auch begeisterter Beachvolleyballspieler - ganz ohne das Endergebnis zu wissen: «Das ist ja gerade das Spannende daran: bei Sportereignissen kann auch mal der Underdog gewinnen.»



Newsletter

Jetzt Newsletter abonnieren und über Trends, Branchen-News und Benchmarks informiert bleiben.





Mehr zum Thema