SAP BW/4HANA

Data performance in a different league

SAP BW/4HANA is an excellent tool for consolidating data throughout the entire company, streamlining processes and utilising real-time insights. The data warehouse solution is based on SAP HANA and is one the most interesting tools in the recent history of SAP.

Text: Sapayev Anvar, Images: iSTock,

The Tower of Babel? That certainly does not have anything to do with SAP BW/4HANA! You would think so. But there is an important analogy here: Construction could not be completed because the peoples involved spoke different dialects and used differing methods. All of the approaches were justified, all of them had developed over time, and all were intrinsically logical and robust. And yet the cooperation did not work. A Babylonian mish-mash of languages resulted that first hampered the efficiency of individual measures and then thwarted the success of the entire enterprise.

 

Many Swiss companies also have stories like this one to tell when it comes to the diminishing efficiency of their processes and the diversity of their systems. The new standalone data warehouse solution SAP BW/4HANA can solve this growing problem. The application package makes it possible to streamline processes extensively and provides an insight into synergies to increase efficiency. With this solution based on SAP HANA, all of the information is held securely in one place. Everything fits together. Everything can be used instantly. And the performance level that can be achieved as a result is unrivalled.

Hot or not

The first trick that SAP uses to increase performance is its specially developed in-memory database: Unlike conventional databases that have to transfer data from the hard drive to the fast random access memory each time in order to analyse it, now the random access memory is also used as data memory. And the data is prioritised. True to the slogan ‘hot or not’, frequently used information is kept warm there and is therefore on a higher level. Less frequently used, cold data is also kept at the ready, albeit on a less attractive level but one which still responds promptly. Only unused data stays in the archive. In addition, the data structures are always prepared so that they can be used without wasting any time on computing.

 

This new league in terms of performance has a variety of benefits for companies, all of which can ultimately be summed up in one: all data is accessible immediately – without having to take any detours. The evaluation time, for example, is reduced accordingly. In our experience, it is not uncommon to see it reduced by half. But there are also comparable increases in the efficiency of other functions.

More openness, less complexity

I have already hinted at the second, massive benefit of SAP BW/4HANA: Thanks to the platform’s substantial openness to other systems, the “Babylonian mish-mash of languages” disappears. Companies save on translations between the individual formats. Owing to the large number of interfaces, all common data formats (also non-SAP formats) can now be read and standardised. So, anybody who uses an SQL or Oracle database, for example, can continue to do so. The data is prepared in such a way that it can be analysed in real time. This option is also becoming more and more important because companies will be increasingly turning their attention to data that requires live processing in the coming years. After all, this is the only way to enable it to be used for automated forecasts or for decision-making, for example.

 

The marked reduction in complexity is the third significant benefit of SAP BW/4HANA. You no longer need various modelling objects in order to create reports, for example. What is more, data no longer needs to be replicated because the interface issues no longer apply. And it is increasingly the case that users are spared the ‘materialisation’ of data. To put it crudely, if you do not need to print or scan anything, you will save time and paper.

Sound solution for specialist areas

And finally, SAP BW/4HANA offers clear advantages in terms of usability. Via the SAP Analytics Cloud end user tool, it is now also possible for the first time for specialist areas to create their own reports, dashboards or even data marts – without having to request assistance from the IT department every time. In addition, it is now possible to use planning, predictive and machine learning functionalities independently. That spares resources. Especially as the tool can also be controlled via a web-based interface and can be conveniently accessed via a PC or a mobile device.

 

We at Swisscom have already introduced SAP BW/4HANA at a large number of companies in the last few years. Thanks to the strengths indicated here and the openness of the HANA platform, the feedback has been consistently positive. The same is also true within our own company, where we have brought several data warehouses together permanently and extremely efficiently via SAP BW/4HANA. In the upcoming newsletter, my colleague Martin Gutmann [Link] will therefore take up the topic once more and present some case studies.


Do you have questions?

Martin Gutmann

Head of Analytics & Data Consulting






More on the topic:

SAP BW/4HANA

Eine neue Liga der Daten-Performance

SAP BW/4HANA ist ein ausgezeichnetes Instrument, um Daten im gesamten Unternehmen zu konsolidieren, Prozesse zu straffen und Echtzeiterkenntnisse zu nutzen. Die Data-Warehouse-Lösung basiert auf SAP HANA und gehört zu den interessantesten Tools der jüngsten SAP-Geschichte.

Text: Sapayev Anvar, Bilder: iSTock,

Der Turmbau zu Babel? Der hat ja wohl nichts mit SAP BW/4HANA zu tun! Sollte man meinen. Aber es gibt eine wichtige Analogie: Der Bau konnte nicht vollendet werden, weil die beteiligten Völker unterschiedliche Dialekte sprachen und verschiedenartige Methoden nutzt. Alle Herangehensweisen hatten ihre Berechtigung, alle waren historisch gewachsen, alle in sich logisch und aussagekräftig. Trotzdem funktionierte das Zusammenspiel nicht. Es kam zum sprichwörtlichen babylonischen Sprachgewirr, das erst die Effizienz einzelner Massnahmen und dann den Erfolg an sich verhinderte.

 

Geschichten wie diese können auch viele Schweizer Unternehmen erzählen, wenn es um die nachlassende Effizienz ihrer Prozesse und die Verschiedenartigkeit ihrer Systeme geht. Die neuartige und eigenständige Data-Warehouse-Lösung SAP BW/4HANA kann dieses wachsende Problem lösen. Das Anwendungspaket ermöglicht es, Prozesse umfassend zu straffen und gibt Einblick in Synergien zur Steigerung der Effizienz. Mit der auf SAP HANA basierenden Lösung liegen alle Informationen sicher an einem Ort. Alles passt zueinander. Alles kann auf der Stelle genutzt werden. Und die dabei erreichbare Performance sucht ihresgleichen.

Hot or not

Einen ersten Clou, den SAP zur Leistungssteigerung nutzt, ist eine eigens entwickelte In-Memory-Datenbank: Im Unterschied zu herkömmlichen Datenbanken, die Daten jedes Mal von der Festplatte in den schnellen Arbeitsspeicher transferieren müssen, um sie zu analysieren, wird der Arbeitsspeicher nun gleich auch als Datenspeicher genutzt. Und: die Daten werden priorisiert. Getreu dem Slogan „hot or not“ werden dort häufig genutzte Informationen warmgehalten und liegen damit auf einer höheren Ebene. Weniger genutzte, kalte Daten liegen ebenfalls bereit, allerdings auf einer weniger attraktiven, aber immer noch prompt reagierenden Ebene. Lediglich ungenutzte Daten bleiben im Archiv. Zudem werden die Datenstrukturen immer so aufbereitet, dass sie ohne Rechenzeitverluste eingesetzt werden können.

 

Diese neue Liga der Performance hat für Unternehmen eine Vielzahl von Vorteilen, die sich letztlich aber immer auf einen Punkt bringen lassen: Alle Daten sind sofort zugänglich - ohne Umwege gehen zu müssen. Entsprechend verkürzt sich beispielsweise die Auswertungszeit. Nach unseren Erfahrungen nicht selten um die Hälfte. Vergleichbare Effizienzsteigerungen gibt es aber auch bei anderen Funktionen.

Mehr Offenheit, weniger Komplexität

Den zweiten, einschneidenden Vorteil von SAP BW/4HANA hatte ich schon angedeutet: Durch eine substanzielle Offenheit der Plattform anderen Systemen gegenüber verschwindet das „babylonische Sprachgewirr“. Die Unternehmen sparen sich die Übersetzungsleistungen zwischen den einzelnen Formaten. Dank der Vielzahl an Schnittstellen können nun alle gängigen (auch nicht SAP-) Datenformate eingelesen und vereinheitlicht werden. Wer also beispielsweise eine SQL- oder Oracle-Datenbank nutzt, kann das auch weiterhin tun. Die Daten werden so aufbereitet, dass ihre Analyse in Echtzeit erfolgen kann. Immer wichtiger wird diese Option auch deshalb, weil sich der Blick der Unternehmen in den kommenden Jahren immer stärker auf Daten richten wird, die live verarbeitet werden müssen. Denn nur so können sie beispielsweise für automatisierte Forecasts oder zur Entscheidungsfindung genutzt werden.

 

Die deutliche Reduktion von Komplexitäten ist der dritte, signifikante Vorteil von SAP BW/4HANA. Um beispielsweise ein Reporting zu erstellen, werden nun keine verschiedenen Modellierungsobjekte mehr benötigt. Dazu kommt, dass Daten nicht mehr repliziert werden müssen, weil die Schnittstellenproblematik entfällt. Und die Anwender können immer häufiger auf das "Materialisieren" der Daten verzichten. Salopp gesprochen: Wer nichts drucken oder scannen muss, spart Zeit und Papier.

Fundierte Lösung für die Fachbereiche

Und schliesslich bietet SAP BW/4HANA deutliche Vorzüge bei der Usability. Über das Endanwendertool SAP Analytics Cloud wird es nun erstmals auch für Fachbereiche möglich, eigene Berichte, Dashboards oder gar Data Marts zu erstellen – ohne jedes Mal die IT-Abteilung hinzubitten zu müssen. Auch Planungs-, Predictive- und Machine Learning-Funktionalitäten lassen sich nun eigenständig nutzen. Das spart Ressourcen. Zumal sich das Tool auch über eine webbasierte Oberfläche steuern lässt und ein komfortabler Zugriff über PC oder ein mobiles Gerät möglich ist.

 

Wir bei Swisscom haben SAP BW/4HANA in den vergangenen Jahren bereits bei einer Vielzahl Unternehmen eingeführt. Aufgrund der hier angedeuteten Stärken und der Offenheit der HANA Plattform ist die Resonanz durchwegs positiv. Dasselbe gilt auch für unser eigenes Haus, wo wir mehrere Data-Warehouses über SAP BW/4HANA nachhaltig und äusserst effizient zusammengeführt haben. Im kommenden Newsletter wird mein Kollege Martin Gutmann das Thema deshalb erneut aufgreifen und einige Fallbeispiele vorstellen.


Haben Sie noch Fragen? Wir sind persönlich für Sie da.

Martin Gutmann

Head of Analytics & Data Consulting





Andere Leser interessierte auch: