The user interface of the future

The user interface of the future

Artificial intelligence reacts to emotions


Devices and software are using artificial intelligence to learn to react to user emotions. This will dramatically change the user interface of the future.


Text: Hansjörg Honegger, images: © Raphael Zubler,



E-readers are really practical: Lightweight, a memory full of books, and some are even constantly online. All you have to do for yourself is read and understand the texts – at least, until now. By utilising artificial intelligence and methods to analyse human emotions, e-readers will be able to do a lot more in future:

  • The letters automatically become a little larger when signs of fatigue become apparent. 
  • A quizzical way of looking at a word makes a definition – or translation – appear. 
  • If the reader’s concentration is starting to wane, then the entire text that follows is formulated in a more easily comprehensible way. All this is done to ensure the reader keeps reading for as long as possible.
  • This is – in part – still a long way in the future. However, as specialists in UX (“user experience”) have realised: Simply presenting users with an intuitive user interface based on familiar standards is no longer enough. Anyone who uses a device today has emotional expectations that keep changing over time. In future, the user interface will need to be able to keep up with these expectations. These expectations notwithstanding, wearables, for example, will require a completely new type of user interface. And language is nowhere near the last word on the subject. Please observe the reference to a study appearing in the “further information” box.


Avoiding disappointments

In its study, “The Experience Revolution: Digital Disappointment – Why Some Consumers Aren’t Fans”, IBM established that 70 percent of customers are not satisfied with digital products. Their disappointment in virtual reality or in automatic voice control are stopping them from wanting to enter into a relationship with the brand a second time. Convenience, fast results and straightforward processes are decisive for turning a user into a fan of the brand. As well as an attractive price, of course.

Disappointment means: expectations were unable to be satisfied. But how is a device supposed to recognise expectations that ultimately depend on the emotional sensitivities of the customer? Professor Per Bergamin, Head of the Institute for Correspondence Courses and e-Learning Research (IFeL) in Brig, has spent years working on this question. His research unit, “Personalised and Adaptive Learning” aims to make it possible for students to benefit from individually adapted, screen-based learning experiences. “Our solution allows the level of difficulty of the study material to be adapted automatically to the progress that the student is making”, Bergamin explains. The system is constantly adding to its knowledge base in the background, and is capable of interpreting the level of a student’s knowledge by means of their answers. This is used as a basis for presenting the next round of material.

Bergamin provides a simple example: “The software can ask how the evaporation of ice functions. Or it can split this question up into ten individual questions which steadily guide the student towards the right solution.” In the past, Bergamin says, the progress made when learning has been determined using the corresponding questions. A painstaking business which demanded a lot of handiwork from the developers. However, now that they are in phase 2, the research team in Brig is working on an approach that also factors human emotions into the equation. “There are people who don't like answering questions, and these students should not be disadvantaged”, Bergamin underlines. Facial expressions are a potential way to obtain information about the level of the students’ knowledge. Is anyone looking confused, quizzical, or particularly zealous? The software interprets these feelings and then presents the corresponding material. Of course, this does require the student to have the corresponding hardware at their disposal.


Sonar: More efficient that classic reports

But do people from different cultures actually express their feelings in a way that allows a machine to recognise them? When, for example, facial expressions are limited to the seven basic emotions described by Paul Ekmann, then this shouldn't be a problem. The expression corresponding to joy, anger, fear, disgust, sadness, surprise, contempt and shame is innate to every person, and can be identified worldwide. Whether the machine interprets the expression correctly in the corresponding context is another matter altogether. Is the student despairing because of having to answer the same stupid question for the third time running, or is it because he has not understood the question for the third time in a row?



1/7 Joy

2/7 Sadness

3/7 Disgust

4/7 Anger

5/7 Fear

6/7 Contempt

7/7 Surprise

1/7 Joy


Recognising human feelings not only has increasing importance for user interfaces – its significance is also increasing for product development and marketing. “Sonar”, a solution developed by Swisscom, can recognise which feelings the customer is harbouring towards the company, or its products and services, in real time – and whether there are any storms gathering somewhere in Switzerland. “In a pilot trial, we are analysing different public Internet channels”, Marc Steffen, Head of Product Design, Artificial Intelligence & Machine Learning Group at Swisscom, explains. In itself, this is nothing new. Previously, however, the insights gained would have been combined, sometimes manually, into lengthy reports and be sent on to a number of interested parties – in the best case, as a dashboard; in the worst case, as a text document.

Today, Sonar analyses the reactions of customers in real time, showing what is being written and at the same time, evaluates whether the trends are positive, negative or neutral. “A product manager can now search for his product in Sonar and only needs to glance at it quickly to determine whether the corresponding customer mood in social media and comments columns tends to be positive or negative, and why”, Marc Steffen says. However, it first took an analysis of around 10,000 statements for the system, and allocation of the formulations to a state of mind, before the function had progressed this far. “This allows Sonar to learn what positive formulations are in different contexts, and what negative ones are.”


The emotion determines the content

The user interface of tomorrow won't have much in common with the way we use and manage programs and information today. The expectations of the user will increasingly determine what he sees and is presented. Artificial intelligence will make this possible, as it learns to interpret the emotions experienced by the user – or the customer – from their tone of voice, facial expression and the written word. This will result in some debate: Will the user even want to allow the service provider to see inside his mind, so to speak?

Per Bergamin accentuates that there are already devices available on the market for relatively little money which can, among other things, interpret brain activity. However, leaving others the freedom to decide this for themselves is a principle he adheres to: “Even today, the influence of our learning software automatically decreases as the learner’s level of knowledge increases, and instead of being instructional, tends to lend support, for example by providing additional information that can be used when needed.” Exactly where the line needs to be drawn still remains to be seen. However, Marc Steffen from Swisscom considers this to be clear-cut: “This area needs absolute transparency, and ultimately the user’s free choice as well. The user must be kept informed about what the service provider is doing, and must be able to decide against it at any time.”





Additional Information


Beware emotional robots: Giving feelings to artificial beings could backfire, study suggests: When chatbots are used in particular, the type of conversation is decisive. Strong emotions on the part of the machine have an unsettling effect.

Amazon Working on Making Alexa Recognize Your Emotions: Alexa aims to know when the user is irritated, and to apologise accordingly. This would be highly innovative for a computer.

The 2017 Voice Report by VoiceLabs: Using voice control to operate devices is a major trend. And yet this option hasn't really been embraced by users. One reason: A lack of visual reminders means they quickly forget that the option is even available. Just 3% of users still use a voice application in the second week following installation.


Sonar recognises customer moods



Sonar, a system developed by Swisscom, gathers customers' opinions via different channels, for example Twitter, the comments on newspaper websites, RSS feeds or the service desk. Positive, negative or neutral content – Sonar analyses the mood automatically. In addition, the system recognises trends or themes or summarises customer feedback into a few sentences. Sonar makes it possible to recognise how a brand is perceived by customers. And as an easy-to-use web application it helps employees to understand their customers better and make informed decisions based on data.




More on the topic

Das User Interface der Zukunft

Das User Interface der Zukunft

Künstliche Intelligenz reagiert auf Emotionen


Dank künstlicher Intelligenz lernen Geräte und Programme, auf Emotionen der Nutzer zu reagieren. Dies wird das User Interface der Zukunft dramatisch verändern.


Text: Hansjörg Honegger, Bilder: © Raphael Zubler,



E-Reader sind eine praktische Sache: Leicht, jede Menge Bücher speicherbar, einige sind sogar permanent online. Nur lesen und verstehen muss man die Texte noch selbst –bis jetzt. Mithilfe künstlicher Intelligenz und Methoden zur Analyse von menschlichen Emotionen können E-Reader künftig vielleicht noch viel mehr:

  • Die Buchstaben werden bei Ermüdungserscheinungen automatisch etwas grösser.
  • Ein zweifelnder Blick auf ein Wort blendet eine Erklärung – oder Übersetzung - ein.
  • Lässt die Konzentration nach, wird gleich der gesamte folgende Text etwas einfacher formuliert. All das, damit der Leser möglichst lang dranbleibt.

Das ist – zum Teil – noch Zukunftsmusik. Doch UX-Spezialisten („User Experience“ Anwendererlebnis) haben erkannt: Es reicht heute nicht mehr, den Anwendern eine intuitive Benutzeroberfläche zu präsentieren, die auf bekannten Standards gründet. Wer heute ein Gerät nutzt, hat eine emotionale Erwartungshaltung, die sich laufend verändert. Die Benutzeroberfläche muss künftig mit diesen Erwartungshaltungen mithalten können. Ganz abgesehen davon verlangen beispielsweise Wearables oft eine komplett neue Art Benutzeroberfläche. Und Sprache ist bei weitem nicht der Weisheit letzter Schluss.  Beachten Sie dazu den Hinweis auf eine Studie in der Box «Weiterführende Informationen».


Enttäuschungen vorbeugen

IBM stellte in der Studie «The Experience Revolution: Digital Disappointment – Why Some Consumers Aren’t Fans» fest, dass 70 Prozent der Kunden digitaler Angebote unzufrieden sind. Die Enttäuschung in der virtuellen Realität oder bei der automatischen Sprachsteuerung halte sie davon ab, ein zweites Mal mit der Marke in Kontakt zu treten. Bequemlichkeit, rasche Resultate und einfache Prozesse seien entscheidend, um Fan einer Marke zu werden. Sowie natürlich ein attraktiver Preis.

Enttäuschung heisst: Die Erwartungshaltung konnte nicht erfüllt werden. Wie aber soll ein Gerät eine Erwartungshaltung erkennen, die nicht zuletzt von der emotionalen Befindlichkeit des Kunden abhängt? Professor Per Bergamin, Leiter des Instituts für Fernstudien und e-Learning-Forschung (IFeL) in Brig, beschäftigt sich seit Jahren mit dieser Frage. Seine Forschungseinheit «Personalisiertes und adaptives Lernen» hat zum Ziel, den Studenten am Bildschirm individuell angepasstes Lernen zu ermöglichen. «Der Schwierigkeitsgrad des Lernstoffes wird mit unserer Lösung je nach Lernfortschritt des Studenten automatisch angepasst», erklärt Bergamin. Das System im Hintergrund lernt laufend dazu und vermag aus den Antworten des Studenten dessen Wissenstand zu interpretieren. Darauf aufbauend wird der Folgestoff präsentiert.

Bergamin macht ein simples Beispiel: «Die Software kann fragen, wie das Verdampfen von Eis funktioniert. Oder sie kann diese Frage in zehn Einzelfragen aufteilen, die den Studierenden langsam an die richtige Lösung heranführt.» Bisher, so Bergamin, seien die Lernfortschritte mit entsprechenden Fragen eruiert worden. Eine mühsame Angelegenheit, die viel Handarbeit von den Entwicklern erforderte. Jetzt aber, in Phase 2, arbeitet das Briger Forschungsteam an einem Ansatz, der auch menschliche Emotionen beizieht. «Es gibt Menschen, die ungern Fragen beantworten, diese Studenten dürfen nicht benachteiligt werden», betont Bergamin. Gesichtsausdrücke sollen über den Wissenstand der Studenten Auskunft geben. Schaut jemand fragend, verzweifelt, begeistert? Die Software interpretiert diese Gefühle und zeigt den entsprechenden Stoff. Voraussetzung ist natürlich, dass der Studierende über die entsprechende Hardware verfügt.

 


Sonar: Effizienter als klassische Reportings

Aber drücken Menschen unterschiedlicher Kulturen ihre Gefühle denn überhaupt so aus, dass eine Maschine das auch erkennen kann? Sofern sich beispielsweise die Gesichtserkennung auf die sieben Basis-Emotionen nach Paul Ekmann beschränkt.  sollte das kein Problem sein. Der entsprechende Ausdruck für Freude, Wut, Furcht, Ekel, Traurigkeit, Überraschung, Verachtung und Scham ist jedem Menschen angeboren und lässt sich weltweit identifizieren. Ob die Maschine die Expression im entsprechenden Zusammenhang richtig interpretiert, steht auf einem anderen Blatt. Ist der Student verzweifelt, weil er zum dritten Mal dieselbe dumme Frage beantworten muss, oder ist er es, weil er die Frage auch zum dritten Mal nicht versteht?



1/7 Freude

2/7 Trauer

3/7 Ekel

4/7 Wut

5/7 Furcht

6/7 Verachtung

7/7 Überraschung

1/7 Freude


Menschliche Gefühle zu erkennen, ist nicht nur für Benutzeroberflächen zunehmend wichtiger, ihre Bedeutung nimmt auch für Produktentwicklung und Marketing zu. «Sonar», eine von Swisscom entwickelte Lösung, erkennt in Echtzeit, welche Gefühle die Kunden der Firma oder ihren Produkten und Dienstleistungen gegenüber hegen und ob sich irgendwo in der Schweiz etwas zusammenbraut. «In einem Pilotversuch analysieren wir verschiedene öffentliche Internetkanäle», erklärt Marc Steffen, Head of Product Design, Artificial Intelligence & Machine Learning Group bei Swisscom. Das ist an sich noch nichts Neues. Früher aber wurden diese Erkenntnisse in aufwendigen Reportings teilweise manuell zusammengefasst und im besten Fall in einem Dashboard, im schlimmeren Fall in einem Textdokument einigen interessierten Personen weitergereicht.

Heute analysiert Sonar in Echtzeit die Befindlichkeit der Kunden, zeigt an, was geschrieben wird und bewertet zugleich, ob die Trends positiv, negativ oder neutral sind. «Ein Produktmanager kann heute in Sonar nach seinem Produkt suchen, um auf einen Blick festzustellen, ob die entsprechende Kundenstimmung in Social Media und Kommentarspalten eher positiv oder negativ ist und warum», so Marc Steffen. Bis es so weit war, mussten allerdings zuerst rund 10'000 Sätze für das System analysiert und die Formulierungen einem Zustand zugewiesen werden. «Damit lernt Sonar, was in unterschiedlichen Kontexten positive Formulierungen sind, und was negative.»

 

Die Emotion bestimmt den Inhalt

Die Benutzeroberfläche von morgen wird nicht mehr viel gemein haben mit der Art und Weise, wie wir heute Programme und Informationen nutzen und steuern. Die Erwartungshaltung des Anwenders wird zunehmend darüber bestimmen, was er sieht und wie es ihm präsentiert wird. Möglich wird dies dank künstlicher Intelligenz, die lernt, die Emotionen des Anwenders – bzw. des Kunden - in Stimme, Gesicht und geschriebenem Wort zu deuten. Dies wird zu Diskussionen führen: Will der Anwender überhaupt, dass ihm der Anbieter quasi in den Kopf schaut?

Per Bergamin betont, dass es heute bereits Geräte für relativ wenig Geld auf dem Markt gibt, die unter anderem auch Gehirnaktivitäten interpretieren können. Doch für ihn ist klar, dass die Selbstbestimmung oberstes Gebot ist: «Der Einfluss unserer Lern-Software nimmt schon heute mit zunehmendem Wissenstand des Lernenden automatisch ab und wird statt anleitend eher unterstützend, beispielsweise mit zusätzlichen Informationen, die er bei Bedarf nutzen kann.» Wo die Grenze gezogen wird, muss sich noch weisen. Für Marc Steffen von Swisscom ist aber klar: «Hier braucht es absolute Transparenz und letztlich auch die Wahlfreiheit des Nutzers. Er muss zu jeder Zeit wissen, was der Anbieter tut und sich immer auch dagegen entscheiden können.»





Weiterführende Informationen


Beware emotional robots: Giving feelings to artificial beings could backfire, study suggests: Gerade beim Einsatz von Chatbots ist die Art der Konversation entscheidend. Tiefe Emotionen aufseiten der Maschine wirken verstörend.

Amazon Working on Making Alexa Recognize Your Emotions: Alexa soll erkennen, wenn der Anwender verärgert ist und sich dann entschuldigen. Das wäre mal was ganz Neues bei Computern.

The 2017 Voice Report by VoiceLabs: Device-Steuerung per Stimme ist zwar ein Riesentrend. Doch so richtig angenommen wird die Möglichkeit von den Usern nicht. Ein Grund: Sie vergessen mangels visueller Erinnerung sehr schnell, dass es die Möglichkeit überhaupt gibt. Gerade mal 3% der User nutzen eine Voice-Application auch in der zweiten Woche nach der Installation.


Sonar erkennt Kundenstimmung



Sonar, ein von Swisscom entwickeltes System, sammelt Kundenstimmen über verschiedene Kanäle, so etwa aus Twitter, den Kommentaren von Zeitungswebsites, RSS-Feeds oder den Service Desk. Positive, negative oder neutrale Inhalte – Sonar analysiert automatisch die Stimmung. Ausserdem erkennt das System Trends und Themen oder fasst Kundenfeedbacks in wenigen Sätzen zusammen. Sonar ermöglicht es zu erkennen, wie die Marke von den Kunden erlebt wird. Und als übersichtliche Webapplikation hilft es den Mitarbeitern, die Kunden besser zu verstehen und auf Daten fundierende Entscheidungen zu treffen.

 




Mehr zum Thema