Modern management style

Modern management style

Mobile work changes management style


Many companies are promoting flexible working models. “Smart work” is the catchphrase. But work that is flexible in terms of time and place, desk sharing and home offices challenges everyone – particularly middle management.


Jörg Rothweiler, 24 October 2016




Digitisation, mobile devices, changing lifestyles and a high proportion of knowledge workers are driving flexible work forms. The modern working environment is highly dynamic. Fixed working hours, fixed workplaces and steep hierarchies stand in the way. More and more people are working on the go – or part-time. And more and more companies are dividing work into smaller projects managed by tailored teams. Because in addition to temporal and spatial independence, organisational flexibility is needed to take full advantage of benefits and savings.


The benefits of smart work cannot be overlooked

And the opportunities are many and varied, as studies and statistics show. For the company as well as for employees and society. Smart working improves work-life balance, increases motivation, productivity and responsibility, and makes it easier to reconcile family, job and leisure time. Thanks to part-time work, well-educated mothers remain in the labour market. The building infrastructure benefits from desk sharing, which also makes workstation changes easy – and is associated with enormous cost savings. Moreover, strain is taken off of public transport, the transport infrastructure and the environment.

In addition to the Scandinavian countries and France, Switzerland is among the pioneers. At Swisscom more than 10,000 people work flexibly, many without a fixed workplace. At Credit Suisse, it is about 14,000 worldwide, of which 5,000 are in Switzerland. Hugo Lombriser is responsible for change management at CS. He has been at CS for 36 years. Since 2010 he has supported employees and managers in the changeover to smart working. His bottom line: “The crux of the matter is the mindset.” While those who are open to the new and tend to see the benefits find the changeover easy, conservative minds have problems with it. “Old patterns break up again and again. Some feel that flexible work means freedom to do whatever you want. Others annex individual offices or secure dedicated areas in desk sharing offices”, he observes. The key area, says Lombriser, is middle management: “Top management implements the idea. But it is mainly the middle that is affected, which needs to embrace a new management style.”



What is your response
to this cultural transformation?

To make it easier to come to terms with cultural changes in your company, our experienced Work Smart Coaching team will support you with a full package of advice.

Register


“Smart working is a clear argument for attracting young talent!”


Hugo Lombriser


Middle management is challenged

Dr. Johann Weichbrodt sees it in the same way. The organisational psychologist and assistant professor of the University of Applied Sciences of Northwestern Switzerland, School of Applied Psychology, researches mobile and flexible work and the change processes necessary for it. For various research papers and studies (see box), he talked to many affected persons and analysed what happens in the changeover. And he knows: “Middle management is most directly affected by the changes – and at the same time has the worst cost-benefit ratio.”




“Smart working must be rolled out gradually and requires clear rules.”


Johann Weichbrodt


On the one hand, says Weichbrodt, the middle tier already practices flexible working, frequently working evenings or at weekends at home – and often with no choice in the matter. On the other hand, they are located in the sandwich between pressure from above and increasing demands from below. “Middle management is already struggling with more and more demands at short notice – and now the spatial and temporal is becoming even more fractured. Conflicts are inevitable”, says the researcher. To resolve the dilemma, he recommends allowing plenty of time for the changeover – and bringing professionals on board.


Without support, the changeover will fail

This is a piece of advice that Hugo Lombriser can only underscore. “You have to closely accompany the process. Otherwise it will not work”, he warns. After all, smart working harbours pitfalls in addition to many opportunities. Weichbrodt: “By allowing work and other areas of life to blend, there is a threat of self-exploitation and chronic fatigue. That’s why clear guidelines are essential.” In addition, new technologies are needed. And the management level needs to fundamentally change their way of thinking and reorient themselves.


Lombriser: “Many managers still operate on the principle of visibility. Their supervisory authority is presence: Those who are there are working. Those who are there a long time are working a lot. But if people are flexible in terms of time and location, this system no longer works – which is just a form of ‘sham control’ anyway. Instead of presence, performance and concrete output is the control measure. This challenges management, because managers then have to know exactly what someone is doing and how much time is needed for it.” This means the boss needs to know not only his employees but also their jobs.


“Ideally, the mix between home office, team meetings and meetings at the company are dovetailed intelligently.”


Hugo Lombriser


In addition, the experts say, we need more empathy, self-management and trust. A flexible and adaptive management style is good, but the management should also set limits if the employees are overwhelmed by flexible work. The aim must be to configure all tasks so that collaboration, participation and solidarity are in balance. Accordingly, management work in the “flexible office” is not only challenging but also time-consuming. But it also offers new benefits, says Hugo Lombriser: “As a manager I can go to where I’m most needed. I am thus involved and well-informed, and I don’t have to subsequently inquire about the status of matters in meetings.”


Management is not obsolete – but redefined

That and their own role model function are also forcing top management to change their way of thinking. Because the commitment of the topmost level to mobile and flexible work is essential for success. Top management must show fairness and exemplify the idea actively. Those who will fail are those who hold on to their own mega-offices, fail to practice a goal- and results-oriented management style, cement steep hierarchies, do not reinforce the collaboration of IT, HR and Facility Management and do not approve pilot projects, probationary periods or evaluations to facilitate the transition. But those who engage with smart working, have the necessary staying power and rely on experienced support will benefit in the long term. Because the upcoming generation is calling for smart working – already today.





Work Smart Coaching


To make it easier to cope with the cultural change in your company, the Work Smart Coaching Team offers comprehensive support.

Find out more




More on the topic

Moderner Führungsstil

Moderner Führungsstil

Mobiles Arbeiten verändert den Führungsstil


Viele Unternehmen forcieren flexible Arbeitsmodelle. «Smart Work» heisst die Devise. Doch zeitlich und örtlich flexibles Arbeiten, Desk-Sharing und Home-Office fordern alle – insbesondere das mittlere Management.


Jörg Rothweiler,




Digitalisierung, Mobilgeräte, veränderte Lebensgewohnheiten und ein hoher Wissensanteil der Arbeitnehmer sind die Treiber für flexible Arbeitsformen. Das moderne Arbeitsumfeld ist hoch dynamisch. Starre Arbeitszeiten, fixe Arbeitsorte und steile Hierarchien stehen dem im Weg. Immer mehr Menschen arbeiten unterwegs – oder Teilzeit. Und immer mehr Unternehmen teilen die Arbeit in kleinere, von massgeschneiderten Teams gemanagte Projekte auf. Denn neben zeitlicher und räumlicher Unabhängigkeit braucht es organisatorische Flexibilität, um Vorteile und Spareffekte voll nutzen zu können.


Die Vorteile von Smart Work sind unübersehbar

Und die Chancen sind vielfältig, wie Studien und Statistiken belegen. Für das Unternehmen ebenso wie für Mitarbeitende und Gesellschaft. Smart Working verbessert die Work-Life-Balance, steigert Motivation, Produktivität und Eigenverantwortung, erleichtert es, Familie, Job und Freizeit unter einen Hut zu bringen. Dank Teilzeit bleiben gut ausgebildete Mütter dem Arbeitsmarkt erhalten. Die Gebäudeinfrastruktur profitiert vom Desk-Sharing, das zudem Arbeitsplatzwechsel kinderleicht macht – was enorm Kosten spart. Überdies werden ÖV, Verkehrsinfrastruktur und Umwelt entlastet.


Neben den skandinavischen Ländern und Frankreich gehört die Schweiz zu den Pionieren. Bei Swisscom arbeiten mehr als 10’000 Menschen flexibel, viele ohne fixen Arbeitsplatz. Bei der Credit Suisse sind es weltweit rund 14’000, davon 5000 in der Schweiz. Zuständig für das Change Management der CS ist Hugo Lombriser. Er ist seit 36 Jahren bei der CS. Seit 2010 begleitet er Mitarbeitende und Führungskräfte beim Wechsel zum Smart Working. Seine Quintessenz: «Der Knackpunkt ist das Mindset.» Während jenen, die offen für Neues sind und eher die Vorteile sehen, denen die Umstellung leicht falle, bekundeten konservative Geister Mühe. «Immer wieder brechen alte Muster auf. Manche meinen, flexibles Arbeiten bedeute Narrenfreiheit. Andere annektieren Einzelbüros oder sichern sich dezidierte Bereiche im Desk-Sharing-Büro», hat er beobachtet. Die Schlüsselstelle sei, sagt Lombriser, das mittlere Management: «Das Top-Management setzt die Idee durch. Doch betroffen ist vor allem die Mitte, die sich einen neuen Führungsstil aneignen muss.»




«Smart Working ist ein klares Argument, um junge Talente anzuziehen!»


Hugo Lombriser


Das mittlere Management ist gefordert

Das sieht Dr. Johann Weichbrodt genauso. Der Organisationspsychologe und wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiter der Fachhochschule Nordwestschweiz, Hochschule für Angewandte Psychologie, erforscht die mobil-flexible Arbeit und die dafür nötigen Veränderungsprozesse. Für diverse Forschungsarbeiten und Studien (siehe Box) sprach er mit vielen Betroffenen, analysierte, was beim Wechsel geschieht. Und er weiss: «Die mittlere Führungsebene ist am direktesten von den Veränderungen betroffen – und hat zugleich die schlechteste Kosten-Nutzen-Balance.»




«Smart Working muss stufenweise eingeführt werden und bedarf klarer Regeln.»


Johann Weichbrodt


Einerseits, so Weichbrodt, praktiziere die mittlere Ebene bereits Flexible Working, arbeite nicht selten am Abend oder am Wochenende zuhause – oft gezwungenermassen. Andererseits befinde sie sich im Sandwich zwischen Druck von oben und steigenden Anforderungen von unten. «Das mittlere Management kämpft bereits mit immer mehr Kurzfristigkeit – und nun bricht das Räumliche und Zeitliche noch mehr auf. Da sind Konflikte programmiert», so der Forscher. Zur Lösung des Dilemmas empfiehlt er, der Umstellung reichlich Zeit einzuräumen – und Profis an Bord zu holen.


Ohne Begleitung ist Scheitern programmiert

Ein Rat, den Hugo Lombriser nur unterstreichen kann. «Man muss den Prozess eng begleiten. Sonst wird es nicht funktionieren», mahnt er. Schliesslich birgt Smart Working neben vielen Chancen auch Fallstricke. Weichbrodt: «Durch das Ineinanderfliessen von Arbeit und anderen Lebensbereichen drohen Selbstausbeutung und chronische Übermüdung. Daher sind klare Leitplanken unerlässlich.» Zudem sind neue Technologien vonnöten. Und die Führungsebene muss grundlegend umdenken, sich neu orientieren.


Lombriser: «Nicht wenige Manager führen noch immer nach dem Prinzip der Sichtbarkeit. Ihre Kontrollinstanz ist die Präsenz: Wer da ist, arbeitet. Wer lange da ist, arbeitet viel. Sind die Leute aber zeitlich und örtlich flexibel, klappt das, was ohnehin nur Scheinkontrolle ist, nicht mehr. Statt Präsenz wird die Leistung, der konkrete Output zum Kontrollmass. Das fordert die Führung. Denn diese muss dazu genau wissen, was jemand konkret macht und wie viel Zeit dafür nötig ist.» Das heisst: Der Chef muss nicht nur den Mitarbeitenden, sondern vor allem auch dessen Job gut kennen.


«Idealerweise wird der Mix zwischen Home Office, Teamtreffen und Meetings im Unternehmen intelligent zusammengefügt.»


Hugo Lombriser


Zudem, so die Experten, brauche es mehr Empathie, Selbstmanagement und Vertrauen. Ein flexibler und adaptiver Führungsstil sei gut, doch müsse die Führung auch Grenzen setzen, wenn Mitarbeitende mit dem flexiblen Arbeiten überfordert sind. Das Ziel müsse sein, alle Aufgaben so zu konfigurieren, dass sich Kooperation, Partizipation und Solidarität die Waage halten. Entsprechend sei die Führungsarbeit im «Flexible Office» nicht nur anspruchsvoll, sondern auch zeitaufwendig. Doch sie bietet auch neue Vorteile, sagt Hugo Lombriser: «Als Führungsperson kann ich mich dort hinsetzen, wo ich am dringendsten gebraucht werde. Damit bin ich involviert, gut informiert und muss mich nicht erst nachträglich in Sitzungen nach dem Stand der Dinge erkundigen.»


Führung wird nicht obsolet – aber neu definiert

Das und die eigene Vorbildfunktion zwingen auch das Top-Management, umzudenken. Denn das Commitment der obersten Ebene zu mobil-flexibler Arbeit ist essenziell für den Erfolg. Das heisst: Das Top-Management muss Fairness zeigen und die Idee aktiv vorleben. Wer am eigenen Mega-Büro festhält, selbst keinen ziel- und ergebnisorientierten Führungsstil praktiziert, steile Hierarchien zementiert, die Zusammenarbeit von IT, HR und Facility Management nicht stärkt und weder Pilotprojekte, Probezeiten noch Evaluationen bewilligt, um den Übergang zu erleichtern, wird scheitern. Wer sich aber auf Smart Working einlässt, den nötigen Atem hat und auf erfahrene Begleitung setzt, wird langfristig profitieren. Denn die nachrückende Generation fordert Smart Working ein – heute schon.


Work Smart Coaching


Um den Kulturwandel auch in Ihrem Unternehmen mühelos zu bewältigen, bietet das Work Smart Coaching Team vollumfängliche Unterstützung.

Mehr erfahren


Work Smart Initiative


2015 von SBB, Swisscom, Microsoft Schweiz, Mobiliar, Post und Witzig The Office Company gegründet. Bis heute haben 85 Schweizer Unternehmen die Work Smart Charta unterzeichnet.

www.work-smart-initiative.ch





Newsletter

Jetzt Newsletter abonnieren und über Trends, Branchen-News und Benchmarks informiert bleiben.





Mehr zum Thema