Meta navigation

Interview

Best of Swiss App Award

“It's all about how much a trainer listens”


FC Basel won the Best of Swiss Apps in the Enterprise category with its new talent app Gold. Whether the app makes the young players better is something Massimo Ceccaroni, Technical Manager for Basel New Talent, well knows.


Tanja Kammermann, 6




Massimo Ceccaroni, FC Basel has recorded all performance data from the up-and-coming players in a database and can call this up on a mobile device. This solution won them the award for the best company app of the year. What does this award mean to you?


Massimo Ceccaroni: I think it's great we won and I'm really proud of the prize. Also because we could cause a stir in an area that's not actually our core business.


Were you also congratulated by the football world?


Unfortunately not so far. We've only had the pleasure of being congratulated from inside the club .


The application makes your work more professional. You gave the go-ahead for the app last year. Why not earlier?


We've needed to tackle this project for a long time. Yet there aren't many football clubs, two or three in Europe, that have got so far. But we wanted to be better, that's why we had to start using our data and so take this step. Plus an app costs money and needs the right partner – which we've luckily found with Swisscom.




Who are the European role models?


These are Borussia Dortmund and Redbull Leipzig in Germany along with Juventus Turin in Italy – teams that take a very scientific approach to their work and have a lot of know-how, allowing them to operate very professionally when it comes to new talent. However, we wanted to keep our identity, as we have our own training philosophy. As a result, we've got something totally new up and running.


The app has been in use since the early summer of 2016. Were you already able to implement improvements in the aspects of play?


The app makes our daily work much easier. We're able to work more efficiently with a keener eye on the target. And what is important: We're more aware of the pressure on young players. We always have a session to analyse the performance at the end of the week, before the competition starts. Thanks to the data we've been able to gain and display in the app, we're able to say which players are fit or not. Whether he plays is still the trainer's decision though (grinning). But we've got a very good basis.


The objective data is now available, followed by the subjective feeling of the trainer. How much does that cover?


It's all about how much a trainer listens. There's the laptop trainer and the conventional trainer, who likes to feel the pitch beneath his feet. The modern trainer, who also likes playing with data, maybe listens about 20 percent. The traditional trainer, who polishes his own shoes, listens 10 percent…

Massimo Ceccaroni

The 48-year-old Massimo Ceccaroni is a native of Basel and former professional football player; he spent his entire professional career from 1987 to 2002 at FC Basel. Since 2012, he has been Technical Manager for the New Talent Department at FC Basel, which, incidentally like the first team, is the most successful in Switzerland.


So even less?


JYeah, even less (laughing) – working with data is something new for him and he takes a lot of convincing. The great thing is that trainers share a lot among each other and it's there that the sceptics – and we don't have many of them – also notice how this knowledge makes things better. Which means the 10 percent quickly rises to 20 percent.


"Individual responsibility via new media – the app lets us take the young players seriously.”

 


So the new talent at FC Basel has got better thanks to the solution?


No, you can't put it like that. Every trainer has a broader spectrum of knowledge to hand thanks to the app, allowing him to extend his expertise and helping him to think in a more sophisticated way. The trainers used to make their decisions 100 percent subjectively. Now the facts come into play and they show things just how they are.


How do the young players respond to the app?


Mobile phones used to be banned in the dressing room – that's no longer the case. Now players can click on their strain on the smartphone before and after the training. Individual responsibility via new media – the app lets us take the young players seriously too. Nowadays we can't simply establish a football academy and train the young players like 40 years ago – nobody will become a footballer there.


Why doesn't every Swiss football club have such an app?


That's just a matter of time, and clubs that have the opportunity will quickly follow suit.


Do you intend to resell the app?


FC Basel has the rights to the app, that's something we've clearly regulated because we already noticed during the development: something interesting is happening. I don't think it will take much longer before we receive enquiries here. Because both team and individual sportsmen and women can benefit from the app.



Der FC Basel mit Massimo Ceccaroni und das Swisscom Projektteam feiern den Sieg.

Massimo Ceccaroni and the Swisscom Project Team.


Are there further digitalisation projects at FC Basel?


No, we were totally absorbed with the app and noticed how it's very important that people can get to grips with this. We want to correctly apply what we have, gain experience and then take the next step.


Would you have liked such an app when you were still a professional footballer?


Yes and no. It makes you better, but it's also a lot for the young players to cope with – they have to think before training and then again after the training. In the past, you simply put your football boots on and walked onto the pitch.





The app


Together with Swisscom, FCB has developed a digital solution for its up-and-coming players in a co-creation approach. This comprises three main components: a smartphone app for players (iOS and Android), a tablet app for trainers and physiotherapist (iOS) as well as a web application for Administration and Management. This makes things easier for trainers, physiotherapists, doctors, administrators and, of course, players. The basic idea behind this: all performance data for the young players is recorded in a uniform database and can be called up on a mobile device at the click of a button. FCB has a fully developed ecosystem with the apps.


App development


Mobile apps have the potential to speed up business processes, shape work in more efficient ways and improve customer service. Our specialists can help you to utilise this potential with proven expert knowledge.

More informationen




Mehr zum Thema

Meta Navigation

Interview mit Massimo Ceccaroni, FC Basel

Best of Swiss App Award

«Es geht darum, wie viel ein Trainer zuhört»


Der FC Basel hat mit seiner Nachwuchs-App Gold bei den Best of Swiss Apps in der Kategorie Enterprise gewonnen. Ob die App die jungen Spieler besser macht, weiss Massimo Ceccaroni, technischer Leiter des Basler Nachwuchses.


Tanja Kammermann, 6




Massimo Ceccaroni, der FC Basel hat alle Leistungsdaten der Nachwuchsspieler in einer Datenbank erfasst und kann diese mobil abrufen. Mit dieser Lösung haben sie den Award für die beste Unternehmensapp des Jahres gewonnen. Was bedeutet ihnen diese Auszeichnung?


Massimo Ceccaroni: Ich finde es toll, dass wir gewonnen haben und ich bin sehr stolz auf den Preis. Auch weil wir in einem Bereich, der eigentlich nicht unser Kerngeschäft ist, für Aufsehen sorgen konnten.


Erhielten Sie auch Glückwünsche aus der Fussballwelt?


Bis jetzt leider nein. Nur Vereinsintern durften wir viele Glückwünsche entgegennehmen.


Die Anwendung macht ihre Arbeit professioneller. Sie haben letztes Jahr den Anstoss für die App gegeben. Warum nicht früher?


Es war uns schon länger ein Bedürfnis, dieses Projekt anzugehen. Doch es gibt nicht viele Fussballvereine, zwei oder drei in Europa, die schon so weit sind. Wir wollten jedoch besser werden, darum mussten wir anfangen, unsere Daten zu nutzen und diesen Schritt wagen. Zudem kostet eine App Geld und braucht den richtigen Partner – den wir glücklicherweise mit Swisscom gefunden haben.




Wer sind die europäischen Vorbilder?


Das sind Borussia Dortmund und Redbull Leipzig in Deutschland und Juventus Turin in Italien, die sehr wissenschaftlich arbeiten, viel Knowhow haben und im Nachwuchs sehr professionell arbeiten. Wir wollten jedoch unsere Identität bewahren, da wir eine eigene Ausbildungsphilosophie haben. Darum haben wir etwas völlig Neues auf die Beine gestellt.


Seit Frühsommer 2016 ist die App in Betrieb. Konnten Sie bereits Verbesserungen im Spielbetrieb umsetzen?


Die App erleichtert unsere tägliche Arbeit enorm. Wir können effizienter und gezielter arbeiten. Und was wichtig ist: Wir sind uns der Belastung der jungen Spieler bewusster. Wir haben immer Ende Woche, bevor es in den Wettkampf geht, eine Sitzung mit der Leistungsdiagnostik. Aufgrund der Daten, die wir sammeln und in der App abbilden, können wir sagen, ob Spieler fit sind oder nicht. Ob einer spielt, ist immer noch der Entscheid des Trainers (schmunzelt). Aber wir haben eine sehr gute Basis.


Nun gibt es die objektiven Daten, dann aber das subjektive Empfinden des Trainers. Wie weit deckt sich das?


Es geht darum, wie viel ein Trainer zuhört. Es gibt den Laptop-Trainer und den klassischen Trainer, der gerne den Rasen unter den Füssen spürt. Der moderne Trainer, der auch gerne mit Daten spielt, hört vielleicht 20 Prozent zu. Der traditionelle Trainer, der die Schuhe noch selber putzt, hört 10 Prozent zu…

Massimo Ceccaroni

Der 48-jährige Massimo Ceccaroni ist gebürtiger Basler und ehemaliger Profi-Fussballspieler; er spielte von 1987 bis 2002 und damit seine gesamte professionelle Karriere beim FC Basel. Seit 2012 ist er der technische Leiter der Nachwuchsabteilung des FC Basel, die übrigens wie die 1. Mannschaft die erfolgreichste der Schweiz ist.


Also noch weniger?


Ja, noch weniger (lacht), für ihn ist es neu mit Daten zu arbeiten und es braucht sehr viel Überzeugungsarbeit. Das Tolle ist, die Trainer haben untereinander sehr viel Austausch und dort merken auch die Skeptiker - von denen haben wir ganz wenige - dass man besser wird durch dieses Wissen. Und dann steigen die 10 Prozent schnell auf 20 Prozent.


"Eigenverantwortung via neuen Medien - mit der App nehmen wir die Jungen ernst."


Ist der Nachwuchs des FC Basel dank der Lösung besser geworden?


Nein, das kann man so nicht zusammenfassen. Jeder Trainer hat dank der App ein breiteres Wissen, kann seine Fachkompetenz erweitern und sie hilft ihm, differenzierter zu Denken. Früher entschieden die Trainer zu 100 Prozent subjektiv. Jetzt kommen die Fakten hinzu und an diesen gibt es nichts zu rütteln.


Wie reagieren die jungen Spieler auf die App?


Früher hatten wir ein Handyverbot in der Kabine – das geht heute nicht mehr. Jetzt können die Spieler vor und nach dem Training ihre Belastung auf dem Smartphone anklicken. Eigenverantwortung via neue Medien - mit der App nehmen wir die Jungen auch ernst. Wir können heute nicht mehr einfach ein Fussballinternat hinstellen und die jungen Sportler ausbilden wie vor 40 Jahren – da wird keiner mehr Fussballer.


Warum hat nicht jeder Schweizer Fussballverein eine solche App?


Das ist eine Frage der Zeit und Vereine, die die Möglichkeiten mitbringen, werden schnell nachziehen.


Haben sie überhaupt vor, die App weiterzuverkaufen?


Der FC Basel hat die Rechte an der App, das haben wir klar geregelt, weil wir bereits während der Entwicklung gemerkt haben: Hier entsteht etwas Interessantes.



Der FC Basel mit Massimo Ceccaroni und das Swisscom Projektteam feiern den Sieg.

Der FC Basel mit Massimo Ceccaroni und das Swisscom Projektteam feiern den Sieg.


Gibt es noch weitere Digitalisierungsprojekte beim FC Basel?


Nein, wir waren sehr absorbiert mit der App und haben gemerkt, dass es sehr wichtig ist, dass sich die Leute damit befassen können. Wir wollen das, was wir haben, richtig anwenden, umsetzen, Erfahrungen sammeln und dann überlegen den nächsten Schritt zu machen.


Hätten sie sich eine solche App gewünscht, als sie noch Profi-Fussballer waren?


Ja und Nein. Man wird dadurch besser, aber es ist auch sehr viel für die Jungen, man muss vor dem Training denken und nach dem Training auch wieder. Früher zog man einfach die Fussballschuhe an und ging raus aufs Spielfeld.





Die App


Gemeinsam mit Swisscom hat der FCB in einem Co-Creation Ansatz eine digitale Lösung für ihren Nachwuchssport entwickelt. Diese besteht aus drei Hauptkomponenten: Einer Smartphone App für Spieler (iOS und Android), einer Tablet App für Trainer und Physiotherapeuten (iOS) sowie einer Webanwendung für Administration und Management. Diese erleichtern Trainern, Physiotherapeuten, Ärzten, der Administration aber auch den Spielern die Arbeit. Die Grundidee dahinter: alle Leistungsdaten der Nachwuchsspieler sind in einer einheitlich geführten Datenbank erfasst und per Knopfdruck mobil abrufbar. Der FCB verfügt mit den Apps über ein voll digitalisiertes Oekosystem.


App Entwicklung


Mobile Apps haben das Potenzial, Geschäftsprozesse zu beschleunigen, die Arbeit effizienter zu gestalten und den Kundendienst zu verbessern. Unsere Spezialisten unterstützen Sie mit ausgewiesenem Expertenwissen dabei, dieses Potenzial zu nutzen.

Mehr Informationen




Mehr zum Thema