Artificial intelligence in the call centre





AI in Customer Service

An agent licensed to advise


There are two types of agent: the Martini-drinking womaniser in Her Majesty’s Secret Service and the sleuth who tracks down information at the call centre. The multiplying data sources of the digital era are confounding this mission. Swisscom Customer Care’s secret weapon is artificial intelligence (AI).


Text: Bernhard Imboden, images: Jana Wicky,




«Have a relaxing weekend, goodbye!»


Manuel Tschanz ends the call he was making in the softly lit Customer Care Center in Ittigen (Bern). The 22-year call centre agent has been assigned to the day shift. Of course, talking about an «agent» makes James Bond come to mind.


The mission: Competent advice and satisfied customers. The toughest adversary: Time

«A customer server has frozen» Manuel explains and takes a sip from a bottle of water. After all, he’s not the kind of agent who drinks Martinis. «That’s really typical for this type of server. A soft reset should get the system back up and running. Problem solved. But finding out this sort of information hasn't always been this easy.»


Problems that aren’t everyday occurrences are inherently complex. And while Manuel goes searching for a solution in all the different systems and databases, the customer is edging closer to a nervous breakdown. As that other agent, 007, is only too aware: fast and fail-safe facts are decisive.

In particular during the graveyard shift. When there’s a skeleton workforce, the transfer of know-how between colleagues comes to a halt. And there's no Miss Moneypenny on duty to help.



A secret weapon called artificial intelligence

Manuel and the other call centre agents started using a secret weapon a few weeks ago. It’s called AI for Customer Support. With little further ado, a new tab, «Easy Solution», was added to the familiar call centre solution. This tab features a search function that makes full use of artificial intelligence. It is linked to all relevant sources of data. The customer only has to start describing an issue and the system will start searching for the right solution using its specially developed algorithms.


All the agent has to do is enter keywords into the search mask. Manuel likes the fact that the tool gives him certainty when he’s giving advice – along with self-assurance. «I don't need to make as many inputs as I used to, and it gives me faster returns.»



Assigned to serve the customer: Manuel Tschanz, call centre agent for Swisscom


Trusting your own abilities

David Rüfenacht, AI Product Owner for Customer Service, is preparing our meeting with Manuel Tschanz. He is telling us about the challenges being faced in a cell centre.


«The product portfolio is growing larger and larger, the communication channels are multiplying, the IT environment is complex and there is continued cost pressure. This all makes the work our agents do more difficult. The ones who ultimately suffer are the customers, who spend more time in call queues.


Management became aware of the solutions using artificial intelligence available on the market. Implementing a solution like this to improve efficiency seemed the obvious thing to do. As a leading ICT provider, Swisscom places value on utilising its own expertise and develop a solution of its own.


AI for Customer Support searches and indexes open and closed tickets, existing infrastructure, orders, document and 

e-mails.


This gives the agent a 360° view of the customer's history.



Improved efficiency: David Rüfenacht, AI Product Owner for Customer Service


«This project doesn't need lone wolves»

Developing a solution like this can only succeed in an interdisciplinary and agile team. This solution needed iterative development and involved intense teamwork between agents, team leaders and supervisors in order to make ongoing optimisations.


Everyone knew exactly what they wanted to achieve, but no-one knew exactly what the solution would end up looking like. It was only after an intense analysis of all the available data that the building blocks for AI were defined. Software developers weren't the only ones involved – experienced data scientists were called in to develop the logic and to programme the algorithms.


New features were released for testing over two-week periods, and were improved on straight away. «This ensured the solution continued growing. It only took ten weeks for us to implement all the functionalities» as Rüfenacht says with pride.



Learning by feedback

A system like this only brings benefits, however, when it can master the demands made of it. This means it needs to be capable of learning.


Each time a problem is solved, the agent rates how constructive and relevant the proposed solution is. Systematic evaluations like this allow the system to learn. The best, and therefore most plausible, solution always appears at the top of the list of results, saving time.


And all the intelligence available to our agents suggests that customers will start profiting from artificial intelligence even more directly in future. Because by then they won't have to call the call centre at all any more.



No substitute for advice

Back to Manuel Tschanz. In order to find information about the problem described to him beforehand, he simply enters the name of the customer. He soon finds the server in the 360° view, but without additional details such as the type or its serial number. It only takes him a few clicks to locate the solution that appears on his monitor.


When asked whether he might one day lose his job to artificial intelligence, Manuel waves any concerns aside. «They’ll still need someone to tell the machine what to search for.»


James Bond would have put it a little differently: «I’ve got something the solution doesn’t have. I’m licensed to give competent advice.»





The one-stop shop for AI


The Swisscom competence centre for applied artificial intelligence offers companies everything they need for the quick, successful implementation of projects in all areas of artificial intelligence, from consulting to the right technology to integration.

To the offer




More on the topic

Künstliche Intelligenz im Call Center





AI im Customer Service

Der Agent mit der Kompetenz zu beraten


Während der eine Agent im Dienste seiner Majestät schöne Frauen verführt und Wodka Martini trinkt, sucht der andere im Callcenter nach Informationen. Im digitalen Zeitalter wird diese Mission immer komplexer, unzählige Daten sind in unterschiedlichsten Systemen abgelegt. Das Geheimwerkzeug bei Customer Care von Swisscom heisst künstliche Intelligenz (KI).


Text: Bernhard Imboden, Bilder: Jana Wicky,







«Ich wünsche Ihnen ein erholsames Wochenende, auf Wiederhören.»




Im abgedunkelten Customer Care Center von Swisscom in Ittigen (BE) beendet Manuel Tschanz einen Anruf. Als Callcenter-Agent ist der 22-Jährige heute in der Tagesschicht im Einsatz. Beim Wort «Agent» denkt man unweigerlich an James Bond. 


Die Mission: kompetente Beratung und zufriedene Kunden.
Der härteste Gegner: die Zeit

«Ein Server des Kunden hat sich aufgehängt», erklärt Manuel und nimmt einen Schluck aus der Wasserflasche. Wodka Martini sucht man vergeblich. «Es handelt sich um ein bekanntes Phänomen bei diesem Servertyp. Ein Soft-Reset bringt das System wieder zum Laufen. Problem gelöst. Das herauszufinden, war nicht immer so leicht.»


Nicht alltägliche Fälle wie dieser sind an sich schon komplex. Wenn Manuel dann noch in unterschiedlichen Systemen und Datenbanken nach der Lösung suchen muss, werden Kunden schon mal zu tickenden Zeitbomben. Wie bei 007 sind schnelle und zuverlässige Informationen entscheidend.


Insbesondere in der Nacht. Wenn mit reduzierter Belegschaft gearbeitet wird, fehlt der Know-how-Transfer unter Kollegen. Dann ist keine Miss Moneypenny zur Stelle, die ihm hilft.



Geheimwerkzeug künstliche Intelligenz

Seit Wochen nutzen Manuel und die anderen Callcenter-Agentinnen und Agenten ein Geheimwerkzeug. Es nennt sich AI for Customer Support. In der gewohnten Callcenter-Lösung wurde, fast schon unscheinbar, ein zusätzlicher Tab «Easy Solution» hinzugefügt. Dahinter verbirgt sich eine Suchfunktion mit künstlicher Intelligenz. Diese ist mit allen relevanten Datenquellen verknüpft. Noch während der Kunde sein Anliegen schildert, sucht das System auf Basis des entwickelten Algorithmus die richtige Lösung. Dazu gibt die Agentin oder der Agent lediglich Stichworte in die Suchmaske ein. Manuel beteuert, das Tool verleihe ihm Sicherheit und Souveränität bei der Beratung. «Ich muss weniger eingeben als früher und bin schneller am Ziel.»



Agent im Dienst der Kunden: Manuel Tschanz, Callcenter Agent


Vertrauen in die eigenen Fähigkeiten

David Rüfenacht, Product Owner von AI for Customer Service, bereitet das Treffen mit Manuel Tschanz vor. Er erläutert die Herausforderungen im Callcenter.


«Das stetig wachsende Produkt-Portfolio, immer mehr Kommunikationskanäle, eine komplexe IT-Landschaft und ständiger Kostendruck erschweren den Agenten die Arbeit. Die Leidtragenden sind letztlich Kundinnen und Kunden, die längere Wartezeiten hinnehmen müssen.»



Der Geschäftsleitung war bekannt, dass es auf dem Markt Lösungen mit künstlicher Intelligenz gibt. Eine solche zu implementieren, lag angesichts der Effizienzsteigerung auf der Hand. Als führender ICT-Anbieter hatte Swisscom den Anspruch, den eigenen Fähigkeiten zu vertrauen und selber eine Lösung zu entwickeln.


AI for Customer Support durchsucht und indexiert offene und geschlossene Tickets, vorhandene Infrastruktur, Bestellungen, Dokumente und E-Mails.


Die Agentin oder der Agent erlangt so eine 360°–Sicht auf die Kundenhistorie.



Effizienzsteigerung: David Rüfenacht, Product Owner AI for Customer Service


«Dieses Projekt verträgt keine Einzelkämpfer»

Die Entwicklung einer solchen Lösung funktioniert nur in einem interdisziplinären und agilen Team. Sie wurde im ständigen Austausch mit den Agentinnen und Agenten, Teamleitenden und Supervisors iterativ entwickelt und fortlaufend optimiert.


Alle hatten eine klare Vorstellung darüber, was man erreichen will, aber niemand wie die Lösung schliesslich aussehen würde. Erst nach der intensiven Auswertung aller vorhandenen Daten wurden die KI-Bausteine definiert. Es brauchte neben Softwareentwicklern auch erfahrene Data Scientists, welche die Logik entwickelten und den Algorithmus programmierten.


Im Zweiwochenrhythmus wurden neue Features freigegeben, getestet und umgehend verbessert. «So ist die Lösung kontinuierlich gewachsen. Nach nur zehn Wochen hatten wir die vollständigen Funktionalitäten implementiert», fügt Rüfenacht stolz hinzu.



Lernen durch Bewertung

Das System ist nur dann von Nutzen, wenn es den aktuellen Problemstellungen gewachsen ist. Sprich, es muss lernfähig sein.


Am Ende jeder Problemlösung bewertet die Agentin oder der Agent, wie zielführend der Lösungsvorschlag ist. Durch die systematische Bewertung lernt das System. Die beste und somit wahrscheinlichste Lösung erscheint immer an erster Stelle. Das spart Zeit.


Ein Blick in die Kristallkugel verrät: In Zukunft werden Kundinnen und Kunden noch direkter von künstlicher Intelligenz profitieren. Dann nämlich, wenn sie überhaupt nicht mehr im Callcenter anrufen müssen.



Kein Ersatz für Beratung

Zurück zu Manuel Tschanz. Um die Informationen zum anfangs geschilderten Problem zu finden, muss er nur den Kundennamen eingeben. In der 360°–Ansicht findet er den Server ohne zusätzliche Angaben wie Typ, Seriennummer etc. Mit wenigen Klicks zaubert er die Lösung auf seinen Monitor.


Bei der Frage, ob er Angst hat, eines Tages seinen Job wegen künstlicher Intelligenz zu verlieren, winkt Manuel ab. «Jemand muss der Maschine ja sagen, wonach sie suchen soll.»


James Bond hätte es wohl so formuliert: «Ich kann etwas, was die Maschine nicht kann. Ich habe die Kompetenz zu beraten.»





One-Stop-Shop für AI


Das Swisscom Kompetenzzentrum für angewandte Artificial Intelligence bietet Unternehmen alles, was es für die rasche und erfolgreiche Umsetzung von Projekten rund um künstliche Intelligenz braucht: Von der Beratung über die richtige Technologie bis zur Integration.

Zum Angebot





Newsletter

Jetzt Newsletter abonnieren und über Trends, Branchen-News und Benchmarks informiert bleiben.





Mehr zum Thema