Joint Low Power Network from Swiss Post and Swisscom

LPN

The Low Power Network as the basis for the Internet of Postal Things


The digital networking of things offers countless opportunities for new services, especially in the areas Swiss Post is active in. Swiss Post and Swisscom have been working on a joint Low Power Network (LPN) since the spring of 2017.


Text and images: Swiss Post, 08 november 2017




Swiss Post provides Swisscom with suitable locations for positioning additional gateways. In return, Swiss Post can use the network for its own services and focus on developing new applications.

In the meantime, Swiss Post has already implemented different applications on the Low Power Network, and has tested them for feasibility and cost-effectiveness in a Proof of Concept.


Smart ordering in warehouse logistics

A hospital in Zurich has fitted out a whole range of medical equipment cabinets with smart buttons. All the nurse on duty needs to do is press the right button every time a certain medical supply threatens to run out. The supplier then receives a message over the Internet and replenishes the supply, thus making ordering a quick and simple affair.



Service on Demand – On-call facility management at the push of a button

Service on Demand is a solution for efficient facility management from Post Real Estate. The Facility Management department has installed smart buttons at the Swiss Post headquarters, which are connected to the Internet over the LoRaWAN wireless technology. So, if something needs to be cleaned, or a coffee machine is broken, for example, the service staff can be summoned with a simple push of a button. This make unnecessary scheduled tours to already full crockery cupboards and empty document disposal containers, or fully functioning coffee machines and printers now a thing of the past. Service on Demand only summons Facility Management when they are needed. To implement this service, LPN connectivity was supplemented with local indoor gateways to guarantee wall-to-wall internal LPN coverage.



Service on Demand only summons Facility Management when they are needed.



Smart postbox

Swiss Post has created a prototype of a smart postbox. It is equipped with sensors and connected to the Internet over the LoRaWAN wireless technology. The technology allows indicators to be measured and periodically transmitted using a minimum of energy. This includes noise or air pollution indicators which the public authorities may find useful. The postbox also measures the number of movements the flap makes. Offset against the average number of items posted, this indicator can be used to calculate the level to which the postbox is full.

The postbox is also fitted with a display unit that uses the same e-ink technology we are familiar with from e-books. When the image display is static, the electronic paper consumes no power. Electricity only flows when the image changes. These units can display different types of information, such as postbox emptying times, the next recycling paper and garden waste collection dates and other community information.

In a joint project with the Swiss Federal Office for Civil Protection (FOCP), Swiss Post is also testing the smart postbox as a channel for publishing information in the event of a crisis. Since the unit does not depend on the supply of electricity from the grid, it could be used as a channel for broadcasting information to the population, particularly in the event of a prolonged nationwide blackout. The smart postbox would continue to work for weeks on batteries alone, and could be used to transmit reports on current events by the FOCP or the civil protection authorities in charge of operations.




Smart parcels as a further application

The Internet of Things also opens up new potential for Swiss Post in terms of monitoring and tracking items of mail. A mobile sensor, for instance, which is enclosed in a parcel, can continuously measure and transmit indicators, such as temperature, during transportation. This can show, for example, that the cold chain for perishable goods was not interrupted at any point during transportation. If it is, the sensor triggers a message. And with sensitive shipments in transit, it sends a warning if a parcel is opened without permission.



Pathways to the smart city

With applications like these, the LPN network also helps make a smart city truly smart. Postal services and logistics providers can make a highly significant contribution to this. Every day, they travel across the whole of Switzerland in a whole range of vehicles and, in some cases, operate a large network of access points. Networking this dense physical presence even more effectively offers great potential. For example, in the future, postboxes and post-bus stops could collect air quality or noise data as a basis for developing smart solutions to the problems and needs of cities.



About the joint cooperation with Swisscom

“With Swisscom, we have a competent partner in the field of LoRaWAN technology at our side. The quality of teamwork with the technical contact people at Swisscom and Swisscom Broadcast is excellent and they provide us with close support in implementing the LoRa devices. Swisscom receives our change requests in the LPN portal (management software) and, if feasible, implements them as a function of their network server provider activity. We highly appreciate having a direct point of contact for selective expansions in the reception range for the Low Power Network and that our needs are then incorporated into the roll out planning at Swisscom. We can also draw on Swisscom’s technical knowledge at any time when planning and positioning our indoor gateways and they also supply us with test devices for performing installations. So far, we can certainly look back on very successful cooperative work overall, and really appreciate the very agreeable collaboration with the teams at Swisscom.” - Dominic Bögli, Project Manager IoT, Swiss Post.





LPN Experience Center

The top floor of the Swisscom Shop at Badenerstrasse 18 in Zurich Stauffacher is entirely dedicated to the Low Power Network. SME and enterprise business customers can sign up for a tour. Interesting live demos and insights into numerous interesting applications await your visit. If you are interested, please contact Roger Kaspar.





Newsletter

Subscribe to the newsletter now and stay informed about trends, industry news and benchmarks.





More on the topic

Low Power Network commun de la Poste et de Swisscom

LPN

Le Low Power Network comme base de l’Internet des objets postaux


L’interconnexion numérique des objets offre une multitude de possibilités pour de nouvelles prestations de service, y compris dans les domaines d’activité de la Poste. Depuis le printemps 2017, la Poste et Swisscom travaillent à l’élaboration d’un Low Power Network (LPN) commun.


Texte et images: La Poste, 08 novembre 2017




La Poste met des sites appropriés à la disposition de Swisscom pour les stations de réception supplémentaires (passerelles) prévues. En contrepartie, la Poste peut utiliser le réseau pour ses propres prestations de service et se concentrer sur le développement de nouvelles applications.

Entre-temps, la Poste a mis en œuvre différents cas d’application sur le Low Power Network et en a testé la faisabilité et la rentabilité dans le cadre d’un Proof of concept.


«Smart Ordering» dans la logistique de stock

Un hôpital zurichois a équipé de nombreuses armoires de produits médicaux de Smart Button. Le personnel soignant actionne le bouton correspondant dès qu’un consommable médical arrive en fin de stock. Le fournisseur reçoit un message via Internet et procède au réapprovisionnement. Passer commande devient chose rapide et simple.



«Service on Demand» – Par simple pression sur un bouton, le Facility Management est à pied d’œuvre

Avec «Service on Demand», la Poste offre à l’immobilier la solution pour un Facility Management efficace. Au siège de la Poste, le Facility Management a placé dans tout le bâtiment des Smart Button sur des appareils qui sont reliés à Internet via la technologie radio LoRaWAN. Si quelque chose doit par exemple être nettoyé ou si une machine à café est en panne, le personnel de service peut être averti par simple pression sur un bouton. Les rondes prévues pour vérifier si les vaisseliers sont bien remplis et si les caissons mobiles de rangement sont vides, si les machines à café sont intactes ou si les imprimantes fonctionnent appartiennent désormais au passé. Le Facility Management utilise le «Service on Demand» uniquement en cas de besoin. Pour ce service, la connectivité LPN a été complétée par des stations de réception internes locales (Indoor Gateways) afin de garantir une couverture LPN interne intégrale.



Le Facility Management utilise le «Service on Demand» uniquement en cas de besoin.



Boîte aux lettres intelligente

La Poste a créé un prototype de boîte aux lettres intelligente. Le prototype est équipé de capteurs et relié à Internet via la technologie radio LoRaWAN. Cela permet de mesurer des valeurs avec une consommation d’énergie minimale et de les transmettre périodiquement. En font partie par exemple les valeurs relatives au niveau sonore et à la qualité de l’air, pouvant être utiles pour les autorités. La boîte aux lettres mesure également les mouvements de clapet. En se basant sur une quantité collectée moyenne, l’on peut déduire de cette valeur le taux de remplissage.

Une unité d’affichage basée sur la technologie E-Ink connue des e-books est également intégrée. Ce papier électronique ne consomme aucune énergie en cas d’affichage d’image fixe. Ce n’est que lorsque l’écran change qu’un courant est nécessaire. Sur ces écrans, différents types d’informations peuvent être affichées, comme les levées, les prochaines dates de collecte du vieux papier et le ramassage des déchets verts ou autres informations communales.

Dans le cadre d’un projet commun avec l’Office fédéral de la protection de la population (OFPP), la Poste teste par ailleurs la boîte aux lettres comme canal de publication en cas de crise. En raison de son alimentation électrique entièrement autonome, ce canal pourrait s’avérer pertinent, en particulier dans le cas d’une coupure d’électricité nationale prolongée, pour informer la population. La boîte aux lettres fonctionnerait durant des semaines sur batterie et les messages d’événement actuels de l’OFPP ou des organes de conduite et d’intervention de la protection de la population pourraient être transmis.




Les paquets intelligents: un autre champ d’application

L’Internet des objets offre également de nouvelles perspectives à la Poste en matière de surveillance et de suivi des expéditions. Ainsi, un capteur mobile joint au paquet est capable de mesurer et de transmettre en continu des valeurs comme la température. Cela permet par exemple de prouver que la chaîne du froid n’a pas été interrompue dans le cas du transport de marchandises périssables. Dans le cas contraire, le capteur déclenche une notification. Et en cas d’envois sensibles, il envoie un avertissement si un paquet est ouvert de façon illicite.



La voie vers la ville intelligente

Grâce à de telles applications, le réseau LPN contribue également à rendre une ville intelligente véritablement intelligente. Les opérateurs postaux et les prestataires logistiques peuvent apporter une contribution tout à fait majeure dans ce sens. Ils parcourent la Suisse avec leurs divers véhicules et exploitent en partie un grand réseau de points d’accès. Si cette présence physique dense est encore mieux mise en réseau, un fort potentiel peut s’en dégager. Les boîtes aux lettres ou les arrêts CarPostal pourraient ainsi relever des données sur la qualité de l’air ou les nuisances sonores en vue de développer des solutions intelligentes pour résoudre les problèmes et répondre aux besoins des villes.



À propos de la coopération avec Swisscom

«Avec Swisscom, nous avons un partenaire compétent dans le domaine de la technologie LoRaWAN. La coopération avec les interlocuteurs techniques de Swisscom et de Swisscom Broadcast est excellente et nous profitons d’un soutien rapproché lors de la mise en œuvre des appareils LoRa. Swisscom reçoit les éventuels souhaits de modification au sein du portail LPN (Management Software) qui sont concrétisés selon les possibilités du fournisseur de service réseau Actility. Nous apprécions en particulier d’avoir un interlocuteur direct pour des extensions ponctuelles de la zone de réception du Low Power Network et de pouvoir également intégrer ensuite nos besoins dans la planification du déploiement de Swisscom. Par ailleurs, nous pouvons recourir à tout moment au savoir-faire technique de Swisscom lors de la planification et du positionnement des Indoor Gateways et nous recourons également à des testeurs dans la perspective d’une installation ultérieure. Globalement, nous jouissons jusqu’ici d’une collaboration très réussie et apprécions la coopération agréable avec Swisscom.» - Dominic Bögli, chef de projet IoT, la Poste Suisse.





LPN Experience Center

L’étage supérieur du Swisscom Shop situé dans le quartier zurichois de Stauffacher (Badenerstrasse 18) est entièrement dédié au Low Power Network. Les clients PME et les clients commerciaux Enterprise peuvent s’inscrire pour une visite. Des démonstrations en direct et des aperçus intéressants sur de nombreuses possibilités d’application vous attendent. Êtes-vous intéressé? Contactez Roger Kaspar.





Newsletter

Abonnez-vous à la newsletter pour suivre les tendances, les actualités de la branche et les benchmarks.





En savoir plus sur ce thème