Login Partner Network status Newsletter Contact
Login Partner Network status Newsletter Contact

Swisscom Cloud Services

Interview with Marcel Walker, Head of Network & Cloud

Multiple clouds are the new standard


Swisscom’s cloud services address all kinds of needs. In this interview, Marcel Walker, Head of Network & Cloud, explains the extent to which we at Swisscom support our customers and the added value that we offer as a service provider.


Text: Hansjörg Honegger, images: © Daniel Brühlmann, first published 30 september 2017




What type of businesses are Swisscom’s cloud services suitable for?


The Swisscom clouds are specifically set up for companies that value being located in Switzerland, in terms of data storage as well as access to local experts. It is integration that sets us apart. We place particular value on network and security integration and offer powerful Managed Services. We are complementing the hybrid architecture with global cloud offers such as Microsoft Azure or Amazon Web Services.



Marcel Walker, Head of Network & Cloud, Swisscom



What sets the Swisscom cloud apart from what other service providers have to offer?


We integrate networks and security solutions with cloud platforms in Switzerland and abroad. This is combined with local service management in various regions. Swisscom is the only provider with its own network and data centres. Our security solutions have a great reputation on the market. We are making all these services available in a highly standardised manner with ‘Pay As You Use’ tariff models. Of course, this will be made available under an integrated Service Management Layer.


Marcel Walker

Marcel Walker is Head of Network & Cloud. He began his career in banking and was the CEO of Comit, a leading provider of IT solutions to the finance sector, for a number of years.

Who are the strategic partners?


We work very closely with Microsoft Azure, although our partners also include Amazon Web Services, Dell Technologies and VMware, who provide these technologies across the globe and have an excellent reputation.





What do customers want? Do medium-sized companies in Switzerland gravitate towards Public Cloud, Hybrid Cloud or Private Cloud?


Among corporate customers in particular, there is a growing preference for multi-cloud solutions. Different infrastructures are used, depending on needs, security and costs, whether with Microsoft Azure and AWS global clouds for quick go-to-market, secure data storage in Switzerland from the Swisscom Cloud or in-house installation of core applications, which can become legacy IT and is not yet cloud-capable.

There is also therefore an increasing need for a reliable partner who can provide support with in-depth specialist know-how. We provide security, connect data and applications, provide the network and ensure that in-house company IT works and communicates seamlessly.


Taking the step towards migrating an operative IT system into the cloud is difficult. How does Swisscom support its customers in this process?


We have a consultation and transformation framework called ‘Journey to the Cloud’. This covers various modules. It starts with an inventory and evaluates, together with the customer, what should run where: data storage, performance, locations, applications, security. The actual migration has to be prepared meticulously.







And what if the customer realises that the offer doesn’t quite fit?


The customer usually evaluates its partner with the help of specialist advisors. Pilot installations can also be carried out as part of tenders.


The cloud business is ultimately profitable thanks to its large degree of scalability. Is Switzerland big enough for this type of business?


Absolutely. We are also integrating capabilities offered by Amazon and Microsoft Azure. The important thing is this: Swisscom is the service provider. The customer doesn’t have to monitor different platforms, we integrate everything. That’s massively important, especially when it comes to security.


Swisscom also offers SAP in the cloud. What does that mean exactly?


We are the largest SAP service provider in Switzerland. We are migrating everything onto Enterprise Cloud for SAP Solutions. That is extremely attractive for both existing customers and new ones. The customer gets an integrated solution and can – in Switzerland, uniquely – operate its existing SAP landscape from the cloud, even for the HANA workload. We take care of network integration, security and performance. This takes a huge amount of pressure off the customer.



Will companies with their own IT still exist in 10 or 15 years’ time?


The question isn’t whether they will still have their own IT. The question is which tasks the internal IT will cover. We are convinced that infrastructure services such as network, cloud and security will be obtained largely from specialist service providers. This gives companies the space to focus their IT specialists on the development of services which help to differentiate the company’s market presence.



Enterprise Service Cloud

The Enterprise Service Cloud is a universal cloud, which covers everything from infrastructure and platform services to managed services and outsourcing. It makes it possible to integrate an existing, even hybrid, IT landscape into the cloud and runs in Swisscom data centres. It complements and completes Swisscom’s other cloud offers, which can be fully integrated.

Go to product


Enterprise Cloud for SAP Solutions

With Enterprise Cloud for SAP Solutions, customers can acquire virtual SAP HANA servers in just a few hours and adapt them dynamically or boot up test systems for new processes within minutes. The servers and entities can be managed at the touch of a button via a self-service portal and are invoiced based on needs. Enterprise Cloud for SAP Solutions can also be fully integrated into Swisscom’s other cloud offers.

Go to product

To Swisscom’s complete cloud offer






More on the topic

Login Partenaire Etat du réseau Newsletter Contact
Login Partenaire Etat du réseau Newsletter Contact

Services cloud Swisscom

Entretien avec Marcel Walker, Head of Network & Cloud

Plusieurs clouds, la nouvelle norme


Les offres cloud de Swisscom répondent à de nombreux besoins. Dans un entretien, Marcel Walker, Head of Network & Cloud, explique comment Swisscom accompagne ses clients commerciaux et la plus-value que nous leur apportons en notre qualité de fournisseur de services.

Texte: Hansjörg Honegger, Images: © Daniel Brühlmann, Publié pour la première fois le 7 septembre 2017




A qui s’adressent les offres cloud de Swisscom dans le monde des affaires?


Les clouds Swisscom sont spécialement conçus pour les entreprises qui privilégient la gestion de leurs données en Suisse, qu’il s’agisse du stockage ou de l’accès à des experts locaux. Nous nous distinguons par l’intégration, notamment en matière de réseau et de sécurité, et nous proposons des solutions Managed Services performantes. Nous complétons l’architecture hybride avec des offres cloud globales comme Microsoft Azure ou Amazon Web Services.



Marcel Walker, Head of Network & Cloud, Swisscom



En quoi l’offre Swisscom Cloud se distingue-t-elle de celles d’autres prestataires?


Nous intégrons le réseau et les solutions de sécurité aux plateformes cloud à l’échelle suisse et mondiale, en y associant une gestion des services locale dans l’ensemble des régions. Swisscom est le seul et unique fournisseur qui possède son propre réseau et ses centres de calcul. Nos solutions de sécurité jouissent d’une excellente réputation sur le marché. Nous proposons ces services hautement standardisés avec des modèles tarifaires «Pay As You Use», et ce évidemment dans le cadre d’une gestion homogène.


Marcel Walker

Head of Network & Cloud, Marcel Walker a débuté sa carrière dans le secteur bancaire. Il fut longtemps CEO de Comit, un prestataire de solutions informatiques leader dans la branche des finances.

Qui sont vos partenaires stratégiques?


Nous travaillons en étroite collaboration avec Microsoft Azure. Amazon Web Services, Dell Technologies et Vmware comptent également parmi nos partenaires renommés qui proposent ces technologies dans le monde entier.





Que souhaitent les clients? En Suisse, les moyennes entreprises ont-elles plutôt tendance à choisir une solution Public Cloud, Hybrid Cloud ou Private Cloud?


La tendance aux solutions Multicloud est privilégiée par les grands comptes. L’utilisation des infrastructures varie en fonction des besoins, de la sécurité et des coûts: clouds globaux de Microsoft Azure ou AWS pour une commercialisation rapide, stockage sécurisé des données en Suisse via le cloud Swisscom ou installation propre à l’entreprise pour des applications spécifiques, basée sur un ancien système informatique pas encore compatible avec le cloud.

Les entreprises veulent pouvoir compter sur un partenaire fiable, en mesure de les soutenir grâce à de solides compétences. Nous veillons à la sécurité, nous connectons les données et les applications, et nous fournissons le réseau tout en nous assurant que l’infrastructure informatique des entreprises communique et fonctionne sans faille.


Il est difficile de prendre la décision de migrer une infrastructure opérationnelle sur le cloud. Comment Swisscom soutient-il ses clients dans ce processus?


Nous appliquons un modèle de conseil et de transformation baptisé «Journey to the Cloud». Ce modèle comprend divers modules. La première étape consiste en un état des lieux et une évaluation de la marche à suivre avec le client: stockage des données, performance, sites, applications, sécurité. La migration doit être préparée méticuleusement.






Et si le client constate que l’offre ne lui convient pas?


Normalement, le client évalue son partenaire à l’aide de conseillers spécialisés. Des installations pilotes sont aussi possibles dans le cadre d’appels d’offres.


Les services cloud sont rentables grâce à leur grande évolutivité. Le marché suisse est-il suffisamment vaste pour leur commercialisation?


Tout à fait. Nous intégrons également les possibilités proposées par Amazon ou Microsoft. Il est important que Swisscom demeure le fournisseur de ces services. Le client n’a pas à se soucier de gérer plusieurs plateformes, car nous intégrons tous les services, un aspect crucial en termes de sécurité.


Swisscom a ajouté SAP à ses services cloud. Qu’est-ce que cela signifie?


Nous sommes le premier fournisseur de services SAP en Suisse, et nous allons tout migrer sur Entreprise Cloud for SAP Solutions, un grand avantage pour nos clients actuels comme pour les nouveaux clients. Ils bénéficieront d’une solution intégrée et seront en mesure d’exploiter leur environnement SAP existant depuis le cloud, une exclusivité sur en Suisse, également pour HANA Workload. Nous nous chargeons de l’intégration réseau, de la sécurité et de la performance des services, ce qui décharge résolument les clients.



Les entreprises avec leur propre infrastructure informatique existeront-elles encore dans 10 ou 15 ans?


Il ne s’agit pas de savoir s’il existera encore des entreprises avec leur propre infrastructure, mais bien de répondre à la question suivante: quelles tâches cette infrastructure informatique doit-elle assumer? Nous sommes convaincus que les services comme le réseau, le cloud et la sécurité seront en grande partie fournis par des prestataires spécialisés. Cette répartition des tâches permettra aux spécialistes informatiques des entreprises de se concentrer sur le développement de prestations spécifiques, facteur-clé de différenciation sur le marché.



Enterprise Service Cloud

Enterprise Service Cloud est une solution cloud de bout en bout couvrant tous les services de l’infrastructure aux Managed Services et l’externalisation en passant par les services de plateforme. Elle permet d’intégrer dans le cloud l’environnement IT existant et même hybride et est exploitée dans les centres de calcul Swisscom. Elle complète les autres offres cloud Swisscom complètement intégrables.

Aller au produit


Enterprise Cloud for SAP Solutions

Avec Enterprise Cloud for SAP Solutions, les entreprises peuvent bénéficier en seulement quelques heures de serveurs SAP HANA virtuels et les adapter de manière dynamique ou lancer en quelques minutes des systèmes tests pour de nouveaux processus. Les serveurs et instances peuvent être gérés sur un portail Self-Service en un clic et sont facturés en fonction des besoins. Enterprise Cloud for SAP Solutions peut également être entièrement intégré dans les autres offres cloud de Swisscom.

Aller au produit

Consulter l’ensemble de l’offre cloud de Swisscom






En savoir plus sur ce thème