Login Partner Network status Newsletter Contact
Login Partner Network status Newsletter Contact

Mobility insights data, Tourism insights Crans-Montana

Tourism insights Crans-Montana

How mobile data helps creating valuable experiences for Crans-Montana visitors

This article talks about mobile network data that is originally collected for network quality purposes and can also be translated into smart insights that empower better decision-making for Swisscom clients. We take an example in the tourism sector with the famous Crans-Montana resort.

Text: Yann Steimer,

Crans-Montana is one of the major tourist destinations in Valais; it is hosting prestigious events throughout the year from world-class ski competitions to horse jumping and golf tournaments. To adapt accommodation and infrastructure needs, it is crucial for the tourist office and the authorities to know the genuine demand as well as better understand visitors’ movements and behaviors.

 

The Mobility Insights Platform is a web-based platform that provides insights on the flows of visitors as well as demographics data for a defined area and time period. The data, originally collected from the mobile network for quality reasons, is first anonymized, aggregated and then transformed into meaningful insights by using big data and machine learning algorithms.

 

You can see an example of our technical capabilities in the following video:

brightcoveVideo_skipAdTitle
brightcoveVideo_skipAdCountdown
brightcoveVideo_skipAdRest
brightcoveVideo_skipAdForReal

The tourist office of Crans-Montana chose the two weeks of Christmas 2018 and decided to analyze the following area of interest (in purple) across the municipalities of Crans-Montana (in green), Lens (in red) and Icogne (in blue).

View of the area of interest (in purple) across the municipalities of Crans-Montana (in green), Lens (in red) and Icogne (in blue)

When they looked at the origins of their incoming visitors, they were surprised to see that the top 10 locations were all based in Valais. This can be explained by the fact that those are not the home locations of the visitors but the origins of their last trip prior to arrival in the ski station.

Origins of visitors for the Crans-Montana area of interest: drilling down to the Sion municipality where 23'597 traveled from there to go to Crans-Montana during the two holiday Christmas weeks of 2018.

In fact, the Mobility Insights Platform works the following way: It detects mobile phone movements and records a trip until the phone stays fixed at a position for more than 20 minutes. When it moves again, it will start a second trip until it stops again and so on.

 

So, a first learning was that at least 15% of visitors do a stopover in Sion or Sierre (probably for grocery shopping) before driving the last part to get to Crans-Montana.

 

We also looked at the visitors’ municipality of residence and discovered that guests from Lausanne and Geneva are part of the top 10.

 

Another very interesting insight we introduced was the tourists’ country of origin. Apparently, the Italians are the first foreign visitors to the resort during Christmas and New Year.

Top subscriber number nationalities

Switzerland

Italy

Netherlands

France

United Kingdom

78.54%

6.31%

3.58%

3.44%

1.88%

The tourist office also used the platform to compute day by day the evolution of trips entering and leaving the area. They saw immediately the importance of New Year’s Eve during which a lot of visitors came to the station.

 

The Mobility Insights Platform has been originally built to suit cities, urban planning and transport optimization needs and hence shows mostly mobility-based information. Other insights related to the population density of an area as well as its evolution over time would be very valuable for new segments like tourism as well as events and retail. New developments from Mobility Insights are already in progress to suit these needs.



More on the topic

Newsletter Partner Login Netzstatus Kontakt
Newsletter Partner Login Netzstatus Kontakt

Mobilitätsdaten, Tourismusdaten Crans-Montana

Tourismus insights Crans-Montana

Wie Mobilfunkdaten einen Besuch in Crans-Montana zum Erlebnis machen können

Erfahren Sie, wie Swisscom-Kunden wertvolle Erkenntnisse aus Mobilfunkdaten ziehen können, die ursprünglich zur Verbesserung der Netzwerkqualität erhoben wurden. Wir erläutern am Beispiel des berühmten Ferienorts Crans-Montana, wie sich Mobilfunkdaten im Tourismus nutzen lassen.

Text: Yann Steimer,

Crans-Montana ist eines der wichtigsten Touristenziele im Wallis; dort finden während des ganzen Jahres hochkarätige Veranstaltungen wie internationale Skirennen, Reit- und Golfturniere statt. Um ausreichend Unterkünfte und Infrastruktur bereitstellen zu können, müssen das Fremdenverkehrsamt und die Gemeinde den tatsächlichen Bedarf kennen und die Bewegungen und Verhaltensmuster der Touristen besser verstehen.

 

Die Mobility Insights-Plattform ist eine Internet-Plattform, welche die Besucherströme und die demografischen Daten eines Gebiets in einem vorgegebenen Zeitraum darstellt. Die Daten, die der Netzbetreiber zwecks Qualitätsverbesserung sammelt, werden zunächst anonymisiert, zusammengefasst und anschliessend mittels Big Data und maschineller Lernalgorithmen in aussagekräftige Erkenntnisse umgesetzt.

 

Das folgende Video vermittelt einen Eindruck von unseren technischen Möglichkeiten:

brightcoveVideo_skipAdTitle
brightcoveVideo_skipAdCountdown
brightcoveVideo_skipAdRest
brightcoveVideo_skipAdForReal

Das Fremdenverkehrsamt von Crans-Montana wählte als Referenzzeitraum die zweiwöchigen Weihnachtsferien 2018 und betrachtete das nachstehend gezeigte Gebiet (violett), das sich über die Gemeinden Crans-Montana (grün), Lens (rot) und Icogne (blau) erstreckt.

Newsletter

Möchten Sie regelmässig spannende Artikel und Whitepaper zu aktuellen ICT-Themen erhalten?

> zur Anmeldung

Karte des Untersuchungsgebiets (violett), das sich über die Gemeinden Crans-Montana (grün), Lens (rot) und Icogne (blau) erstreckt.

Dabei stellte sich heraus, dass die zehn Orte, aus denen die meisten Besucher in dem Zeitraum nach Crans-Montana reisten, überraschenderweise alle im Wallis liegen. Das liegt daran, dass diese Orte nicht die Wohnorte der Besucher sind, sondern die Ausgangsorte der letzten Etappe ihrer Reise zur Skistation.

Herkunft der Besucher des untersuchten Gebiets in Crans-Montana: Rückverfolgung zur Gemeinde Sion; 2018 reisten während der zweiwöchigen Weihnachtsferien von dort 23 597 Personen nach Crans-Montana.

Die Mobility Insights-Plattform arbeitet im Prinzip wie folgt: Sie verfolgt die Bewegungen der Mobiltelefone und zeichnet sie auf, bis das Telefon mindestens 20 Minuten lang an einem Ort bleibt. Bewegt es sich danach weiter, beginnt die Aufzeichnung einer weiteren Reise bis zum nächsten Haltepunkt, und so weiter.

 

Als Erstes haben wir festgestellt, dass mindestens 15 Prozent der Besucher einen Zwischenstopp in Sion oder Sierre einlegen (wahrscheinlich um einzukaufen), bevor sie nach Crans-Montana weiterfahren.

 

Ausserdem haben wir den Wohnort der Besucher erkundet und Lausanne und Genf als zwei der zehn Gemeinden ausgemacht, aus denen die meisten Besucher stammen.

 

Als weitere hochinteressante Erkenntnis haben wir die Herkunftsländer der Touristen ermittelt. In der Weihnachtszeit und zum Jahreswechsel kommen die meisten ausländischen Besucher offenbar aus Italien.

Top Besucher nach Nationalität

Schweiz

Italien

Niederlande

Frankreich

Vereinigtes Königreich

78.54%

6.31%

3.58%

3.44%

1.88%

Ausserdem nutzte das Fremdenverkehrsamt die Plattform, um festzustellen, wie viele Menschen täglich das Gebiet für Ausflüge betreten und verlassen. Auffallend dabei war der grosse Besucherzustrom zur Skistation an Silvester.

Die Mobility Insights-Plattform wurde ursprünglich für die Stadt- und Verkehrsplanung entwickelt und zeigt daher vor allem Mobilitätsdaten an. Für den Tourismus, das Event-Management und den Einzelhandel dürften auch Daten zur Bevölkerungsdichte eines Gebiets und ihre zeitliche Entwicklung von grossem Interesse sein. Wir haben bereits begonnen, Mobility Insights entsprechend zu erweitern.


Andere Leser interessierte auch:

Download

Trends 2020

Wie kann Data Driven Business konkret umgesetzt werden? Wir haben fünf Anwendungsfälle analysiert und stellen Praxisbeispiele vor.