Newsletter Partner Login Network status Contact
Newsletter Partner Login Network status Contact

Software Defined Wide Area Networks (SD-WANs)

Network, Internet & Landline

More flexible and more reliable cloud connectivity

Cloud computing continues to grow rapidly, requiring public data networks to carry ever-increasing quantities of data. Intelligent cloud connectivity avoids potential bottlenecks and ensures data is transferred instantaneously, securely and with the right level of network performance.

Text: Rüdiger Sellin, Specialist journalist (MAZ/SFJ), Image: AdobeStock,

Booming cloud services

Cloud computing is growing at speeds far higher than the ICT market average. An increasing number of familiar services no longer run on local computers, but on server farms somewhere else in the world.

 

This is a big challenge for network operators and cloud providers because cloud-based data, storage capacity, apps etc. need to be available everywhere, all the time and on any device. This demands flexible, high-performance, cost-effective network connections between all company sites and the cloud.

 

Cloud services are very sensitive to data transfer delays (latency) or data losses. According to Gartner, over 50% of all cloud users experience these problems and complain of mediocre performance. Global cloud providers even report that up to 90% of users are dissatisfied in some countries.

 

It is clear that traditional networks no longer meet the requirements of modern cloud services. Such services require data networks with high performance and elasticity levels. This is because large quantities of data often need to be transmitted immediately but quickly, something that rigid network structures with fixed bandwidths cannot achieve.

SD-WANs provide suitable cloud connectivity

A well-structured, expertly operated data network is therefore essential if the wide selection of cloud apps now available are to be used seamlessly and without disruption. How cloud services are currently accessed varies enormously.

 

For example, access may involve dedicated point-to-point connections which, although they offer direct access to a specific provider’s cloud servers via Point of Presence (PoP), are expensive and inflexible. Another way of accessing the cloud is over the public Internet – certainly a cheaper option, but one that comes without any performance guarantees.

 

Software Defined Wide Area Networks (SD-WANs), on the other hand, respond to individual network requirements proactively and in real time. They provide the best available path for the relevant cloud application through dynamic routing. SD-WANs are based on so-called Software Defined Networks (SDNs) and offer fully managed cloud connectivity with high transmission speeds and low latency, coupled with high security, availability, flexibility and elasticity.

Cloud connectivity from Swisscom

Swisscom’s Service Connect platform is a specific communication hub offering access to cloud services and forms an integral part of the Enterprise Connect offer. Via the central Service Connect bus, just a few mouse clicks can provide cloud connectivity between customers and the cloud, a traditional data centre or third-party services.

b2b-gra-cloud-connectivity

Service Connect users do not need to set up numerous expensive links to individual cloud providers. Rather, a single link via Enterprise Connect is enough. From there, the user can access the clouds they want via the Service Connect bus.

 

Ultra-broadband, georedundant data links guarantee secure, high-performance access to Swisscom’s own cloud as well as to external clouds (e.g. AWS, SAP or Azure cloud). This link via Enterprise Connect is more powerful and much less expensive than multiple point-to-point data connections to the PoPs of various cloud providers.

 

Users can also protect themselves from malicious Internet-based attacks using the inhouse DDoS Protection Service – up to OSI layer 4 or across all seven layers, depending on their requirements. DDoS complements Swisscom cloud connectivity and offers a high level of protection and security.

Summary

As a full service provider, Swisscom has extensive know-how and many years’ experience in the network and IT sector. Our ICT infrastructures are continuously being developed and improved, benefiting users of Swisscom cloud connectivity.

Swisscom is your reliable partner in the digital world. All customer data is encrypted and stored in Switzerland. This not only reduces latency, but also increases security.


Do you have questions?

Urs Haag

Deputy Head of Product Management


Contact expert



Newsletter

Would you like to regularly receive interesting articles and whitepapers on current ICT topics?


More on the topic:

Newsletter Partenaire Login Etat du réseau Contact
Newsletter Partenaire Login Etat du réseau Contact

Les Software Defined Wide Area Networks (SD-WAN)

Réseau, Internet & Ligne fixe

Accès aux clouds plus flexible et plus fiable

Le cloud computing poursuit sa croissance soutenue, et les réseaux de données publics doivent acheminer des quantités de données toujours plus importantes. La mise en œuvre d’une connectivité cloud intelligente permet d’éviter les goulots d’étranglement potentiels pour des transmissions de données sans ralentissements, tout en assurant une sécurité élevée et des performances réseau adaptées.

Texte: Rüdiger Sellin, Journaliste spécialisé (MAZ/SFJ), Image: AdobeStock, 02 

Services cloud en plein boom

Le cloud computing affiche des taux de croissance largement supérieurs à la moyenne du marché des TIC. Un nombre croissant de services courants ne sont plus exploités sur des ordinateurs locaux, mais sur des grappes de serveurs n’importe où dans le monde.

 

Cette nouvelle organisation pose un défi aux exploitants de réseaux et fournisseurs cloud, puisque les données, espaces de stockage, applis, etc. du cloud doivent être disponibles partout et à tout moment sur chaque terminal. Des configurations qui requièrent une mise en réseau flexible, performante et rentable de tous les sites de l’entreprise avec le cloud.

 

Les services cloud sont très sensibles aux retards dans la transmission de données (latence) ou aux pertes de données. Selon l’institut d’études Gartner, plus de 50% des utilisateurs de cloud déplorent de telles lacunes et critiquent les performances modestes de ce support. Selon des fournisseurs mondiaux de services cloud, jusqu’à 90% des utilisateurs ne sont pas satisfaits du cloud dans certains pays.

 

Les réseaux traditionnels ne répondent manifestement plus aux exigences des services cloud modernes, qui nécessitent des réseaux de données à la fois très performants et souples. Bien souvent, de grandes quantités de données doivent être transmises de manière impromptue et à courte échéance, ce qui peut poser problème dans le cadre de structures rigides aux bandes passantes fixes.

SD-WAN: la clé de la connectivité cloud

Un réseau de données bien structuré et exploité de manière efficace est donc crucial pour assurer le fonctionnement sans faille du vaste éventail d’applications cloud. De nos jours, les méthodes d’accès aux services cloud varient fortement.

 

L’accès au cloud peut p. ex. être assuré par des liaisons point à point dédiées, qui offrent certes un accès direct aux serveurs cloud d’un fournisseur spécifique via Point of Presence (PoP), mais celles-ci sont chères et peu flexibles. Autre possibilité: un accès au cloud par l’intermédiaire du réseau Internet public – une méthode peu onéreuse, mais sans garantie de performances.

 

En revanche, les Software Defined Wide Area Networks (SD-WAN) réagissent de manière proactive et en temps réel aux sollicitations spécifiques du réseau. Grâce au routage dynamique, ils fournissent le chemin réseau qui convient le mieux à l’application cloud en question. Reposant sur des Software Defined Networks (SDN), les SD-WAN offrent une connectivité cloud entièrement gérée, caractérisée par des vitesses de transfert élevées et une faible latence, le tout en assurant une sécurité, une disponibilité, une flexibilité et une souplesse de premier plan.

Connectivité cloud Swisscom

La plateforme Service Connect de Swisscom est une plateforme de communication spécialement conçue pour l’accès aux services cloud. Elle fait partie intégrante de l’offre Enterprise Connect. En quelques clics seulement, une connectivité cloud assurant l’accès des clients au cloud, à un centre de calcul traditionnel ou à des services tiers est mise en place par l’intermédiaire du Service Connect Bus centralisé.

b2b-gra-cloud-connectivity

Les utilisateurs de Service Connect n’ont plus besoin de configurer des liaisons multiples onéreuses vers leurs fournisseurs cloud: une liaison unique via Enterprise Connect suffit. L’utilisateur peut alors lui-même mettre en place les accès souhaités aux clouds via le Service Connect Bus.

 

Des liaisons de données doubles, à bande passante ultralarge et géoredondantes garantissent des accès sûrs et ultraperformants au cloud de Swisscom tout comme à des clouds externes (p. ex. cloud AWS, SAP ou Azure). Cette liaison via Enterprise Connect est plus performante et considérablement meilleur marché qu’une solution impliquant plusieurs liaisons point à point avec des fournisseurs cloud par l’intermédiaire de divers PoP.

 

L’utilisateur peut par ailleurs se protéger contre des acteurs mal intentionnés sur Internet au moyen du service de protection DDoS de Swisscom – jusqu’à la 4e couche OSI ou sur les sept couches en fonction des besoins. Le service DDoS complète l’offre de connectivité cloud Swisscom et offre un niveau élevé de protection et de sécurité.

Conclusion

En qualité de Full Service Provider, Swisscom dispose d’un vaste savoir-faire et d’une longue expérience des réseaux et de l’informatique. Nos infrastructures TIC sont développées et optimisées en permanence, ce qui profite également aux utilisateurs de la connectivité cloud Swisscom.

 

Swisscom est votre partenaire de confiance dans l’univers numérique. Toutes les données des clients sont cryptées et sauvegardées dans des sites en Suisse. Non seulement cela réduit les lattes, mais cela améliore également la sécurité.


Newsletter

Vous souhaitez recevoir régulièrement des articles et Whitepapers passionnants sur des activités TIC actuelles?


En Savoir plus sur ce thème: