Cloud Services in Switzerland

Cloud Services in Switzerland

Into the future with Hybrid Cloud


Cloud growth is racing ahead throughout Switzerland. Only those who opt for a hybrid infrastructure can remain in the race.


Text: Christoph Widmer, 1




Swiss IT decision-makers go for security. This is reiterated by the "Swiss IT 2017" study, which was conducted by the IT trade journal Computerworld with the market research institute IDC. 594 managers and IT decision-makers in Swiss companies took part in the online survey between November 2016 and January 2017. The IT and expert decision-makers questioned by Computerworld and IDC placed most importance on data protection for Cloud Services – and this was independent of sector. Security was followed by the desire for high availability and data storage in Switzerland.

Swissness and security are particularly apparent in the areas of development and infrastructure: Managed Cloud models have a greater market share among IaaS and PaaS than Public Cloud solutions, as Computerworld ascertains – referring here to the "Swiss Cloud Vendor Benchmark 2016" from the IT analyst Experton.


The Cloud makes things easier

Cloud Computing also concerns Swiss IT decision-makers beyond the subject of security. Among the IT decision-makers surveyed by IDC and Computerworld more than a third ascribe the most importance to Cloud Computing, followed by the trends "Customer Centricity" and "Mobile Enterprise". This is also reflected in double-digit growth each year. It should come as no surprise that Cloud Computing is so important – when you see what IT departments mostly have to deal with. The excessively high requirements placed on the technical departments and the high degree of routine tasks are the greatest "pain points" according to the IDC. Cloud services can help here: They not only take the burden off IT departments in operational terms but are also able to fulfil the requirements of the specific departments faster than conventional infrastructures.


Companies opt for Private Cloud

As the IDC has found, Public Cloud services predominate over wide sections of the IT stack. Customer Relationship Management and collaboration solutions have long been available from the Public Cloud. Solutions for Logistics, Finances and Human Resources Management also effectively cover Supply Chain Management and Enterprise Resource Planning . Besides platforms and infrastructure from the Cloud, Software as a Service offers are also continually increasing. However, these are not really in demand among Swiss customers at present: "Our survey clearly reveals that Swiss CIOs check precisely, as part of a Cloud strategy, which services remain in-house, which ones are outsourced and which ones are obtained from the Cloud", explains Stella Gatziu Grivas, Cloud expert at the Northwest Switzerland University of Applied Sciences (FNHW).

Despite the dynamic development of the Public Cloud market, 63 percent of the companies questioned utilise solutions in the Private Cloud area. Here too, the reason lies in the need to retain user security. "In certain sectors, the regulatory hurdles are an enormous challenge", explains Gatziu Grivas. "Financial or health services, for instance, more or less only allow data storage in Switzerland." Whoever opts for a local provider such as Swisscom holds all the aces in their hand when it comes to data storage in Switzerland.


Rethinking towards "Hybrid Cloud"

In its analysis, the IDC ascertained that user companies need to change their thinking in order to remain competitive. Even if companies often use Private Cloud services for fear of data misuse – they must also implement cost-effective Public Cloud services. Only with Hybrid Cloud models would companies fully meet the requirements for flexibility, efficiency and lower costs, the IDC determines.

In this respect, the Swiss IT landscape still has plenty of scope for development: Only 28 percent of the companies questioned already use Hybrid Cloud models. For more than half, there are no plans whatsoever to use Hybrid Clouds. Cloud expert Gatziu Grivas shares this view: "In my opinion, companies really do need Hybrid Cloud models to remain competitive. But Swiss companies are firmly on course because "the Private Cloud offers a good starting point for this."





The FHNW is conducting a CXO study until May on digitisation, the role of the Cloud and the transformation of corporate IT in Switzerland. To this end, CIOs and those responsible for IT in various companies are being questioned. If you would also like to learn about the Cloud and your company's IT readiness, please feel free to take part as an interviewee. Your data will of course be collected in anonymous form for the survey. After the study is completed (May 2017), you will receive access to all results.

If you are interested, please fill in this contact form.




    More on the topic

Cloud Services en Suisse

Cloud Services en Suisse

En route vers l’avenir avec Hybrid Cloud


La Suisse se couvre de nuages à grande vitesse. Seuls ceux qui se décideront en faveur d’une infrastructure hybride resteront dans la course.


Texte: Christoph Widmer,




Les décideurs informatiques suisses misent sur la sécurité. C’est ce que démontre l’étude «Swiss IT 2017» menée par le magazine informatique Computerworld en collaboration avec l’institut d’étude de marché IDC. 594 gestionnaires et décideurs informatiques travaillant dans des entreprises suisses ont participé, entre novembre 2016 et janvier 2017 à une enquête en ligne. Les gestionnaires et décideurs informatiques interrogés par Computerworld et IDC sur les Cloud Services ont déclaré accorder une importance maximale à la protection des données personnelles. Les exigences en matière de sécurité sont suivies par le souhait d’une grande disponibilité et d’une conservation des données en Suisse.


Swissness et sécurité sont exigées, notamment dans les domaines du développement et de l’infrastructure: Computerworld constate que les modèles de managed cloud possèdent, chez IaaS et PaaS, une part de marché plus importante que les solutions de Public Cloud et qu’ils se réfèrent au «Swiss Cloud Vendor Benchmark 2016» des analystes informatiques Experton.


Le cloud réduit les tensions

Le cloud computing occupe les décideurs informatiques suisses, même au-delà du thème de la sécurité. Plus d’un tiers des décideurs informatiques interrogés par IDC et Computerworld accordent une grande importance au cloud computing, cette tendance étant suivie de près par l’«orientation clientèle» et «Mobile Enterprise». Cette évolution se traduit, chaque année, par une croissance à deux chiffres dans le domaine. Il n’est pas étonnant que le cloud computing soit si important, quand on voit les problèmes auxquels les services informatiques ont à faire face. Les exigences trop importantes des services spécialisés ainsi que le haut degré de tâches routinières sont, aux termes de IDC, les «pain points» principaux. Dans ce domaine, les services cloud peuvent réduire les tensions: ils ne soulagent pas seulement les services informatiques dans leurs tâches opérationnelles, mais satisfont également aux exigences des services spécialisés en matière d’infrastructure plus rapide.


Les entreprise misent sur le Private Cloud

Comme IDC l’a constaté, les services de Public Cloud prennent en charge une grande partie de l'IT Stack. Le Public Cloud fournit, depuis longtemps déjà, des services de Customer Relationship Management et de collaboration. Avec des solutions pour la logistique, les finances et la gestion du personnel, Supply Chain Management et Enterprise Ressource Planning sont également bien représentés. Outre les plateformes et infrastructures issues du cloud, les offres de Software as a Service augmentent également. Ces produits ne sont cependant pas prisés par les clients suisses. «Notre enquête montre clairement que les CIO suisses vérifient minutieusement, dans le cadre de leur stratégie axée sur le cloud quels services restent internes et lesquels sont externalisés et quels services sont utilisés à partir du cloud », explique Stella Gatziu Grivas, experte en cloud de la Haute École de Suisse du nord-ouest (FNHW).

Malgré le développement dynamique du marché du Public Cloud, 63 pour cent des entreprises interrogées déclarent privilégier des solutions du domaine du Private Cloud. Ici aussi les raisons sont liées aux besoins de sécurité des utilisateurs. «Dans certains secteurs, les obstacles réglementaires constituent un défi énorme», explique Gatziu Grivas. «Le secteur des finances ou de la santé, par exemple, autorise, en pratique, uniquement la conservation des données sur le territoire helvétique.» Les entreprises qui misent sur des fournisseurs locaux, comme Swisscom, possèdent, avec la conservation des données, un atout indéniable.


Se réorienter vers l’«Hybrid Cloud»

Dans son analyse, IDC constate que les entreprises utilisatrices doivent se réorienter pour rester concurrentielles. Même si les entreprises utilisent encore souvent les services de Private Cloud, par peur d’un usage abusif des données, elles devraient également miser sur des services de Public Cloud bon marché. C’est uniquement avec des modèles de cloud hybrides que les entreprises arriveront à répondre aux exigences de flexibilité, d’efficacité et de coûts bas, telles sont les conclusions d’IDC.

Dans ce domaine, le paysage informatique suisse a encore des progrès à faire: seuls 28 pour cent des entreprises interrogées utilisent déjà des modèles de cloud hybrides. Pour plus de la moitié, l’utilisation d’Hybrid Cloud n’est actuellement pas prévue. L’experte en cloud Gatziu Grivas partage pleinement cet avis: «à mon avis, les entreprises ont impérativement besoin de modèles de cloud hybrides pour rester concurrentielles. Mais les entreprises suisses sont sur la bonne voie, car «le Private Cloud constitue une bonne situation de base.»



La FHNW réalise jusqu’en mai une étude CXO sur la numérisation, le rôle du cloud et la transformation des entreprises informatiques en Suisse. Pour cela, les CIO et responsables informatiques de différentes entreprises ont été interrogés. Vous voulez en savoir plus sur le degré de maturité cloud et TIC de votre entreprise, alors participez, en tant que partenaire, à cette interview. Les données seront bien sûr rendues anonymes pour leur analyse. Au terme de l’étude (en mai 2017), vous aurez accès à tous les résultats

Si vous êtes intéressé, n’hésitez pas à contacter Mme. Stella Gatziu Grivas.




Newsletter

Abonnez-vous à la newsletter pour suivre les tendances, les actualités de la branche et les benchmarks.





En savoir plus sur ce thème