Global cloud portfolio

Amazon Web Services (AWS) and Microsoft® Azure

Swisscom extends cloud portfolio with global solutions


Swisscom is expanding its own cloud with global solutions from Amazon Web Services and Microsoft Azure. Companies can now benefit from the wealth of services of a global provider whilst at the same time gaining the expertise of a local partner.


Text: Ann-Kristin Koch, Image: ®Keystone,




Swisscom is expanding its own cloud portfolio with global cloud offerings from Amazon Web Services (AWS) and Microsoft Azure. In this set-up, Swisscom is the service provider, integrating the solutions into hybrid environments. Marcel Walker, Head of Network and Cloud at Swisscom Enterprise Customers, says: “This means that our customers benefit from all the advantages of a huge range of services whilst retaining the “Swissness”, local knowledge and transformation expertise of Swisscom.”


Amazon Web Services’ wealth of services teamed with local expertise

Many companies would like to use market-leader Amazon’s public cloud services. However, they also want a local partner to support them on their journey to the cloud ecosystem. As a local partner, Swisscom provides advice and project services to customers who want to achieve economies of scale and for whom data storage in Switzerland is not a top priority. Swisscom has extensive expertise in cloud transformation and supports companies every step of the way from design through to implementation and finally to migration to the cloud solution. To this end, Swisscom is launching a package of professional services for AWS that is being expanded on an ongoing basis. It initially comprises four modules:

1. Starter Kit
This introductory workshop provides a quick overview of the AWS universe. In proof of concept, a selected use case gives companies an overview of the way their challenges can be dealt with by the AWS platform combined with Swisscom’s expert knowledge.

2. Solution Design
Future requirements are clarified and documented with the customer. Based on these requirements, Swisscom advises on the definition of optimal design solutions, either for specific applications or for the standard integration of AWS into an existing IT landscape.

3. Migration & Integration Services
With this service module, the defined solution concepts are implemented in the AWS cloud and the migration and integration processes are planned and executed. This is based on “Journey to the Cloud” methodology which applies to all Swisscom cloud projects.

4 Expert Services
To gain maximum benefit from AWS services, Swisscom provides additional expertise for specific issues. This may include a cloud readiness assessment, AWS back-up solutions, data security and anonymization, automation or global website architecture. Swisscom also has the expertise to support its customers with value-added services for the Internet of Things (IoT), Big Data or Artificial Intelligence (AI).





“Customers benefit from all the advantages of a huge range of services whilst retaining the “Swissness”, local knowledge and transformation expertise of Swisscom.”


Marcel Walker, Head of Network & Cloud



During 2018, Swisscom will see the successive expansion of its comprehensive managed service portfolio for the operation and support of cloud solutions, including for hybrid environments. Marcel Walker says: “With these services, we are able to generate added value for cloud customers and remain true to our claim of being a trustworthy companion in the digital world.”


Secure connection to the Microsoft Azure Cloud

For companies who are at home in the Microsoft ecosystem, Swisscom is now offering Azure within Microsoft’s Cloud Solution Provider programme. Customers obtain their infrastructure and platform as a service from a Microsoft data centre and receive support and usage-based billing from Swisscom. Swisscom enables companies to access the Microsoft cloud via a direct network connection using Multiprotocol Label Switching (MPLS). These connections do not use the public Internet, are more reliable, more rapid and secure and have lower latency than typical Internet connections.

In addition, Swisscom offers professional services which support Microsoft-savvy companies as they enter the global Azure cloud ecosystem. These include the Starter Kit, Solution Design, Migration & Integration and Expert Services components. This enables companies to benefit from the expertise of over 200 certified Microsoft professionals. In addition, Swisscom is one of only ten global service providers participating in the Azure Stack Early Adopter programme. We are therefore exploring the possibility of providing Azure Stack in one of Swisscom’s own data centres. In addition, Swisscom is the first provider in Switzerland to carry out proof of concept tests with customers. Azure Stack is the on-premise version of Azure. Azure Stack has a number of advantages: data remains in Switzerland, latency is low and workloads can be shifted between the local and global cloud by virtue of having the same technological structure.



Marcel Walker, Head of Network & Cloud, Swisscom



Managed Smart Workplace on Azure Technology

Alongside infrastructure and Platform as a Service from the Azure ecosystem, Swisscom also provides a managed smart workplace using Microsoft Azure technology. This working environment is enhanced with artificial intelligence. For instance, a chatbot helps users to set up their own device quickly, orders software and trawls through databases. Swisscom handles the operation of the smart workplace including security and software management and support services.



Amazon Web Services by Swisscom

Swisscom professional services for companies seeking access to Amazon’s global cloud. The focus is on integration and migration.

Go to product


Microsoft® Azure by Swisscom

The Microsoft® Cloud – with value added by Swisscom.

Go to product

 

To Swisscom’s complete cloud offer




Newsletter

Subscribe to the newsletter now and stay informed about trends, industry news and benchmarks.





More on the topic

Portefeuille cloud globale

Amazon Web Services (AWS) et Microsoft® Azure

Nouveau portefeuille cloud avec des solutions globales


Swisscom étend son propre cloud avec les solutions globales Amazon Web Services et Microsoft Azure. Les entreprises bénéficient à la fois des nombreux services d’un prestataire mondial et de l’expertise d’un partenaire sur place.


Texte: Ann-Kristin Koch, Images: ®Keystone,




Swisscom étend son portefeuille cloud avec les offres globales Amazon Web Services (AWS) et Microsoft Azure. Swisscom se positionne ainsi comme un prestataire de services capable d’intégrer les solutions également dans des environnements hybrides. «Nos clients mettent tous les atouts de leur côté: vaste offre de services associée à la , proximité et expertise en matière en transformation de Swisscom», déclare Marcel Walker, Head of Network and Cloud chez Swisscom Enterprise Customers.


Multitude de services avec Amazon Web Services et expertise locale

Nombre d’entreprises veulent faire confiance au leader du marché Amazon lorsqu’il s’agit de cloud public. Toutefois, elles souhaitent être accompagnées par un partenaire local pour y faire leurs premiers pas. En sa qualité de partenaire local, Swisscom propose des conseils et des services de projet pour les clients qui souhaitent profiter d’effets d’échelle et qui n’accordent pas une priorité absolue au stockage de leurs données en Suisse. Swisscom dispose d’une expertise globale en matière de transformation de cloud et apporte son soutien à des entreprises dans l’élaboration, la mise en place et la migration vers la solution cloud. Pour assurer ce service, Swisscom lance un pack de services professionnels pour AWS qui sera étoffé régulièrement. Ce pack contient quatre modules pour commencer:

1. Starter Kit
L’atelier d’initiation donne un aperçu rapide sur l’univers AWS. Dans le Proof of concept, les entreprises découvrent au moyen d’un Use Case comment résoudre leurs problématiques à l’aide de la plateforme AWS, le tout combiné au savoir-faire de Swisscom.

2. Solution Design
De concert avec le client, les exigences futures sont clarifiées et documentées. Et sur la base de ces besoins, Swisscom donne des conseils pour élaborer la solution optimale, aussi bien pour des applications spécifiques que pour l’intégration générale d’AWS dans un environnement IT existant.

3. Migration & Integration Services
Avec ce module de service, les concepts de solution définis sont mis en œuvre dans le cloud AWS. Les migrations et intégrations sont quant à elles planifiées et réalisées. Le tout repose sur la méthodologie de Swisscom nommée «Journey to the Cloud», qui s’applique à tous les projets de cloud.

4. Expert Services
Pour tirer profit au maximum des services AWS, Swisscom apporte son expertise dans certaines thématiques spéciales. Parmi elles figurent par exemple une évaluation de préparation au cloud, des solutions de sauvegarde avec AWS, la sécurité et l’anonymisation des données, l’automatisation ou encore les architectures de site web globales. De la même façon, Swisscom apporte son savoir-faire à ses clients en matière de services à forte valeur ajoutée pour l’Internet des objets (IoT), le Big Data ou l’intelligence artificielle.




«Nos clients mettent tous les atouts de leur côté: vaste offre de services associée à la , proximité et expertise en matière en transformation de Swisscom»


Marcel Walker, Head of Network & Cloud



Dans le courant de l’année 2018 s’ensuivra également l’élaboration successive d’un portefeuille complet de services gérés pour assurer l’exploitation et l’assistance des solutions cloud, y compris dans des environnements hybrides. «Grâce à ces services, nous créons une valeur ajoutée pour les clients cloud et respectons notre engagement, à savoir être un compagnon digne de confiance dans le monde numérique0», ajoute Marcel Walker.


Une connexion sécurisée au cloud Microsoft Azure

Pour les entreprises disposant d’un environnement Microsoft sur place, Swisscom propose désormais Azure dans le cadre du modèle Cloud Solution Provider de Microsoft. Les clients reçoivent l’infrastructure et la Platform as a Service via le centre de calcul de Microsoft. Swisscom assure quant à elle l’assistance et la facturation en fonction de l’utilisation. Grâce à une connexion réseau directe, Swisscom permet aux entreprises d’accéder au cloud Microsoft via le multiprotocole de commutation d’étiquettes (MPLS). Ne passant pas l’Internet public, ces connexions sont plus fiables, plus sécurisées, plus rapides et avec une latence moindre que les connexions Internet classiques.

En outre, Swisscom propose des services professionnels afin d’accompagner les entreprises ayant un environnement Microsoft dans l’univers du cloud Azure en toute sécurité. Ceux-ci incluent les modules suivants: Starter Kit, Solution Design, Migration & Integration et Expert Services. Les entreprises profitent ainsi de l’expertise de plus de 200 professionnels certifiés Microsoft. De plus, Swisscom figure parmi les dix prestataires mondiaux à prendre part au programme Azure Stack Early Adopter. La possibilité de proposer Azure Stack depuis un centre de calcul Swisscom est donc à l’étude. Swisscom est le premier prestataire à effectuer des Proof of Concepts à ce sujet avec des clients dans toute la Suisse. Azure Stack est la version sur site d’Azure. Ce système possède plusieurs avantages: les données sont conservées en Suisse, les latences sont réduites et les workloads peuvent être différés grâce à une base technique identique sur le cloud local et le cloud global.



Marcel Walker, Head of Network & Cloud, Swisscom



Smart Workplace géré et technologie Azure

Outre l’infrastructure et la Platform as a Service de l’univers Azure, Swisscom propose un Smart Workplace basé sur la technologie Azure de Microsoft. Il s’agit d’un environnement de travail amélioré par une intelligence artificielle. Un chatbot assiste l’utilisateur, par exemple pour configurer rapidement son outil de travail, commander un logiciel et explorer des bases de données. Swisscom prend en charge l’exploitation du Smart Workplace, incluant la gestion de la sécurité et du logiciel ainsi que l’assistance.



Amazon Web Services by Swisscom

Les services professionnels Swisscom s’adressent aux entreprises souhaitant entrer dans le cloud global d’Amazon. Sujets principaux: intégration et migration.

Aller au produit


Microsoft® Azure by Swisscom

Le Microsoft® Cloud à valeur ajoutée par Swisscom.

Aller au produit

 

Consulter l’ ensemble de l’offre cloud de Swisscom




Newsletter

Abonnez-vous à la newsletter pour suivre les tendances, les actualités de la branche et les benchmarks.





En savoir plus sur ce thème