Artificial intelligence in marketing

Artificial intelligence

Is artificial intelligence revolutionising marketing?


Have traditional newspaper ads, direct mailings and newsletters nearly had their day? Artificial intelligence (AI) is creating digital, personalised content that is much more effective.


Text: Ladina Camenisch, Image: © Alamy Stock Photo




Today, Facebook and Google are among the world’s most successful companies. And there’s a reason for that: they have redefined marketing by analysing their customers’ every click. They focus heavily on data and use AI to draw meaningful conclusions from it. The strategy is working: the two giants have captured most of the world’s advertising business in a very short space of time. The losers are companies that don’t yet use AI.


AI as a lifeline in the data flood


Swiss companies are now only just beginning to take their first hesitant steps with AI. Intelligent systems already have a huge diversity of uses, varying from medical applications such as X-ray analysis to answering customer queries. “Slowly but surely, people in Switzerland are beginning to realise how AI can help with marketing,” explains Michael Baeriswyl, Swisscom’s Head of Data, Analytics & AI.

AI enables marketing experts, for example, to analyse more data more quickly and thereby gain insights into customer behaviour. A company can then tailor its marketing campaigns to its target groups and make them much more effective. Newsletters are no longer sent to general mailing lists, but AI collates individual content based on customer’ clicks, making it much more relevant to readers. Another example: in order to understand a customer’s buying intentions even better, algorithms can analyse billions of searches or their website activity. The intelligent system can then recognise when a decision to buy is imminent. The relevant product ads are then displayed at exactly the right moment. These changes mean that marketing experts, rather than focusing most of their attention on targeting, can concentrate on content development.

Virtual assistants are making the use of AI almost obligatory: Amazon’s Alexa or Google’s Siri, for example, are changing users’ search behaviour and influencing the way search engines work. Adapting their own content to these new, constantly changing parameters has become simply impossible for individual employees. Baeriswyl says: “A human being can’t analyse this quantity of data. Artificial intelligence, on the other hand, can carry out such tasks easily.”


People want people


AI works best when humans and machines work together. The system may be able to carry out simple tasks such as changing a customer’s address or subscription on its own. But when it comes to more complex processes, it needs human experience and empathy. Because there comes a time when a person wants to speak to another person – and not to a machine. “Companies would do well not to forget this,” warns Baeriswyl. “I am sure that marketing experts will not be replaced by AI. But AI can help lighten the load with certain repetitive tasks or decision-making processes.” This gives us human beings more time to do the things that machines can’t, such as be creative or communicate with customers in an empathetic way.







Newsletter

Subscribe to the newsletter now and stay informed about trends, industry news and benchmarks.





More on the topic

Künstliche Intelligenz im Marketing

Künstliche Intelligenz

Revolutioniert künstliche Intelligenz das Marketing?


Haben klassische Inseratewerbung, Direct Mailings oder Newsletter bald ausgedient? Denn künstliche Intelligenz (KI) kreiert digitale, personalisierte Inhalte mit deutlich mehr Wirkung.


Text: Ladina Camenisch, Bild: © Alamy Stock Photo




Facebook und Google gehören heute zu den erfolgreichsten Firmen der Welt. Mit ein Grund: Sie haben das Marketing neu definiert, indem sie jeden Klick ihrer Kunden analysieren. Sie konzentrieren sich stark auf Daten und nutzen KI, um aus ihnen sinnvolle Schlüsse zu ziehen. Die Strategie wirkt: Die beiden Giganten haben in kurzer Zeit einen Grossteil des weltweiten Werbegeschäfts gekapert. Die Verlierer sind Unternehmen, die noch keine KI einsetzen.


KI als Rettungsleine in der Datenflut


Schweizer Unternehmen machen erst zögerliche erste Schritte in Richtung KI. Dabei sind die Anwendungsmöglichkeiten für intelligente Systeme bereits heute sehr vielfältig. Sie reichen von medizinischen Anwendungen – etwa bei der Auswertung von Röntgenbildern – bis zur Beantwortung von Kundenanfragen. «Das Wissen um die Vorteile von KI im Marketing beginnt in der Schweiz langsam Fuss zu fassen», erklärt Michael Baeriswyl, Leiter Swisscom Data, Analytics & AI.

KI hilft den Marketingexperten beispielsweise, in kürzerer Zeit mehr Daten zu analysieren und damit Einblicke in das Verhalten der Kunden zu gewinnen. So vermag eine Firma ihre Marketingkampagne zielgruppengerecht anzupassen und erzielt deutlich mehr Wirkung. Newsletter werden nicht länger an den allgemeinen Verteiler verschickt, sondern KI stellt individuellen Content zusammen – basierend auf den Klicks der Kunden. Dadurch steigt die Relevanz für den Leser erheblich. Ein weiteres Beispiel: Um die Kaufabsichten eines Kunden noch besser zu verstehen, können die Algorithmen Milliarden von Suchanfragen oder die Aktivität auf Internetseiten analysieren. So erkennt das intelligente System, wann ein Kaufentscheid unmittelbar bevorsteht. Im exakt richtigen Moment werden die passenden Produktanzeigen eingeblendet. Für Marketingexperten bedeuten diese Entwicklungen, dass sie sich nicht länger hauptsächlich mit dem Targeting beschäftigen müssen. Neu können sie auf die Weiterentwicklung der Inhalte fokussieren.

Sprachassistenten machen die Verwendung von KI sogar fast zum Muss: Amazons Alexa oder Googles Siri ändern das Suchverhalten von Kunden und beeinflussen die Art und Weise, wie Suchmaschinen funktionieren. Das Anpassen des eigenen Contents an diese neuen – und sich stets verändernden – Parameter ist für einen einzelnen Mitarbeitenden schlichtweg nicht machbar. Baeriswyl: «Ein Mensch kann diese Datenmenge unmöglich auswerten. KI meistert solche Aufgaben hingegen problemlos.»


Menschen wollen Menschen


KI funktioniert am besten, wenn Mensch und Maschine zusammenarbeiten. Einfache Kundenanfragen wie beispielsweise eine Adressmutation oder einen Abowechsel mag das System alleine erledigen. Doch wenn es um komplexere Themen geht, braucht es die Erfahrung und die Empathie von Menschen. Denn ab einem bestimmten Punkt will ein Mensch mit einem anderen Menschen sprechen – und nicht mit einer Maschine. «Firmen tun gut daran, dies nicht zu vergessen», mahnt Baeriswyl. «Ich bin überzeugt, dass Marketingexperten nicht durch KI ersetzt werden. Aber KI kann uns bei gewissen repetitiven Aufgaben entlasten oder Entscheidungsvorlagen liefern.» So bleibt uns Menschen mehr Zeit dafür, was keine Maschine kann: für kreative Aufgaben oder den empathischen Austausch mit Kunden.







Newsletter

Jetzt Newsletter abonnieren und über Trends, Branchen-News und Benchmarks informiert bleiben.


Zur Anmeldung




Mehr zum Thema