Networking platform for data communication in health





Digitalised healthcare

eHealth: Zurich, Bern and Basel are moving forward


The digitalisation of healthcare is progressing. Zurich and Bern are setting up the biggest eHealth platform in Switzerland for efficient data communication between service providers. And Northwestern Switzerland is also moving forward with confidence.


Urs Binder, published on 24 March 2016, updated on 25 January 2018




Zurich Oberland, July 2027: I suffer from type-2 diabetes, high blood pressure and elevated blood fat values. My doctor prescribes me medication and urgently advises me to make lifestyle changes. Lose weight, take more exercise, eat more healthily. Blood sugar levels and blood pressure, as well as my efforts to improve fitness, must be monitored regularly. However, my life isn’t disrupted by the need to take blood samples or go for check-ups: a sensor implanted in my contact lens constantly measures blood glucose values and warns me if my blood sugar is getting too low. A wearable motivates me to take more exercise. All the data is automatically transferred to the electronic patient record and is immediately available to the doctor.


Still a thing of the future

This is what a patient history could look like in ten years. Digitalisation is transforming health care. There is an electronic patient record (EPR) for every patient who wants one. The GP records the patient’s medical history electronically. Thanks to a central communication platform, all service providers, from the hospital to the home care services, can access the data provided the patient has given the requisite consent. The patient remains the owner of the data and decides who can view the data. Used correctly, this digitalisation brings real benefits:

  • Seamless data exchange between the service providers.
  • Avoidance of errors in recording.
  • More efficient processes, both within the practice or hospital, and between service providers – no time wasted waiting for the post.
  • Better quality of treatment along the entire treatment chain

 

This last point is particularly important. If the wrong medication is prescribed due to insufficient consultation, there is a risk of dangerous interactions, as Thomas Bähler, Head of eHealth at Swisscom Health, is aware: “The consequences can be fatal. More deaths are caused in Switzerland each year by incorrect medication than by road traffic, flu and HIV combined.”

But perhaps the most important thing: “With the EPR, for the first time in history citizens have the opportunity to actually exercise their right to their own medical data.” These are the words of Dr. Samuel Eglin, CEO of Axsana AG, the operating company for the rollout of the EPR in the canton of Zurich. Although the patient does already have the aforementioned right, it takes a lot of work to request all of the data individually and put it together to form a complete picture – and most of what the patient receives is on paper.


The largest eHealth platform in Switzerland

Zurich decided quite some time ago to set up a standardised communications infrastructure for healthcare. Under the leadership of the Department of Health, the associations of the service providers have joined forces to form the Zurich Affinity Domain (ZAD) support association. Its task is to build up a community across the entire canton in accordance with the government’s eHealth strategy (see box). “It all started with an eHealth forum in 2011,” states Samuel Eglin, describing the background. “After that we conducted intensive discussions with the service providers over a period of two years. It was a long process. But now we have a stable support body with high acceptance.”


“The patient does not want to be examined twice just because their general practitioner doesn’t engage in electronic communication.”


Dr. Samuel Eglin, CEO of Axsana AG


Some cantons are starting with a small pilot project; Zurich is going full steam ahead. “We actively decided against a bottom-up approach. We know that the technology works. We wanted to have all the users on board from the word go and offer a comprehensive network solution.”

Swisscom Health was awarded the contract for the technical implementation after a WTO invitation to tender. The tried and tested Swisscom Health Connect platform forms the basis, with the latest encryption and authentication methods providing secure communication. Patients can gain access to their records via the Evita portal.

Since spring 2017, the canton of Zurich is no longer alone on its ambitious journey, as it has been joined by the canton of Bern. Together with Swisscom Health the two most populous cantons are setting up the biggest eHealth platform in the country – to the benefit of around 2.5 million people. They aim to create an equitable, partnership-based solution that will also be open to other cantons. This will enable the EPR to achieve its full potential and promote integrated treatment in the healthcare sector.


Operating without state subsidisation

Why was Swisscom the chosen technology partner? “We wanted a partner that could offer secure, large-volume ICT solutions, one that would be right for our strategy and draw up a business model with us,” says Eglin. In the canton of Zurich, the goal is for the platform and the EPR to be operated without state subsidisation. “This is unique throughout Switzerland, and it’s the only thing that will make sense in the long term.”

To finance the operation, the service providers are offered subscriptions to supplementary services that go beyond the EPR. “These service packages have to be attractively priced and offer real benefits. After all, we can’t force anyone to participate,” says Samuel Eglin. Different packages are planned for doctors, home care organisations, pharmacies and other participants. The packages will digitalise routine processes, making them more efficient. These networking and communication services will be developed and implemented together with the users (hospitals, care homes, doctor’s practices, pharmacies, home care organisations) – that is, solutions will be prepared by service providers for service providers.

The University Hospital Zurich will play a central role in supporting the project and assisting the other service providers. Hospitals in general will be playing a very important part, as they are the first participants legally obligated to offer an EPR and will thus assume a pioneering function.


Basel’s large-scale EPR pilot project

In Northwestern Switzerland preparations for the rollout of the EPR are also progressing fast. A number of service providers in the canton of Basel-Stadt have already been running an eHealth test model for the last few years in a limited number of application scenarios. The Northwestern Switzerland eHealth Support Association founded in January 2017 has converted this test model into a new project phase, the “EPR Pilot for Northwestern Switzerland”. Participating in this pilot are the service providers of the three cantons of Basel-Stadt, Basel-Land and Solothurn. The goal is to have the EPR already implemented and piloted in 2018 on the basis of cantonal law and in agreement with the cantonal data protection authorities. In 2019 the EPR Pilot for Northwestern Switzerland will be converted into a certified community, and thus into regular operation.


General practitioners are sceptical

The majority of general practitioners remain sceptical about eHealth and the EPR. Only a minority currently documents information digitally, between 20 and 40 percent depending on the source. The fax, which has practically disappeared from other industries, is still ever-present in healthcare with fatal consequences for data security: according to Thomas Bähler, one to two percent of faxes fail to reach the correct recipient. “When you extrapolate this to several hundred thousand faxes, a substantial amount of medical data ends up in the wrong place every year.”


“Many faxes containing medical information are sent to the wrong recipient.”


Thomas Bähler, Head of eHealth, Swisscom Health AG


In principle, practically no one has anything against electronic documentation, digital communication and EPR, except that some doctors seem to find the idea of greater transparency – the “transparent doctor” – a little uncomfortable. Some heated discussions in the GP associations show that doctors are primarily concerned about costs. Software for the medical practice is expensive. Data input takes time, and the TARMED tariff structure does not contain a settlement item for this. “In health care, there is no intrinsic motivation to change. All make a good living, are overrun with patients and don’t really need to move,” says Prof. Andréa Belliger, eHealth expert at the Institute for Communication and Management (IKF) and prorector of PH Luzern, highlighting a further factor.

The experts agree on one thing: doctors’ scepticism is also a generational problem. Many GPs who still document information on paper are a few years away from retirement and do not want to change their practice. For young doctors who train in hospitals today, on the other hand, electronic documentation is taken for granted. Most joint practices also work with electronic medical histories from the outset.


Digitalisation will come

Subscribable cloud solutions make it possible to spread the costs for practice software over a long period, so a doctor does not have to make a large one-time investment. In any case, doctor’s surgeries will not be able to avoid digitalisation, because without a digitalised practice and automatic data transfer, it is immensely time consuming to maintain the EPR. Patients are increasingly revealing a desire to electronically access their data, as Samuel Eglin stresses: “Ultimately, the decisive pressure will come from the patients. They won’t want to undergo two examinations just because their GP is not willing to use electronic communication.”


Andréa Belliger adds: “People want to be involved, to communicate openly and to have transparency. eHealth is much more than just digital communication and the EPR. It’s arising from the increasing organisation of our world into networks.” For Belliger, this includes web-based communities such as patientslikeme.com, for example, where patients with particular disorders exchange information “and perhaps thereby achieve a better result than if they were to just talk to a doctor”.  





The government’s eHealth strategy


As early as 2007, the Federal Department of Home Affairs drew up an “eHealth strategy for Switzerland”. According to the Federal Council, eHealth was to help guarantee the population’s access to superior and economical healthcare in terms of quality, efficiency and security. The term was to represent the integrated use of information and communication technologies to support all of the participants and processes in healthcare.

In March 2017 the Federal Law on the Electronic Patient Record (EPDG) came into force, initiating the launch of the EPR. Hospitals must offer an EPR within three years of the law entering into force, and care homes within five. For doctors, other outpatient service providers and patients, participation is optional – this principle is known as “double voluntary action”.




More on the topic


   

Health Connect

Swisscom Health Connect is the data hub for tomorrow’s healthcare industry.

Go to offer

Vernetzungsplattform für Datenaustausch im Gesundheitswesen





Digitalisiertes Gesundheitswesen

eHealth: Zürich, Bern und Basel machen vorwärts


Die Digitalisierung des Gesundheitswesens schreitet voran. Zürich und Bern bauen die grösste eHealth-Plattform der Schweiz für den effizienten Datenaustausch zwischen den Leistungserbringern. Und auch die Nordwestschweiz geht selbstbewusst voran.


Urs Binder, , aktualisiert am 25. Januar 2018




Zürcher Oberland, Juli 2027: Ich leide an Diabetes Typ 2, hohem Blutdruck und erhöhten Blutfettwerten. Mein Hausarzt verschreibt mir Medikamente und gibt die dringliche Empfehlung, meinen Lebensstil zu ändern. Abnehmen, mehr Bewegung, gesünder essen. Zuckerwerte und Blutdruck müssen regelmässig überwacht werden, ebenso meine Fitnessbemühungen. Mein Leben wird aber nicht durch Blutentnahmen und Kontrollbesuche beeinträchtigt: Ein in die Kontaktlinse implantierter Sensor misst laufend die Blutzuckerwerte und warnt mich vor drohender Unterzuckerung. Ein Wearable motiviert mich zu mehr Bewegung. Alle Daten werden automatisch ins elektronische Patientendossier übermittelt und stehen dem Arzt sofort zur Verfügung.



brightcoveVideo_skipAdTitle
brightcoveVideo_skipAdCountdown
brightcoveVideo_skipAdRest
brightcoveVideo_skipAdForReal


Noch Zukunftsmusik

So oder ähnlich könnte eine Patientengeschichte in zehn Jahren aussehen. Das Gesundheitswesen wird durch die Digitalisierung umgekrempelt. Für jeden Patienten, der dies wünscht, gibt es ein elektronisches Patientendossier (EPD). Der Hausarzt führt die Krankengeschichte elektronisch. Auf die Daten können dank einer zentralen Kommunikationsplattform alle Leistungserbringer zugreifen, vom Spital bis zur Spitex – sofern der Patient sie dazu ermächtigt hat. Denn er ist der Datenherr und bestimmt, wer welche Daten sehen kann. Richtig eingesetzt, bringt die Digitalisierung echten Nutzen:

  • Medienbruchfreier Datenaustausch zwischen den Leistungserbringern.
  • Vermeiden von Erfassungsfehlern.
  • Effizientere Prozesse, sowohl intern in Praxis und Spital als auch übergreifend über alle Leistungserbringer kein Zeitverlust aufgrund des Postwegs.
  • Bessere Behandlungsqualität über die gesamte Behandlungskette


Gerade der letzte Punkt ist von grösster Wichtigkeit: Bei einer Fehlmedikation aufgrund mangelhafter Absprache drohen gefährliche Wechselwirkungen, wie Thomas Bähler, Leiter eHealth bei Swisscom Health, weiss: «Die Folgen können tödlich sein. Es gibt in der Schweiz jedes Jahr mehr Todesfälle wegen Fehlmedikation als durch den Strassenverkehr, die Grippe und HIV zusammen.»

Fast am wichtigsten ist aber dies: «Mit dem EPD erhält der Bürger erstmals in der Geschichte die Möglichkeit, sein Recht auf seine eigenen medizinischen Daten wirklich auszuüben». Das hält Dr. Samuel Eglin fest, Geschäftsführer der Axsana AG, der Betriebsgesellschaft für die Einführung des EPD im Kanton Zürich. Das genannte Recht hat der Patient zwar schon heute. Aber es ist mühsam, die Daten überall separat einzufordern und zum einem Gesamtbild zusammenzustellen – und was man erhält, kommt meist auf Papier.


Grösste eHealth-Plattform der Schweiz

Zürich hat sich schon vor längerer Zeit entschieden, eine einheitliche Kommunikationsinfrastruktur für das Gesundheitswesen aufzubauen. Unter Federführung der Gesundheitsdirektion haben sich die Verbände der Leistungserbringer zum Trägerverein Zurich Affinity Domain (ZAD) zusammengeschlossen. Er soll eine kantonsweite Stammgemeinschaft gemäss der eHealth-Strategie des Bundes aufbauen (siehe Box). «Die Initialzündung war ein eHealth-Forum im Jahr 2011», schildert Samuel Eglin die Vorgeschichte. «Danach haben wir zwei Jahre lang intensive Gespräch mit den Leistungserbringern geführt. Das war ein langer Prozess. Aber jetzt haben wir eine stabile Trägerschaft mit hoher Akzeptanz.»


«Der Patient will nicht zweimal untersucht werden, nur weil der Hausarzt sich nicht an der elektronischen Kommunikation beteiligt.»


Dr. Samuel Eglin, Geschäftsführer der Axsana AG


Einige Kantone beginnen mit einem kleinen Pilotprojekt – Zürich geht gleich in die Vollen. «Den Bottom-Up-Weg sind wir bewusst nicht gegangen. Dass die Technik funktioniert, wissen wir. Wir wollten von Anfang an alle Nutzer im Boot haben und eine flächendeckende Vernetzungslösung anbieten».

Mit der technischen Umsetzung wurde im Rahmen einer WTO-Ausschreibung Swisscom Health beauftragt. Als Basis dient die bewährte Plattform Swisscom Health Connect. Für eine sichere Kommunikation kommen die neuesten Verschlüsselungs- und Authentifizierungsmethoden zum Einsatz. Die Patienten können über das Evita-Portal auf ihr Dossier zugreifen.

Seit Frühling 2017 geht der Kanton Zürich seinen ambitionierten Weg nicht mehr alleine. Der Kanton Bern hat sich ihm angeschlossen. Gemeinsam mit Swisscom Health bauen die zwei bevölkerungsreichsten Kantone die grösste eHealth-Plattform des Landes – zum Nutzen von rund 2.5 Millionen Menschen. Angestrebt wird dabei eine gleichberechtigte, partnerschaftliche Lösung, die auch anderen Kantonen offensteht. Damit soll das Potential des EPD voll zur Entfaltung kommen und die integrierte Versorgung im Gesundheitswesen gefördert werden.


Betrieb ohne staatliche Subvention

Warum fiel die Wahl des Technologiepartners auf Swisscom? «Wir wollten einen Partner, der sichere und grossvolumige ICT-Lösungen anbieten kann. Und er sollte zu unserer Strategie passen und mit uns zusammen ein Geschäftsmodell erarbeiten», so Eglin. Im Kanton Zürich soll der Betrieb der Plattform und des EPD nämlich ohne staatliche Subventionen auskommen. «Das ist schweizweit einzigartig und auch das Einzige, das langfristig Sinn macht».

Zur Finanzierung des Betriebs werden den Leistungserbringern Zusatzdienste im Abonnement angeboten, die über das EPD hinausgehen. «Diese Pakete müssen preislich attraktiv sein und einen echten Nutzen bringen. Wir können ja niemanden zwingen, mitzumachen», hält Samuel Eglin fest. Für Ärzte, Spitex-Organisationen, Apotheken und andere Akteure sind unterschiedliche Pakete geplant. . Diese werden Alltagsprozesse digitalisieren und damit effizienter machen. Diese Vernetzungs- und Kommunikationsdienstleistungen werden zusammen mit den Nutzern (Spitälern, Heimen, Ärzteschaft, Apotheken, Spitex) entwickelt und umgesetzt – es werden also Lösungen von Leistungserbringern für Leistungserbringer erarbeitet.

Eine zentrale Rolle bei der Unterstützung des Projekts und der Begleitung der übrigen Leistungserbringer wird das Universitätsspital Zürich einnehmen. Den Spitälern kommt überhaupt eine grosse Bedeutung zu: Sie sind gesetzlich als Erste verpflichtet, ein EPD anzubieten, und nehmen so eine Vorreiterrolle ein.


Basel mit gross angelegtem EPD-Pilotprojekt

Auch in der Nordwestschweiz laufen die Vorbereitungen für die Einführung des EPD auf Hochtouren. Einige Leistungserbringer des Kantons Basel-Stadt führen bereits seit ein paar Jahren einen eHealth-Modellversuch mit einer eingeschränkten Anzahl von Anwendungsfällen durch. Der im Januar 2017 gegründete Trägerverein eHealth Nordwestschweiz hat diesen Modellversuch in eine neue Projektphase überführt, den sogenannten «EPD-Pilot Nordwestschweiz». Am Pilot beteiligen sich die Leistungserbringer der drei Kantone Basel-Stadt, Basel-Land und Solothurn. Das Ziel: 2018 wird auf kantonalrechtlicher Basis und in Abstimmung mit den kantonalen Datenschutzbeauftragten das EPD vorwirkend umgesetzt und pilotiert. 2019 wird der EPD-Pilot Nordwestschweiz in eine zertifizierte Stammgemeinschaft und somit in einen Regelbetrieb überführt.


Die Hausärzte sind skeptisch

Eine Mehrheit der Hausärzte steht den Themen eHealth und EPD noch skeptisch gegenüber. Erst eine Minderheit dokumentiert heute digital, je nach Quelle sind es zwischen 20 und 40 Prozent. Fax, in anderen Branchen praktisch verschwunden, ist im Gesundheitswesen nach wie vor allgegenwärtig. Mit fatalen Folgen für die Sicherheit der Daten: Laut Thomas Bähler erreichen ein bis zwei Prozent der Faxmeldungen nicht den richtigen Empfänger. «Hochgerechnet auf mehrere hunderttausend Faxe, geht so jedes Jahr eine substanzielle Menge an medizinischen Daten an den falschen Ort.»


«Viele Faxmeldungen mit medizinischen Angaben gehen an den falschen Empfänger.»


Thomas Bähler, Leiter eHealth, Swisscom Health AG


Vom Prinzip her hat kaum jemand etwas gegen elektronische Dokumentation, digitale Kommunikation und EPD, ausser dass einige Ärzte die vermehrte Transparenz wohl etwas ungemütlich finden – Stichwort «gläserner Arzt». Teils hitzige Diskussionen in Hausärzteverbänden zeigen, dass die Ärzteschaft vor allem Kostenbedenken hat. Praxissoftware sei teuer in der Anschaffung. Das Erfassen der Daten sei mit Aufwand verbunden und es gebe in TARMED dafür keinen Abrechnungsposten. «Im Gesundheitswesen gibt es keine intrinsische Motivation für Veränderungen. Es leben alle gut, man ist überrannt von Kunden und muss sich eigentlich nicht bewegen», zeigt Prof. Andréa Belliger, eHealth-Expertin am Institut für Kommunikation und Führung und Prorektorin der PH Luzern, einen weiteren Aspekt auf.

In einem sind sich die Experten einig: Die Ärzteskepsis ist auch ein Generationenproblem. Viele Hausärzte, die noch auf Papier dokumentieren, stehen wenige Jahre vor der Pensionierung und wollen ihre Praxis nicht mehr umstellen. Für junge Ärzte, die heute im Spital lernen, ist die elektronische Dokumentation dagegen selbstverständlich. Auch die meisten Gemeinschaftspraxen arbeiten von Anfang an mit der elektronischen Krankengeschichte.


Digitalisierung wird kommen

Abonnierbare Cloud-Lösungen ermöglichen es heute, die Kosten für die Praxissoftware langfristig zu verteilen, statt einmal gross zu investieren. Um die Digitalisierung werden die Arztpraxen jedenfalls nicht herumkommen. Denn ohne digitalisierte Praxis mit automatischer Datenübergabe ist ein EPD nur mit enormem Aufwand zu pflegen. Die Patienten aber wünschen zunehmend elektronischen Zugriff auf ihre Daten, wie Samuel Eglin betont: «Der entscheidende Druck wird letztlich über den Patienten kommen. Er will nicht zweimal untersucht werden, nur weil der Hausarzt nicht bereit ist, sich an der elektronischen Kommunikation zu beteiligen.»

Andréa Belliger ergänzt: «Die Leute möchten selbst partizipieren, offener kommunizieren und Transparenz haben. eHealth ist viel mehr als digitale Kommunikation und EPD. Der Hintergrund ist die zunehmende Organisation unserer Welt in Netzwerken.» Dazu gehören für Belliger zum Beispiel webbasierte Communities wie patientslikeme.com, wo sich Patienten mit bestimmten Krankheitsbildern austauschen «und so vielleicht zu einem besseren Resultat kommen, als wenn sie sich nur mit einem Arzt unterhalten».





Die eHealth-Strategie des Bundes


Bereits 2007 formulierte das Eidgenössische Departement des Inneren eine «Strategie eHealth Schweiz». eHealth soll gemäss dem Bundesrat dazu beitragen, der Bevölkerung den Zugang zu einem bezüglich Qualität, Effizienz und Sicherheit hochstehenden und kostengünstigen Gesundheitswesen zu gewährleisten. Der Begriff steht demnach für den integrierten Einsatz von Informations- und Kommunikationstechnologien zur Unterstützung aller Teilnehmer und Prozesse im Gesundheitswesen.

Im März 2017 ist das Bundesgesetz über das elektronische Patientendossier (EPDG) in Kraft getreten, das die Einführung des EPD anstösst. Spätestens drei Jahre nach Inkrafttreten müssen Spitäler ein EPD anbieten, nach fünf Jahren auch Heime. Für Ärzte, andere ambulante Leistungserbringer und Patienten ist die Teilnahme fakultativ – das Prinzip nennt sich «doppelte Freiwilligkeit».




Mehr zum Thema


   

Health Connect

Swisscom Health Connect ist die Datendrehscheibe für das Gesundheitswesen von morgen.

Zum Angebot

Download: Studie

Weniger Kosten und mehr Qualität im Gesundheitswesen – dank elektronischer Datenübertragung

Gemäss einer von Swisscom in Auftrag gegebenen Studie können 90 Prozent der Kosten oder rund 100 Millionen Franken eingespart werden.