Newsletter Partner Login Network status Contact
Newsletter Partner Login Network status Contact

The multi cloud in Swiss companies

Study by MSM Research AG

The multi cloud is on the rise

The new multi-cloud study by MSM Research shows: To remain competitive, companies also use services from several different cloud providers. This presents a challenge to IT service providers, in particular.

Text: Christoph Widmer, Images: Unsplash,

Economic downturns are also prompting Swiss companies to review their ICT spending, but this does not appear to be affecting investments in cloud infrastructure. In fact, the cloud is still on the rise. This was confirmed by the “ICT Operations and the Multi Cloud in Switzerland” study, which MSM Research conducted on behalf of Swisscom. Of the 53 companies surveyed in the study, 58% stated that their cloud spending will continue to increase this year, while 40% expect their investments to remain the same. That means one thing is certain: Pure ICT in-house operations are shrinking in favour of external services that are obtained via the cloud. “The cloud is certainly one of the winners of the coronavirus crisis,” states Philipp Ziegler, Managing Director of MSM Research. “The current shift from the workplace to the home office is prompting many companies to invest in cloud-based solutions for collaboration and communication – such as video conferencing”.

“The cloud is certainly one of the winners of the coronavirus crisis.”

Philipp Ziegler, Managing Director of MSM Research

While hybrid cloud architectures in particular have already found their way into Swiss companies, 45% of the companies surveyed are even focusing on the next level of cloud operating models: the multi cloud. For good reason: Not only does the use of multiple public and private cloud services from different providers contribute to greater security and cost reductions within the IT infrastructure; it also helps companies become more agile – the most important driving factor in the use of the multi cloud for the majority of the study’s participants. Thanks to its wide range of applications, the multi cloud makes it possible to respond to an extremely wide range of requirements from the specialist departments in an agile and needs-based manner. In doing so, it creates the basis for digitising business processes, shortening response times – and ultimately increasing a company’s competitiveness. “The wide range of cloud solutions also promotes the spread of the multi cloud, for example in the areas of artificial intelligence, blockchain, UCC or even analytics,” says Ziegler.

45% are already using multi-cloud-models today (MSM Research AG, 2020)

High expectations of ICT service providers

Despite all the advantages that the multi cloud brings with it, one thing is certain: The implementation as well as the operation of corresponding architectures is no easy task. Flawless interoperability as well as a holistic management of services from different providers and the company’s own on-premise architecture are basic prerequisites for a company to be able to leverage the benefits of the multi cloud. This may be one of the reasons why larger companies are usually the ones implementing multi-cloud infrastructures.

“The cloud has levelled the playing field in terms of the implementation and use of new solutions.”

Philipp Ziegler, Managing Director of MSM Research

Another aspect is the need to counteract the danger of heterogenisation – in other words, of an excessive shadow IT. “The cloud has levelled the playing field in terms of the implementation and use of new solutions,” explains Philipp Ziegler. “But from an ICT manager’s point of view, going it alone through specialist departments is not the best way. Without close cooperation with ICT specialists, new security risks and areas of attack can arise”.

 

Swiss companies are aware of these challenges – and have correspondingly high expectations of their ICT service provider: When using the multi cloud, they expect the provider to offer end-to-end consulting, coaching and support – both during the entire change management process and when operating the multi-cloud architecture. This also includes comprehensive security and monitoring services. The study not only mentions widespread standards, certificates and traceable audits as the basis for a successful partnership between cloud providers and user companies; the topic of Swissness also continues to play a key role in the choice of cloud providers. Not only for regulatory or legal reasons: SMEs in particular attach importance to short journey times and escalation paths in the event of faults – and thus to a provider based in Switzerland.

Newsletter

Would you like to regularly receive interesting articles and whitepapers on current ICT topics?


More on the topic:

MSM Study

Multi Cloud Switzerland 2020

The cloud evolution in Swiss companies: What does the ICT infrastructure look like and what strategy is being pursued? The key findings on ICT operations and multi cloud in the MSM Study 2020.

Newsletter Partenaire Login Etat du réseau Contact
Newsletter Partenaire Login Etat du réseau Contact

Le multi-cloud dans les entreprises suisses

Etude de MSM Research SA

Le multi-cloud gagne du terrain

La nouvelle étude multi-cloud de Research le démontre: pour rester concurrentielles, les entreprises utilisent aussi des services de différents prestataires de cloud. Les prestataires informatiques, en particulier, sont mis à rude épreuve.

Texte: Christoph Widmer, Images: Unsplash,

En raison des pertes économiques, les entreprises suisses remettent aussi en question leurs dépenses TIC; les investissements dans les infrastructures cloud ne semblent toutefois pas être concernés. Au contraire, le cloud continue de gagner du terrain. L’étude «L’exploitation TIC et le multi-cloud en Suisse», effectuée par MSM Research sous mandat de Swisscom le démontre. Parmi les 53 entreprises interrogées dans le cadre de l’étude, 58% ont indiqué que les dépenses cloud continueront d’augmenter cette année, 40% prévoient des investissements constants. C’est ainsi que la pure exploitation propre diminue à l’avantage des services externes acquis via le cloud. «Le cloud fait certainement partie des gagnants de la crise du coronavirus», constate Philipp Ziegler, directeur de MSM Research. «Le déplacement actuel des postes de travail vers le télétravail amène de nombreuses entreprises à investir dans des solutions basées sur le cloud – telles que les vidéoconférences – pour ce qui concerne la collaboration et la communication.»

«Le cloud fait certainement partie des gagnants de la crise du coronavirus»

Philipp Ziegler, directeur de MSM Research

Alors que les architectures cloud hybrides ont déjà trouvé leur place dans les entreprises suisses, 45% des entreprises interrogées misent même sur la prochaine étape du modèle d’exploitation cloud: le multi-cloud. Pour une bonne raison: l’utilisation de nombreux services cloud publics et privés de différents opérateurs apporte plus de sécurité et des réductions de coûts au sein de l’infrastructure informatique ainsi que plus d’agilité aux entreprises – pour la plupart des participants à l’étude, le facteur déterminant majeur pour l’utilisation du multi-cloud. Grâce à un large éventail d’applications, le multi-cloud est en mesure de répondre de manière agile et adéquate aux exigences les plus diverses des départements spécialisés. Il constitue la base de la numérisation des processus commerciaux, de la réduction des temps de réaction – et au final de l’augmentation de la compétitivité de l’entreprise. «L’offre importante de solutions cloud promeut la diffusion du multi-cloud, notamment dans les domaines intelligence artificielle, blockchain, UCC ou analyse», déclare Ziegler.

45% des entreprises s’appuient déjà sur des modèles Multi Cloud (MSM Research AG, 2020)

Attentes élevées envers les opérateurs TIC

Malgré les nombreux avantages apportés par le multi-cloud, il n’en reste pas moins que l’implémentation et l’exploitation des architectures correspondantes n’est pas une mince affaire. Interopérabilité sans faille et gestion globale des services de différents fournisseurs et de la propre architecture sur site sont des conditions de base pour que les avantages du multi-cloud se concrétisent. Probablement, l’une des raisons pour lesquelles ce sont majoritairement des grandes entreprises qui implémentent des infrastructures multi-cloud.

«Le cloud a démocratisé l’implémentation et l’utilisation de nouvelles solutions»

Philipp Ziegler, directeur de MSM Research

Par ailleurs, il convient de lutter contre le danger d’une hétérogénéisation, en d’autres termes d’une informatique parallèle tentaculaire. «Le cloud a démocratisé l’implémentation et l’utilisation de nouvelles solutions», déclare Philipp Ziegler. «Du point de vue des responsables TIC, faire cavalier seul n’est, à vrai dire, pas la voie royale pour les départements spécialisés. Sans une étroite collaboration des spécialistes TIC, de nouveaux risques de sécurité et des points d’attaque peuvent apparaître.»

 

Les entreprises suisses sont conscientes de ces défis; elles ont des attentes élevées envers les opérateurs TIC: dans le cadre de l’utilisation du multi-cloud, elles attendent d’eux d’être conseillées de bout en bout, coachées et accompagnées – à la fois pendant l’entier de la gestion du changement et durant l’exploitation de l’architecture multi-cloud. En font partie de vastes services de sécurité et de monitoring. L’étude ne se borne pas à ne mentionner que les normes, certificats et audits traçables répandus en tant que base d’un partenariat réussi entre l’opérateur cloud et l’entreprise utilisatrice; le thème Swissness joue toujours un rôle important dans le choix du fournisseur de cloud. Pas seulement pour des raisons réglementaires ou légales: les PME, en particulier, attachent une grande importance à des déplacements courts et aux voies de transfert en escalade lors de perturbations et, par conséquent, à un fournisseur dont le siège est en Suisse.


Multi Cloud avec Swisscom

Swisscom répond à ces demandes et assiste les entreprises en matière d’introduction et d’exploitation d’un multi-cloud, des offres globales jusqu’aux solutions de bout en bout à l’aide de Managed Services. Swisscom utilise, par ailleurs, un écosystème provenant de partenaires renommés tels qu’Amazon Web Services, Microsoft, VMware ou Dell.

 

Pour de plus amples informations:

 

>  Multi Cloud




Newsletter

Vous souhaitez recevoir régulièrement des articles et Whitepapers passionnants sur des activités TIC actuelles?


En savoir plus sur ce thème:

Etude MSM Research 2020

Multi Cloud en Suisse

Où en sont les entreprises suisses dans le domaine du cloud? Quelles sont les infrastructures TIC et les stratégies en place? Lisez le livre blanc 2020 de MSM Research pour en savoir plus.