Newsletter Partner Login Network status Contact
Newsletter Partner Login Network status Contact

S/4HANA & C/4HANA for maximum customer satisfaction

Expert interview with Sascha Dengler

“Complexity is out, CX and value are in”

S for simplicity, C for customer. The existing SAP R3 and SAP ECC systems are complex. The 4HANA world with its powerful duo S/4HANA and C/4HANA is standardised, cloud based and in real time. 4HANA simplifies processes and IT landscapes because everything is located in a single closed system with real-time data.

Text and Interview: Brunhilde Mauthe,

Let’s start with a simple question: What are the benefits of moving to SAP S/4HANA and C/4HANA?

Behind the new S/4HANA and C/4HANA lies a customer experience for inventory and product management that has been improved by different worlds. This is why people are already talking about “SAP CX”, CX as in customer experience.

S4/HANA and C/4HANA are standardised and are a stark contrast to the highly customised ERP with SAP R3 and SAP ECC. What’s more, this kind of migration constitutes a major project. So why should companies make the move now?

Customisation is standard with 4HANA, which is what makes the combined power of S4 and C4 so impressive. For individual customisations, companies or SAP service providers can program extensions (similar to an app), in which the required individualised features, known as User Stories, are stored. This means for example, regardless of whether or not I need our logo for the new marketing campaign or for the newsletter from media asset management, the system accesses the extension of media asset management User Story “Get image” without integration and without altering the code. With S/4HANA, the extension makes the User Story “Get image” a standard process by means of a trigger or a time-based workflow. This differs from the “old” ERPs, where the User Story “I need our logo” required two different interfaces for the campaign and the newsletter.

 

For SAP service providers such as Swisscom, this is twice as interesting: we can reuse apps (Kyma Services) once created for other customers or implement joint developments for several customers. Intellectual property usually remains with the programmer and will become one of the most important business areas of cloud IT in the future, which means it is also relevant for C/4HANA and S/4HANA service providers.

You mentioned C/4HANA – what does this involve?

In 2013, SAP decided to ramp up its entry into other business areas in addition to ERP. This is where the C4/HANA world originated from. According to well-known analysts, this new cloud world is three to four times larger in terms of market volume than the market volume of S/4HANA.

 

The “C” stands for customer. SAP C/4HANA is a smart CRM 2.0 platform consisting of five interconnected cloud-based marketing and CRM applications: Marketing Cloud, Commerce Cloud, Customer Cloud, Sales Cloud and Service Cloud. The main difference compared to conventional CRM platforms is that it focuses not only on the sales process, but also on the customer. Which brings us back to CX, the customer experience. Users have access to all systems and therefore to all data at all times and in real time, enabling them to react much faster and with greater agility on the market.

C/4HANA Customer Clouds

Customer Data Cloud: Location of the customer login (with GDPR consensus) and customer profile creation
> Factsheet (PDF)

 

Service Cloud: Ticketing system, spare parts, service engineers in the field

 

Sales Cloud: CRM with all the information that is stored about the customer

 

Commerce Cloud: Web and e-shop, commerce

 

Marketing Cloud: Customer segmentation and classification (gold or platinum customer, voucher or cashback, etc.)


Newsletter

Would you like to regularly receive interesting articles and whitepapers on current ICT topics?

> Subscribe

“Users have access to all systems and therefore to all data at all times and in real time.”

Sascha Dengler, Management Consultant SAP CX

And how do these two systems interact?

They are both standardised cloud systems: S4 with ERP and C4 with the five interconnected customer clouds: Marketing, Commerce, Customer, Sales and Service. The Cloud Integration Platform connects the systems with each other as well as with third-party systems that are already in use. This means that the standardised and integrated interfaces between S4 and C4 already exist and are simply enhanced with User Exits (SAP standard enhancements). In addition, the extension framework SAP Kyma (apps) offers simple and fast solutions for further connections between the systems and third-party systems.

When and how should a customer migrate to the 4HANA world?

1 When? Technically, before 2027 at the latest, because from then on SAP ECC and R/3 will no longer be supported. But from the customer’s point of view, it’s better to have done it yesterday.

 

How? The customer has several options. First migrate to S/4HANA and then address the C/4 issues. But the opposite way round can also be the right approach. This all depends on the strategy. For C/4, there is a Movement program which includes three scenarios.

  1. Everything that was previously active in ECC or R/3 is activated in S/4. This is the “safeguard version”.
  2. When new components from the C/4 cloud are added, we refer to this as the “hybrid version”.
  3. If the service and sales functions are transferred completely to C/4, this is known as the “digitisation version”. In this case, it makes sense to first transfer and then start the S/4HANA project.

Benefits of S/4HANA and C/4HANA

  • Cloud based
  • Automatic updates
  • Low maintenance
  • Low complexity
  • Improved customer service
  • Faster go-to-market
  • More out-of-the-box integration for the customer’s system landscape and applications
  • Focus on customer value
  • The business implements projects faster, IT is no longer a bottleneck

“The transition to the 4HANA world is individually designed.”

Sascha Dengler, Management Consultant SAP CX

Which companies in Switzerland have already moved to S/4HANA?

Ricola and the SV Group have moved to S/4 together with Swisscom. Many other customers have started the transition to the S/4 portfolio and there are now almost 50 customers in the Discover and Prepare workshops. Many customers also test the C/4 components in this context.

And Swisscom?

As part of Simplicity, we will also move to S/4HANA and take a closer look at some of the C/4HANA variants. In addition to CRM, we are also looking at the area of direct customer feedback so that we can better analyse O-data (operational data) and X-data (incremental customer feedback). We are also evaluating our approach, just like our customers.

A final word?

We are currently living in a radical world of transition. S4 and C4 help to simplify processes, system landscapes and customer orientation by placing everything in a single closed system and making data available in real time. All data have their specific and assigned location in the systems. The 4HANA environment forms a stable structure with state-of-the-art architecture, where all processes are combined in an intelligent suite.

 

And what’s more, with the 4HANA world SAP is concentrating on its strengths, specifically on end-to-end scenarios for the customer: Lead-to-Cash, Recruit-to-Retire (HR), Design-to-Operate (Supply Chain) and Source-to-Pay (Spend Management) based on S/4HANA as the digital core. At the same time, these solutions are offered in different environments, whether hosting in the Swisscom environment or on the multi-clouds (Azure, Google or AWS). This means SAP is returning to its core competencies and better integrating the ecosystems. Everybody concentrates on the things they do best; for us this is the operation and implementation of systems as well as the integration of the third-party extension and further developments.


About Sascha Dengler

SAP specialist Sascha Dengler is an engineer and certified in C/4HANA (Marketing, Commerce, Sales, Service and customer data).

An experienced Management Consultant, at Swisscom he is responsible for the analysis, design, implementation and support of SAP C/4HANA applications as well as SAP strategy and consulting. His core competencies are in the areas of customer experience, sales channels, customer and product data as well as their integration into the customer architecture. He has implemented numerous digital transformation and end-to-end integration projects.




Do you have questions?

Reto Hildbrand

Head of SAP Industries





More on the topic

   

CX Suites

Make customer centricity a reality with the SAP CX Suites from C4/HANA: CRM, CDP, Ticketing and Commerce.

Go to offer

   

SAP S/4HANA transformation

SAP S/4HANA Transformation Factory guides SAP customers securely from SAP R/3 to SAP S/4HANA in a standardised and resource-saving manner.

Go to offer

Login Partner Netzstatus Newsletter Kontakt
Login Partner Netzstatus Newsletter Kontakt

S/4HANA & C/4HANA für maximale Kundenzufriedenheit

Experten-Interview mit Sascha Dengler

«Komplexität raus, CX und Nutzen rein»

S wie Simplicity, C wie Customer. Die bestehenden SAP R3 und SAP ECC Systeme sind komplex. Die 4HANA Welt mit dem Power-Paar S/4HANA und C/4HANA ist standardisiert, cloudbasiert und in time. 4HANA vereinfacht Prozesse und IT-Landschaften, da sich alles in einem einzigen geschlossenen System mit Echtzeitdaten befindet.

Text und Interview: Brunhilde Mauthe,

Einfache Einstiegsfrage, was bringt die Umstellung auf SAP S/4HANA und C/4HANA?

Hinter dem neuen S/4HANA und C/4HANA steckt eine um Welten verbesserte Kundenexperience rund um die Waren-, bzw. Produktbewirtschaftung. Darum wird auch jetzt schon von «SAP CX», CX wie Customer Experience, gesprochen.

S4/HANA und C/4HANA sind standardisiert und stehen in starkem Kontrast zum aufwändig individualisierten ERP mit SAP R3 und SAP ECC. Zudem ist eine solche Umstellung ein grosses Projekt. Warum sollten Unternehmen dennoch jetzt umstellen?

Individualsierungen sind im Standard von 4HANA vorgesehen, das ist das Bestechende am Power Paar S4 und C4. Für individuelle Anpassungen können Firmen oder SAP Dienstleister Extensions (ähnlich einer App) programmieren, in welchen die benötigten Individualisierungen, also „User Stories“, hinterlegt sind. Das heisst zum Beispiel, unabhängig davon, ob ich unser Logo für die neue Marketingkampagne oder für den Newsletter aus dem Media Asset Management benötige, greift das System auf die Extension des Media Asset Management „User Story: Bild holen“ zu, ohne Integrationen und Codeveränderung. Die Extension macht die User Story „Bild holen“ mit S/4HANA zu einem Standardprozess via Trigger oder Time Based Workflow. Dies steht im Gegensatz zu den "alten" ERPs, in welchen die User Story „Ich benötige unser Logo“ für die Kampagne und den Newsletter zwei unterschiedliche Schnittstellen erforderte.

 

Für SAP Dienstleister, wie Swisscom, ist das doppelt interessant: wir können die einmal erstellten Apps (Kyma Services) für andere Kunden wiederverwenden oder gemeinsame Entwicklungen für mehrere Kunden umsetzen. Die Intellectual Property bleibt in der Regel beim Programmierer und wird in Zukunft zu einem der wichtigsten Geschäftsfelder in der Cloud IT und damit auch für C/4HANA und S/4HANA Dienstleister relevant.

Sie nennen das Stichwort C/4HANA – worum geht es dabei?

2013 hat sich SAP entschieden, neben dem ERP, intensiver in weitere Unternehmensbereiche einzusteigen. Daraus entstanden ist die C4/HANA Welt. Diese neue Cloud-Welt ist laut bekannter Analysten bezüglich Marktvolumen drei bis viermal so gross wie das Marktvolumen von S/4HANA!

 

Das „C“ steht dabei für Customer: SAP C/4HANA ist eine smarte CRM 2.0 Plattform, die aus fünf miteinander verbundenen Cloud-basierten Marketing- und CRM-Anwendungen besteht: Marketing-, Commerce-, Customer-, Sales- und Service-Cloud. Der grosse Unterschied zu konventionellen CRM-Plattformen liegt darin, dass sie sich nicht nur auf den Verkaufsprozess, sondern auf den Kunden konzentriert. Womit wir wieder bei CX, der Customer Experience angelangt sind. Der User hat jederzeit Zugriff auf alle Systeme und damit auf alle Daten in Echtzeit, wodurch er sehr viel schneller und agiler am Markt reagieren kann.

C/4HANA Kunden Clouds

Customer Data Cloud: Ort des Kunden-Logins (mit DSVGO Konsens) und Kundenprofil-Erstellung
> Factsheet (PDF)

 

Service Cloud: Ticketing System, Ersatzteile, Servicetechniker auf dem Feld

 

Sales Cloud: CRM mit allem was zum Kunden hinterlegt ist

 

Commerce Cloud: Web und e-Shop, Handel

 

Marketing Cloud: Segmentierung und Klassifizierung des Kunden (Gold- oder Platinkunde, Voucher oder Cashback etc.)


«Der User hat jederzeit - in Echtzeit - Zugriff auf alle Systeme und damit auf alle Daten.»

Sascha Dengler, Management Consultant SAP CX

Und wie agieren diese beiden Systeme miteinander?

Beides sind standardisierte Cloud Systeme: S4 mit ERP und C4 mit den 5 verbundenen Kunden-Clouds, Marketing-, Commerce-, Customer-, Sales- und Service. Die Cloud Integration Plattform verbindet die Systeme untereinander, wie auch mit Drittsystemen, die schon im Einsatz sind. Das heisst, die standardisierten und integrierten Schnittstellen zwischen S4 und C4 bestehen schon und werden einfach erweitert mit User-Exits (SAP Standarderweiterungen). Zusätzlich bietet das Extensions-Framework SAP Kyma (Apps) einfache und rasche Lösungen für weitere Verbindungen zwischen den Systemen und Drittsystemen.

Wann und wie soll ein Kunde in die 4HANA Welt wechseln?

Wann? Technisch spätestens vor 2027, denn ab dann wird SAP ECC und R/3 nicht mehr unterstützt, aber aus Kundensicht besser schon gestern.

 

Wie? Der Kunden hat verschiedene Möglichkeiten. Erst S/4HANA umstellen und dann die C/4 Themen angehen. Aber auch der umgekehrte Weg kann der richtige sein. Das ist abhängig von der Strategie. Für den C/4 gibt es ein Movement Program das drei Szenarien beinhaltet.

  1. Alles was vorher im ECC oder R/3 aktiv war kommt auch wieder ins S/4. Da ist die „Safeguard Variante“.
  2. Wenn neue Komponenten aus der C/4 Cloud hinzu kommen sprechen wir von der „Hybrid Variante“.
  3. Wenn die Funktionen Service und Sales vollständig auf C/4 verlagert werden, sprechen wir von der „Digitalisierungsvariante“. Hier ist es sinnvoll zuerst zu verlagern und danach das S/4HANA-Projekt zu starten.

Vorteile von S/4HANA und C/4HANA

  • Cloud basiert
  • Automatische Updates
  • weniger Wartung
  • weniger Komplexität
  • besserer Kundenservice
  • schnelleres Go to Market
  • mehr out-of-the-box Integration für die Systemlandschaft und Applikationen der Kunden
  • Kundennutzen steht im Vordergrund
  • Das Business setzt Projekte schneller um, die IT wird nicht mehr zum Nadelöhr

«Der Wechsel in die 4HANA Welt wird individuell gestaltet.»

Sascha Dengler, Management Consultant SAP CX

Wer hat in der Schweiz schon auf S/4HANA umgestellt?

Ricola und die SV-Group haben gemeinsam mit Swisscom auf S/4 umgestellt. Viele andere Kunden haben mit der Umstellung auf das S/4 Portfolio begonnen und es sind mittlerweile fast 50 Kunden in den Discover- und Prepare-Workshops. Viele Kunden prüfen in diesem Zusammenhang auch die C/4 Komponenten.

Und Swisscom?

Im Rahmen von Simplicity werden wir ebenfalls auf S/4HANA wechseln und uns einige Varianten von C/4HANA genauer ansehen. Neben dem Bereich CRM schauen wir uns auch den Bereich direktes Kundenfeedback an, damit wir O-Data (operative Daten) und X-Data (inkrementelles Kundenfeedback) besser analysieren können. Wir evaluieren dazu unser Vorgehen, gleich wie unsere Kunden.

Ein letztes Wort?

Wir leben derzeit in einer radikalen Übergangswelt. S4 und C4 helfen bei der Vereinfachung von Prozessen, Systemlandschaften und der Kundenausrichtung, indem sich alles in einem einzigen geschlossenen System befindet und Daten in Echtzeit zur Verfügung stehen. Alle Daten haben ihren spezifischen und zugewiesenen Ort in den Systemen. Die 4HANA Umgebung bildet ein stabiles Gebilde mit modernster Architektur, wo alle Prozesse in einer intelligenten Suite vereint sind.

 

Und noch etwas, mit der 4HANA Welt konzentriert sich SAP auf seine Stärken, nämlich End-to-End Szenarien für den Kunden: Lead-to-Cash, Recruit-to-Retire (HR), Design-to-Operate (Supply Chain) und Source-to-Pay (Spend Management) auf Basis des Digital Cores S/4HANA. Gleichzeitig werden diese Lösungen auf verschiedenen Umgebungen angeboten, sei es ein Hosting in der Swisscom Umgebung oder auf den Multi-Clouds (Azure, Google oder AWS). Damit besinnt sich SAP zurück auf seine Kernkompetenzen und bindet die Ecosysteme besser ein. Jeder konzentriert sich auf die Dinge, in welchen er wirklich stark ist; wir sind es im Betrieb und der Einführung der Systeme sowie in der Einbindung der Third Party Extension und Weiterentwicklungen.


Zur Person

SAP Spezialist Sascha Dengler ist Ingenieur und zertifiziert in C/4HANA (Marketing, Handel, Vertrieb, Service und Kundendaten). Er ist für Swisscom als erfahrener Consultant für die Analyse, Konzeption, Implementierung und Betreuung von SAP-C/4HANA Anwendungen wie auch der SAP-Strategie und -Beratung verantwortlich.

Seine Kernkompetenzen liegen in den Bereichen Customer Experience, Vertriebswege, Kunden- und Produktdaten sowie deren Integration in die Kundenarchitektur. Er hat zahlreiche digitale Transformation- und End-to-End-Integrationsprojekte umgesetzt.




Haben Sie noch Fragen? Wir sind persönlich für Sie da.

Reto Hildbrand

Head of SAP Industries




Andere Leser interessierte auch: