SGKB places its trust in Ransomware Protection

Optimal protection from cyber attacks

“The Swisscom security experts react immediately when an attack occurs”


An attack involving ransomware can completely paralyse a company if the worst comes to pass. St. Galler Kantonalbank, SGKB, has made clever provisions.


Text: Anton Neuenschwander, Images: Michael Meier, 31 may




The business model used by the extortion industry continues to evolve. In the past, it made companies what was often the irresistible offer to not publicise certain sensitive information as long as the sum of money demanded was, in fact, paid. Today, companies find themselves paying a ransom for their own data. The most effective weapon used by extortionists is ransomware. This malware insidiously penetrates file servers and disables the files by encrypting them. Those who pay will have their files activated again. If they're lucky.


Wanted: An intelligent defence system

Guido Kölliker is the Chief Information Security Officer at SGKB, making him responsible for information security at eastern Switzerland's leading financial institute. In early 2017, he analysed the cyber risks to which the bank is exposed. “Unfortunately, we realised that there were no suitable countermeasures available to us to prevent ransomware attacks,” he recalls. “That made us feel terrible. An attack like this can cause damage amounting to millions.” Kölliker consulted the experts from Swisscom for advice, as Swisscom was responsible for operating the file servers at SGKB. “Our expectations of an effective system to protect us from ransomware were clear: First of all, lightning-fast identification of an attack. And secondly, an immediate reaction involving countermeasures.” Donat Kaeser, Product Manager for Storage, Backup & Archive Services at Swisscom, mentions a third, equally important, criterion: “An effective backup and restore concept is also indispensable. We recommend backing up data five times a day using snapshot technology. In the event of an attack – which can never be completely ruled out – work on restoring needs to start immediately. However, this also involves a problem: After an incident, the data are restored to the version that existed before the attack. And in many cases, a number of hours can pass in between. In the meantime, however, the more than 1,000 employees of SGKB have been hard at work, with all this work being put into their files. This work would be lost if all the files were simply restored without any differentiation. The best remedy for this is ‘Differential Restore’, which only overwrites the files affected.”



Donat Kaeser (left) and Guido Kölliker intend to keep one step ahead of cyber criminals.



“Good” changes are retained

SGKB decided in favour of the Ransomware Protection service option. This intelligent radar screen identifies ransomware attacks by means of more than 1,700 patterns, and immediately initiates the defined defensive measures. Guido Kölliker cannot hide his enthusiasm for one particular highlight that the solution offers: “‘Differential Restore’ allows all of the files that were spared by the attack to be identified. They contain ‘good’ changes, which are retained. Files that fell victim to a virus attack, in contrast – those with ‘bad’ changes – are overwritten by an older, intact version.” Ransomware Protection allows Guido Kölliker to sleep better at night. “We know that we're optimally protected. The Swisscom security experts react immediately when an attack occurs – for example, by disabling certain user profiles. We are promptly informed about exactly what has happened, and what the bank still needs to do.”


“We know that we're optimally protected.”


Guido Kölliker, Chief Information Security Officer at SGKB


Gaining an advantage when playing cat and mouse

SGKB takes a proactive approach when it comes to security, and is a leader in its industry in guaranteeing the broadest possible protection for itself and its customers, as Guido Kölliker states. “Years ago, the bank was already focussing on its core business activities, which is why it depends on competent, external security partners,” as he describes its development path. “This is why we are considering using other Managed Security Services from Swisscom along with Ransomware Protection. Discussions are currently focussed on Threat Detection & Response services such as Security Analytics, Security Operation Center (SOC) and the Computer Security Incident Response Team (CSIRT).” This is an approach that Donat Kaeser considers advisable, because: “Make no mistake: While we have used Ransomware Protection to create the general conditions for optimal protection and rapid restoration in the file service area, we're still playing cat and mouse with the cyber criminals. We are continually perfecting our solutions to ensure our customers are armed against future threats.”



Leaders when it comes to cyber security: St. Galler Kantonalbank.


St. Galler Kantonalbank, SGKB


One in every two residents of St. Gallen maintains a business relationship with SGKB. As a regional full-service bank, SGKB will soon have been advising private and business customers for 150 years. The bank maintains headquarters in the canton's capital, and operates another 38 branch offices.




Enterprise File Services – the Ransomware Protection option


  • Based on NetApp and Cleondris technologies.
  • Detection and notification for identified events (ransomware patterns).
  • Automatic blocking of clients/hosts
  • Automatic triggering of emergency snapshots (restore points) for identified attacks.
  • Differential Restore for rapidly restoring services in the event of an attack. The unique functionality repairs defective data and leaves “good” modifications alone.
  • Integration into the “Threat Detection & Response” security portfolio possible (event & incident management).


Newsletter

Subscribe to the newsletter now and stay informed about trends, industry news and benchmarks.





More on the topic

La SGKB fait confiance à Ransomware Protection

Protection optimale contre les cyberattaques

«En cas d’attaque, les experts sécurité de Swisscom interviendront aussitôt.»


Une attaque par logiciel de rançon (ou d'extorsion) peut, dans le pire des cas, paralyser une entreprise. La Banque cantonale de Saint-Gall SGKB a réussi à être habilement prévoyante.


Texte: Anton Neuenschwander, Images: Michael Meier, 31




Le modèle commercial de l’industrie du rançonnement a changé. Dans le passé, on faisait à une entreprise une offre qu’elle ne pouvait souvent pas refuser: ne pas divulguer certaines informations sensibles si le montant demandé était payé. Aujourd’hui, les entreprises paient une rançon pour leurs propres données. L’arme la plus puissante des maîtres-chanteurs est le ransomware: ce logiciel malveillant s’infiltre dans les serveurs de fichiers et verrouille ceux-ci par cryptage. Il faut payer pour les débloquer. Ou pas.


À la recherche d’un système de défense intelligent

Guido Kölliker est Chief Information Security Officer de la SGKB et par conséquent responsable de la sécurité de l’information au sein de cette institution financière leader en Suisse orientale. Début 2017, il a analysé les cyberrisques auxquels la banque est exposée. «Il nous a bien fallu constater que nous ne disposions pas de contre-mesures appropriées pour les attaques par ransomware», se souvient-il. «Ce n’était vraiment pas un sentiment agréable. Les dégâts causés par une telle attaque peuvent se chiffrer en millions.» Kölliker a demandé conseil aux experts de Swisscom, car les serveurs de fichiers de la SGKB sont exploités par Swisscom. «Ce que nous exigions d’un système de protection efficace contre les logiciels de rançon était clair: tout d’abord, l’identification ultra-rapide de l’attaque. Et deuxièmement, la réaction immédiate par des contre-mesures.» Donat Kaeser, chef de produit Storage, Backup & Archives Services chez Swisscom, nomme un troisième critère important: «Un concept efficace de sauvegarde et de restauration est également indispensable. Nous recommandons de sauvegarder les données cinq fois par jour à l’aide de la technologie du «snapshot». En cas d’infection - qui ne peut jamais être complètement exclue - il faut commencer immédiatement les restaurations. L’inconvénient est qu’après un incident, les données sont restaurées dans l’état dans lequel elles se trouvaient avant l’attaque. Cependant, plusieurs heures se sont souvent écoulées dans l’intervalle. Pendant ce temps, les plus de 1000 employés de la SGKB ont fourni une grande quantité de travail qui se trouve dans leurs fichiers. Ce travail serait perdu si tous les fichiers étaient réinitialisés sans distinction. La solution est apportée par ‘Differential Restore’, qui n’écrase que les fichiers infectés.»



Donat Kaeser (à gauche) et Guido Kölliker veulent avoir une longueur d’avance sur les cybercriminels.



Les «bonnes» modifications sont conservées

La SGKB a opté pour l’option de service Ransomware Protection. Cet écran radar intelligent détecte les attaques de ransomware en se basant sur plus de 1700 modèles et déclenche immédiatement les mesures défensives définies. Guido Kölliker se montre enthousiaste à propos d’un point fort de la solution: «‘Differential Restore’ identifie les fichiers qui ont été épargnés par l’attaque. Ils contiennent de ‘bonnes’ modifications qui sont conservées. Les fichiers infectés par des virus – c’est-à-dire avec de ‘mauvaises’ modifications – sont écrasés par une version intacte plus ancienne.» Grâce à Ransomware Protection, Guido Kölliker peut dormir plus tranquillement aujourd’hui. «Nous savons que nous sommes protégés de façon optimale. En cas d’attaque, les experts sécurité de Swisscom interviendront aussitôt en bloquant certains profils d’utilisateurs, par exemple. Nous serons immédiatement informés de ce qui s’est passé exactement et de ce que la banque doit encore faire.»


«Nous savons que nous sommes protégés de façon optimale.»


Guido Kölliker, Chief Information Security Officer de la SGKB


Avoir une longueur d’avance au jeu du chat et de la souris

La SGKB est proactive en matière de sécurité et leader dans son secteur afin de garantir la protection la plus large possible pour elle-même et ses clients, déclare Guido Kölliker. «Cela fait des années déjà que la banque s’est concentrée sur son cœur de métier en s’appuyant sur des partenaires externes compétents en matière de sécurité», explique-t-il. «C’est pourquoi nous envisageons d’utiliser d’autres services de sécurité gérés de Swisscom en plus de Ransomware Protection. Des services de détection des menaces et d’intervention tels que Security Analytics, Security Operation Center (SOC) et Computer Security Incident Response Team (CSIRT) sont à l’étude.» Donat Kaeser pense que cette procédure a du sens, parce que: «Ne nous faisons pas d’illusions: nous avons créé, grâce à Ransomware Protection, les conditions-cadres pour une protection optimale et une restauration rapide au niveau du File Service. Mais le jeu du chat et de la souris avec les cybercriminels continue. Nous perfectionnons constamment nos solutions pour que nos clients soient armés contre de futures menaces.»



Leader en matière de cybersécurité: la Banque cantonale de Saint-Gall.


Banque cantonale de Saint-Gall SGKB


Un Saint-Gallois sur deux et une Sainte-Galloise sur deux entretiennent une relation d’affaires avec la SGKB. En tant que banque universelle régionale, la SGKB conseille les particuliers et les entreprises depuis près de 150 ans. Le siège de la banque est situé dans la capitale du canton, auquel s’ajoutent 38 succursales.




Enterprise File Services – Option Ransomware Protection


  • Basé sur les technologies NetApp et Cleondris.
  • Détection et alerte pour les événements détectés (Ransomware Patterns).
  • Blocage automatique des clients/hôtes
  • Déclenchement automatique d’«emergency snapshots» (points de remise à zéro) pour les attaques identifiées.
  • Differential Restore pour une restauration rapide du service en cas de contamination. Cette fonctionnalité unique répare les données défectueuses et laisse les «bonnes» modifications.
  • Intégration possible dans le Security Portfolio «Threat Detection & Response» (Event & Incident Management)


Newsletter

Abonnez-vous à la newsletter pour suivre les tendances, les actualités de la branche et les benchmarks.





En savoir plus sur ce thème