Login Partner Network status Newsletter Contact
Login Partner Network status Newsletter Contact

Cloud site Switzerland

Microsoft Azure 

Innovate Switzerland: the cloud is continuously developing

Swisscom is stepping up its collaboration with IT giant Microsoft. Politicians and business leaders are discussing this news, as well as Switzerland’s innovative strength and the regulatory conditions for digitalisation in Switzerland, at a special celebration held at Swisscom’s Brain Gym in Berne, alongside simultaneous events in Zurich and Geneva. Numerous partners across Switzerland are also tuning in via a live stream.

Text: Romana Bleisch, Images: Astrid Graf, 11

There’s a lively atmosphere on this overcast Thursday morning at Swisscom’s Berne headquarters. The guests include politicians, academics and business leaders all sharing their thoughts on the current challenges of daily business over coffee and croissants. Challenges such as how to satisfy the needs of long-established IT specialists and digital natives on an equal basis within the same company, for example. Trust, security, digital innovation and legal frameworks – concepts frequently heard at this morning’s event.

 

The day before the event, Microsoft as well as Swisscom announced in a press release the opening of two data centres in Switzerland as well as the closer cooperation between the American IT giant and Swisscom. The Microsoft Azure Cloud is now hovering over Swiss territory – with data stored in Switzerland. Swisscom is the largest Swiss Microsoft partner and now offers its customers managed public cloud services from the global Microsoft Cloud and both Microsoft Cloud regions in Switzerland. Swisscom is also the first Swiss telecommunications provider to offer a direct connection to the Swiss Microsoft data centres via Express Route.

 

The launch event is taking place simultaneously in Berne, Geneva and Zurich. More than 30 partners from all over Switzerland are following it via the live stream. At 9.30 on the dot, the noise level drops and the room goes quiet.

 

The event’s host in Berne, Reto Brennwald, begins by giving the floor to the first speaker, asking: “Switzerland leads the way when it comes to innovation, infrastructure and air quality. What about digitalisation?”

Host Reto Brennwald on stage with Peter Grünenfelder, Avenir Suisse

Host Reto Brennwald on stage with Peter Grünenfelder, Avenir Suisse  

“If Switzerland also wants to remain a leader in digital innovation, the public sector needs to adapt to the digital age,” replies Peter Grünenfelder. The Avenir Suisse director urges parliament to act; his speech is a plea for digital progress.

“We need more courage for digital innovation”

He repeatedly stresses how crucial it is to create the right conditions to promote digital progress. We are in a period of digital transformation, yet the legal foundations still date back to the industrial era. High time to bring the legal basis into line with the age of digitalisation. We need more courage for digital innovation. Courage from both private and public sectors.

“If we stand still, we’ll lose our quality as a location”

He means stronger regulation is needed in the field of security and data protection. Network security, stability and inter-state agreements are required for secure cloud operations. Standing still is not an option, otherwise we will lose our quality as a location.

 

Marc Holitscher, National Technology Officer for Microsoft Switzerland, continues: “We are here to celebrate the opening of the Microsoft Cloud in Switzerland.” He addresses, among others, the 30 or more partners who, as early adopters, have placed their trust in Microsoft – including Swisscom. This diverse range of companies that have moved their sensitive data to Microsoft Azure reflect the broad spectrum of the cloud solution. Microsoft has always been a partner-driven company, understands the challenges facing its peers, and speaks their language. The Microsoft Cloud is empowering companies to achieve more and is reshuffling the cards for technologies such as IoT.

 

The data never leaves Switzerland. This is particularly important.

“Privacy is a human right”

Microsoft invests more than USD 1 billion in cyber security every year. Numerous security experts work round the clock to ensure the cloud is secure and companies benefit from Microsoft’s huge investment in cloud security. An investment that companies cannot manage themselves. “For Microsoft, privacy is a human right,” says Holitscher.

 

The partnership between Swisscom and Microsoft is the perfect match. Microsoft provides the technology, while Swisscom offers the services that create a first-class customer experience.

Experts in conversation

The keynote speeches are followed by simultaneous, live-streamed podium discussions in Geneva, Zurich and Berne. An animated debate concerning collaboration models, agility and digitalisation opportunities.

 

Reto Brennwald then directs his questions to the guests Marcel Walker, Head of Network and Cloud at Swisscom, Balthasar Glättli, faction president and Green Party member of the Swiss National Council for Zurich, and Markus Eberhart, Head of Digital Business at BKW Energie.

Swisscom has its own cloud; isn’t collaboration therefore a problem?

Marcel Walker: “No, that’s the wrong kind of self-protection. It’s the customer who decides, not us as providers. A lot will happen on the Microsoft platform in the future. Our role is to integrate it in such a way that it’s right for our customers. Microsoft offers huge innovation, which we as Swisscom would not be able to top. The energy being used must be sensibly invested. Microsoft covers the highly scalable part, while we combine the different offers in a sensible way. Microsoft is an important partner for us.”

What needs to be done to get the project off the ground?

Marcel Walker: “Customers want innovation and a contact partner when something comes up. They also like to communicate in their own language.

 

You need to know how to deal with people; cultural and economic characteristics need to be taken into account.”

Do you think the public authorities are still dragging their heels when it comes to the cloud?

Balthasar Glättli: “We should not just look at traditional competition, but at collaboration. In our federalist structures, we could do much more if we saw ourselves as an ecosystem.”

Large companies tend to migrate to the cloud, while SMEs are more sceptical. Why do you think this is the case? 

Markus Eberhart: “Many large firms have whole departments dedicated to acquiring the necessary technological know-how. SMEs don’t have the power to do that, which is why they are more sceptical. However, you generate added value in your core business if you pass on your IT expertise. Society needs to be told what it’s all about. People need to know the value of their data.”

After a morning packed with fascinating keynote speeches and discussion forums about innovation and new technologies, Reto Brennwald brings the event to a close on an optimistic note: “Let’s keep our fingers crossed that a boost in the Swiss economy and digitalisation is just around the corner.” The buffet lunch is now open.


Newsletter

Would you like to regularly receive interesting articles and whitepapers on current ICT topics?


More on the topic

Newsletter Partenaire Login Contact
Newsletter Partenaire Login Contact

Cloud location Suisse

Microsoft Azure 

Innovate Switzerland: le cloud poursuit son développement

Swisscom renforce sa collaboration avec le géant de l’informatique Microsoft. Des représentants de la politique et de l’économie échangent sur le rapprochement des deux entreprises, la force d’innovation de la Suisse et la réglementation nationale en lien avec le numérique. L’occasion idéale pour un événement convivial au sein de l’espace Brain Gym de Swisscom à Berne mais aussi à Zurich et Genève. De nombreux autres partenaires participent également à cette journée partout en Suisse grâce au livestream.

Texte: Romana Bleisch, Images: Astrid Graf, 11

Par un jeudi matin nuageux, l’effervescence règne au siège de Swisscom à Berne. Des invités du monde de la politique, des sciences et de l’économie sont présents et échangent sur les défis actuels du quotidien autour d’un café et de croissants. Des défis tels que répondre à la fois aux besoins des spécialistes informatiques de longue date et à ceux des digital natives au sein d’une entreprise. Confiance, sécurité, innovation numérique et cadre juridique sont sur toutes les bouches.

 

La veille paraissait le communiqué de presse dans lequel Microsoft annonçait le lancement de deux centres de calcul en Suisse et le renforcement de sa collaboration avec Swisscom. Le cloud Microsoft Azure flotte désormais au-dessus du territoire helvétique, où les données sont stockées. Principal partenaire de Microsoft en Suisse, Swisscom propose désormais à ses clients des Managed Public Cloud Services basés sur la plateforme cloud globale de Microsoft et sur les deux centres de calcul locaux. Premier opérateur de télécommunications en Suisse, Swisscom propose en outre Expressroute, une connexion haute disponibilité aux centres de calcul suisses de Microsoft.

 

L’événement de lancement du jour se déroule simultanément à Berne, Genève et Zurich. Plus de 30 partenaires de toute la Suisse y participent grâce au livestream. Il est 9h30 précises lorsque le niveau sonore diminue et que le silence s’installe dans la salle.


Reto Brennwald, animateur de l’événement à Berne, entre sans plus attendre dans le vif du sujet: «La Suisse est pionnière en matière d’innovation, d’infrastructures et de qualité de l’air. Mais où en est-elle en matière de numérique?»

Présentateur Reto Brennwald sur scène avec Peter Grünenfelder, Avenir Suisse

Présentateur Reto Brennwald sur scène avec Peter Grünenfelder, Avenir Suisse  

Peter Grünenfelder, directeur d’Avenir Suisse répond: «Si la Suisse veut aussi être à la pointe de l’innovation dans ce domaine, elle a besoin que le secteur public fasse des efforts pour adapter ses organismes à l’ère du numérique». Véritable plaidoyer en faveur du progrès numérique, son discours exhorte le Parlement à agir.

«L’innovation numérique demande davantage de courage.»

Peter Grünenfelder souligne à plusieurs reprises combien un cadre adapté est essentiel pour promouvoir l’avancée du numérique. Alors que nous nous trouvons en pleine mutation structurelle due au numérique, le cadre juridique remonte encore à l’ère industrielle. Il est donc grand temps de l’adapter à cette nouvelle ère. L’innovation numérique demande davantage de courage, aussi bien de la part des secteurs privés que publics.

«Si nous nous en tenons là, notre attractivité en pâtira.»

Entendez par là la nécessite d’une réglementation plus stricte en matière de sécurité et de protection des données. Des réseaux sûrs et stables ainsi que des accords internationaux sont nécessaires pour garantir l’exploitation sécurisée du cloud. Il n’est pas envisageable de nous en tenir là, car notre attractivité en pâtirait.

 

National Technology Officer chez Microsoft Suisse, Marc Holitscher, reprend: «Nous sommes ici pour fêter le lancement du cloud Microsoft en Suisse». Il s’adresse notamment aux plus de 30 partenaires qui comptent parmi les premiers à avoir fait confiance à Microsoft, dont Swisscom. Les entreprises très différentes qui ont migré leurs données sensibles vers Microsoft Azure sont le reflet du large éventail de prestations de la solution cloud. Axée depuis toujours sur les partenariats, Microsoft est capable de comprendre les défis de ses pairs et de parler leur langue. Le cloud Microsoft pousse les entreprises à viser plus haut et redistribue les cartes pour des technologies telles que l’Internet des objets (IoT).

 

Les données ne quittent pas la Suisse. Un point particulièrement important.

«La protection de la vie privée est un droit humain.»

Chaque année, Microsoft investit plus d’un milliard de dollars dans la cybersécurité. De nombreux spécialistes du domaine travaillent 24 heures sur 24 pour garantir la sécurité du cloud afin que les entreprises tirent parti de l’investissement considérable de Microsoft en la matière. Un investissement que les entreprises ne pouvaient pas assumer elles-mêmes. «Pour Microsoft, la protection de la vie privée est un droit fondamental», souligne Marc Holitscher.

 

Swisscom et Microsoft semblent parfaitement faire la paire. Microsoft fournit la technologie et Swisscom propose des services et prestations pour assurer une expérience client optimale.

Entretien avec des experts

Les débats succédant aux keynotes ont simultanément lieu à Genève, Zurich et Berne et sont retransmis en streaming. Place à des discussions animées sur les modèles de collaboration, l’agilité et les opportunités du numérique.

 

Pour conclure, Reto Brennwald adresse ses questions aux invités Marcel Walker, Head of Network and Cloud chez Swisscom, Balthasar Glättli, Président du groupe des Verts de Zurich et conseiller national ainsi que Markus Eberhard, Head of Digital Business chez BKW Energie.

Swisscom possède son propre cloud, la collaboration n’est-elle pas un problème de ce point de vue?

Marcel Walker: «Non, il s’agit là d’une conception erronée de la sécurité nationale. En tant que fournisseur, nous ne jouons pas un rôle crucial, contrairement au client. Beaucoup de choses se passeront désormais sur la plate-forme Microsoft. Notre rôle est d’intégrer cette dernière de manière à ce que nos clients soient satisfaits. Microsoft apporte son lot d’innovations. Innovations que Swisscom ne pouvait pas mettre au point et dont ce n’est pas non plus le rôle. Les efforts fournis doivent être investis de manière judicieuse. Microsoft couvre la partie hautement évolutive tandis que nous combinons intelligemment les différentes offres. Microsoft est un partenaire important à nos yeux».

Quel défi faudra-t-il relever pour assurer le succès du produit?

Marcel Walker: «Les clients sont à la recherche d’une solution innovante et veulent disposer d’un interlocuteur en cas de besoin. Ils souhaitent également communiquer dans leur propre langue. Il faut savoir comment échanger avec les clients locaux et tenir compte des spécificités culturelles et économiques.» 

Pensez-vous que le secteur public soit encore à la traine en ce qui concerne le cloud?

Balthasar Glättli: «Il ne faut pas seulement s’intéresser à la concurrence classique mais plutôt à la collaboration. Dans nos structures fédéralistes, il serait possible d’en faire davantage si nous nous considérions comme un écosystème».

Les grandes entreprises misent sur le cloud tandis que les PME restent plutôt sceptiques. Comment expliquez-vous cela?

Markus Eberhard: «De nombreuses grandes entreprises disposent d’équipes complètes dédiées à la migration vers cette technologie. Ce n’est pas le cas des PME, ce qui explique leur scepticisme. Fournir une expertise informatique donne de la valeur ajoutée à son cœur de métier. La société a besoin de savoir ce qu’il en est. Les gens doivent être conscients de la valeur de leurs données».

Après une matinée riche en keynotes et en débats passionnants sur l’innovation et les nouvelles technologies, Reto Brennwald conclut l’événement par une note optimiste: «Croisons les doigts pour que l’économie nationale et la Suisse numérique connaissent un nouvel essor». Place désormais à l’apéritif.


Newsletter

Vous souhaitez recevoir régulièrement des articles et Whitepapers passionnants sur des activités TIC actuelles?


En savoir plus sur ce thème

Whitepaper

Postes de travail basés sur le cloud

L'évolution rapide du monde du travail exige des solutions modernes aux postes de travail. Quels aspects faut-il prendre en compte et quels sont les atouts des solutions cloud hybrides en la matière?