SOC and CSIRT explained

How does a Security Operations Centre (SOC) work?

A Security Operations Centre is the modern defence centre against cyber attacks. But how does such a SOC work, and how does it interact with the "IT fire brigade", the CSIRT? A (fictitious) security incident shows how.

Text: Andreas Heer, Image: iStock,

Intensive silence. Only the rattling of the keyboards can be heard. The IT security specialists sit in front of their screens and analyse servers and notebooks over the network on which malware has crept in, despite all of the security measures. No one is in a frenzy, even if it is a sophisticated attack that requires the deployment of the Computer Security Incident Response Team (CSIRT). Due to the criticality, SOC security analysts had escalated the incident shortly before.

Analysis by man and machine

Because it had to happen quickly. The SOAR platform (Security Orchestration, Automation and Response) had reported unusual access by users to internal servers and to Internet addresses. The security analyst on duty then escalated the alert to an incident via the SOAR platform and forwarded it to his colleague from the incident response layer, so that a more in-depth analysis could be carried out.

 

"Our central SOAR platform helps us to enrich alerts from different detection systems with additional information by means of automated analysis workflows, and to filter out false alarms so that we can quickly identify serious incidents," says Florian Leibenzeder, technical manager in the SOC at Swisscom. In this case, the initial analysis revealed a "true positive", i.e. a genuine security incident. This in turn resulted in an escalation.

 

What the experienced security analyst saw during the in-depth analysis did not please her at all. Because three notebooks showed the same suspicious behaviour. One of the users had contacted the "Cyberdefence" hotline because a document he had received seemed strange when he opened it.

 

The telephone enquiry revealed that this user had received an "offer" from an alleged potential supplier via a file-sharing platform. This step had already been preceded by an exchange of e-mails, so the person did not initially suspect anything and opened the document. And therefore executed a sophisticated, new type of malware. Because a known file-sharing platform was also misused for the attack, the cybercriminals were able to bypass the detection mechanisms of the EDR solution (Endpoint Detection & Response). Such a sophisticated and very targeted attack challenges security specialists when it comes to defence.

From SOC to CSIRT

Human expertise is now needed, the expertise of the experienced incident responders of the CSIRT who are currently on duty in the Operations Squad. Nevertheless, everyone is calm. The experts sit in front of their screens, concentrating. In the meantime, it has been possible to isolate the malware and mitigate the attack - which is referred to as "containment" in this phase of the incident response. The standard procedure was brought to life by the cybersecurity training specialist, SANS Institute. The "Incident Response Cycle" divides the defence procedure into six steps, from preparation to "lessons learned", where the experiences and insights from handling the security incident are evaluated and improvement measures derived. "This standardisation helps to maintain an overview in such cases instead of getting into a frenzy," says Stephan Rickauer, who heads the CSIRT service for business customers at Swisscom.

 

To "contain" the attack, the CSIRT had blocked the three affected user accounts and disconnected the notebooks from the network to make it more difficult for the malware to spread through the company network. But this alone does not ensure the attacker is no longer in the network. After a brief consultation, they prioritise the search for any further traces of the attack, the so-called Indicators of Compromise (IoC), as the next step. The experts want to make sure that the cybercriminals are not still hiding on another system or have not caused damage elsewhere. Now their expertise comes into play.

 

The experienced security staff continue the work of the SOAR system and manually examine the infrastructure for further signs of intrusion. The broad expertise and many years of experience help to ensure a structured examination. One of the experts searches the numerous log files for suspicious logins and activities of the malware, while another examines the network traffic for possible access to a "Command&Control" server. These activities help the experts to find any well-hidden malware files, network anomalies or registry entries.

From containment to post-processing

Shortly afterwards, the security experts give the all-clear. No further alerts have appeared on the SOAR platform, and attempts to access the servers have been unsuccessful. The incident is downgraded and the people involved plan the evaluation of their intervention activities as part of the "lessons learned" step.

«Only through the progressive automation and harmonisation of tools can we keep pace with the increasing complexity of our infrastructures and the attacks on them.»

Florian Leibenzeder, technical manager, Swisscom SOC

How do the professionals in the CSIRT plan work that is determined by external events, that does not adhere to any specific times of day, and is therefore actually incapable of being planned? "The criticality of an event often determines prioritisation, which is the most important criterion," explains Stephan Rickauer.

 

Because of this, the security analysts postpone the task of forensically examining the devices until later. Such an investigation helps to better understand the attackers' approach, i.e. to identify the techniques, tactics and procedures (TTP). However, this step has lower prioritisation, because the notebooks no longer pose a threat.

From analysis to automation

The forensic analysis will be fed into the evaluation of the security incident. The security experts will not only discuss what went well and where there is potential for improvement; based on the analysis of the incident, they will also develop a new "Detection Use Case". This is basically a schematic illustration of the attack pattern - for example, which log entries on which systems indicate such an attack.

 

"Our goal in developing use cases is to automate the initial analysis, the triage, and if necessary, the response. The powerful EDR functions on the workstations and servers and the SOAR workflows for the automation of analysis and response help us to achieve this. Only through the progressive automation and harmonisation of tools can we keep pace with the increasing complexity of our infrastructures and the attacks on them", says Florian Leibenzeder. A SOC and CSIRT with automation tools are indispensable for modern cyber defence.

 

This enables the SOC to react automatically the next time an attack of this kind occurs. The CSIRT is then probably not used at all, because the attack is already stopped at an earlier stage during the incident response. "The attraction of working in a CSIRT is the wide variety of tasks. We don't like to do the same thing twice," says Stephan Rickauer grinning.

 

The attack described here is fictitious and is simply intended to illustrate how a SOC and CSIRT work.

Whitepaper

CSIRT: Professional incident response for companies

What are the roles and tasks of a CSIRT and why is it becoming increasingly important for companies to use one?

 

> Go to free download

Interview

«Automation does help, but it has its limits»

Lorenz Inglin is head of the cyber defence team at Swisscom, which takes care of the security of the Swisscom infrastructure. He set up the current structure with its three-tier model.

Lorenz Inglin, what was pivotal in choosing this cyber defence team structure?

This structure has long been standard in the industry. We have continuously developed our way of working. All three levels work closely together in our operations. The tier 3 employees from the CSIRT coach the security analysts from tier 1 and tier 2. In return, the colleagues from the SOC support the employees in the CSIRT. As a result of this, the activities are moving closer and closer together. In the two years that we have been working like this, it has really proven its worth.

Lorenz Inglin, head of the cyber defence team at Swisscom.

Lorenz Inglin, head of the cyber defence team at Swisscom.

Security specialists are hard to come by. How far does automation help you overcome the shortage of skilled workers?

There is not only a shortage of professionals, as the workload is also increasing at the same time. Automation is therefore all the more important. On the one hand, a modern EDR solution helps us with detection. On the other, we use a SOAR platform to automate analysis and response activities. In general, we invest a lot in prevention. If we reduce the potential attack area, we reduce our monitoring requirements, which means we can prevent possible attacks instead of just reacting to them. This then also benefits our customers because, for example, we can promptly recognise new phishing websites and block them in Swisscom's network. This, in turn, facilitates the analysis and reaction abilities in the SOC.

Nevertheless, you are still dependent on human intervention for certain cases?

Yes, people are needed for in-depth analyses. Automation helps us a lot when it comes to correlating alerts and handling recurring tasks. However, not all cases are predictable, many are simply too complex for machine analysis, or the software is unable to classify the context: If an employee sends IBAN numbers by e-mail, does this now represent confidential bank data and, therefore, an undesired data outflow, or merely payment slips for an association in which the person is involved?

Hand with smartphone

Newsletter

Would you like to regularly receive interesting articles and whitepapers on current ICT topics?


More on the topic:

SOC und CSIRT erklärt

Wie funktioniert ein Security Operations Center (SOC)?

Ein Security Operations Center ist die moderne Abwehrzentrale für Cyberangriffe. Doch wie arbeitet ein solches SOC, und wie spielt es mit der «IT-Feuerwehr» CSIRT zusammen? Ein (fiktiver) Sicherheitsvorfall zeigt es auf.

Text: Andreas Heer, Bilder: iStock,

Konzentrierte Stille. Nur das Klappern der Tastaturen ist zu hören. Die IT-Security-Spezialisten sitzen vor ihren Bildschirmen und analysieren übers Netz Server und die Notebooks, auf denen sich trotz aller Sicherheitsmassnahmen eine Malware eingeschlichen hat. Hektik ist keine zu spüren, auch wenn es sich um einen raffinierten Angriff handelt, der den Einsatz des Computer Security Incident Response Teams (CSIRT) erfordert. Aufgrund der Kritikalität hatten die Security-Analysten des SOC den Vorfall kurz zuvor eskaliert.

Analyse von Mensch und Maschine

Denn es musste schnell gehen. Die SOAR-Plattform (Security Orchestration, Automation and Response) hatte ungewöhnliche Zugriffe von Benutzern auf interne Server und auf Internetadressen gemeldet. Der diensthabende Security Analyst hatte daraufhin den Alert über die SOAR-Plattform zu einem Incident eskaliert und für eine vertiefte Analyse an seine Kollegin aus dem Incident Response Layer weitergeleitet.

 

«Unsere zentrale SOAR-Plattform hilft uns, Alerts aus verschiedenen Detektionssystemen mittels automatisierter Analyse-Workflows mit weiteren Informationen anzureichern, falsche Alarme auszufiltern und so ernsthafte Vorfälle schnell zu erkennen», sagt dazu Florian Leibenzeder, technischer Leiter im SOC von Swisscom. In diesem Fall hatte die erste Analyse einen «True Positive» ergeben, also einen echten Sicherheitsvorfall. Das hatte eine Eskalation zur Folge.

 

Was nun die erfahrene Security-Analystin bei der vertieften Analyse sah, gefiel ihr gar nicht. Denn gleich drei Notebooks zeigten dasselbe verdächtige Verhalten. Einer der Benutzer hatte sich bei der Cyberdefense-Hotline gemeldet, weil ihm ein Dokument, das er erhalten hatte, beim Öffnen seltsam vorkam.

 

Die telefonische Rückfrage ergab, dass dieser Benutzer von einem angeblichen potenziellen Lieferanten über eine Filesharing-Plattform eine «Offerte» erhalten hatte. Diesem Schritt war bereits ein Mailaustausch vorhergegangen, so dass die Person zunächst keinen Verdacht schöpfte und das Dokument öffnete. Und damit eine raffinierte, neuartige Malware ausführte. Weil für den Angriff zudem eine bekannte Filesharing-Plattform missbraucht wurde, konnten die Cyberkriminellen die Erkennungsmechanismen der EDR-Lösung (Endpoint Detection & Response) umgehen. Ein solch raffinierter und sehr gezielter Angriff fordert die Security-Spezialisten in der Abwehr.

Vom SOC zum CSIRT

Nun ist menschliche Expertise gefragt, diejenige der erfahrenen Incident Responder des CSIRT, die gerade im Operations Squad im Dienst sind. Trotzdem herrscht Ruhe. Konzentriert sitzen die Experten vor ihren Bildschirmen. Mittlerweile ist es gelungen, die Malware zu isolieren und den Angriff einzudämmen – das «Containment» wie diese Phase der Incident Response genannt wird. Geprägt hat das Standardvorgehen das auf Cybersecurity-Weiterbildungen spezialisierte SANS Institute. Der «Incident Response Cycle» teilt die Abwehr auf sechs Schritte auf, von der Vorbereitung bis zu «Lessons Learned», bei dem die Erfahrungen und Erkenntnisse aus der Behandlung des Security Incidents ausgewertet und Verbesserungsmassnahmen abgeleitet werden. «Diese Standardisierung hilft, in solchen Fällen den Überblick zu bewahren und nicht in Hektik zu verfallen», sagt Stephan Rickauer, der bei Swisscom den CSIRT-Service für Geschäftskunden leitet.

 

Zur Eindämmung hatte das CSIRT die drei betroffenen Benutzerkonten gesperrt und die Notebooks vom Netz getrennt, um der Malware die Ausbreitung im Firmennetz zu erschweren. Doch damit allein können die Fachleute noch nicht sicherstellen, dass sich der Angreifer nicht mehr im Netz befindet. Sie priorisieren nach kurzer Beratung als nächsten Schritt die Suche nach allfälligen weiteren Spuren des Angriffs, den Indicators of Compromise (IoC). Die Fachleute wollen sichergehen, dass sich die Cyberkriminellen nicht noch auf einem anderen System verbergen oder sonstigen Schaden angerichtet haben. Jetzt ist ihr Expertenwissen gefragt.

 

Die Security-Routiniers führen die Arbeit des SOAR-Systems fort und untersuchen die Infrastruktur manuell auf weitere Einbruchspuren. Das breite Fachwissen und die langjährige Erfahrung helfen bei der strukturierten Untersuchung. Einer der Experten durchsucht die zahlreichen Logdateien nach verdächtigen Logins und Aktivitäten der Malware, während ein anderer den Netzwerkverkehr nach möglichen Zugriffen auf einen Command&Control-Server untersucht. Diese Aktivitäten helfen den Experten, allfällige gut versteckte Malware-Dateien, Netzwerk-Anomalien und Registry-Einträge zu finden.

Von der Eindämmung zur Nachbearbeitung

Kurz darauf geben die Security-Experten Entwarnung. Es sind keine weiteren Alerts auf der SOAR-Plattform aufgetaucht, und die Zugriffsversuche auf die Server waren erfolglos. Der Incident wird heruntergestuft, und die involvierten Personen planen die Auswertung ihres Einsatzes im Rahmen des «Lessons Learned»-Schritts.

«Nur durch eine fortschreitende Automatisierung und die Vereinheitlichung von Tools können wir mit der steigenden Komplexität unserer Infrastrukturen und den Angriffen darauf Schritt halten.»

Florian Leibenzeder, technischer Leiter Swisscom SOC

Wie planen die Fachleute im CSIRT eine Arbeit, die von externen Ereignissen bestimmt wird, sich an keine Tageszeiten hält und somit eigentlich unplanbar ist? «Die Kritikalität eines Ereignisses entscheidet oft über die Priorisierung, das ist das wichtigste Kriterium», erklärt Stephan Rickauer.

 

Deshalb verschieben die Security-Analysten die Aufgabe auf später, die Geräte forensisch zu untersuchen. Diese Untersuchung hilft, das Vorgehen der Angreifer besser zu verstehen, also die Techniken, Taktiken und Vorgehensweisen (TTP) zu erkennen. Dieser Schritt hat jedoch eine tiefe Dringlichkeit, weil von den Notebooks keine Gefahr mehr ausgeht.

Von der Analyse zur Automatisierung

Die forensische Analyse wird in die Auswertung des Sicherheitsvorfalls einfliessen. Die Security-Fachleute werden nicht nur besprechen, was gut gelaufen ist und wo Verbesserungspotential besteht. Aufgrund der Analyse des Vorfalls werden sie einen neuen «Detection Use Case» entwickeln. Hierbei handelt es sich um eine schematische Abbildung des Angriffsmusters – beispielsweise, welche Logeinträge auf welchen Systemen auf eine derartige Attacke hinweisen.

 

«Unser Ziel bei der Entwicklung von Use Cases ist, die erste Analyse, die Triage und allenfalls die Reaktion zu automatisieren. Dabei helfen uns die mächtigen EDR-Funktionen auf den Arbeitsplatzgeräten und Servern und die SOAR-Workflows für die Automatisierung von Analyse und Response. Nur durch eine fortschreitende Automatisierung und die Vereinheitlichung von Tools können wir mit der steigenden Komplexität unserer Infrastrukturen und den Angriffen darauf Schritt halten », sagt Florian Leibenzeder. Für eine moderne Cyberdefense sind SOC und CSIRT mit Tools zur Automatisierung unverzichtbar.

 

Damit kann das SOC bei einem nächsten Angriff dieser Art automatisiert reagieren. Das CSIRT kommt dann wahrscheinlich gar nicht zum Einsatz, weil der Angriff schon bei der Incident Response in einer früheren Stufe gestoppt wird. «Der Reiz an der Arbeit im CSIRT liegt in den vielfältigen Aufgaben. Wir erledigen nicht gerne zwei Mal dasselbe», sagt Stephan Rickauer lachend.

 

Der hier geschilderte Angriff ist fiktiv und soll beispielhaft die Arbeitsweise von SOC und CSIRT aufzeigen.

Infopaket

CSIRT, die IT-Feuerwehr

Wie schützt ein Computer Security Incident Response Team die IT bei Angriffen?

 

> Mehr im Infopaket

Interview

«Automatisierung hilft, hat aber Grenzen»

Lorenz Inglin leitet das Cyberdefense-Team von Swisscom, dass sich um die Sicherheit der Swisscom Infrastruktur kümmert. Er hat die heutige Struktur mit einem Drei-Tier-Modell aufgebaut.

Lorenz Inglin, was gab den Ausschlag für diese Struktur des Cyberdefense-Teams?

Diese Struktur ist seit langem Standard in der Branche. Wir haben unsere Arbeitsweise laufend weiterentwickelt. Bei uns arbeiten alle drei Ebenen im operativen Betrieb eng zusammen. Dabei coachen die Tier-3-Mitarbeitenden aus dem CSIRT die Security-Analysten aus Tier 1 und Tier 2. Im Gegenzug unterstützen die Kollegen aus dem SOC die Mitarbeitenden im CSIRT. So wachsen die Aktivitäten immer enger zusammen. In den zwei Jahren, in denen wir jetzt so arbeiten, hat sich das bewährt.

Lorenz Inglin, Leiter des Cyberdefense-Teams von Swisscom

Lorenz Inglin, Leiter des Cyberdefense-Teams von Swisscom.

Security-Fachleute sind bekanntlich rar. Wie weit hilft Ihnen die Automatisierung über den Fachkräftemangel hinweg?

Es fehlen nicht nur die Fachleute, die Arbeit nimmt gleichzeitig auch noch zu. Umso wichtiger ist deshalb eine Automatisierung. Eine moderne EDR-Lösung hilft uns einerseits bei der Erkennung. Andererseits nutzen wir eine SOAR-Plattform, um Analyse und Response zu automatisieren. Generell investieren wir viel in die Prävention. Wenn wir die Angriffsfläche verringern, müssen wir weniger monitoren und verhindern mögliche Angriffe, anstatt nur darauf zu reagieren. Das kommt dann auch unseren Kunden zugute, indem wir beispielsweise neue Phishing-Webseiten zeitnah erkennen und im Netz von Swisscom sperren. Das erleichtert wiederum die Analyse und Reaktion im SOC.

Trotzdem sind Sie für gewisse Fälle auf menschliches Eingreifen angewiesen?

Ja, bei tiefergreifenden Analysen ist der Mensch gefragt. Die Automatisierung hilft uns sehr beim Korrelieren von Alerts und wiederkehrenden Aufgaben. Aber nicht alle Fälle sind vorhersehbar oder sind schlicht zu komplex für eine maschinelle Analyse, oder die Software kann den Kontext nicht einordnen: Wenn ein Mitarbeitender per Mail IBAN-Nummern verschickt, sind das jetzt vertrauliche Bankdaten und ein unerwünschter Datenabfluss oder bloss Einzahlungsscheine für einen Verein, in dem sich die Person engagiert?

Hand with smartphone

Newsletter

Möchten Sie regelmässig spannende Artikel und Whitepaper zu aktuellen ICT-Themen erhalten?


Andere Leser interessierte auch: